This business is not BBB accredited.

JMK Auto Sales Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (973) 379-7744 View Additional Phone Numbers 391-399 Route #22 East, Springfield, NJ 07081 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jmkbmw.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for JMK Auto Sales Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JMK Auto Sales Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1965 in NJ Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated 12/27/1974 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Department of Banking & Insurance
20 West State Street, CN-040, Trenton NJ 08625
http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/index.html
Phone Number: 609-292-7272
The number is 1501942.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger Kosempel, President Ms. Cathi Maier-Tajkowski, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Robert Schoenemann Sr., GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Kosempel, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
JMK BMW JMK Body Shop JMK SAAB

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    391 Route 22 East

    Springfield, NJ 07081

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    391-399 Route #22 East

    Springfield, NJ 07081 (973) 379-7744

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a 528 XI from JMK in 2012 and vouched for signing up for additional wear and tear coverage. For which i paid additional $800+. I was told by the accounting person doing the paper work and selling the additional add on packages that this would the wear and tear warranty included any damages for up to $5000 at the time of the lease end and included items such as (body damage, brakes and tires). When i returned the car at *** ** ************** they gave me a bill of $2250 which included damages to the windsheild ($600), front bumper ($400) and 3 Tires ($900) and deposition fee of ($350). I was covered for up to $5000 so i had nothing to worry but no i was wrong. I did pay the desposition fee which was not covered and i understand that. The coverage covered me for the Front Bumper ($400) and the windsheild($600) but not for the Tires ($900). When i called the *** *** they gave me a runaround first... later said i should contact the insurance company (********) i called them they said they do cover the tires but for the specific type of insurance i was sold its not covered in that. However, all *** wear and tear insurance cover tires - JUST NOT MINE. Since few months i have running between the JMK, Insurance company and *** Financial (after me to pay up the $900 balance). Now *** Financial has given my case to COLLECTION Agency who are after me for $934.75 ALL THIS EVEN THOUGH I HAD BOUGHT ADDITIONAL WEAR AND TEAR COVERAGE

Desired Settlement: I WANT SOMEONE FROM *** JMK TO CALL ME AND RESOLVE THIS ISSUE. EITHER PAY THE COLLECTION AGENCY OR ISSUE ME A REFUND ONCE I PAY OFF THE COLLECTION AGENCY. THE AMOUNT IN DISPUTE IS $934.75... ALSO THEY SHOULD STOP ADVERTISING WRONG INFORMATION AND MISLEADING CUSTOMERS INTO BUYING ADDITIONAL COVERAGE THAT REALLY DOESNT COVER EVERYTHING AS PROMISED.

Business Response:

****** S********** spoke to customer. Contact states tires are excluded. But, *** *** will send check to customer for half of Tire claim. Check will be sent to customer for $ 470.00. Customer has agreed to this.

 

11/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When purchasing the car I agreed to purchase wheel and tire insurance on the basis that the car is fitted with run-flat tires and per the manufacturer run-flat tires cannot be repaired in the event of a puncture, and the wheel and tire insurance would cover replacement of punctured tires. The car was a certified BMW from a BMW dealer - BMW wheel & tire insurance covers replacement of punctured run-flat tires as described above - JMK substituted aftermarket wheel & tire insurance from ******** (I do not recall this being made clear at the time of purchase, the sales invoice simply states wheel & tire insurance, and in the documentation package from the sale there is no ******** wheel & tire insurance literature). When I recently had a puncture and my local dealership contacted ********, they stated that they did not cover replacement of punctured tires - the promised benefit of purchasing the wheel & tire insurance through JMK and the sole basis for agreeing to purchase such insurance. I was forced to have the tire repaired at a third party tire shop so that the car was drivable in the short-term. I contacted JMK who acknowledged that the manufacturer believed this car to be dangerous to drive on account of the plugged run-flat tire and that it should be towed to the dealership, however communication between the sales and service departments at JMK was so poor I had to drive the car there myself regardless. JMK were candid that ******** changed their terms and other customers had had the same problem, and ultimately replace the tire at their expense on this occasion, however I am still left with a policy which does not perform the purpose it was sold for in the event of a future puncture and JMK do not currently appear to have any solution to this issue.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the ineffective ******** policy with a proper policy from BMW that covers replacement of punctured run-flat tires. Failing that a refund of monies paid for this wheel & tire insurance.

