BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company offers auto sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matt Blatt Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Matt Blatt Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Matt Blatt Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Department of Banking & Insurance
20 West State Street, CN-040, Trenton NJ 08625
http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/index.html
Phone Number: 609-292-7272
The number is 9000262.

State Department of Banking & Insurance
20 West State Street, CN-040, Trenton NJ 08625
http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/index.html
Phone Number: 609-292-7272
The number is 0742582.

Business Management
Mr. Roy Greenblatt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roy Greenblatt, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Matt Blatt Atlantic City Suzuki Matt Blatt Egg Harbor Township Suzuki Matt Blatt Egg Harbor Twp. Matt Blatt EHT Suzuki

Additional Locations

  • 501 Delsea Dr N

    Glassboro, NJ 08028 (856) 881-0444 (609) 484-8326 (856) 696-4554

  • 6211 Black Horse Pike

    Egg Hbr Twp, NJ 08234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an Extended Service Contract and GAP Insurance on the vehicle I purchased on March 14, 2015. After realizing this was not necessary I sent an email on Sunday, April 5 to cancel both. I did not receive confirmation stating that it was done until I reached out to them and they said it was done on Monday April 6. After requesting what my new payoff or terms of the loan were going to be, they stated it would come off the back end of my loan and my terms would remain the same. But they would get back to me once the cancelation was completed which would take weeks. So now over two weeks have gone by and after repeated calls I keep on receiving the same answer, so I tookit upon myself to call the bank and warranty company myself to find out where they are in the process. First I called Ally Financial who has my car loan and they stated they have not received anything yet from **** ***** KIA. Then I called Compass Protection Plan who I have the Warranty with and they do not even have us on record of even purchasing this, even though we did over one month ago. They did state that **** ***** submitted the cancellation from the previous owner on March 30th (which we were already owners of the car by then) and a check was sent out and cahsed on April 6, which happens to be the day I sent my cancelation in. So I am accruing interest on a product I have never even officially owned, and yet **** ***** has not done their necessary due diligence on filing or completing any of the paperwork requested of them. To me this is unethical, if not illegal. I just want these warranties canceled and the funds returned and used towards my loan.

Desired Settlement: I want the warranty s canceled and if they are not done in a timely fashion I want to be able to return the car and take my business elsewhere.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Dear *** ********

The cancellation check has been sent to ALLY Financial for the payoff from the Extended Service Agreement and GAP Policy. The amount of the check is $2698.00. We did have some confusion in our office because the deal was sold and then quickly cancelled. We were doing cancellations in our office every other week. We have switched to every week so something like this can be caught even more quickly.

We will be sending a $200.00 Free Service Coupon the *** ****** *Co –Buyer) and *** ******** as a goodwill gesture. As the BBB is aware in the rare cases that we do receive a complaint, we are always quick to resolve it for our customers. We apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused.

Yours truly,
***** ******
Customer Service Manager
**** ***** KIA

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase 2006 Jeep from Matt Blatt Glassboro, NJ last January 20, 2014. Since then, we have to return the Jeep for check engine light on for the months of March 19, 2014, April 21 2014 , June 17 2014 and again October 30, 2014. All of the same problem, engine light on. Twice I paid out of pocket balance of warranty and twice Matt Blatt excepted all costs the last two times. Since then, the Jeep has been parked due to a starter problem. We went to see Matt Blatt, spoke to representative, told them about the issue. She had offered to come and pick it up for me for repairs. As of now, I feel I am behind wanting to invest anymore time or cash towards this vehicle. Having the check engine light 4 times and now needing a new starter is beyond me. I feel that the representative did all she could by giving us a $250.00 gift card. As of now, I have other issues in my family such as having to file bankcruptcy. I feel Matt Blatt dealership should just take the vehicle back. Also in the package, upon signing all papers was a Lemon Law which was absolutely no good because it's a 2006 vehicle. It is my feeling that the sales man and Matt Blatt misguided me about the Lemon Law. The representative had asked me to contact her about the jeep after the bankcruptcy case is settled. ,

Desired Settlement: To return the vehicle to Matt Blatt and for them to take responsibility of the Bank Loan. I cannot keep taking the vehicle every couple weeks to get fixed.

Business Response: This is ***** ****** with Matt Blatt Auto Sales . I am
responding to the complaint received on December 9, 2014 at Matt Blatt Auto
Sales.  I did have the opportunity to meet in person with this customer
last week. I contacted the customer after reading an online post on a social
media site. 



The customer explained the frustration with the vehicle and the repairs that
had been needed since the purchase of the vehicle. The vehicle is a 2006 Jeep
Liberty  and was delivered to the customer on January 20, 2014.



On March 17, 2014 , the customer brought the car into Matt Blatt's service
department. The customer came in for an oil change as well as the fact that the
car had an illuminated a service engine light. It was determined that the
vehicle needed an oil pressure switch and spark plugs. The customer also stated
that the steering column adjuster level was not working. The steering column
assembly was replaced.



The customer returned on April 21, 2014 with a check engine light on and the
car operating normally. The fault codes indicated to check plugs and sensors.
No problems were found and the codes were cleared and the car road tested
satisfactorily.



On June 17, 2014 the customer brought the vehicle into Matt Blatt  service
with a check engine light. In checking the car through a compression test it
was found that one coil (#5)  was intermittently causing a misfire code
for the 5th cylinder.  The service department replaced the coil.





On October 20, 2014 the customer brought the vehicle in with a service engine
light. The service dept replaced all intake valves, valve locks of both
cylinder heads, R&R heads and headgaskets. 



In each case the check engine light was an indicator of various issues. Each
issue was addressed and the repair was completed.



The customer had purchased an extended service plan which covered all repairs
with the exception of a $100 deductible.  The deductible was waived on the
October 20th repairs.



When I met with the customer on December 4, 2014 the customer told me that he
believed that the starter in the vehicle had failed. The car would not turn
over and was clicking. I apologized for his inconvenience and that I would have
the vehicle towed in and I would get starter (or whatever was wrong) repaired
without any charge for the repair or the tow. I would have also provided alternative
transportation while the car was repaired.



The customer declined.  He indicated that he was in the middle of filing
bankruptcy and that the vehicle would likely be included in the bankruptcy.



In reviewing his concerns and inconvenience I offered a gift card for $250 as a
good will gesture since he did not want Matt Blatt to repair the car. He
accepted.



Due to the fact that the customer has indicated that he was filing
bankruptcy,  we are not able to accept the vehicle as a trade or secure financing on another
car



We want to provide any assistance we can to this customer. We will provide him
with repairs at no cost to him. We will also provide transportation during the
repair free of charge.

 

We want to support this customer and will help in any way
possible. I am not sure what his payment status on his loan is now or if he has
filed the bankruptcy. If he can contact me directly I will be happy to explore
any options that may be available.



Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********


In regards to reply from Matt Blatt to BBB, having to take 2006 Jeep back
for numerous repairs, then a matter of weeks later, another repair issue
arises when the vehicle would not even start. While in purchase of the
vehicle, I was given a lemon law certificate stating when to bring back the
vehicle. Having called about the lemon law, I was advised that was no good
to me because of the year of the vehicle being a 2006. I feel the salesman
knew that before hand. As of now, my family and I are going to a bankcruptcy
process, and I feel that this process with this vehicle is not helping my
case. The vehicle does not start, took it back 4 times for the same matter
at times some cost were waived by Matt Blatt, but again I paid for other
cost. I did talked to ***** ******. I thank the gesture of a $250.00 gift
card, but that does not heal a broken down vehicle with numerous issues. I
do not want the vehicle and that Matt Blatt take it back at all cost due to
the mechanical issues with the vehicle. ***** did state, she would have the
vehicle picked up and repaired. Again, I have been through that process
already 4 times. With each time, the vehicle only to break down again. The
vehicle is in the bankcruptcy process and I feel that Matt Blatt only
compound my issues with this bankcruptcy.

8/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to buy an affordable used vehicle because of their advertising. I informed them that I had a chapter 13 with ******** ****** and they first said they could work with me as the advertising suggests? After a couple of day's, they got in touch with me and said that they could work a deal? Well that deal was $319.00 thru Chase. They completely sidestepped the chapter 13 and now I can barely pay a couple of bills because it is not a good deal. I feel lied to and betrayed as a veteran who is having a pretty tough time.

Desired Settlement: I just want to pay an affordable price as advertised to help me work on my credit. Not get taken to the bank and have more problems as I now do?

Business Response: I have tried to contact Mr. ****** several times by phone and left a message. Then I emailed him asking him to contact me, so that we could discuss how we might be of assistance to him. Please advise me on what I should to to further reach out to this customer. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Matt Blatt Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart