This business is not BBB accredited.

Spirit Halloween

Find a Location

View Additional Phone Numbers 6826 Black Horse Pike Ste 205, Egg Hbr Twp, NJ 08234 http://www.spirithalloween.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Spirit Halloween include:

  • 48 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Spirit Halloween include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 32
Total Closed Complaints 48

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Spirit Halloween
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 10, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1985 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Darren Haviland
Business Category

Costumes - Masquerade & Theatrical General Merchandise - Retail Clothing - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Spirit Halloween Superstores Spirit Halloween.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6826 Black Horse Pike Ste 205

    Egg Hbr Twp, NJ 08234 (856) 586-0155

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1457 State Route 9

    Lake George, NY 12845

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Sangertown Sq

    NEw Hartford, NY 13413

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3225 East Lake Rd
    Unit 1M

    Canandaigua, NY 14424

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    800 Mall Rd

    Barboursville , WV 25504

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4530 EASTGATE BLVD, STE 300

    Cincinnati, OH 45245

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    493 E KEMPER RD

    Springdale, OH 45246

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7712 MONTGOMERY AVE

    Cincinnati, OH 45239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7864 CONNECTOR DRIVE

    Florence, KY 41042

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9336 COLERAIN AVE

    Cincinnati, OH 45251

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9521 Taylorsville Rd

    Jeffersontown, KY 40299

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    The Plaza at Windward

    Alpharetta, GA 30004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6325 Falls of Neuse Rd Ste 39

    Raleigh, NC 27615

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    913 Spring Forest Rd

    Raleigh, NC 27609

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 Glades Road

    Boca Raton, FL 33431

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2651 Tamiami Trl

    Port Charlotte, FL 33952

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2651 Tamiami Trl

    Port Charlotte, FL 33952

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Noland Road Fashion Square # 6536

    Independencece, MO 64055

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    120 Highway 17 N

    Surfside Beach, SC 29575

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4620 Oleander Dr

    Wilmington, NC 28403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9895 Hudson Rd

    Saint Paul, MN 55125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1640 Highway K

    O Fallon, MO 63366

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1640 Highway K

    O Fallon, MO 63366

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    290 Westfield Dr

    Saint Peters, MO 63376

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    290 Westfield Dr

    Saint Peters, MO 63376

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2191 Watson Blvd

    Warner Robins, GA 31093

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Sky Ridge Plaza
    22oo South IH 35

    Round Rock, TX 78681

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4520 South Sherwood Forest Boulevard

    Baton Rouge, LA 70816

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1371 E 8600 S

    Sandy, UT 84093

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 N Magnolia Ave

    El Cajon , CA 92020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1855 41st Ave STE G9

    Capitola, CA 95010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 products from this company on 10/25/15. I used this company because they had a promotion of but one get one 50% off at the time. These items are very fragile wall plaques. One was a shark head, and the other is a Tyrannosaurus Rex head. They were each regularly priced at $79.99. With the discount, the T-rex head happened to be discounted to $39.99. I rereceived the first shipment on 10/30/15 and they were packaged together in the same box with only a little paper shoved inside and they were smashed to pieces. I called spirit Halloween and informed them of the problem. They offered to ship the products again. I asked for them to tell the warehouse to package them better and put them in separate boxes. These shipped 11/1/2015. On 11/2/2015 I received the shark box by itself and it was packaged well and was not broken. I called spirit Halloween to find out where the other box was and they had no idea why they were separated but that they were showing it was to be delivered 11/3/2015. It was. The box was smashed in and when I picked it up you could hear all the pieces rattle. I called spirit Halloween again. Informed them of the damaged product, they offered to reship again. I told them they had to tell the warehouse to package better! On 11/5 the 3rd replacement was sent out. I received it on 11/6/15. This one was broken as well. I called the company again and they offered a refund of $40.00. I informed them that I was paying $120 for 2 items and I was missing half of the order so half of the money should be refunded ($60) not just $40. They refused and forwarded my information to a supervisor. I called countless times probably over 15 times over the next few days, I was hung up on and transferred countless times to a voicemail that did not exist and the phone just hung up on me. They refused to give me back the money I paid and since I was not receiving the deal they offered, I shipped back the other shark so I could get a full refund plus return shipping

Desired Settlement: I want the total order of $134.18 refunded as well as the $14.05 I had to pay to ship the item back. A grand total of $148.23 I did not agree to buy and keep 1 item at full price of $80.00. I did not void the original sale, I simply returned the product because it was a different price offered when I originally purchased it. It was not my error, it was theirs. I have argued this point heatedly with a manager by the name of ***** and he said they absolutely will not refund my shipping that it was my choice to ship back the other item. I disagree, they changed the price I paid per item after I already received the item. I have yet to receive any refund or any credit. It has been the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I have called them a total of 21 times regarding this issue as well as emailed their customer service team who have been extremely rude and unhelpful. This is not an exaggeration, they record the calls, please take the time to listen. If needed I can give times

12/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item from them on Oct. 21 and was not told it was a final sale nor was it mentioned on my receipt. I went back to the store Oct. 23 with my receipt and item not opened in original packaging and they refused to take the item back and issue me a credit on my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I wish to return the item and receive a full credit.

Business Response:

Our retail locations are only open for the season so we had a return policy that was posted at the store as well as on the receipts letting guest know that the had until 10/16/15 to make any returns. After the 16th guest were allowed to exchange the product only. If the guest is still looking for a refund they need to ship the product and the original receipt back to the corporate office at their cost. As long as we determine that the product is unworn and in resalable condition a refund will be issued for the product; the shipping cost is nonrefundable. The address the guest needs to return the costume to is provided below.

 

Spirit Halloween

Attn: Guest Services

**** * ***** ***** **** *** ****** ********* ** *****

12/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/1/2015 I went to the Spirit Halloween location located ** ****** ***** *** ** **** **** ******* ** ****** I was informed by the manager that the sale on 11/2/2015 would be 75% off. I returned the next day, I confirmed when I arrived with Brandon the manager that the whole store would be 75% off. When the first person checking out at the register received only 50% off Brandon called another location to find out if they were having the same problem. I spoke to 14 people inline that all returned on this day because they were informed that the sale would be 75% off. The store manager ( Brandon) informed me that someone at corporate office changed the sale. I pointed out that there was no posted retraction anywhere in the store, as required by California state law. He informed me that there was nothing that he could do. I asked to speak to his supervisor and was informed at I would have to call there corporate office myself. After 3 calls and each of which I was hung up on by someone in customer service, I did get someone that logged the complaint for me. They refused to honor the price that Brandon had his coworkers had been advertising.

Desired Settlement: I had both Brandon and the customer service log all items that I was going to purchase on 11/2/2015. They should sell it to me along with all other consumers that complained at the price that was offered.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear about the misinformation provided to the guest by their local SPIRIT Halloween. All the signage provided to our store locations for this event advertised 50% off the entire store. The stores were not provided with any additional signage for 75% off and were not informed that this would be offered. We apologize for any inconvenience this incorrect information may have caused, but we will be unable to honor the 75% off as requested as that was not the sale being advertised in stores.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I live in the state of California not in New Jersey. The have a law California*** that states the following..........

(a) It is unlawful for any person, at the time of sale of a commodity, to do any of the following:
(1) Charge an amount greater than the price, or to compute an amount greater than a true extension of a price per unit, that is then advertised, posted, marked, displayed, or quoted for that commodity.
(2) Charge an amount greater than the lowest price posted on the commodity itself or on a shelf tag that corresponds to the commodity, notwithstanding any limitation of the time period for which the posted price is in effect.
(b) A violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not exceeding one year, or by both, if the violation is willful or grossly negligent, or when the overcharge is more than one dollar ($1) .
(c) A violation of this section is an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100) when the overcharge is one dollar ($1) or less.
(d) As used in subdivisions (b) and (c), “overcharge” means the amount by which the charge for a commodity exceeds a price that is advertised, posted, marked, displayed, or quoted to that consumer for that commodity at the time of sale.
(e) Except as provided in subdivision (f), for purposes of this section, when more than one price for the same commodity is advertised, posted, marked, displayed, or quoted, the person offering the commodity for sale shall charge the lowest of those prices.
(f) Pricing may be subject to a condition of sale, such as membership in a retailer-sponsored club, the purchase of a minimum quantity, or the purchase of multiples of the same item, provided that the condition is conspicuously posted in the same location as the price.

The important part to note is Section (a) subsection (1) the word "Quoted", Bandon ( your manager ) acting, and gainfully employed as a agent of Spirt Halloween, informed many customers and instructed staff to inform customers that you will be offering 75% off on 11/2/2015. This was also verified by a Fresno county  investigator as part of the Division of measurement standards.

As a business you should always do the right thing when it comes to the consumer. I have one voice. But...what I saw yesterday, how people were treated, disrespected, lied to, hung-up on, misinformed and degraded, leads me to use that voice on behalf of them.

I will wait for your response prior to reaching out to the media next.



Regards,

Robert ****** 

Business Response: Our stores were only provided with signage advertising a 50% off End of Season Sale. All communications provided to our stores via our Business updates advised our sales associates how to handle the 50% off sale. Our stores were never provided with any signage or advertisement for 75% off and the employees were never informed to offer this sale. Again we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused but we are unable to honor the discount the guest is requesting. Should the guest still have the list of product he was interested in we would be happy to honor the 50% sale online along with free Economy shipping.

12/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 10/16/2015 I paid $31.49 for 2 day express shipping. It did not arrive in time. I called a week later and was assured it would be here by 10/23/15 the day I needed it. It did not arrive, I called again on 10/27/15. I spoke to the supervisor "Nicolette" who was extremely rude and abrupt. She said we had an issue with packages being sent on the wrong truck (in a rude, like I was bothering her/wasting her time manner) basically no blame on their part, at all. No "we made a mistake" just well, you can write refuse to sender if you don't want it. No concern, she did say a fake/forced "sorry" she did not try to help the situation, she did nothing, not even a real apology. She give me attitude, after I waited a half an hour on hold to speak to her! My sons Halloween party he did not have a costume, I'm out $100 for something I no longer need. They did say they would credit my shipping charges back on 10/23, but I have yet to see that refund, so I'm hesitant to write refuses to sender if I ever do get my package (it's now 10/27/15 and no package has arrived) Horrible company, horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund, as I can't return to a brick and mortar store because "no returns or exchanges" is their policy. This is their error and it wouldn't need returned if they didn't mess up and not ship on time. I ordered in plenty of time, using a service they offer! If I refuse the package, I'm afraid I will never see that refund either, just like the supposed shipping refund I was supposed to receive.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the guest did not receive their order when anticipated and that their issue was not resolved when they gave us a call. Upon further investigation with the US Postal Service it looks like the order has been lost in transit. A refund for the remainder of their order will be issued today and will take about 3-5 business days to appear on their account. The refund for the shipping was issued on 10/22/15 and upon further review we are showing that it was processed successfully with no rejection from the bank/credit card company. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and if the guest has any further questions, please let us know.

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on October 7th 2014 I purchased a evil jester cane and a evil jester adult costume for men from spirithalloween.com...total cost was $74.57..for both...this morning which is October 15th 2015...I received a text message from my NetSpend card that Spirit Halloween has charged my card $48.05 more on that same costumeI have gotten in touch with Spirit Halloween this is their reply they took $74.57 and held it like in an account at the time of shipping of the costume they spent $29 out of that holdings ...( that was told to me by a service representative at Spirit Halloween )I want to know what gives them the right to take $48.05 off my balance on my card what happened to the rest of the money they were holding as they claim for that costume they have stolen $48.05 off my card this morning..I am so trying to get NetSpend to decline that transaction sincerely Jennifer Lowery...I just don't get it if they were holding $74 already off my card for the whole price of that costume why did they have to come back and take $48.05 off my card this is not making no sense to me

Desired Settlement: can someone please help me get my $48.05 back I have been overcharged for a costume they trying to twist it around and make it sound like they only took $29 off my card and then turn around and took 48.05 when my NetSpend text told me on the 7th that $74 was took off my card already

Business Response:

We apologize for the confusion concerning your billing. Spirit Halloween does not charge a guest for an order until the products have been processed and shipped. At the time the order is placed  a preauthorization is sent to the back/credit card company and they may place a hold on the account to verify the funds are available for the transaction. This hold is usually released by the bank/credit card company about 48-72 business hours. The partial charge that was posted to your account was because your order was partially processed and shipped so you were only charged for the cane and part of the shipping and the remainder of the amount was charged when the costume shipped. We also have this information provided on our website under Payment Options on our Help page: ************************************************************ If you need further clarification concerning your billing information please let us know.

 

 

12/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have placed an order for an Halloween outfit for my grandson on 10/11/15. Did an online order ********* said order sent to USPS for pickup. Item never picked up and never delivered. Called twice for order status bot time customer service said they would look into the issue an call me back. On 10/19/15 customer service said they would place a new order ********* for deliver. Order sent to FedExpress with delivery on 10/20/15 by 8PM. Per FedEx tracking order send to FedEx but never picked up. As of this time I am calling Spirit Halloween back looking to get the costume delivered.

Desired Settlement: Would like the costume ordered and delivered to my house.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the guest did not receive their costume when anticipated. Upon further investigation we discovered that the original order, ********** was lost in transit by the US Postal Service. Once this was confirmed a new order was processed for the guest with overnight shipping, order *********. When reviewing the order we see that the package was picked up by FedEx on 10/19/15 and delivered to the guest on 10/21/15. The tracking number for the package is ************. We would like to confirm if the guest has received the delivery as stated so that we can better assist in resolving this issue.

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a prop from their Charlotte NC store on 9-21-2015 for Halloween. I didn't hook this item up until the day of Halloween. The item never worked out of the box. I contacted the company the day after Halloween to let them know their new prop never worked out of the box. I was told I only had two weeks to bring it back. Being this was for Halloween I never hooked up the prop until that day. I only asked for a working prop. How do they sell new items that don't work then not give you a refund or exchange? The name of the prop was Cerberus and the cost was $179.99.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full exchange of the non working item or a full refund. I am only asking for what I paid for.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the Cerberus prop did not work as the guest anticipated. If the guest can please send us a video of the prop not working and a copy of their receipt we would be able to better assist in resolving this issue. The guest can send the requested information to **********************************

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order for Halloween decorations was ordered on October 25 with 2 day shipping. Date: 10/25/2015 Order Status: COMPLETED Order #* ********* (Online) On Monday October 26 a shipping label was created for the USPS. On Friday October 30, I called the Spirit Halloween store and spoke with ******** the district manager who said that I needed wait 45 minutes to speak with the online customer service. I spend 2 hours on hold and speaking with *****, **** and *****. I cancelled the order by email and with ***** before it was sent out. ***** lied and said that the order was processed but that the USPS hasn't been to the warehouse in 4 days and which is not their fault. She said that I could reject the package but would not refund the order. **** was more honest and said that I had to send it back through USPS. *****, the most senior manager said that Spirit put the order on the wrong truck and didn't get the package back from Monday to today and just got it to the USPS for 2 day shipping. They said that I would get my decorations on Monday, 2 days after Halloween. She would not refund the order either and said they didn't process the cancellation in time. She said I don't have to accept the order but that if the USPS leaves the package anyway, I would need to send it back by mail. I don't have the package. Product & Tracking Information Postal Product: Priority Mail 2-Day™ Features: USPS Tracking™ Up to $100 insurance included Restrictions Apply Priority Mail Insurance info icon DATE & TIME STATUS OF ITEM LOCATION October 30, 2015 , 6:29 pm Arrived at USPS Origin Facility COLUMBUS, OH 43218 Your item arrived at our USPS origin facility in COLUMBUS, OH 43218 on October 30, 2015 at 6:29 pm. The item is currently in transit to the destination. October 30, 2015 , 5:14 pm Accepted at USPS Origin Sort Facility ********** ** 43062 October 27, 2015 Pre-Shipment Info Sent to USPS October 26, 2015 , 1:10 pm Shipping Label Created ********** ** *****

Desired Settlement: Refund me the order which I cancelled and they still sent out through the wrong truck with two day shipping, which I get a week after Halloween. The order is: $100.68. An apology from Spirit for sending it on the wrong truck and taking more than 5 days to send out an order that should take 2 days to receive which cost extra.

Business Response: This has been resolved with the guest by issuing them a full refund and a gift card.

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted them on October 5th for a defective device. I received a quick response on October 6th, stating that a replacement device has been sent with a new order number, and that I did not have to send the defective device back. The replacement arrived on October 14th. I replied to them via the thread started on October 5th to let them know that the hood was working, but that the remote control was missing. I did not notice at that time the issue with the head because I was so happy that the hood of the stroller worked like advertised. Same day, after trying the device a few times, I realized that the head is suppose to turn as mentioned on the product description, but mine does not turn at all. I replied via the same thread. On the morning of October 15th, I started a new thread because I doubted that my reply was received concerning the issue with the baby`s head: First, I could not see it in my Sent folder, and they responded in a quick timely manner the first time. I started 3 different threads on that day, adding more info or videos so they can get a better picture of the issues. As of today, October 19th, I did not get any response from those 3 new threads made on October 15th. October 16th, I got a response from my original thread, when I stated the remote control was missing, before I even mention the issue with the head not turning. So, I replied by mentioning the issues with the head, that I started other threads that had not been answered. I added links to 3 videos I uploaded to show the issues I experience. The links were all included in the new threads I started on October 15th. I got a response today, October 19th, stating that I should send a video of 6 seconds or less in order to better assist me with a resolution. I replied that I did not understand why a video of 6 seconds, especially with the fact that I included links to longer videos clearly showing the issues. Nonetheless, I complied. I want a device that works completely as advertised.

Desired Settlement: The only thing I want is a replacement device that entirely and completely works as advertised on the product description, with no item missing, and with the parts carefully twist tied so nothing get damaged.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear about the trouble you are having with the possessed baby. Judging by the fact that you have already received two of the props damaged we feel that it is best to issue you a full refund for the original purchase. Please do not worry about returning the damaged items back to our warehouse. The refund will be issued back to your PayPal account and will take about 5-7 business days to appear in your transaction history. Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to assist you.

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Halloween costume on Tuesday 10/27 online with two day shipping. I called Friday 11/30 to advise customer service I still had not received the item. I was told I would recive it on Saturday by 12pm and that it is false advertisement since I did not receive in 2 days and as a result I was refunded the shipping charge. I did not receive the item on Saturday so I called back and they told me it is still on the way. I asked that they refund me and I was told they cannot do that. I had to run out at 5pm to go find another costume which was a HUGE inconvenience and also made me show up to a party two hours late!! I am so disappointed in Spirit Halloween I will NEVER order from here again!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for my order and in addition a refund fo rthe cosutme I had to go and purchase from your store on Saturday that costed me another $70!!

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the guest did not receive their order when anticipated. There was a error between our warehouse and the US Postal Service where the second day packages made it onto the incorrect truck which caused a delay in the shipping. According to the tracking the package was delivered to the guest today, tracking number *********************** As long as the guest does not open the package they can take it right back to the post office as refused and it will be sent back to us at no extra charge. Once we see that the package has been refused we will issue the remainder of the refund for the order as the shipping cost has already been refunded. We will not be able to issue a refund for the purchase made in store but we would be happy to honor a $25 rebate on the purchase. We will email the guest the rebate form so that they can send it in with their receipt.  Please let us know if the guest has any additional questions.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

11/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have asked this company numerous times to please remove my email address from their alert system however, I keep receiving emails from them every other day.

Desired Settlement: I want them to STOP sending me their crappy email alert on product specials.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that you are still receiving emails from our company after requesting that you be removed from our mailing list. We have reached out to our Marketing Department and have confirmed that your email has been removed. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to pick up some make up from Spirit Halloween. They were annoying and passive aggressively rude. I was asked well over 20 times did I need help. One girl asked me 2 times with in 5 minutes. I think she stopped because she went home. The other 2 boys asked me at the very least 10 times each. I would have bought much more, but I was super irritated. At the counter, I bought some eyelashes that was labeled $4.99. The brand name of the eyelashes, ******** ******* was on the label with the price. She charged me $5.99. The manager refused to give me a dollar back. So I asked for a refund. (see picture below) The manager said, to the cashier. "They send us this stuff with out the prices so we have to guess on the prices." REALLY? YOU GUESSED THE PRICE? WHEN THE PRICE WAS IN THE SYSTEM? AND I AM HELD ACCOUNTABLE? The manager smiled at me as she pointed to no refund as if she had won. She miss priced and I still had to pay for it? Yes I never left the store. They refused to give me a refund, saying they don't take returns. Doesn't that policy mean (in most stores) that AFTER you leave the store you can't return it? I did not even leave the register. This was unfair. I was false advertising.

Desired Settlement: An apology and a check for a dollar mailed to me, for the principle.

Business Response: November 4, 2014

We are so sorry that the customer had a bad experience in the store.   A refund will be issued to the guest along with an apology.


Sincerely yours,


Barbara G****
Guest Services Supervisor
SPIRIT Halloween and
Spencer Gifts.     

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, ONLY after I receive my refund and apology in the mail. Until then, I would like to keep my complaint open. 

They can mail my refund to:

***** ******** *** ******** ****  **** ********* ** *****



Regards,

***** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I would like to re-open this complaint  #*********  They never did what they promised.  They lied because they figured I would forget about it and move on.  I was treated too poorly to forget.  I want to keep the case open until the fulfill the promise.  Businesses don't care how they treat people.  I am not going to let them lie and then just let it go, after how that woman did me.

 

***** ********





Regards,

***** ********

Business Response:

We reviewed the refund request for the guest and her check was processed and mailed out on 11/20/14. The address the check was sent to was *** ******** *** **** ******** ** ****** If the guest claims they never received the check we will need to reach out to our Finance Department to see if if the check was returned. We will follow up with the guest once we receive a response from our Finance Department regarding the refund.

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a costume for Halloween, and when I opened it, to wear for my party, there were pieces missing, and pieces from other costumes. I paid $50 for this costume, that I couldn't wear. When I contacted the company, they asked me for pictures, which I provided. Then they informed me that I would have to pay to ship the incomplete costume back to them, and they could only issue store credit, and asked for a receipt. When I told them I no longer had the receipt, they ceased responding to my emails. Once I made a complaint about it publicly, on their Facebook page, they responded to my email, and still refuse to make this right. Do NOT buy a costume from this company!

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear that the guest did not receive a complete costume. When the guest purchased the costume in 2013 our return policy was that guest had until October 18, 2013 to make any returns or exchanges as after this date all sales became final. This policy was posted at the register as well as on the receipt and gave the guest plenty of time to check the costume as it was purchased in September 2013. We were not contacted until November 2014, more than a year later, letting us know that he had received an incomplete costume. Our last contact to the guest on 11/1/14 was requesting a picture of the costume and receipt which we never received a response. The most recent response we did receive was on 12/21/14 letting us know he did not receive a response from us in 2 months. We do see that there were two email attempts attached to the chain letting us know that he no longer had a receipt and that he was providing pictures of the costume. We checked our records and have confirmed that we did not receive his two previous emails. Sometimes the emails are not received if there is a large file attached like photos or a video because the file size is too big. We did not receive any of the pictures the guest attempted to send. We did respond to the email received on 12/31/14 apologizing for not getting back to the guest as we never received any follow up until this time.

Since the receipt is no longer available we did request that guest mail the costume back ot our company for a corporate office refund. As no proof of purchase was available we informed the guest that the refund would be for the last selling price of the item in store which is 50% off. This was being offered as the item is more than a year old, there is no receipt or proof of purchase; plus it is not a SPIRIT Halloween exclusive and is available for purchase through ***** **** or **************. The offer still stands that the guest can mail the costume back to us at the address below and we would be happy to honor a corporate office refund for the last selling price of the item in store.

SPIRIT Halloween
ATTN: Guest Services
**** ***** ***** **** *** ****** ********* ** *****

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on Cyber Monday (12/1/14) and was told that it would be delivered by 12/8/14. As of today (12/12/14) my order has not even left the warehouse. I made contact with the company several times and have gotten no answers as to when it will be shipped. When I called today, I confirmed that the item is in fact in stock, they simply haven't processed the order yet. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told that a supervisor wouldn't be able to help me either. The customer service rep told me that the warehouse is "taking their time" with sending out orders and they will do it on their own time. This is completely unacceptable when the comapny is quoting delivery dates to customers, especially around the holidays. I need my item delivered as soon as possible as this is a gift.

Desired Settlement: I would like the order shipped immediately, and my shipping upgraded from economy to overnight at no cost to me.

Business Response: We would like to start by apologizing that the situation surrounding the shipment of this order was not properly explained. The warehouse we ship through is not exclusively ours and caters to other companies as well. On the weekend of Black Friday and Cyper Monday there was an processing error at the warehouse that not only affected our company, but the other companies too. Unfortunately this error has caused a processing delay that has put our shipping 5-7 days behind. The warehouse is working as quickly as possible to process and ship all orders affected by this delay. We are automatically upgrading the shipping on all orders to ensure that the guests receive their packages in time for Christmas.

Upon reviewing the guest's order I do see that several request were made to the warehouse to upgrade the shipping at no extra cost to the guest, as well as to ship out as soon as possible. Even though the warehouse was unable to ship out the order immediately due to the wide spread issue, they were able to upgrade the shipping as requested. The order was actually packed and shipped today with the overnight shipping as originally requested when guest first called on 12/9/14. The tracking number is
************ and will take about 12-24 hours to update. It is also notated in the order that all shipping fees will be refunded at the time the order is shipped. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and can appreciate the guest's frustration as this delay has been frustrating for us as well.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

i did finally receive the package and I appreciate that, but my shipping fees have yet to be refunded as promised. Once that has been done, I will be satisfied. 



Regards,

****** ****

Business Response:

We apologize for the delay in the refund of the shipping. The shipping cost has been refunded back to the guest and it will take about 48-72 business hours to appear on the account.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

1/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was on the site and clicked a coupon for $4 shipping for spirit halloween shopped and went to check out. i clicked the continue button for ****** wasnt asked for an address and was thinking what's going on. i noticed an email had popped up with the address from ****** and an invoice for $40.45 i looked at the shipping it was $15.99! WHAT!!! there is not a way in hell id ever pay that much for shipping on top of the fact also i have never over drawn from my bank and now due to these ppl i have.. i started emailing them calling ****** and my bank i got nothing!!! you dont wait to tell someone how much they spent you tell them make sure than you continue with the payment, this did NOT happen!!!! ****** is also another party in witch ill be filling a complaint on how this went threw has to be against the law, is it???? ***** was not suppose to let it go threw now it has im over drawn, cant do any thing but get robbed by spirit halloween and ****** for not letting me know how much it was before it went threw and now im screwed and owe way more to the bank!!! this is totally unprofessional from both!!! i would like it looked at please?????

Desired Settlement: Yes i could have asked for less but since i have had to go threw all this crap due to unprofessional business and an over draw i should get something!! this is NOT FUNNY, NOT COOL, NOT A WAY TO DO BUSINESS!!!!! this is robbery!!!!!

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the guest had trouble reaching out to us concenring the order that was placed. If the guest was trying to reach out to us through ************** our office hours are Monday through Friday from 9 AM-5:30 PM EST. Should the guest decide to reach out to us by email it usually takes about 12-24 business hours for us to respond. At this time we are currenlty not offering any shipping promotions, but our Economy shipping does start at $4.99 and will go up as product is added to the cart. We reviewed the order and see that at the time the order was submitted the Standard shipping method was selected which is why the amount was $15.99.

We are sorry the guest feels that they were not offered the opportunity to review their order, but once the ****** method is selected as payment method the guest is redirected to the ****** log in page to complete their order. Once redirected to the ****** page, ****** does provide the guest with the total amount of the order including the items being purchased and their individual cost, the subtotal of the purchase, sales tax, and the shipping cost. This information is either displayed in the upper right hand corner of their checkout page or on the left hand side of the checkout page. ****** also ask the guest to confirm their shipping information as well payment and contact information once they have logged into their account.  Due to the inconvenience we have issued a refund for the $15.99 shipping cost and it will take about 48-72 business hours for the credit to appear on the guest's account.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:i reported ****** also!!! NO the business cant just say it went to ******* nope try again!!! i got the total in an email NOT FROM ****** OR SPIRIT HALLOWEEN!!! if said business can NOT follow the law and blame it on tom dick and hairy and they think i care, i do not!!!! ****** is bad news and so is spirit halloween!!! no this is not acceptable way to conduct a bussiness in no way shape or form.. dont blame other's it's your fault for not letting me look at my order before you over drew my account!!!!



Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: We are sorry that the guest did not see where the total of the order was displayed during the checkout process. We have provided documentation showing what the guest sees when they select the option to check out through ******. The guest also has the option to review their order when they view thier cart before selecting a payment method and they are given the chance to see all shipping methods and cost for the purchase, as well as provide their zip code for an estimated delivery date. If guest would like a refund for the order the items can be returned to the address provided below. Once the return is received back at the warehouse a refund will be issued back to the guest's ****** account.

Spirithalloween.com
Attn: Returns Department
*** ******** ** ********** ** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10314553

I am rejecting this response because:who did you use for ur mail carrier? as i still have no got the packages. maybe if you knew what you were doing you would know where the item's ordered are let alone the scam you and *** *** have. i no longer have *** *** due to this lack of knowing how to not run businesses between two companies. so why doesnt spirit halloween find my package and have a meeting on how to rob people with ******* and just give me a refund!!!!!



Regards,

Kristin Spurlock

Business Response: This is the first time that the guest has mentioned that the order was never received. According to the ***** tracking infomration, tracking number **************** the order was delivered to the address provided below on 11/20/14. We have provided a screen shot of the ***** tracking page showing this information. Since the guest has waited until we asked that the order be returned for a refund to notify us the package was never received, a trace can no longer be filed to locate the package. Since the trace cannot be completed a claim has been filed with ***** so that they can start an investigation into the missing order. The claim number for the investigation is *********** It usually takes ***** 7-14 business days, Monday-Friday excluding holidays, to complete an investigation. Once the investigation is completed we will be able to determine the best course of action to assist the guest.

KRISTIN S*******
*** * **** ** ***** *** **********

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was authorized a refund for the purchase of an item & successful return of the item. I printed the return label & shipped the package back within the appropriate amount of time. I recorded an email confirming my refund was authorized by the company & would show up on my account in 2-3 business days. ( I saved the email stating that) I called this company on 3 separate occasions regarding the status of my refund; with no successful resolvement of my claim or issue.

Desired Settlement: I want the full refund purchase price returned to my account or further action will be taken. The refund price is not significant but it is a matter of good business practices at this point & successful follow through.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the guest has yet to see the refund for their return appear on their account. According to our records there were two refunds issued to a **** ending in ****. The first refund was issued on 10/10/14 in the amount of $53.56 and the scond was issued on 10/16/14 in the amount of $0.99. We had our Finance Department double check the refunds to make sure that they were processed properly and have confirmation that the refunds were issued without a rejection from the financial institution. We ask that the guest reach out to the bank directly for assistance in locating the refunds to her account. SHould the guest need further assistance she can call our Finance Department directly with the bank or credit card company on the phone and the Finance Deaprtment will assist the bank/credit card company in locating the charge. The phone number the guest would need to call is ###-###-#### and select option '0' to request the operator to direct their call to Finance. We hope that this has assisted in resolving the issue.

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following is a list of problems that I have had with the company. Despite multiple emails and phone calls I have sent I have not gotten a phone response. The email option I chose states that I will receive a call back if that is what I choose. The customer service line does not give the option to speak with a representative. However, you can call and select the option to leave a message to receive a callback. The specific complaints are in the statement below that is the exact complaint I emailed the company. "Would like a phone call back as that is what I have requested in multiple emails and phone calls. My order emails and receipt of order in the first package I received have different order amounts, the items I ordered have different item numbers in different places, the tracking number has never been valid and the email address where I am receiving the order verification emails is not valid on the website". Since the amounts keep changing so does the amount taken out of my checking account. Also, because the order was placed online I cannot return the items to the store. If I would decide to return the items via mail, the company states that the amount for the return shipping would be deducted from my credit. It is unacceptable that a company makes returns so difficult as to cause consumers to not want to follow through with the process of returns.

Desired Settlement: For all of the misrepresented problems, the change of the product number in different emails, the lack of a response and all other frustrations that have followed a full refund should be given before I would ever consider buying from the company again.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear about the trouble the guest had when trying to reach out to our company. When contacting us by email the normal response is usually 12-24 business hours, but during October we are at the height of our season and it can usually take 24-48 business hours to respond to a guest. This information is provided on our website when the guest fills out the email request, as well as a phone number for contact. We have searched our files and found the email correspondence from the guest on 10/16/14 regarding the multiple charges to her account and her discount not being replied. We were also able to locate the response from our company sent on 10/16/14 explaining to the guest why she was seeing multiple charges on her account and confirming that a free shipping promotion was applied to the order. A copy of the email conversation has been attached to this response. We also see that the guest reached out to us on 10/17/14 and spoke with a representative who assisted with the confusion with the SKUs and issued a $5 refund for the inconvenience.

Our company does have a 14 day return policy from the date of receipt. During the season the guests were offered the oppurtunity to return products to their local store up u ntil 10/17/14 as long as it was not an online only animatronic or a Theatrical Quality, Prestige, or Mascot costume. After 10/17/14 all online purchases needed to be mailed back to our warehouse for a refund if a return was needed. The return shipping cost is the responsibilty of the guest unless there is an issue with the product, at which point we encourage the guest to reach out to us before returning the product. All this information is provided through our Guest Services page on our website.

Due to the frustration the guest faced when trying to contact our company for assistance we would like to offer her an additional 20% off her order. We hope to hear from the guest soon so that we can better assist in getting this issue resolved.

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a costume on September 9, 2014 online at ************************ About a month later, on October 2, 2014, I received an email from Guest Services stating that the Vendor was no longer providing this particular costume. I responded with my disappointment that it took almost a month to inform me that the costume was not being offered. A **** **** from Guest Services emailed me back on October 2, 2014 that the $49.66 hold was released from my account. The hold was not released, and still has not been released. I emailed Guest Services and **** **** three times since then to release the hold. The hold is still on my account, and no one has even attempted to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I expect that the $49.66 charge hold be released from my account immediately. I placed the order on September 9, 2014, and as of today October 24, 2014 the hold is still pending on my account. I was told on October 2, 2014 that the hold had been released, and 22 days later it has not. I am not receiving a product from this company due to unavailability from the vendor. Please remove the hold from my account today. It does not take a month and a half to release a hold.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that we were unable to fulfill our guest's order for the ******* ****** ***** costume. Unfortunately we were unable to get the costume from the vendor as anticipated. Our company does not charge a guest until an order has been processed and shipped. Since the guest is not immediately charged the bank or credit card company may choose to place a hold on the account in the amount of the funds for the order. The holds may be held for 48-72 business hours before being released and if our company does not collect payment within 7 buisness days the financial institution may place another hold on the account to verify the funds are still available.

We are sorry that the guest never received a follow up email concerning the hold not being released from their account. Normally it takes about 12-24 business hours for our company to respond to all email correspondences, but during the last week of October it may take 24-48 business hours due to it being the height of the Halloween season. We do see that a final hold was placed on her account early on 10/24/14 before the order ws canceled. Should the guest still see this charge on their account we would be happy to send their bank or credit card company a release holds letter. In order to due this we will need the name of the card company, the fax number for the card services department, and the name as it appears on the account. We hope to hear from the guest soon so that we can assist in resolving this issue.

11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am (as of today) within my 14-day return window, however I am unable to make my return. I inadvertently purchased 3 of the same costume, and wish to return 2 that are completely unopened. I was told via email that I would be able to do this, yet I am not able to fill out the required return information online.

Desired Settlement: Please let me return my purchase, and refund my money.

Business Response: November 6, 2014    12:46 pm


Customer can return her item - a return label was generated this morning - I personally emailed her the label.    It will take 3 - 4 weeks to process the refund as this is our busiest time of year for returns.

