BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JMK Auto Sales Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JMK Auto Sales Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 16, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1965 in NJ Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated: 12/27/1974 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger Kosempel, President Ms. Cathi Maier-Tajkowski, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Robert Schoenemann Sr., GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Kosempel, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
JMK BMW JMK Body Shop JMK SAAB

Additional Locations

  • 391 Route 22 East

    Springfield, NJ 07081

  • 391-399 Route #22 East

    Springfield, NJ 07081 (973) 379-7744

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (973) 379-0135 (Fax)
  • (973) 379-3896 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 30,2014, I took my 2001 BMW X5 for electrical diagnosis in order to find what was draining'juice' from the new battery to the extent that I always had to jump-start it every morning.They claimed that it was the trunk door lock that was causing the problem and that a particularunit must be replaced with a new one. I disagreed and did not want to have a replacement. Theservice personnel stated that their diagnosis machine would not allow them to "proceed" withfurther diagnosis if that unity was not changed. After more of persuasion, I told them to goahead and change it as long as the problem would be resolved. I had earlier brought it to theirattention that a spot-like parking light by the lever stays on all night after the engine had been turned off, stating that that could be part of the problem. After completing the repairsI asked if that light had been taken care of. I was told that the light will automatically "disappear overnight". I paid a total of $398.93 for this so-called diagnosis and repairs. 1) Thatparking light still stays on till today. 2) I drove the vehicle to work overnight on Friday,January 31st. On Saturday morning I had to jump-start it. On Sunday February 2nd I had to jump-start. On Tuesday February 4th I had to jump-start it. I have been using jump-start technique to start the vehicle EVERY DAY SINCE THEN. For, whatever they claimed to have done did not clear the problem. I gave them a call on February 4th to let them know that the problem had NOT been solved by the repairs they claimed to have made. They asked me to bring the vehicle. Two days later, which was February 6, I took the vehicle there. They said that I would need to live it with them overnight. Asked if I would be paying another $139.00 for diagnosis. They answered in the affirmative. This was a shock to me. I protested that they gave me a wrong diagnosis in the first instance and the problem was not resolved, and that I spent unnecessary amount of $398.93 for nothing.

Desired Settlement: I am NOT, repeat, NOT, prepared to pay them one cent more. They will need to resolve the problem by finding the right cause of the problem or give me my $139.00 back. I had wanted to seek redressby contacting all news media, newspapers, radio talk show, department of consumer affairs, etc. before a co-worker who had similar issue told me that a police officer called to the scene told her that she should contact the BBB, and then request her lawyer to seek redress from a court.Thanks.

Business Response: I SPOKE TO CUSTOMER AND RESOLVED ISSUE. JMK PROVIDED CUSTOEMR WITH A LOANER VEHICLE TO GET TO AND FROM WORK. VEHICLE HAS A SMALL DRAIN THAT WE ARE TRYING TO LOCATE AND FIX DIAGNOSIS WITH ELECTRIACAL DRAINS TAKE SOME TIME TO ICOLATE. CUSTOEMR IS AWARE AND UNDERSTANDS THE TIME NEEDED. JMK IS WORKING WITH CLIENT TO ADDRESS ISSUE AND RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.CUSTOEMR IS LEAVING VEHICLE TILL FRIDAY SO THAT WE MAY COLD START VEHICLE OUTSIDE AND CONFIRM VEHICLE IS FIXED CORRECTLY  

Consumer Response: Thank you for your ability to resolve the complaint. It was amicably resolved, and the Service Manager, Tino at JMK BMW, was great in his effort to take care of the issue.

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*********** *******




















11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Gap insurance offered by JMK *** at the time of purchase of my car in oct of 2010 to which i traded my car in dec 2012 for a mazda cx9 and i was told by the mazda financial person I can call and have the gap cxl and the remaining refunded back to me. I have called several time starting jan first calling *** fianncials which is who i was making my payments to and they confirmed i had to contact JMK *** themselves and talk to someone in their finance set up department for it. i have called over and over being forwarded to a voicemail because no one ever answered and never received a call back. recently within the past month i have attempted to call back again since i only called for 2 months starting in january and got no where. filling out on the website if interested be contacted to which i was and explained the issue and spoke with a manager names **** extension *** and was told he filed the gap request but wouldnt back date it knowing i can shown attempts of contacting and the car was traded in in dec and payed off in jan. I have contacted **** back to follow up on it and when id receive it and what the amount is and have yet to have a call back and its been a week of calling and leaving voicemails. this is ridiculous and not right for it to be this hard to get my money that i am able to get back. then to tell me because i finally now got to speak with them that if i get a credit it will be from when i spoke with him not when i treid to speak with someone. its also hard being that i dont live in the state any longer so it wasnt liek i could go walk in and have this taken cared of. I would like my gap refund back and back dated from jan 2013.

Desired Settlement: whatever the gap insurance refund came to having this done jan 2013.

Business Response:

JMK will expedite cancellation of GAP Insurance and upon receipt of refund, forward check to customer.JMK was
not aware of customers cancellation hence the delay, we can assure you it will be taken care off
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I appreciate the suggested resolution as it was just extremely frustrating when it was something that began so long ago and that I had to go through here to get this resolved nearly 11 months later. I just want to confirm that it is to be sent to  my florida address as I do not any longer live in NJ.

Regards,

********* *********















7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service