This business is not BBB accredited.

American Standard Brands

Additional Locations

Phone: (732) 980-3000 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Centennial Ave, Piscataway, NJ 08854 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.americanstandard.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers building material for bathrooms, light fixtures, tub & showers and kitchens.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Standard Brands include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 11
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Standard Brands
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1875 in PA Business incorporated 07/19/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Hopwo, C.S. Technical Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Hopwo, C.S. Technical Manager
Business Category

Building Materials Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Bathroom Accessories Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Centennial Ave

    Piscataway, NJ 08854 (419) 521-3310 (732) 980-3000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 6820

    Piscataway, NJ 08855

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have two American Standard 4021N toilets with a manufacture date of August 2013 (one lists August 31, 2013 and another lists August 19, 2016). The toilets have been flushing on it's own so I replaced the two flappers. The replacement flappers didn't fix the problem so I tried to clean the lip of the seal. When cleaning the seal, I noticed the large black rubber seal connecting the flapper components to the tank appears like it was "feathered". When I touched it, it was broke apart into all small pieces (almost like sand). I looked at the other toilet and that one is has the same issue as well. I am looking for the replacement part of the black o-ring shaped that seal connects the part the flapper connects to (rigid plastic) to the porcelain tank as well as replacement flappers. My attempt to resolve this issue with Customer Service (*********) were unsuccessful.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for the replacement part of the black o-ring shaped that seal connects the part the flapper connects to (rigid plastic) to the porcelain tank as well as replacement flappers to be provided free of charge since the toilets are within warranty.

Business Response: The Cadet 3 series toilets do have a 5 year limited warranty.  This warranty is not transferable and all warranty claims need to have proof of purchase provided.  A copy of the receipt will be added to the customers file for that and any future warranty claims, it validates and lets us know how long the warranty will be in effect for, as it is from date of purchase.  I have however ordered the parts requested as a one-time courtesy, all future warranty claims will required the proof of purchased be added to this persons claim.

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an American Standard Vormax toilet. Soon after it was installed I noticed a trickle of water continuously leaking into the bowl from the tank. I made adjustments inside the tank in an attempt to stop the leak. The leak continued, so I contacted American Standard. Their customer service department sent a number of replacement parts including flappers, teeter bars from newer models, entirely new upper tanks complete with new flapper designs. And still the leak continued. My water bill went up over this time, and I complained several times about the incredible waste of water resources and apparent design flaw with the Vormax toilet.

Desired Settlement: I believe that a number of things should happen as a result of my experience. First, I believe a recall is in order. There's no way that I have the only tank(s) that has leaked & wasted enormous amounts of water. Second, the problem should be fixed. Before destroying the upper tank (in order to receive a refund from American Standard) I tried one last time to stop the leak. I had an idea to shave/cut off slivers of the closed cell foam floats that are above the flappers (They act to hold the flappers open during the flushing cycle). After decreasing the size of the foam floats I filled the "soon to be destroyed" tank with water. Guess what? It stops leaking. All this time...it was the floats. They're too big. They act like a bobber under water and pull up on the flappers just enough to create a leak. Normally the pure water pressure (head pressure) would push down on the flapper to seal the tank...not so when you stick an over-sized bobber in the tank. Fix the Float!

Business Response: We have not experienced any excessive issues with this product, and have deemed a recall is not necessary.  As we have reimbursed the customer his purchase price, I feel the matter is closed with this individual.

Business Response: All customer issues are input into a data matrix, which is reviewed by engineering / quality.  All quality issues are taken very seriously, and looked into by the correct department.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

David ******

6/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2015, I purchased from ***** a "***** Exclusive" Clean Activate No-Touch Toilet for $300.00. Within eight (8) months, I was contacting the company as the toilet was flushing itself! I could hear water running intermittently but regularly. When my kids told me that the toilet was flushing itself, I was skeptical until it flushed itself while I was in that bathroom cleaning. I was definitely shocked. I called American Standard's Customer Service line and got a rather surly customer service rep who said they would mail me a new actuator. I received the actuator within the month and installed it. Within a few short months, the toilet started flushing itself again, over and over and over. Now I was angry and frustrated. I contacted American Standard again, and once again was sent a new actuator. I again installed the actuator and within less than a month, the toilet was flushing itself again! I am about to list my house for sale. I can't sell my house with a non working toilet I just bought a year ago for $300 that flushes itself over and over and over. The company is not sympathetic to the issue, and judging from the number of complaints on both *****' and American Standard, I am not alone in my anger and frustration. The toilet does not operate as designed and represented. American Standard refuses to do anything more than send new actuators out when it is clear the actuator is not the problem. I've heard rumors that American Standard addressed this known issue and changed the design, but they have not made any effort to contact those of us who purchased this toilet when it first came out, to advise us there was a new system that didn't fail after a few months, nor did it need new parts every few months. ***** sold me a Lemon in the Clean Activate No-Touch toilet by American Standard and they know it. They are unsympathetic and continue to sell this toilet with what, I can only presume, is the new mechanics that do not break down all the time.

Desired Settlement: If the company has indeed modified the design of this toilet so that it works as represented and does not need a new actuator every month, or at all, and operates normally for the expected lifetime of this toilet, I would like an exchange. It's not fair to pay $300 for a toilet that has a fatal flaw rendering it unusable. The toilet just sits in the unuseable guest bathroom, the water is off, the actuator disconnected. This toilet is a lemon.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer, in order to satisfy her issue, we are replacing her tank with a conventional trip lever tank.

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/28/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an online order on 11/19/2015 for a toilet lever part. The order number is ******** and the total cost was $36.09 including shipping and taxes. On 11/23 I received an e-mail advising of shipping with delivery date 11/27. when the item was received, I opened the plastic bag and attempted to install in the toilet. Unfortunately it was not the right model. With the Delivery I received a return label that required me to call ***** ******** to obtain an authorization number to return. I called on 11/30 but the customer service representative refused to give an authorization number to return claiming that since I opened the bag, the item is now considered USED. I asked to speak to a manager, she told me the manager left for the day and gave me the manager's voicemail. I left a message on the manager's voicemail stating the situation and left my home and cell numbers to call me back. I received no calls so far.

Desired Settlement: I demand the company to call me and provide an authorization number for me to return the item since it actually has not been used as they claim and refund my credit card accordingly for the full amount.

Business Response: We will contact customer and see about providing an RGA number.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The item was shipped on 12/17/2015 by USPS Priority Mail to American Standard Brands at ** ****** **** ********** ** ***** according to voicemail message instructions for delivery on 12/19/2015.  until this writing, my credit card account was NOT CREDITED back.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: The item was received back and credit was issued on 12/22/15, it generally takes 3 to 5 business days to post to the customer's account.

12/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought and paid over $150.00 for a kitchen faucet from American Standard. on thanksgiving day this this broke leaving me with no way to cut the water off because there were no water cut offs under the sink. i could not stop the water except to go out side and turn all the water of from the main water cut off. then the bottom of the faucet was rusted and could not get it of so have to cut it off. mind you this is thanksgiving da house filled with guest. called American Standard the customer service people hung the phone up in my face two times. called back ask for a supervisor who also hung up in my face. just because the store could not provide me a receipt. ask if I could send the faucet back at no cost to them was told that I was just out of luck suck it up. PLEASE SOME ONE HELP ME////$150.00 IS A LOT OF MONEY. PLEASE HELP ME GET TO THE BOTTOM OF THIS...

Desired Settlement: I have already bought another faucet, so if they can just send me my money back or at the least send me another faucet.

Business Response: All warranty claims require proof of purchase, as the warranty is to the original purchaser only, the warranty is not transferable.  Without a copy of the sales receipt we are unable to start a warranty claim.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the receipt was in the box in which the item came and was destroyed by mistake in a an emergency situation. And I offered to send the faucet back at mi cost, as a proof of purchase. It seems to me that If I could send the item back they would know two things 1. that I had bought it. 2. that I actually had a problem. 



Regards,

****** ***** ***

Business Response: Unfortunately having the faucet in your possession is not proof of purchase, since the warranty is non-transferable, people who have a American Standard faucet in their house does not prove it was purchased.  American Standard cannot replace a faucet without knowing who the original purchaser was.

11/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought Am Standard heat pump from ******'s AC in AZ. $5439.32 on 11/4/2013 with limited warranty. Had regular service with good reports. on Labor Day w/e, the unit stopped working. ******* came and found rotolock fitting broken and lost Freon. A few days later they fixed the unit for $1443.67 for (free part) , Freon, welding and labor $539.00. Since it was a manufacturing problem, (we were not on the roof,) I believe it was a faulty unit, plus the SRP bill was $361.10. We live on social security and believe American Standard and ******'s should have gotten together to help with this added expense. Am standard is * ********** *** ** ***** *****. Web sites not working so I made several phone calls to no avail and decided to contact the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like American Standard and ******'s air conditioning ###-###-#### to stand behind their product!! Give partial money back to us..is the part on recall?l Serial #**********, especially since we had regular 6month service. I did file with BBB against ******'s in Arizona.

Business Response: American Standard Brands is not affiliated with this company.  The Air condition and heat pump division has been a separate company, for quite some time, they would need to be contacted at

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

 

9/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 American Standard model 4260 commodes and installed them in my home. These commodes have a warranty of 10 years on the tank parts that are now leaking. All three have the same issues, leaking seals in the tank, and hardened, broken, split fill tubes. I purchased my home in February, 2006. These commodes have a production date code after February, 2006, so they were manufactured AFTER I purchased my home. I still live in the same home where these commodes are installed. There is no way that these commodes have been installed for more than 10 years, which is the warranty for the parts of these commodes that has failed. American Standard refuses to honor the warranty because I cannot produce the original receipt. I had hundreds of receipts over the years because I completely remodeled my home, purchasing everything needed to gut and rebuild the house. In doing all of the work on my home, I apparently did not register the purchase of these commodes to activate the warranty. There is no way that these have been in use for more than 10 years, and I am the original purchaser. I simply want American Standard to honor their warranty, which was the main reason that I bought their product.

Desired Settlement: I just want to get the warranty replacement for the parts that have failed, which are still under warranty, which I will need to install. Installation itself is painful as it requires removing the tank to replace these parts, three times for the three commodes.

Business Response: The limited lifetime warranty is non-transferable, generally without a receipt or any warranty registration on file, we would require proof of purchase in the form of a receipt.  As a one-time courtesy, I will replace the parts requested, but all future requests will require proof of purchase or the parts will have to be purchased directly by the home owner.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

This is all that I wanted, to have warranty coverage of the parts.  I would need to know the next steps are to receive these parts, and when I should expect to receive them.

 

 

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an American Standard toilet (model 3381.216) in 2014 and it stopped working properly after 10 months. The water tank stopped getting automatically filled with water after the toilet is flushed. So I called American Standard and they sent to me a package of replacement parts, which look significantly different from the existing parts inside the water tank. So I called American Standard again and was told they "redesigned" the toilet and that I was out of luck. What a nightmare. Also, the installation guide included in the replacement parts package shows a diagram of the parts that look significantly different from both the new parts and the existing parts. After spending more than $300 on a brand new American Standard toilet, I have a broken toilet that is beyond repair in less than a year. Now I have to buy a new toilet and hire a plumber to install it. This is so unfair.

Desired Settlement: I want American Standard to refund my $200 purchasing cost plus $125 installation cost.

Business Response: The toilet parts in question sent to fix the issue are correct for the model number listed.  All toilets will at times need some general maintenance.  The parts sent to the customer will resolve the issue.

Consumer Response:  
I am rejecting this response because: I have to spend $200 to hire a plumber to try to fix the broken toilet, which is less than one year old. This is ridiculous. American Standard should reimburse the cost.



 

Business Response: Unfortunately the warranty specifically excludes labor, the warranty only covers the parts. 

 

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two American Standard toilets ($300) a piece and purchased the recommended toilet seats that went with *** ******** ******* that we bought which were $45 + tax each. The toilet seats are terrible and you cannot even sit in them without them twisting or moving. The are a piece if garbage and I want a replacement (something much sturdier and better than these).

Desired Settlement: Refund for the horrible toilet seats I bought, that are nearly brand new and toilet seat replacements that are better than these inferior toilet seats.

Business Response: We will be offering the customer a different seat.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have no problem receiving another seat that is satisfactory and works well.  However, it should be at least comparable to the one I already purchased for $45, if not better.   



Regards,

***** *******

6/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint concerns a kitchen faucet (******** **** series) purchased 9/2013. Feb 2015 the faucet literally fell apart. I called customer service & was asked to send a picture of faucet & receipt. And I did. I received another faucet that was installed a short time later. Worked excellent until approx 3-4 weeks ago. The faucet lost water pressure. I found troubleshooting info & followed the instructions. The h20 pressure returned but only cold h20. The same rep answered my call (5/20/15 @ approx 10:15 ). She immediately "told" me that it was the cartridge & I would receive another. I still had questions because this is less than 6 months & I have more problems & a faucet that's under warranty. I continued to calmly ask questions & she became short & rude. She finally told me "you're not getting another faucet" & tried to hang up on me. First of all individuals void of telephone etiquette need to be as far away from a phone as possible. Considering the fact that I spent $119 for this faucet I felt I had been inconvenienced enough. I called back and was not immediately answered. I spoke with another rep who presented herself appropriately also citing the cartridge. I didn't feel good about this at all because I didn't spend money for what I though was a quality item & end up with the task of replacing parts. The cartridge was replaced & the problem did not change. Still no flow of hot h20 (since 5/20/15). I called on 6/1/15 approx 11:25am & told the rep that I received & replaced the cartridge but still no hot h20 flowing. She stated that she would send a new faucet. On 6/4/15 I've received a small box from the company. Obviously another cartridge. So I was lied to by the last rep.How long am I to be inconvenienced if the problem isn't rectified? This company is not honoring their warranty because I paid for a working faucet & that's what I expect and rightfully deserve. This needs to be resolved with a fully operable faucet. This is business not a game!

Desired Settlement: Send a "FULLY" operable, replacement kitchen faucet. If the first cartridge didn't solve the problem why should I believe another will. So I received a faulty replacement part? What I have is not serving the purpose for which it was purchased. Your customer service representatives did not purchase this item. I did. Who are they to decide what I should have when I've spent my money on an American Standard product.

Business Response: I would first like to sincerely apologize for the problems the customer
has been having with their American Standard faucet, and how the customer was
treated during their phone conversations with our warranty department.
 The package the customer received on 6/4/15 was for the cartridge that
was ordered during the 5/20 phone conversation.  The replacement faucet
the customer was expecting to arrive from the conversation on 6/1/15 was placed
on order but simply has not arrived to the customer yet.  This shipped out
of our Mexico Distribution center and is currently in transit to the customer.
 The tracking number is ******************
via *** and will become active once the faucet clears customs and continues on its
way to the customer. This should resolve the customers issue.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

4/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a kitchen faucet,model 4665.000, that has a lifetime warranty. I received this as a gift in dec,2004 and installed it in jan, 2005. I have have two warranty claims on it and parts were sent for repair. Those were in 2009 and 2012; which I have the receipts for. I again need repair parts, but am told that I must show original purchase receipt. Since this was a gift to me I do not have the receipt as was explained to them at the first request for warranty. I fell that proof of purchase has already been established and warranty parts shipped previously to me, that this warranty should still be considered valid.

Desired Settlement: replacement of part under warranty.

Business Response:

The faucet had a limited lifetime warranty to the original purchaser, this warranty is non-transferable.  As this faucet is discontinued, most parts are no longer available.  In the past simple parts requests could have been honored as courtesy replacement parts, however since the entire faucet would need to be replaced as parts are no longer available, a valid proof of purchase is necessary to validate the limited lifetime warranty.  Without a receipt we are unfortunately unable to provide a replacement.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


4/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about 4-1-2015 I emailed American Standard thru their website requesting that the flush valve mechanisms on both my Champion 4 toilets be replaced under warranty. I purchased them approximately 5 years ago. The warranty is for 10 years. They are both leaking even with new seals replaced. Their site said I would receive a reply back in 48 hours. It is now 1 week and no response. I called American Standard today at ###-###-#### to follow up on my email. I told the representative of my need for the valve mechanisms need of replacement due to their leaking issue. I told her that the seals that are replaceable were new yet it still leaks. She asked me if the mechanism was cracked. I did not know , but told her most likely since it was leaking. She insisted it was the rubber flap that was the issue. I again told her it was replaced and was new. I asked for her supervisor nicely and then she HUNG UP ON ME!! I called on tuesday April 7 at about 1130 am eastern time.! I never had this happen to me in my life with ANY company. I demand this company uphold its warranty on this product PERIOD!

Desired Settlement: REPLACE 2 Champion 4 toilet flush mechanisms AND an apology for their customer service representative that hung up on me.

Business Response:

I greatly apologize for your experience with our customer service / warranty department.  I located your warranty registration in our system dated 6/23/2008, I have placed a warranty order for two complete flush valve assemblies as well as two new tank to bowl gasket kits.  You should receive an email when these items ship, but if you need to call us please use the following confirmation number if you need to check on the status of your warranty order;***-***-****  I again apologize for your experience. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau;
Thank you for your help in this matter-I am greatly appreciate all your effort.
I also wish to than American Standard for their quick response and resolution. I will continue to be an American Standard customer.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Standard offered a rebate of $250.00 to purchasers of any of its walk-in bathtubs from Lowes prior to 10/15/2014. They required submission of a completed Rebate Form and an original sales receipt. They promised to provide the rebate within six to eight weeks. I purchased an American Standard Walk-in tub from Lowes prior to 10/15/2014 and submitted all of the requested documentation in mid-October 2014. After not having received the promised rebate in a timely manner, I called American Standard Walk-in Bathtub Customer Service. Each time I called, I was informed that the person responsible for disbursing the rebates had been very busy, but the person with whom I was speaking would investigate and call back the same day. I have cakked several times and instead of eight weeks, it has been more than fifteen weeks with no calls and no rebate.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for all of the promised phone calls which never materiajized and the immediate mailing of the $250.00 rebate.

Business Response: Good Morning Mr. *******, 

On behalf of American Standard, I want to apologize for the delay in receiving your walk-in baht rebate check.  We employ a 'clearing house' to process these rebates, and due to an invoicing error on our end, your rebate check was not processed. 

We have since communicated with the clearing house, and they have assured us that they will be cutting a check and having it mailed to you.  So, you should expect to receive your rebate check in 10-14 business days.

Again, I apologize, and should you need anything further, please feel free to call me directly at ###-###-####.

Mitchell Pintu
American Standard

Customer Service Leader

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called customer service on dec 26 at 10AM. I asked about a warranty claim I had made on line about 2 weeks prior. This was for a product that had warranty claims before (about 15 years ago for an item with a lifetime warranty). I offered proof of prior warranty claim but was told that I needed a sales receipt from 20 years ago. When I asked to speak with a supervisor to clear up the matter, the woman hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: supply me with the necessary parts to stop a leak in a bathroom faucet sink.

Business Response: American Standards limited lifetime warranty is to the original purchaser only, the warranty is not transferrable, as such a receipt is necessary to provide proof of purchase  which would be needed for all warranty claims.

12/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 1999 my wife and I signed a contract to have a home built. The contractor, ****** Home Improvement, purchased a double sink selected by my wife to be installed in our kitchen. It has served us well: however a few years ago we noticed rust appearing at the front corner. We did some research and found out that the sink has a lifetime warranty against, the best we can tell, this sort of thing. I contacted American Standard by telephone to find out what be done. I talked to a person that gave her name as K **********. Not a pleasant person to deal with, as it turned out. She told me if I was not the original owner and didn't have my sales receipt, the warranty was void. Pressing her a bit further, she agreed to a $100 refund.Even back in 1999, this sink was over $700. I know because I saw it in the contractor's quote. Ms. ********** also informed me that I was not the original owner; the contractor was. Of course I never did get the receipt as it was figured into the entire price of the house. Mr. ****** succumbed to cancer a few years ago and the original receipt is not available. Ms. ********** asked me to send pictures of the sink. I am not good electrically, and inadvertantly sent her a video by mistake, resulting in a scathing reply.Due to no fault of our own, we never received the original sales receipt. And it is a bit of a stretch to ask a customer to retain the original receipt. The sink is clearly embossed with the name Americast, which is a brand owned by American Standard. It obviously had to have been purchased by somebody at some time. .

Desired Settlement: It seems like American Standard is using a technicality to avoid honoring their published warranty. We want a replacement sink, just as their warranty says.

Business Response: The Americast Kitchen sinks had a limited lifefime warranty to the original purchaser only and the warranty was non-transferable.  Unfortuneatly these sinks were discontinued in 2008 with no replacements available.  Since they are no longer available our only option would be to reimburse a customer their original purchase price, without a reciept we are not able to provide a reimbursement.  As a courtesty without a receipt we can offer a one-time reimbursement of $100.00.

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Standard sink Faucet is leaking water. The product has lifetime warranty on parts ; when request a replacement cartridge, company refused. I have a American standard sink faucet from 2006, and do not have the receipt any more. It started leaking sometime ago because the cartridge is broken. The product has a lifetime warranty on parts. I have request on the website to provide a replacement cartridge, but the company refused to provide one because I have lost my receipt. See emails below: For all warranty claims, we will need a copy of your original sales receipt. This includes all repair parts, fixtures, or faucet replacements. If you no longer have the receipt you will need to contact our Technical Support Department at 1-800-442-1902 to purchase parts. Thank you for contacting us, Karen American Standard Brands, Technical Customer Service ________________________________________ From: ****** **** ************************ ***** ******* ********* *** **** **** ** *** ********** ********* ******** ******** ******* **** ********** **** ******************** ******** ******* ****** **** ********** ******************************************* ***** ***** ****** **** ***** **** ***** ******** ************************ ******* ** **** ******** ** ******* ** ***** ******** ****** ** ********** ***** ***** ******** ****** ****** ****** ************ ******** ********** ** ******** ****** ***** ******** * **** ** ******** ******** ******** *** ************ **** ** ***** ** ** *** ******* *** **** * *** ********** ***** ****** ******** *********** ******* ******* ****** ******************************************* ******** ******* ********* ********** *** ******* *********** ***** **** ***** ** ******* ***** ** ************ ******* ***** ** **** ******** *********** ******* ******* ************ ***** ******

Desired Settlement: American standard should honor its lifetime warranty on faucet parts and provide replacement cartridge.

Business Response:

American Standard faucets have a limited lifetime warranty to the original purchaser only, and the warranty is not transferrable.  A receipt or proof of purchase would be necessary to receive free parts under the warranty. 

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had an american standard bathroom faucet for a couple of years and I have needed a new cartridge for it before and was able to obtain it under warranty without showing a proof of purchase now all of a sudden I have to show a proof of purchase to get a warranty item. It is a lifetime warranty first of all. Second of all the warranty terms change all of a sudden. Well this was not the terms when I purchased the faucet nor when I received a warranty part 2 or 3 years ago. This wasn't the terms when I purchased the item yet all of a sudden I have to follow it because the company chose to change their terms. All I want is a new hose and tee kit. There is a lifetime warranty on this faucet and all I want is for the company to honor their warranty.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a hose and tee kit for the Hampton lavatory faucet (********).

Business Response:

The warranty has not changed, the warranty states "FOR RESIDENTIAL INSTALLATIONS: AS America, Inc. (“American Standard®”) warrants this product to be free from defects in materials or workmanship for as long as the original consumer purchaser owns this product. Proof of purchase (original sales receipt) from the original consumer purchaser must be made available to American Standard® for all warranty claims. This warranty is non-transferable.  As a courtesy we can order the requested parts, but in the future a receipt will need to be provided for all warranty claims.  Once the receipt is provided to us, it can be attached to the customer's file and would not have to be resubmitted in the future.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:

I have ordered parts for this faucet before specifically the cartridges a couple of times under the warranty and I have not been asked for a receipt so one of 2 things happened. One the warranty has changed or two my receipt is already on file from the first time that it was done. If you want to claim that neither is true then how have I been able to order multiple times before parts under the warranty? 

Business Response:

The warranty has always been that a copy of the sales receipt may be necessary for all warranty claims.  The warranty is non-transferable and only to the original purchaser.  Regardless of past warranty claims, it may be necessary to provide a proof of purchase. At this point we have made a good faith courtesy order for the parts requested.

7/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an American Standard Sink that stated it was stainless steel, stain resistant and chip resistant. However, a week after install, the sink began to rust badly. I contacted American Standard only to be spoken to with little respect. The representative, ******, insinuated that I was lying because stainless steel could not rust. I offered to send pictures as proof, but she was not interested because as she stated previously, stainless steel does not rust. I agree that I have never seen stainless steel rust, but then my question would be, why are they advertising it to be stainless steel when it must clearly not be if it has rusted.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of better value. If I return the sink, I do not want the same exact model. It is obviously is fabricated poorly.

Business Response:

Paperwork included with the product would direct the customer to a different phone number than American Standard direct.  The phone number the customer needs to contact is ###-###-####, this company handles all warranty claims on the product the customer puchased.  I have already contacted the customer directly and left him a voicemail to this effect.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a plumber who installed 2 Champion 4 toilets in a house and had a catastrophic failure of one. This failure resulted in flooding of a room beneath the failed toilet. Here is the sequence of events as they happened up to the failure. The toilet was installed approx 2 weeks ago using the plastic tooling provided with the Champion 4. When installing the tank I attempted to tighten the tank until it had "China to China contact" per American Standard's instruction manual but I was uncomfortable with the amount of force I felt was being applied and stopped tightening before this was achieved. Consequently the tank had a leak in the seal between the tank and bowl. I assumed this leak was caused by a misalignment or perhaps a pinch in the seal. I removed and re-installed the tank and gasket two more times attempting to get "china to china contact" and prevent the leak and again failing. About 15 minutes after the final re-installation of the tank it ruptured and dumped the full tank of water all over a newly re-modeled bathroom and the room beneath. Luckily I was able to get to the supply and shut it off. I have photos of the toilet in the bath, the tank rupture, and proof that neither side was over-tightened as neither ever reached American Standards own spec'd level of tightness. After taking pictures and uninstalling the toilet I noticed that there is a large "?" written on the back of the bowl where it faces the wall. It appears to be under the glazing so I don't know what that means other than presumably it was written by an America Standard employee. I do feel obligated to note that I have had to return 2 American Standard toilets for clear manufacturing defects and have inspected several others in the warehouse that were either poorly cast or damaged then clearly repaired before being glazed. I am in the process of procuring estimates to repair the water damage and drywall in the kitchen/dining room area below the bathroom.

Desired Settlement: I would like American Standard to assume responsibility for a faulty product and refund my purchase price plus damages incurred to repair the room below the bathroom.

Business Response: I apologize that the customer has had issues with their American Standard product,  all product damage claims must be made through the Home Owners Insurance company.  Their insurance company will then get in contact with American Standard.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2013, my American Standard kitchen faucet broke - this was the 2nd American Standard product that was installed in my kitchen sink and bought in June 2012. The original was in my kitchen when I bought my condo in 2011 and it was replace in 2012 when it broke. Subsequently, I called customer service which explained to me that I could send back the product for a replacement, however it would take at least 2 weeks. I told the customer service agent that their solution was not reasonable because that would leave me with no use of a kitchen sink for 2 weeks! The agent stated there was no other recourse. I even recommended that I would take a 'credit' for other American Standard products (e.g. bath) but was told that was not possible As such, I had to buy another faucet and choose a competitor product because the last 2 American Standard products failed. In addition, I wrote a letter to the president of American Standard explaining the situation and request a refund for a product that failed within it's warranty. I have yet to hear back I can provide evidence (e.g. receipts) and I'm sure i'm in the call-records of American Standard.

Desired Settlement: Requesting a refund of the product: American Standard Fairbury Single-Handle Pull-Down Sprayer Kitchen Faucet in Stainless Steel Model # ******* $129 Home Depot price + 10% Chicago Sales tax = ~$142

Business Response:

We will contact the customer and work towards a resolution.

Business Response: We originally responded to this complaint on 10/11/13, we contacted the customer and resolved his issue by honoring his requested settlement.  We sent a reimbursement check to him on 10/24/13.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ********





















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Standard Brands
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)