Sincerely yours,

******* *****
Supervisor,
Guest Services
Spirit Halloween

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday, October 14, 2014 I ordered item ********* Haunted ******** **** with a purchase price of $215.99. I received the item approximately October 17th. I assembled the item on October 19th. It had a slight issue with movement. After looking at the moving part I noticed that it may have been missing a spring on the part. I attempted to call the number listed on the instruction manual regarding parts. The telephone number listed is *************** *** **** This number went straight to a voice mail. On Monday, October 20th I attempted to contact Spirit Halloween. I was directed through voice prompts. Left message regarding nature of the call as well as all the info for replacement. I did not hear back. I again attempted to contact the company through their email, again giving all the information regarding the nature of the issue including part number that is defective. As of October 29th I had not received any contact from the company. I called the number and used the prompts to go through the ordering department. The young man who spoke with me told me basically that I would have to prove that the item was truly defective when I received it given the price of the item. I informed him that it was exactly that reason why I was contacting them. Given that I had already paid for the item and it was such an extensive item that they need to address the issue. When I went to the company's return and exchange portion of the website, I was basically informed that I would have to shell out the money to purchase this item, then when they received the defective item I would receive credit. I don't feel that I should have to pay for something twice BEFORE the defective item is taken care of.

Desired Settlement: I want a new working item sent to me at no cost to me. I don't feel I should have to pay for the item, it's shipping either to me or for return. of the defective item.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the guest could not reach our Guest Services Center.   I did review his order and see that he did reach out to us on 10/29 and was told that we do require on defective items a picture or video of the item that is damaged or not working when that information was given to him and was not happy with the response of our rep and disconnected from the call.    Our phone number is ************.   Our website also does offer where you can send an email with responses using taking 24 to 48 business hours.   During the season, we do experience a very high valume of calls.    The phone number that were on the instructions does not work - and i also googled it  ************ *** *** - so we have our buyers inventigating who that number belongs to.

A new order has been placed for the guest - not requiring the photos or video of the broken tree.     A email confirmation will automatically be sent to the guest - the new order number is ********* and will be ship fed ex standard ground from our Ohio facility.

Our apologies to the guest for the delay.

Sincerely yours,

******* ***** ********** ***** ********
Spencer Gifts and SPIRIT Halloween



11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The advertised guaranteed delivery of costumes for Halloween, but the costume won't be delivered until after Halloween. They lured people in with the advertisement, then failed to deliver. They don't make it easy to find a telephone number and when you find it, they ask you to email them. I finally got through to someone and they blamed ****** and said there was nothing they could do. They said ****** switched the shipment method. I've never had an issue with ****** - ever. I asked to speak to a manager and was give a voicemail. No call back. Truly bait & switch tactics and deceptive advertising at it's worst.

Desired Settlement: Getting a full, with shipping included, refund it the least of what I want. I have a child without a costume 24 hours before Halloween and it's their fault!

Business Response: We have refunded the guest for the cost of the costume and her shipping and taxes.  The refund will reflect in her account in 48 - 72 business hours.   Their was a communication problem between ****** and our system when choosing the shipment type.  The order was placed on 10/27 and shipped on 10/28 however it did go economy.   It is at the Post office but unfortunately, we could not get them to deliver it before Saturday.   The guest does not have to return the costume - she can keep it or donate it.       Our phone number is provided on our website and we are available 9 am to 6 pm EST.

We have a Supervisor team available to speak to guest - unfortuantely this time of year during the peak Halloween Season if we are on the phone with another guest - it will go to voicemail.   Please accept our apologies that the order was not shipped as the guest expected.     All our representatives are trained to help the guest with any issue and are sorry that we failed to provide that to her on the phone.    

Sincerely yours,

******* ***** *** ********** ***** ********
SPIRIT Halloween and Spencer Gifts

10/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Spirit Halloween website advertised "FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS OVER $25". I purchased $275 worth of merchandise and entered their promotion code (******). I used ****** to pay for the merchandise and received a confirmation from Spirit Halloween. On the bottom of the confirmation page in small print was printed, "The code entered was valid, but will be applied to the order only if the order has met the qualifications for the promotion" I didn't give it any more thought since I had purchased well over $25 in merchandise. When I received the merchandise with the invoice copy, I saw that Spirit Halloween had charged me $20 for shipping. They provided no explanation as to why they didn't honor their free shipping offer. I feel that Spirit Halloween used deceptive advertising. They have extended the promotion on their website so you can see their advertisement.

Desired Settlement: I have two concerns. I would like the shipping charges of $20 refunded to me and I believe that it's important that Spirit Halloween remove the misleading "Free Shipping" promotion from their website.

Business Response: Customer contacted our office on October 10, 2014 concerning the oversize charge of $20 for the oversize item on his order.    The charge was explained to the guest notting that the coupon did exclude oversize shipping charges.    A credit was issued for the guest on October 10, 2014 to his ****** account out of good guest services.   All discount and coupons offered do exclude oversize shipping cost and are noted in the detailed information.  

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase online. I had a promo code "*****" that was to give me a $30.00 discount. I checked out with ******. ****** asked me to authorize $166.91. I did. Spirit Halloween then charged me $209.92. And the $30.00 discount for code "*****" vanished. Their rep said instead of giving me a $30 discount, the system took a little off each item to reduce the price by $30.00. He said after getting the ****** authorization, they added shipping and tax, which brought the total up to $206.40. The rep suggested if I had a complaint, I should contact ****** and have them handle it instead of Spirit Halloween taking care of it because he'd explained why the bill was $209.92 which should be good enough even if that isn't what I authorized. All supervisors were in meetings. When I finally spoke to one, she said the same thing. The $166.91 was a subtotal; I should have been asked to authorize 206.40, sorry about that. The $3.61 extra hold was charged by ******. ****** said they didn't charge it. Sup then said my bank must have, then. My bank doesn't do that. Supervisor then said she's explained everything so there was nothing for her to do and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: Just give me back my money and I'll go buy the items from one of their competitors.

Business Response: We are so sorry about the problem that occurred when you placed an order with us with ******.    A refund was issued as indicated by ****** ******** of $67.72.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

Here is a copy of your refund transaction thru ******.

************************************ ****** CREDIT XXXXXXXXX**** $67.72 Approved n/a 9/14/2014 11:45 PM

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I had already emailed you and advised you of this refund.

Regards,

******* *****

9/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to a spirit location on my lunch break today (10/29/13) to by a woman's army fatigue costume. Bought the costume in a size 14/16 (although I am a 8/10) for length and room since I knew that tonight I would need to be limber in it. Took the costume home to change into it (because I was going to need it to wear to a work event) and as I was buttoning it, the side completely came apart as if it may have already been defective or possibly just cheap. I realistically did not have the time to return it as I work during the week as most people, but since I am not rich and paid $40 for it, I went immediately back to the location to either exchange or return. When I got there, I was behind another customer that was being helped by one of the employees. As the woman walked away, I observed being mocked by the employee because I was sort of hidden behind a pillar. Nevertheless, I told the employee what had happened with the defective pants and she immediately told me they had a policy of no returns and only exchanges and that I could only exchange the procuct for a different size. When I found out they had no other sizes of that costume except for a 4/6 I was told that I was just out of luck or that I could drive around to other locations to try and exchange. It was a huge incovenience because I need the costume tonight and I have no time to waste driving around to other locatnions hoping for a miracle. Not only did the employee mock me and not offer to help me at all or even to call around for me, she told me that spirit accepts donatiosn. It was uncalled for and she laughed in my face. At this point, I am out of $40 and I have no costume. I feel like I've been swindled and robbed by this company and am seeking either merchandise or my money back and a formal aplogogy letter. Product_Or_Service: female army fatigue costume

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement refund or replacement and an apology letter from the company. I was humiliated by the clerk that helped me in front of other customers and she provided no real way for me to get my money or merchandise. I shouldve never done business there and I never will.

Business Response: The guest - ******** ****** contacted the Guest Service Department on October **, 2013 and spoke to our representative ****** and reported the occurence at the store.
Our Senior Representative, ****** ****** asked the guest for a copy of her receipt and a refund was issued back to her **** card ending in **** on November *, 2013 in the amount of $43.59.  

Sincerely yours,

******* ****** ********** Guest Services SPIRIT Halloween

1/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was employed by Spirit Halloween in October of 2013 and I fully enjoyed working for them until I went to purchase an item on 11/03/2013 at the ****** ***** store in ******** ******** I purchased several item which included a animated character called the ******** ********, it was the last one and I asked the salesman if it was new or the display model and he said it was new in box and he said they had just found it in the back. So I purchased it and it was $50.00 using my 25% employee discount and the 50% off store got home with the product it was about 5:45 and I immediately opened the box and that is when I noticed that it was dusty and that some of the wires were disconnected and so I phoned the store and spoke to the man who sold it to me and he told me that they were about to close and that if I came first thing in the morning when they opened I could get a refund. I was at the store before they even opened and at 10:00 a.m. when they opened I was told that they could not return it because they had taken the cash registers and I **plained what had happened and his attitude was oh well. So I asked if all stores were finally closed and he said he did not know. So I telephoned April who was the store manager at the ***** ***** ****** ***** store where I worked and she said she would try to help and said she would talk to the regional manager, well nothing has happened and I have contacted customer service twice and sent letters to corporate twice and I would like a working ******** ******** but have been told that it is a discontinued product. So I would like a full refund of $53.95. The transaction took place on 11/03/2013 at the ****** ***** store in ******** Arizona it was transaction number **** my employee number was ******* the cashiers number was ******* the item upc code is ******** *** ***** *******

Desired Settlement: If I can't get a replacement I would like a full refund.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that a previous associate for SPIRIT Halloween could not resolve the issue of defective merchandise that was purchased on 11/3/13.  Our records do not
reflect any correspondence sent by our associate *** **** and no calls recorded as received.     Our SPIRIT Halloween stores are seasonal opened from mid August to the
first of November.

As a store associate of the SPIRIT Halloween stores, all associates are advised of the return policy when purchasing merchandise.  The return date for this past season was
October 18, 2013.   All sales after that date were considered final sales.   The ******** ******** has been discontinued and is no longer available so replacing the item
is not an option.    

We are willing to help our prior associate with a refund by sending a return label to him for the defective item.   This will be sent to *** ****’s home address with the *** **
label to be put on the merchandise and sent to the Corporate Office location.   A refund will be processed when the item is received.   A receipt of the purchase has been
obtained showing the guest purchased the item originally priced $199.99 minus 50% off sale plus his associate discount of 25% for the amount of $74.99 plus tax.   This
will be refunded to *** ****s as soon as we receive the item.   
 

*** **** can also contact us thru email at ******************************* for any other concerns.  

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted SPIRIT via email on Oct-28 to report the following: On Saturday, Oct-26 I spent $65 at SPIRIT Halloween shop on *** ****** in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Included in that purchase was a black metallic jumpsuit in size Small for $39.99. When I returned home to try on the costume, I discovered that the zipper was broken. I immediately called the store in Park Slope, but there were no additional versions of that costume in my size. I called all other Brooklyn store locations to find the same situation. This Halloween my family spent $185 total at SPIRIT stores and on-line. I stated that I understood SPIRIT does not refund purchases during the week of Halloween; however, I was sold a faulty product and I asked that SPIRIT to send me this costume, in working condition and in my size, to my home address free-of-charge. I offered to send the broken costume to the Egg Harbor office. No one at the Brooklyn stores were able to help any further. I indicated that this was not good business policy, regardless of a seasonal location or not. Customer service replied on Oct-29 and stated that another costume would be sent if the costume comes back in stock. This costume has been in stock on-line since that time. On Nov-24 I contacted SPIRIT via e-mail again, and I have not received a reply. This is not sound business practice, and I would appreciate BBB's advise and assistance in this matter.

Desired Settlement: Per my original request, I would like SPIRIT to send me the costume, in my size but in working condition. I would be happy to return the faulty costume to their Egg Harbor office. Otherwise, if a replacement is not possible, I would like $39.99 refunded to me.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the guest did not receive a response to the follow up email she sent asking for an update on her replacement costume. I checked our emails and the last email correspondence we have with the guest was to inform her that should the black metallic jumpsuit come back in stock online we would ship her a replacement. This email was sent to the guest on 10/28/13. I have checked our website and the product the guest wanted is back in stock int the size needed. We will be happy to ship the guest the replacement as promised. If the guest could please email us at ********************************* to confirm that the address we have from the original email: ***** ******* ********* *** *** *** *** ** Brooklyn, NY 11215 is still correct we will get the product shipped.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******* ********




















11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a spooky voice sound effects machine a week prior to Halloween. Once home, I put batteries in it and tried using it. It didn't work. It's not that it didn't work well, it did not work at all. Since their stores have a "no return policy" I decided to email customer service to try and get the issue resolved, as they can't sell products that simply don't work and then not take any type of responsibility for it. I received a reply from customer service the next morning wanting more information on the purchase and a copy of my receipt, which I sent them that day. When I followed up with an employee who claimed to be helping me with this issue (name is ******* *******) she said it would be resolved within a few days. It has been over 3 weeks and after countless emails and attempts to finding a resolution, nothing has been resolved. Halloween has come and gone and I am left with a "spooky sound machine" that is of no good to me or anyone for that matter. Extremely disappointed that consumers have absolutely no rights when it comes to dealing with these huge corporations. This has been very disheartening.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for the product that didn't work and did not do what it was labeled to do. That is false advertising!

Business Response: I am sorry to hear that you have yet to receive a response concerning the Spooky Sound box you purchased. I would like to issue you a corporate office refund for the product. In order to process this request I will need you to email me a picture of your receipt and your address. My email address is ******************************. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********




















11/27/2013 Delivery Issues
11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased a halloween item from the Orland Park, Illinois location and upon setting it up at home, it failed to work. I contacted the customer service email and they had asked me for a copy of the receipt and a video of the prop not working. I sent both in a reply and have yet to hear from them. I had asked NUMEROUS times if the prop worked and they always said yes. When asked if I could see it, the employee plugged it in and it made sounds, however, this prop is to jump up and she failed to proceed to totally remove from the box. I advised that I am NOT asking for my money back, as I would simply like a product that works.

Desired Settlement: I simply would like a prop that works as it is supposed to.

Business Response: I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the email response that was sent to you on 11/2/13. Unfortunately we were unable to get a replacement pop up zombie to send you as requested. Since the product could not be replaced a request was submitted for a corporate office refund. The refund will be in the amount of $56.53 and is being issued back to the credit card used to make the purchase. It usually takes about 7-14 working days for the request to be processed.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *****




















11/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently ordered a costume (Purple Poison Dress) for my wife from ******************** We both loved it and ensured that it came with all accessories (gloves, headdress, and a necklace). We are always careful to make sure that we receive what we are promised. My costume arrived with all promised accessories (The wrong color, but I wasn't going to make a fuss), but my wife's costume arrived weeks late. When it finally did arrive, it was missing everything but the dress itself. We checked the receipt for a phone number to ask about the problem, and found none. We then visited the website to find that the advertisement for the product had changed. The entire description was different. We then found out that the costume had been back-ordered and no one received theirs for a few weeks. We highly suspect that ******************* realized the error, saw an opportunity to remedy the error, and changed the description before anyone could prove otherwise. I wouldn't be filing with the BBB, but I have spent an hour looking for any way to contact the company other than sending snail mail to headquarters where there is no guarantee of a response. I am infuriated. This is no way to treat your customers.

Desired Settlement: I would very much love to: A. Receive the promised accessories and B. Receive some form of an apology and a way to contact the company.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the manufacturer does not provide the costume that was listed as being all inclusive so a full refund was processed for the guest.  This credit will take 48 to 72 business hours to show up on the account used to place the order.    Backorder emails go out automatically after the 1 - 2 day processing time.  We apologize that this was not sent to the guest.   Our phone number is provided at the top of the invoice and also on our website under Guest Services.     There are also email options to contact us on the website as well.   We are sorry that the guest did not receive what they were expecting as a costume.

Our Guest Services number is *************   If you google our company name - our corporate office phone number is provided.   We also do have a facebook page - where comments are made good and bad - and we respond as well.   

We would like to extend our apologies to the guest for the inconvenience caused him.

11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a metallic jumpsuit costume from the Spirit Halloween store. I was not allowed to try on the costume in the store because the dressing rooms were out of order. When I took the costume home to try on, it was a defective product (ripped seams). I purchased after October 18, ***** the date after which there are no "returns," but this was not a return - the product I purchased was defective.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the defective merchandise and be refunded.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that you were unable to use the dressing room in order to try on the costume. Please send us a picture of your receipt and the costume showing the damage to ********************************* so that we can further assist you in resolving this issue. Please put Attn: ****** in the subject line of the email so that I will be able to review the email personally.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased several 200 animatronics from spirit halloween over the last month. The last few items I received were defective as soon as they arrived and I ended up sending them back for a refund. up until today they seem to be doing as they should in this case regarding customer service. I have another one I purchased about a month ago. this item was 179.99 and used 4 times...ONLY 4 TIMES...its not even halloween yet and the eyes are no longer working. I received an email from customer service asking me to send her a video which I attempted several times but their email system would not accept the videos (why would they even ask me to send one) so the girl messages me back and said because I couldnt send a video she could offer me 30 percent discount to keep the broken item. i refused and asked her to send me a label and reship the product...well I guess now its out of stock. so then I get a call from someone stating its passed 14 days and they would not even send me a label to send it back to them and she would offer me 20 percent to keep it...WTH!! THIS IS NOT FAIR THEY SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SALE ITEMS THAT WILL ONLY WORK FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME AND THEY ARE A SEASONAL STORE SO THEY GET A WAY WITH IT. IT IS UNJUST AND SHOULD NOT BE OCCURING.

Desired Settlement: I want a shipping label to return this item and I expect a full refund including original shipping. unless they want me to keep the broken item for the inconvienience BUT I WILL NOT PAY FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response: A return label is being sent to the guest to return the item.   We have tried to work with the guest since 9/27/13.  The guest wants us to price match on items that she has found on the internet or that we cannot accept videos.   We do accept videos it was just her file was too big.     We have tried to accomodate the guest - however, we can no longer price match items and accept the fact that it is damage with no proof.   A refund will be issue for the full purchase amount including shipping when the item is received back at the warehouse.

11/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a costume that was suppose to be delivered Oct 4, 2013. The package tracking indicated that it was delivered, but it was not. When I contacted Spirit Halloween Customer Service on Monday Oct 7, 2013 I was told that they were going to contact the package delivery service and report that the package was not received. I was told they would call me back. Nothing happened. I received no call or follow-up. I called on Thursday Oct 10, 2013 and was told that it was my problem to deal with and I would need to call the package delivery service. I asked several times if this was indeed the case as that was not how other companies handle lost packages shipped from their businesses. I then called the package delivery service and was told that I could not make a claim, that only Spirit Halloween could make the complaint because they were the shipper and it was their account. I even checked on line to confirm that is the actual procedure outlined by the package delivery service (i.e., ******. I contacted Spirit Halloween and they said they would follow up. I asked them how I would know they would follow up since this is the third time calling and for whatever reason my call on Monday, which was suppose to have them file a complaint with the delivery service resulted in nothing, and they said they would call me back with information. I asked them how much time this would take to resolve. They indicated they could not provide me with a specific time because they need to have the order tracked. When I pointed out that is exactly how I knew the package was not delivered (it was tracked!), there was a vague response that this is the process (which is ironic, given that one hour before the process was for me to file the claim). I was told they would call in 15 minutes. No call. I called back asking to speak to a manager about this issue. I was told none were available and I could not speak to one, that they would take my number and call me back.

Desired Settlement: I really just want the costume or a refund. If they need a signed, sworn affidavit that I did not receive the package, I'm more than willing to do so. I've offered this to them several times.

Business Response: Customer's package was tracked and claim filed.   Refund was issed on 10/11/13 in full in the amount of $38.52.     A trace usually takes 48 - 72 hours to receive an answer back.  The refund was issued to the guest before the results were received from fed ex.   During our busy season of Halloween all our representatives have the authority to help each guest.  

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a variety of halloween supplies at the Spirit Store on Saturday, 10/19. Upon taking these items home and setting them up I found out that 3 of the items did not work and one of the items heated up and seemed to be a fire hazard. According to the Spirit store all sales are final but I was sold faulty merchandise. I would like a full refund of these items. I have tried to contact the store but the phone line rings and has a message stating that the voicemail is not set up yet. I have also contacted the corporate office but the when I am transferred to customer service the phone line has a busy tone every time and I am unable to speak to a representative. I have also emailed directly with guest services on the Spirit website but I have not heard back. The following is the corporate office information: ****** ********* ********* ****** * **************** ***** ***** **** *** ****** ******** ** *********** ********* ********* ***** ************ ******** ******************* * ***** ************* ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund for the faulty items I purchased. I do not want a store credit or exchange, the quality of product is very low and I feel they have safety issues as well.

Business Response: As we do have an all sales final after October 18 posted on the receipt - we will be happy to refund the guest for the defective items if he would send us a copy of his receipt and a description of what is wrong with each item.   Our Customer Service number is ***************   Our fax number is ************  attention Customer Service.

Business Response: As we do have an all sales final after October 18 posted on the receipt - we will be happy to refund the guest for the defective items if he would send us a copy of his receipt and a description of what is wrong with each item.   Our Customer Service number is ***************   Our fax number is ************  attention Customer Service.

11/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered costume online on Thursday, Oct 24, 2013 and paid $32 extra for ***** overnight service. The package arrived Monday Oct 28 and was no longer needed since the party had already occurred. Spirit Halloween says they do not guarantee delivery and do not take costume returns after Oct 25 when I did not even have the costume in my possession. Their policies are unethical and in my opinion, they have stolen the money from me since I have to keep something I clearly do not want.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the costume (unopened box) and get the cost of the costume and the overnight shipping refunded to my credit card.

Business Response: Customer can return item that was received after our return guideline using the return and exchange center on our SPIRIT webiste.   The package can also be marked refused and taken back to *** ** to return.   Once the item is received, a refund will be issued.   This can take up tp 4 weeks because of the time of season.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ******




















11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Spirit Halloween
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart