BBB Accredited Business since

Folica, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 919-4247 Fax: (609) 860-8432 View Additional Phone Numbers 90 Stults Rd, Dayton, NJ 08810 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business offers hair dryers, straight/flat irons, curling irons, shampoos and conditioners. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Folica, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Folica, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 17

Additional Complaint Information

On July 17, 2008, Folica notified BBB that in the past six months, the business has made the following changes: - Enhancing the leadership team: hired 4 senior leaders for Operations, Finance, Technology, and Website development as well as senior managers for merchandising, the call center and fulfillment operations. - Infrastructure: the business moved to a new facility that is 3 times the size of the old building. Significant investments have been made in software and hardware infrastructure as well as a new fulfillment center.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Folica, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1997 in NJ Business incorporated 10/01/2007 in NJ
Type of Entity


Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Vicki Levine, CEO
Business Category

Beauty Supplies & Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Additional Information

This company offers hair care, beauty supplies and skin care services.

Additional Locations


    315 Madison Avenue

    New York, NY 10017

  • 90 Stults Rd

    Dayton, NJ 08810 (888) 919-4247


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered some hair products from Folica a couple of months ago. Their products (Hair concealers by Organin) were nothing like what was described on their website, instead of a smooth powder profuct this stuff was clumpy and ineffective. When we called Folica to return this product, they refuse to take it back, instead told us to call the manufactures (organin). they even provided us a phone number to call **** ********. When we called that number it went back to the Folica customer service. so it was clear they were trying to give us a run around while hiding the linkage between Folica and their captive suppliers who are making and selling non-functioning products. Their customer service policies are completely inappropriate

Desired Settlement: we would like to return 3 containers of Organin - which were bought in Feb 2015.

2/15/2015 Delivery Issues
12/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Babyliss Pro Titanium flat iron that was advertised to be "digital" and have LED Temperature settings. I ordered at Folica because they are supposed to be an authorized supplier of Babyliss and they were offering a 25% discount for Thanksgiving. Folica sent me an iron with a manual dial instead (Substituion - NO LED Temperature settings.) That is, folica appears to have sent me an old model instead of what they advertised. My first response was to ask for an exchange by e-mail. I asked them to send me what I paid for and made it clear that I didn't care if the flat iron was 1 1/4 inch or 1 1/2 inch but the LED TEMPERATURE SETTINGS was the deciding factor on which flat iron I wanted. I sent them a screenshot of their own advertisement I got an e-mail that did not address the advertising issue at all. They also appeared to be demanding I pay for the return shipping. I thought maybe someone was in a rush and not paying attention, so I called. The representative admitted the website advertisement is wrong. She also told me she didn't think they have the correct flat iron and sent me a return label. Well I've since gone back to their website. The correct iron is STILL pictured and the "LED Temperature settings" is STILL being advertised on the Babyliss Pro Titanium Hot Iron 1 1/4 inches. They simply do not want to honor the discount AS ADVERTISED. And when I confronted Folica about this, they said they don't give discounts on exchanges Folica advertised a certain iron with certain characteristics at a discounted price for a Thanksgiving Special. And they are refusing to honor the advertised price. I missed sales at other establishments because I ordered at Folica.

Desired Settlement: Folica is going to refund my money and pay for the shipping. But I feel like they should ALSO REFUND me the 25% difference as well. Why? Because I've had to pay full price for this flat iron because of Folica's false advertising. I missed the Thanksgiving Day Sales because of this I also want them to remove me from their e-mail list. I want them to know I"m going to contact Babyliss to remove them as a preferred seller and/or "authorized dealer" Fly by night outfits pull this kind of nonsense-- not reputable dealers. Babyliss/Conair needs to know

Business Response: **** ********

I sincerely apologize for the confusion with your purchase. I have reviewed the features listed on site and personally checked the irons that we have in stock. The description on site in inaccurate and we do not have the digital LED iron available for you. We are correcting the information on the site and we would like to extend the promotion for you on a different item of your choice if you would like to exchange it for another brand.

I see that a return label has been sent out for you. Please let us know if you would like to return your purchase or take advantage of the exchange.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I want to accept their offer, but I  think I need some sort of discount code with a deadline on it (at least a month beyond Christmas?) If not, how do I use their offer?  

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution WILL BE satisfactory to me when Folica finds a way to follow through on this. Also, I hope Folica will review the e-mails between their associate Stephanie and myself and require she handle requests to speak to supervision differently in the future.

11/4/2014 Delivery Issues
10/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the *** Flat Iron about a year ago on sale at an **** store. I do not save receipts more than 6 months. My flat iron stopped working this morning for no reason whatsoever. I plugged it in and didn't work. Tried a different plug, same issue. When I called customer service they would not help me at all, saying that there was nothing they could do since I didn't have the original receipt. When I gave them the product information, they said they were showing an entirely different product that was manufactured in 2011, which was too long ago. I told them, what if the product sat on the shelf for a while, as I purchased it on sale. Further, I said, as this is an expensive product, I thought that the company would want to enforce "quality standards." I only received the run-around. I asked to speak to a manager and was told that the manager wasn't available. I posted on the company's social media about the issue and am filing this compliant because I believe that expensive products, like this, should be under warranty and that the consumer shouldn't be told that there is nothing that can be done when the product (that was used correctly and lightly) fails after a short period of time.

Desired Settlement: I believe that *** should replace the defective product and not blame the issue on the fact that the product is "electrical." There are plenty of "electrical" products that last longer than a year and the consumer shouldn't be left short when a product like this fails.

Business Response: Dear******,

Folica is not affiliated with **** and we are not the *** manufacturer either. For this reason, we are unable accept warranty replacements for products that were not purchased through our company. Please contact *** at ###-###-#### or through **************. This is the contact information for the manufacturer and they should be able to assist you.


Folica Management

9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was attracted to an advertisement that provided a discount on a hair dryer for recycling an old one. I went to the website and experienced significant difficulty navigating the process of making a transaction with the advertised deal. When I did find it on the website, another advertisement on the same website hovered over the first for a discount on a hair dryer. I then went through the process of this deal thinking they were part of the same. I did this after trying again and the same advertisement hovered over and made it impossible to get the deal. The transaction went through and I found no way during the transaction to get a code for recycling the old one. Customer service said that I could not get a code for recycling because I went through a different promotion. Although I stated that I had significant difficulty with the transaction, they would not change the order or give me a code for recycling my old hairdryer. They would not even give me an address of where I could recycle my hair dryer on my own, or where/ how they recycle the old hair dryers. I kept trying on the website to find out how to get a promotion code for recycling, just to see if it did work. I did finally get a promotion code when I googled Folica's recycle program and found a separate page where there was a form to fill out. However, when I attempted to enter the code for the discount, it did not work. The error message said that I had to set up an account first. I tried this and it seemed that I must put in my credit card info. to do this. This resulted in ordering another hair dryer and the promotion code not working. I called cust. serv. within 15 min. and they said they could not cancel the order as it had already shipped! I received a message from them that made me think I had been refunded, after further correspondence/conversation. By this time, the 30 day return was over, but I sent the product back unopened and it was returned back to m

Desired Settlement: Their recycling promotion and online process from start to finish should also be investigated by a third party.

Business Response:  

I apologize that you had trouble with the Recycle program. Please keep in mind that customer service is always available to provide more detailed instructions on how to use a promotion before you place your order. I do see that you were refunded $40 for the Recycle program on the order cited in the complaint, **************. We also noted the receipt of your recycle item in April.

Your order for the Barbar dryer and the Twin Turbo dryer were purchased on December 28th and January 7th. We do have a 30 day return policy. It was also noted that there was a second item in the box but there was no paperwork or requests in the box, so it was returned to you since it was past the 30 days and the returns department was unsure how to proceed.

Since it has now been 6 months since the purchases were made, we are unable to offer a refund for the purchases. However, your items are still covered under warranty and can be replaced. If you do not want both dryers, we can also offer you a store credit on one of the purchases as a courtesy although a significant period of time has passed since the purchase date.

Please inform us if you would prefer a replacement or a store credit so that we may provide you with the proper return instructions to help your transaction go smoothly.


5/17/2014 Delivery Issues
4/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a warranty on my flat iron. I sent in the return an received back a replacement. The replacement did not work out of the box. I called to get that one replace and was told since my original warranty expire, they could not help me. The term of the initial warranty was not upheld. They did not replace the original flat iron with a working one.

Desired Settlement: I need a working flat iron, to replace the in operable I was sent. Or a refund, of equivalent price to replace.

Business Response: Dear ****,

I do apologize for the trouble that you had with your flat iron but the warranty goes from the original date of purchase. Your original purchase was made on 1/27/2012 and that item was replaced for you under your warranty on 4/15/2013. Your warranty expired in January of 2014. Warranty does not renew when your item has been replaced. Should you need to utilize your warranty, it is replaced under the original warranty guarantee that you were given when you purchased.

Unfortunately, at this time we will be unable to offer you a replacement under the expired warranty. We can offer you an extended warranty replacement but it is a one time replacement with no additional warranty after the warranty has expired and it will be a $39.95 fee. We also have a recycle program offering $40 off a new purchase of $79.99 or more and since this is a new purchase, it has a brand new warranty. You can view more details about it here:

Again, I apologize for the confusion with the warranty policy and any inconvenience this may have caused you.


Folica Management

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

They are falsely responding to my complaint. They did send a flat iron  on 4/16/2013, to replace the item on 1/27/2012, however that one broke on 12/1/2013. I wasn't in a hurry to resend it back, because I was under the impression, I had 2 years from when I received the replacement.  I had a back up using one that I had purchase on 11/26/2012 (Order Number **************). When looking into the warranty in January 2014, I realized I was incorrect in my assumption. I sent the defective product on 1/22/2014, *** tracking # ******************, which I have attached tracking label. This was sign for by ***** ****** on 1/27/2014 at 11:05am. I have also attached a PDF from ***. On 1/27/2014, Folica contacted me via email, and telephone, because the card I had on file was expired. I have also attached this email. I gave them updated information and they charged my card the warranty fee. On 1/29/2014, a replacement was sent out 1/29/2014 *** ** tracking ********************. When I received the item, the item did not work. I called Folica and was told, my warranty was now voided. I would like a full refund to replace product from another source$59.99, plus the $9.95 warranty fee, and $8.61 shipping charges totaling $78.550

**** ******

Business Response: Dear ****,

I apologize that you are upset with the response, however, none of the information is false. Your warranty continues from the original purchase date. Warranty does not renew when you get a replacement item. The easiest way to explain is that if your warranty renewed, everything would have a lifetime warranty, which is not the case.

The warranty on order **************, for a Solia 1 1/4 inch flat iron, with the original purchase date of 1/27/2012, has expired. Order **************, for the Purple Solia flat iron was purchased on 11/23/2012 and is still covered under November of 2014. If the Purple iron is the one that you are having an issue with, then a replacement is not an issue but no refunds are issued after 30 days from the original purchase date.

For your original order, **************, we will still honor the offer made for an extended warranty replacement for the $39.95 fee.


Folica Management

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, their statements are false. Below I made a simple timeline of events, I originally thought I gave too little information, I try to detail it out, but that was unsuccessful as well. Please see down below a time line. The product sent out 1/29/2014 DID NOT WORK.  Documentation was received to prove this time line on my second email in PDF.

1/27/2012: Original Purchase
4/16/2013: Replacement Sent  (credit card charged the warranty replacement fee)
01/29/2014: Replacement Sent for the replacement (credit card charged the warranty replacement fee)

Open box on 2/6/2014. I used it the next morning and IT DID NOT WARM UP OR WORK. Product sent on 01/29/2014


**** ******

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Babyliss PRO Titanium 1" U Styler based on the description of the product and the excellent reviews on this site and others. The description says that the tool will prevent damage to the hair. When using the tool, my hair would continually get caught in the plates and rip out. After using the tool for a couple months my hair was extremely damaged despite following the direction and using protective styling products. I have used many tools like this over the years at similar prices and have never had these products. The plates of the tool also do not evenly heat, and I feel this is a very poor quality product that I overpriced. Folica will not issue a return at this time as it is over the 30 day period, however I feel this is unacceptable customer service as the product is unsatisfactory.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Dear ******

I am sorry to hear that you're unsatisfied with your iron but it should be taken into consideration that while some products may help prevent damage, any heat styling could cause damage to the hair. The item is not defective or incorrectly advertised and it has excellent feedback from other customers. At this point, the iron was purchased 5 months ago and I cannot offer a refund for you. However, I can make an exception for you and offer you a store credit instead of a warranty replacement so that you could choose a different product.
I will place these notes in your account and you will only need to call us if you'd like to take advantage of the offer.

Again, I do apologize that you were unhappy with the iron that you initially chose but hope that we can help you choose something you'd like better with your credit.


****** **********

11/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable