BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers ladies' and men's suits and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Donnie's Dresses of Union LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Donnie's Dresses of Union LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Donnie's Dresses of Union LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2010 Business started: 02/21/1996 in NJ Business incorporated 02/21/1996 in NJ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Donald Schneiderman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Schneiderman, President
Business Category

Clothing - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Donnie's Dress Corp First Suit Ladies Church Suits Women's Sunday Suits

Additional Locations

  • 1693 Stuyvesant Ave

    Union, NJ 07083 (908) 378-1400 (908) 289-3997

  • 1693 Stuyvesant Ave

    Union, NJ 07083

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed an order online with First Suit. The suit received looked absolutely NOTHING like the suit that was pictured online. The suit color online was a very attractive long waisted nicely dyed black suit. The suit I received was dull colored, not having the same appearance as the nice pictures you see online. The suit jacket and pants come 2 different sizes, not fully explained upfront in the ordering process. The sizing chart that they refer you to when calling for refunding is quite confusing. No where in their advertising upfront do they state that the jacket and pant (six sizes smaller) will be that vast difference. Very DECEPTIVE in their website presentation of the suits as opposed to what you actually get when order. Poor customer service, not willing to listen to your concerns without over talking you with their prepared speech of their NO RETURN POLICY. The owner himself is then put on the phone as the manager and began talking at you in a demeaning, hostile manner; even yelling on the phone if you are not in agreement with him or try to speak your peace to explain yourself. Of course, if you state anything in defense of yourself he then yells that he is not going to refund your money, in which he had not intentions from the onset to do so. Product Issues, Refund and Exchange Issues, and Customer Service Issues. Questionable misleading use of the Better Business Beaurea logo giving consumers false confidence that they have been rated with A rating.

Desired Settlement: To allow the merchandise to be returned and refund of $135.00 returned to credit card within reasonable business timeframe. Some accountability of the company so that other consumers are aware of their deceptive/vague website advertisements and business practices.

Business Response: The item the customer ordered was the exact item we shipped. ( Never Mislead )
The color the customer order was the exact the color we shipped. ( Never Mislead )
This particular style is an open stock item that we have had zero complaints on quality/color or workmanship. We have sold 1000's of them.
In the mens suit industry what ever size you order in the jacket it is a 6inch drop from the waist. This is standard procedure and also not misleading at all. We have 10,000's satisfied male customers across the word, ranging from preachers, pastors, celebrities and regular church folk who are extremely satisfied with our mens suits.
We sell primarily wholesale that is why we have a final sale policy. This policy is clearly listed on out homepage under the link retuurn policy.
As I read the notes on the situation it is clear to me that we were going to make an exception for ** ****** and we told him via phone that we would in fact do an exchange for him ( We have Prioof ) This offer was then reversed as a female called bashing the company and our merchandise after we just made an exception. We are under no obligation to take an item back when we have a no return policy ( CLEARLY STATED ONLINE ).
Also we do have an A rating with the BBB and have not given any sort of false confidence. Most companys are willing to make exceptions and compomises but after reviewing the comments and abuse brought upon us via the phone after we in fact said we would take the item back seems rather unreasonable and unfair.
I would like to thank the BBB for there help in this matter, furthermore our history will show that we makes exceptions 99% of the time pertaining to the return policy however these abusive phone circumstances are uncalled for after a resolution was actaully made between our company and ** ****** *******
 

5/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife ordered 2 suits from Donnie's Dresses for me in January. The first suit arrived in February. I had to call about the second suit. At that time *****, who is the manager told me the suit was not in stock to order another, which I did. I wear a 60 long. The next suit that arrived was a 44 Regular. I had to pay $15 to end it back. I was told to send it back with the original invoice and a list of suits I would prefer. The nest package arrived again had the wrong suit. I have copies of everything I sent them. When I called about the problem, the owner told me I should be happy to have this suit; they do not carry many 60 long suits and the price I paid for the suit was better than buying it retail. The suit I received was style number 5285V-N a navy blue denim suit. My original suit I ordered was Style: 906V in black. The owner and the manager were very rude, unprofessional and argued me down that I SHOULD be happy with what they sent me. This is not what I paid for or desired.

Desired Settlement: I want the suit that I ordered or something comparable that is on the list that I sent. I will return the suit sent when they provide postage and refund me for the other suit I sent back s well as postage for returning this one. I will not send back this denim suit until I received the correct suit. I also should receive something because of the lies, unorthodox sale practices and unprofessional behavior.

Business Response: We are showing that was one of the suits that was on the list. If you please send it back we will be happy to refund. Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I checked the list I sent them. This suit is not on the list, their attitude and behavior was very unbusiness like and why should I pay to send back another suit  that was there mistake.0



Regards,Reject Business Response

****** *****

Business Response: We are showing the suit on the list. We would be happy to refund you in full for the order, please ship it back and we will accommodate you by giving you your money back. Thank you, customer service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am not paying again to send back their mistake. I did it once and I am not doing it again. I am calling the **** Attorney General and filing a fraud complaint.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Ok send the item back and will refund you for the shipping and the suit.
Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

Let them send me a paid ups return label, refund me for the return of the other suit I had to send back as well as the money spent on the suit and I will comply.




Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

We have proof that the list the customer gave us was in fact the 1 suit we shipped.

However as a compromise we will send a pre-paid label for the shipping as well as a full refund on the suit.

Keep in mind - We charge a 25% restocking fee ( We Are Waiving ) + we do not pay for the shipping coming back ( We Are Waiving That As Well )
We are going above and beyond to accommodate the customer, when in fact we have not done anything wrong.

The key to a fair and just compromise is both parties give a little, it seems to me in this case that we are the only ones willing to give at all.

We have accepted that as a fact and will comply to end this banter back and fourth over 1 suit.

We would like to also thank the BBB for there help and guidance in these unfortunate set of circumstances.
Thank you, Upper Management

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have my list and this suit is not on it. I have Xeroxed copies of my list. I will wait on my FTC investigation. There is not the first time this company has pulled this. I ordered a white shadow stripe suit 2 years ago for a church function. All the men were wearing the same suit. I ordered a 62L that was on their list. They sent a 58L which had to be returned. I received another white suit, not like the one the majority ordered.
I was trying to trust them again, but I see I was wrong. So I will keep the suit and all off my paperwork until I hear from the FTC!



Regards,

****** *****

4/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with this company since February 14. received purchase information but no shipping info, when asked several times I eventually got a tracking number, which showed that the package went to South Africa. I requested a refund, all I was told is that it has been re- routed on March 23, no further information has been given. I am requesting a total refund. since no package or any signs of it has been received as yet.

Desired Settlement: I would like a total refund of payment and international shipping fee to be refunded to my credit card.

Business Response: As of the march 22 the box is in TURKS And CAICOS - Tracking # is - *************
Thank you

10/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an dress outfit on July 17, 2014 and it has not been delivered, although I have already paid for it. ****, the manager of Donnie Dresses keeps promising it will be delivered the next week. Each time **** has stated the products are fall based and needs to be made before it can be shipped. So basically, this is false advertisement to offer products for sell without them being made available. This have been going on since July and I just want my money back and to notify you that this company needs to be investigated. They are being dishonest to the customer by taking payment for items without delivering merchandise. Donnie dress practices are unprofessional and inane. Donnie's dresses debited one hundred and fifty-nine dollars from my banking account on the item and it has not been shipped to me as of this present date.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the full amount and to have this company investigated!

Business Response: This item is a pre-order. There is a delay on this style. We made it clear to the customer it was a fall 2014 pre-order. We have over 200 pcs sold with a % 90% waiting for it. If you do not want to wait we will cancel/refund the order in full. As of today - Oct 8TH you have been refunded in full. Please allow a 2-3 business days for it to post. Thank you
If you have any further question feel free to call ***** in the refund dept - *** *********
Thank you

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two suits and a dress on April 14, 2014. I did not like them and the material it was made out of. I called them and they told me to ship them back and I would be charged a restocking fee in the amount of twenty five percent of the cost of the three items. I shipped all three back to them on April 22, 2014 by *** and have confirmation that the three item were delivered the next day which was April 23, 2014. The three items were on deferred payment for November 16, 2014. These items are still showing up on my credit card statement with interest that will apply on November 16,2014. I called my credit card company today and was told that no credit was issued on those three items that was returned. I have been calling for a week and you can't get anyone on the telephone. They tell you to leave a message and they don't return the calls. I have emailed them and have not receive a reply back from them. Don't know what they are doing but it doesn't look good. Can you please handle this for me. Thanking you in advance.

Desired Settlement: I want credit to be put on my account. I will pay the twenty five restocking fee but not the interested rate that is adding on up to the date of Nov. 11, 2014.

Business Response: Sorry to hear about this. Can I have the tracking # on the return please as I do not see it.
Thank you, *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:


He is requesting the *** ground tracking number it is ******************

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Ok we agree and we will refund minus 25%. Please allow app 2-3 business days for it to post to you acct from the day of refund. Thank you.
We would also like to thank the BBB for there assistance in these unfortunate set of circumstances.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a size 8 skirt and top. Product #** ***** size 8, black with white. The Cost $89 plus $20 shipping and handling. The outfit, although it says a size 8, actually is closer to a size 12 or 14. Way too big. I called to tell them that the outfit was too big, that the size on the skirt and top does not match an actual size 8. I was told that there is a final sale, no refund, no exchange policy. I placed the order via phone, I was not told at the time of order that there was this final sale policy. In any case, I did not receive the size of dress that I ordered. It is like they took a skirt and a top and just sized it an 8. I feel as though the mistake was theirs. The gentlemen that I spoke to said that the stock number "** ****** is an indication that the dress is for Full Sized women. I did not know this at the time of order. I am not full size, I am a very small elderly woman. He offered to give me 1/2 of the cost to have the outfit altered. I would pay the whole alteration price, and he would give me a store credit for the other half. No! If I order again, what if that outfit doesn't fit. I don't want to have the outfit altered, I asked him to just exchange for a smaller dress. He said that 8 was the smallest size. I just want my money back now!

Desired Settlement: Because I ordered a size 8, and the skirt and top is obviously a size 12 or 14 - I just want my money back at this point. I wanted to get a smaller outfit, he says that 8 is the smallest - nothing will obviously fit me!

Business Response: The customer ordered a size 8 and size 8 is what we shipped. Our return policy can be found on our website ( All Sales Are Final )
This is not and 8w it is a regular size 8. The style is 100% not miss-sized. 
We attempted to compromise with the customer as the BBB can see in her complaint but she is unwilling to compromise.
We will extend the offer one again. If the customer wants to get the item altered to fit her we will cover half the alterations in the form of a store credit. We are under obligation to do this or take a return back however we will put our " Best Foot Forward " to compromise again.
We would like to thank the BBB for there help in resolving these unfortunate set of circumstances.
Thank you, ***** 

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On august 2013 I ordered from my telephone 2 ladies suits from Donnies. When they arrived IN September of 2013 one was not the one that I had ordered. It was a black/silver suit not red which I had ordered. I immediately called them and talked to a "***** in sales and he told me to send the black/silver suit back to get a refund. I sent it back by UPS on September 23, 2013. They received it on September 27, 2013. I waited two bank statements to see if I would be refunded. I called Donnies Dresses on November 4 a "***** in sales told me they had not received the suit. On November 5, I called back and gave them the tracking No: ****************29 which confirmed that a "****** signed for it on September 27. ***** said that I would have a ******* to call me to authorize my refund in 20 minutes. I wait an hour and no one called. I called a was transferred to *******who said he did not give refunds and that I would have to select another suit or he would send the returned one back to me. I told him I was told that I would receive a refund $179.00 and that there was nothing else at Donnies that I wanted. I also told him that The Elite Champagne suit I kept was cheap material and had strings hanging from it. I told him I was going to report him to the New Jersey Better Business Bureau. He said "I have an A+ rating with them. I hung up on him. He called me back but I refused to answer because he accused me of threatening him.

Desired Settlement: I want my $179.00 refunded for the suit that I returned to them that I didn't even order but they sent me what they thought I would accept.

Business Response: We are a wholesale based company where we traditionally sell to stores. Standard in the wholesale industry is final sale/ no refund/ no exchange. Our return policy for our wholesale division is clearly written on our website and it is also on the bottom of each invoice. ********* boutique ordered these at the wholesale price. We are not showing that a red suit was ordered. What ******* ***** ordered was exactly what was shipped to her. Thank you

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Suit from WomenSundaySuits. They told me over the phone that is was returnable for a restocking fee and that I would have to pay shipping and handling if I were to return it. When I called to see how to return it, they said they everything is final sale. They do not return items. They told me before I ordered that I could return it so that they could make the sale. That is dishonest business and is extremely frustrating now because I am stuck with a dress that doesn't fit , which by the way, is another issue, they said that the dress would fit according to sizes that I gave them. It was huge. I ordered a size six and it came saying that it was a size six, but was the size of a women's 12-14. I asked specifically if it could be returned before I ordered it as I had several dresses coming from different companies trying to find a dress for my daughters wedding. I am not going to order something that I know cannot be returned if I am ordering several choices. While I was talking to them on the phone telling them that I had been told that I could return it and that they had lied to me to make a sale, they just hung up on me. Not professional!! I just want my money back for the return of the dress.

Desired Settlement: I will return the dress and I want my refund less their 20% restocking fee, which they said I would have if I returned it. The dress was 109.00 so 20% is $21.90. So I should receive $87.10 Back.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint 

Complaint ID#:  

******* 

Company Name:  

womensundaysuits 

Company Contact:  

*****  

Company Phone:  

********** 

Company Email:  

************************** 

Person Who Sent the Complaint:  

****** ******** 

Staff Member:  

Response: 

Out return policy can been seen on our website, which does state everything we do is final sale, however you can send it back minus the 20% restocking fee per your request. Thank you, customer service 

Sent on: 9/11/2013 5:45:21 PM 

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues