BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In New Jersey

This Business is not BBB accredited

Spirit Halloween

Find a Location

View Additional Phone Numbers 6826 Black Horse Pike Ste 205, Egg Hbr Twp, NJ 08234 http://www.spirithalloween.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Spirit Halloween include:

  • 65 complaints filed against business
  • Length of time business has taken to resolve complaint(s)

Factors that raised the rating for Spirit Halloween include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 65 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

65 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 52
Total Closed Complaints 65

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 10, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1985 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Darren Haviland
Business Category

Costumes - Masquerade & Theatrical General Merchandise - Retail Clothing - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Spirit Halloween Superstores Spirit Halloween.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6826 Black Horse Pike Ste 205

    Egg Hbr Twp, NJ 08234 (856) 586-0155

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1457 State Route 9

    Lake George, NY 12845

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Sangertown Sq

    NEw Hartford, NY 13413

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3225 East Lake RdUnit 1M

    Canandaigua, NY 14424

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4530 EASTGATE BLVD, STE 300

    Cincinnati, OH 45245

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    493 E KEMPER RD

    Springdale, OH 45246

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7712 MONTGOMERY AVE

    Cincinnati, OH 45239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7864 CONNECTOR DRIVE

    Florence, KY 41042

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9336 COLERAIN AVE

    Cincinnati, OH 45251

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    The Plaza at Windward

    Alpharetta, GA 30004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6325 Falls of Neuse Rd Ste 39

    Raleigh, NC 27615

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    913 Spring Forest Rd

    Raleigh, NC 27609

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 Glades Road

    Boca Raton, FL 33431

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2651 Tamiami Trl

    Port Charlotte, FL 33952

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2651 Tamiami Trl

    Port Charlotte, FL 33952

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Noland Road Fashion Square # 6536

    Independencece, MO 64055

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    120 Highway 17 N

    Surfside Beach, SC 29575

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4620 Oleander Dr

    Wilmington, NC 28403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9895 Hudson Rd

    Saint Paul, MN 55125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    290 Westfield Dr

    Saint Peters, MO 63376

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2191 Watson Blvd

    Warner Robins, GA 31093

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Sky Ridge Plaza22oo South IH 35

    Round Rock, TX 78681

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4520 South Sherwood Forest Boulevard

    Baton Rouge, LA 70816

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1371 E 8600 S

    Sandy, UT 84093

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1855 41st Ave STE G9

    Capitola, CA 95010

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (856) 586-0155(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to a spirit location on my lunch break today (10/29/13) to by a woman's army fatigue costume. Bought the costume in a size 14/16 (although I am a 8/10) for length and room since I knew that tonight I would need to be limber in it. Took the costume home to change into it (because I was going to need it to wear to a work event) and as I was buttoning it, the side completely came apart as if it may have already been defective or possibly just cheap. I realistically did not have the time to return it as I work during the week as most people, but since I am not rich and paid $40 for it, I went immediately back to the location to either exchange or return. When I got there, I was behind another customer that was being helped by one of the employees. As the woman walked away, I observed being mocked by the employee because I was sort of hidden behind a pillar. Nevertheless, I told the employee what had happened with the defective pants and she immediately told me they had a policy of no returns and only exchanges and that I could only exchange the procuct for a different size. When I found out they had no other sizes of that costume except for a 4/6 I was told that I was just out of luck or that I could drive around to other locations to try and exchange. It was a huge incovenience because I need the costume tonight and I have no time to waste driving around to other locatnions hoping for a miracle. Not only did the employee mock me and not offer to help me at all or even to call around for me, she told me that spirit accepts donatiosn. It was uncalled for and she laughed in my face. At this point, I am out of $40 and I have no costume. I feel like I've been swindled and robbed by this company and am seeking either merchandise or my money back and a formal aplogogy letter. Product_Or_Service: female army fatigue costume

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement refund or replacement and an apology letter from the company. I was humiliated by the clerk that helped me in front of other customers and she provided no real way for me to get my money or merchandise. I shouldve never done business there and I never will.

Business Response: The guest - ******** ****** contacted the Guest Service Department on October **, 2013 and spoke to our representative ****** and reported the occurence at the store.
Our Senior Representative, ****** ****** asked the guest for a copy of her receipt and a refund was issued back to her **** card ending in **** on November *, 2013 in the amount of $43.59.  

Sincerely yours,

******* ****** ********** Guest Services SPIRIT Halloween

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Delivery Issues
11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased several 200 animatronics from spirit halloween over the last month. The last few items I received were defective as soon as they arrived and I ended up sending them back for a refund. up until today they seem to be doing as they should in this case regarding customer service. I have another one I purchased about a month ago. this item was 179.99 and used 4 times...ONLY 4 TIMES...its not even halloween yet and the eyes are no longer working. I received an email from customer service asking me to send her a video which I attempted several times but their email system would not accept the videos (why would they even ask me to send one) so the girl messages me back and said because I couldnt send a video she could offer me 30 percent discount to keep the broken item. i refused and asked her to send me a label and reship the product...well I guess now its out of stock. so then I get a call from someone stating its passed 14 days and they would not even send me a label to send it back to them and she would offer me 20 percent to keep it...WTH!! THIS IS NOT FAIR THEY SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SALE ITEMS THAT WILL ONLY WORK FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME AND THEY ARE A SEASONAL STORE SO THEY GET A WAY WITH IT. IT IS UNJUST AND SHOULD NOT BE OCCURING.

Desired Settlement: I want a shipping label to return this item and I expect a full refund including original shipping. unless they want me to keep the broken item for the inconvienience BUT I WILL NOT PAY FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response: A return label is being sent to the guest to return the item.   We have tried to work with the guest since 9/27/13.  The guest wants us to price match on items that she has found on the internet or that we cannot accept videos.   We do accept videos it was just her file was too big.     We have tried to accomodate the guest - however, we can no longer price match items and accept the fact that it is damage with no proof.   A refund will be issue for the full purchase amount including shipping when the item is received back at the warehouse.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a costume that was suppose to be delivered Oct 4, 2013. The package tracking indicated that it was delivered, but it was not. When I contacted Spirit Halloween Customer Service on Monday Oct 7, 2013 I was told that they were going to contact the package delivery service and report that the package was not received. I was told they would call me back. Nothing happened. I received no call or follow-up. I called on Thursday Oct 10, 2013 and was told that it was my problem to deal with and I would need to call the package delivery service. I asked several times if this was indeed the case as that was not how other companies handle lost packages shipped from their businesses. I then called the package delivery service and was told that I could not make a claim, that only Spirit Halloween could make the complaint because they were the shipper and it was their account. I even checked on line to confirm that is the actual procedure outlined by the package delivery service (i.e., ******. I contacted Spirit Halloween and they said they would follow up. I asked them how I would know they would follow up since this is the third time calling and for whatever reason my call on Monday, which was suppose to have them file a complaint with the delivery service resulted in nothing, and they said they would call me back with information. I asked them how much time this would take to resolve. They indicated they could not provide me with a specific time because they need to have the order tracked. When I pointed out that is exactly how I knew the package was not delivered (it was tracked!), there was a vague response that this is the process (which is ironic, given that one hour before the process was for me to file the claim). I was told they would call in 15 minutes. No call. I called back asking to speak to a manager about this issue. I was told none were available and I could not speak to one, that they would take my number and call me back.

Desired Settlement: I really just want the costume or a refund. If they need a signed, sworn affidavit that I did not receive the package, I'm more than willing to do so. I've offered this to them several times.

Business Response: Customer's package was tracked and claim filed.   Refund was issed on 10/11/13 in full in the amount of $38.52.     A trace usually takes 48 - 72 hours to receive an answer back.  The refund was issued to the guest before the results were received from fed ex.   During our busy season of Halloween all our representatives have the authority to help each guest.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a variety of halloween supplies at the Spirit Store on Saturday, 10/19. Upon taking these items home and setting them up I found out that 3 of the items did not work and one of the items heated up and seemed to be a fire hazard. According to the Spirit store all sales are final but I was sold faulty merchandise. I would like a full refund of these items. I have tried to contact the store but the phone line rings and has a message stating that the voicemail is not set up yet. I have also contacted the corporate office but the when I am transferred to customer service the phone line has a busy tone every time and I am unable to speak to a representative. I have also emailed directly with guest services on the Spirit website but I have not heard back. The following is the corporate office information: ****** ********* ********* ****** * **************** ***** ***** **** *** ****** ******** ** *********** ********* ********* ***** ************ ******** ******************* * ***** ************* ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund for the faulty items I purchased. I do not want a store credit or exchange, the quality of product is very low and I feel they have safety issues as well.

Business Response: As we do have an all sales final after October 18 posted on the receipt - we will be happy to refund the guest for the defective items if he would send us a copy of his receipt and a description of what is wrong with each item.   Our Customer Service number is ***************   Our fax number is ************  attention Customer Service.

Business Response: As we do have an all sales final after October 18 posted on the receipt - we will be happy to refund the guest for the defective items if he would send us a copy of his receipt and a description of what is wrong with each item.   Our Customer Service number is ***************   Our fax number is ************  attention Customer Service.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/6/2013 Delivery Issues
11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Delivery Issues
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2012 Delivery Issues
11/7/2012 Delivery Issues
11/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1