Business Response:
to whom it may concern,
 
  to set the record straight , run-flat tires can be repaired as long as the puncture is close to the middle of the tire, since it is a run-flat they can't be plugged
but rather have to be patched. If the the puncture is too close to the side wall or on the side wall , the tire can't be repaired but needs to be replaced. This is
also stated in the contract for tire and wheel protection. I would be of great help for me if you could forward the VIN of said vehicle so i could have a closer
look at the issue. From what i read JMK did replace the tire.Please let me have requested info asap, thanks  

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 30,2014, I took my 2001 BMW X5 for electrical diagnosis in order to find what was draining'juice' from the new battery to the extent that I always had to jump-start it every morning.They claimed that it was the trunk door lock that was causing the problem and that a particularunit must be replaced with a new one. I disagreed and did not want to have a replacement. Theservice personnel stated that their diagnosis machine would not allow them to "proceed" withfurther diagnosis if that unity was not changed. After more of persuasion, I told them to goahead and change it as long as the problem would be resolved. I had earlier brought it to theirattention that a spot-like parking light by the lever stays on all night after the engine had been turned off, stating that that could be part of the problem. After completing the repairsI asked if that light had been taken care of. I was told that the light will automatically "disappear overnight". I paid a total of $398.93 for this so-called diagnosis and repairs. 1) Thatparking light still stays on till today. 2) I drove the vehicle to work overnight on Friday,January 31st. On Saturday morning I had to jump-start it. On Sunday February 2nd I had to jump-start. On Tuesday February 4th I had to jump-start it. I have been using jump-start technique to start the vehicle EVERY DAY SINCE THEN. For, whatever they claimed to have done did not clear the problem. I gave them a call on February 4th to let them know that the problem had NOT been solved by the repairs they claimed to have made. They asked me to bring the vehicle. Two days later, which was February 6, I took the vehicle there. They said that I would need to live it with them overnight. Asked if I would be paying another $139.00 for diagnosis. They answered in the affirmative. This was a shock to me. I protested that they gave me a wrong diagnosis in the first instance and the problem was not resolved, and that I spent unnecessary amount of $398.93 for nothing.

Desired Settlement: I am NOT, repeat, NOT, prepared to pay them one cent more. They will need to resolve the problem by finding the right cause of the problem or give me my $139.00 back. I had wanted to seek redressby contacting all news media, newspapers, radio talk show, department of consumer affairs, etc. before a co-worker who had similar issue told me that a police officer called to the scene told her that she should contact the BBB, and then request her lawyer to seek redress from a court.Thanks.

Business Response: I SPOKE TO CUSTOMER AND RESOLVED ISSUE. JMK PROVIDED CUSTOEMR WITH A LOANER VEHICLE TO GET TO AND FROM WORK. VEHICLE HAS A SMALL DRAIN THAT WE ARE TRYING TO LOCATE AND FIX DIAGNOSIS WITH ELECTRIACAL DRAINS TAKE SOME TIME TO ICOLATE. CUSTOEMR IS AWARE AND UNDERSTANDS THE TIME NEEDED. JMK IS WORKING WITH CLIENT TO ADDRESS ISSUE AND RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.CUSTOEMR IS LEAVING VEHICLE TILL FRIDAY SO THAT WE MAY COLD START VEHICLE OUTSIDE AND CONFIRM VEHICLE IS FIXED CORRECTLY  

Consumer Response: Thank you for your ability to resolve the complaint. It was amicably resolved, and the Service Manager, Tino at JMK BMW, was great in his effort to take care of the issue.

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*********** *******




















11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Gap insurance offered by JMK *** at the time of purchase of my car in oct of 2010 to which i traded my car in dec 2012 for a mazda cx9 and i was told by the mazda financial person I can call and have the gap cxl and the remaining refunded back to me. I have called several time starting jan first calling *** fianncials which is who i was making my payments to and they confirmed i had to contact JMK *** themselves and talk to someone in their finance set up department for it. i have called over and over being forwarded to a voicemail because no one ever answered and never received a call back. recently within the past month i have attempted to call back again since i only called for 2 months starting in january and got no where. filling out on the website if interested be contacted to which i was and explained the issue and spoke with a manager names **** extension *** and was told he filed the gap request but wouldnt back date it knowing i can shown attempts of contacting and the car was traded in in dec and payed off in jan. I have contacted **** back to follow up on it and when id receive it and what the amount is and have yet to have a call back and its been a week of calling and leaving voicemails. this is ridiculous and not right for it to be this hard to get my money that i am able to get back. then to tell me because i finally now got to speak with them that if i get a credit it will be from when i spoke with him not when i treid to speak with someone. its also hard being that i dont live in the state any longer so it wasnt liek i could go walk in and have this taken cared of. I would like my gap refund back and back dated from jan 2013.

Desired Settlement: whatever the gap insurance refund came to having this done jan 2013.

Business Response:

JMK will expedite cancellation of GAP Insurance and upon receipt of refund, forward check to customer.JMK was
not aware of customers cancellation hence the delay, we can assure you it will be taken care off
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I appreciate the suggested resolution as it was just extremely frustrating when it was something that began so long ago and that I had to go through here to get this resolved nearly 11 months later. I just want to confirm that it is to be sent to  my florida address as I do not any longer live in NJ.

Regards,

********* *********
















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on JMK Auto Sales Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)