BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

This Business is not BBB accredited

American Standard Brands

Additional Locations

Phone: (732) 980-3000 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Centennial Ave, Piscataway, NJ 08854 http://www.americanstandard.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers building material for bathrooms, light fixtures, tub & showers and kitchens.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Standard Brands include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 03, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1875 in PA Business incorporated: 07/19/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay Gould, CEO Mr. Chris Hopwo, C.S. Technical Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Gould, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Hopwo, C.S. Technical Manager
Business Category

Building Materials Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Bathroom Accessories


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Centennial Ave

    Piscataway, NJ 08854 (732) 980-3000 (419) 521-3310

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 6820

    Piscataway, NJ 08855

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (419) 521-3310(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Standard sink Faucet is leaking water. The product has lifetime warranty on parts ; when request a replacement cartridge, company refused. I have a American standard sink faucet from 2006, and do not have the receipt any more. It started leaking sometime ago because the cartridge is broken. The product has a lifetime warranty on parts. I have request on the website to provide a replacement cartridge, but the company refused to provide one because I have lost my receipt. See emails below: For all warranty claims, we will need a copy of your original sales receipt. This includes all repair parts, fixtures, or faucet replacements. If you no longer have the receipt you will need to contact our Technical Support Department at 1-800-442-1902 to purchase parts. Thank you for contacting us, Karen American Standard Brands, Technical Customer Service ________________________________________ From: ****** **** ************************ ***** ******* ********* *** **** **** ** *** ********** ********* ******** ******** ******* **** ********** **** ******************** ******** ******* ****** **** ********** ******************************************* ***** ***** ****** **** ***** **** ***** ******** ************************ ******* ** **** ******** ** ******* ** ***** ******** ****** ** ********** ***** ***** ******** ****** ****** ****** ************ ******** ********** ** ******** ****** ***** ******** * **** ** ******** ******** ******** *** ************ **** ** ***** ** ** *** ******* *** **** * *** ********** ***** ****** ******** *********** ******* ******* ****** ******************************************* ******** ******* ********* ********** *** ******* *********** ***** **** ***** ** ******* ***** ** ************ ******* ***** ** **** ******** *********** ******* ******* ************ ***** ******

Desired Settlement: American standard should honor its lifetime warranty on faucet parts and provide replacement cartridge.

Business Response:

American Standard faucets have a limited lifetime warranty to the original purchaser only, and the warranty is not transferrable.  A receipt or proof of purchase would be necessary to receive free parts under the warranty. 

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had an american standard bathroom faucet for a couple of years and I have needed a new cartridge for it before and was able to obtain it under warranty without showing a proof of purchase now all of a sudden I have to show a proof of purchase to get a warranty item. It is a lifetime warranty first of all. Second of all the warranty terms change all of a sudden. Well this was not the terms when I purchased the faucet nor when I received a warranty part 2 or 3 years ago. This wasn't the terms when I purchased the item yet all of a sudden I have to follow it because the company chose to change their terms. All I want is a new hose and tee kit. There is a lifetime warranty on this faucet and all I want is for the company to honor their warranty.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a hose and tee kit for the Hampton lavatory faucet (********).

Business Response:

The warranty has not changed, the warranty states "FOR RESIDENTIAL INSTALLATIONS: AS America, Inc. (“American Standard®”) warrants this product to be free from defects in materials or workmanship for as long as the original consumer purchaser owns this product. Proof of purchase (original sales receipt) from the original consumer purchaser must be made available to American Standard® for all warranty claims. This warranty is non-transferable.  As a courtesy we can order the requested parts, but in the future a receipt will need to be provided for all warranty claims.  Once the receipt is provided to us, it can be attached to the customer's file and would not have to be resubmitted in the future.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:

I have ordered parts for this faucet before specifically the cartridges a couple of times under the warranty and I have not been asked for a receipt so one of 2 things happened. One the warranty has changed or two my receipt is already on file from the first time that it was done. If you want to claim that neither is true then how have I been able to order multiple times before parts under the warranty? 

Business Response:

The warranty has always been that a copy of the sales receipt may be necessary for all warranty claims.  The warranty is non-transferable and only to the original purchaser.  Regardless of past warranty claims, it may be necessary to provide a proof of purchase. At this point we have made a good faith courtesy order for the parts requested.

7/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a plumber who installed 2 Champion 4 toilets in a house and had a catastrophic failure of one. This failure resulted in flooding of a room beneath the failed toilet. Here is the sequence of events as they happened up to the failure. The toilet was installed approx 2 weeks ago using the plastic tooling provided with the Champion 4. When installing the tank I attempted to tighten the tank until it had "China to China contact" per American Standard's instruction manual but I was uncomfortable with the amount of force I felt was being applied and stopped tightening before this was achieved. Consequently the tank had a leak in the seal between the tank and bowl. I assumed this leak was caused by a misalignment or perhaps a pinch in the seal. I removed and re-installed the tank and gasket two more times attempting to get "china to china contact" and prevent the leak and again failing. About 15 minutes after the final re-installation of the tank it ruptured and dumped the full tank of water all over a newly re-modeled bathroom and the room beneath. Luckily I was able to get to the supply and shut it off. I have photos of the toilet in the bath, the tank rupture, and proof that neither side was over-tightened as neither ever reached American Standards own spec'd level of tightness. After taking pictures and uninstalling the toilet I noticed that there is a large "?" written on the back of the bowl where it faces the wall. It appears to be under the glazing so I don't know what that means other than presumably it was written by an America Standard employee. I do feel obligated to note that I have had to return 2 American Standard toilets for clear manufacturing defects and have inspected several others in the warehouse that were either poorly cast or damaged then clearly repaired before being glazed. I am in the process of procuring estimates to repair the water damage and drywall in the kitchen/dining room area below the bathroom.

Desired Settlement: I would like American Standard to assume responsibility for a faulty product and refund my purchase price plus damages incurred to repair the room below the bathroom.

Business Response: I apologize that the customer has had issues with their American Standard product,  all product damage claims must be made through the Home Owners Insurance company.  Their insurance company will then get in contact with American Standard.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought Am. Std. Toilet assy. on 12/04/2012. The glazing is defective. I cannot get past the "telephone call screeners" whose job, it appears, is to fend off customer complaints with statements similar to " this is normal".

Desired Settlement: I would like a local rep. to come and inspect the toiler bowl, with an eye to replacing the defective one they sent me

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service