BBB Accredited Business since

Honda of Toms River

Additional Locations

Phone: (732) 349-7474 Fax: (732) 349-1074 346 Route 37 W., Toms River, NJ 08753 http://www.hondaoftomsriver.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda of Toms River meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda of Toms River include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honda of Toms River
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Adrian Iacovo, Contact Person
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Adrian Iacovo, Contact Person
Related Businesses
Galaxy Toyota Metro Honda Toyota Universe Tri-County Lexus Honda Universe
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Bob Ciasulli Auto Group Mack Dodge Mack Honda USA Dodge

Additional Locations

  • 346 Route 37 W.

    Toms River, NJ 08753

  • c/o Bob Ciasulli Auto Group, 1485 Route 46

    Little Falls, NJ 07424

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At 9:30 am March 16, 2016, I was told I will not receive any more free oil changes for my wife's 2012 CRV unless I pay for services that I do not desire from their service department. I was told I signed a document when I bought my car that explained that I have to use their dealer exclusively in order to continue free oil changes. I have all of my original paperwork and nothing states that. Additionally all manufacturer required service has been performed on the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Honor original agreement for lifetime oil changes on vehicle purchased new from the dealership

Business Response: All of our free oil change programs are valid only if Customer performs all required maintenance at dealer. I apologize for any misunderstanding. I will gladly off 2 free oil changes as a courtesy.

Consumer Response:

********** ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I was never made aware or signed any document to the effect of having to utilize Honda of Toms River for all required maintenance in order to continue free oil changes.  I would like evidence that this is a condition with either my wife's or my signature.  


******** **** *****

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2012 I purchased a Honda Element from Honda of Toms River that came with a life time free oil change. on May 15th 2015 my son took this car in for an oil change ( since we have the free oil change this is the only place the car has been for oil changes ). After bring the car into the shop they informed my son that the oilpan and drain plug were both stripped and the only fix was to replace both of them at a cost of $500.00 and the car is undrivable with out the work. My son questioned them about how this happened and was told it was normal/expected wear but they would lower the price to "cost" at $350.00. My son having no choise needing the car for school and work had the parts replaced. We had them return the old parts to us and showed them to an ASE/Ford certified auto tech friend. After seeing the parts he concluded that the only way this damage could have happened was thru inproper installation and over torquing of the plug into the pan. This being the finding I feel Toms River Honda owes me a full refund of this bill including all taxes and fees. You may contact Alan with any questions you may have as I have asked him for his help. The listed daytime phone number is his.

Desired Settlement: I feel the only settlement is a complete refund of the bill including all fees and taxes.

Business Response: Hello, We spoke to the customer, and are processing full refund as goodwill gesture. Customer is now happy. Thank You, **** *******, Honda of Toms River

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oil Change for life was promised and documented when I bought the car Brand new in 2009. Now they don't want to honor it.

Desired Settlement: Keep their promise of oil change for life.

Business Response: Hello, we are will to give customer what they want and resolve this issue. Please contact Rich H****** at dealer ************ * **** *****************************

Thank you

4/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dealership listed the 2011 Honda Odyssey that I had purchased on Autotrader.com as a certified vehicle. The search filter for "certified" revealed the car (I never searched for anything BUT certified cars). Further, upon contacting the dealership from my home in Texas, I was described a vehicle that was certified by Jasmine, in sales. When I was put in contact with ***** ******* in sales, he also confirmed it was certified. I was sure to ask this and confirm it several times, even though the advertisement already listed it as certified, because I was flying all the way from Texas to New Jersey to get it. About a month after owning it, the rear seat would not fold back. We took it to our local dealership to have fixed, but then they told us it was not certified. I contacted Hank E********* at Honda of Tom's River and he said he would look into it and email his contacts. After a couple days, he did not return any of my calls and hasn't since. I bought the car in November and contacted him about the issue in December. It is now March, and he will still not return my calls. Also, the dealership charged me 8.25% sales tax on the vehicle, but Texas vehicle tax is only 6%. They sent a check for $1600+ to my county tax collector and the county refunded Honda of Tom's River $300.71. They refuse to send me the refunded taxes and have stopped returning my calls or taking my messages when asking about the tax refund. The county tax office has documentation that the refund was sent, yet the dealership won't call me back or receive my calls to tell me anything about it. They not only did not honor the certified vehicle listing, but are also illegally profiting off of overcharged taxes.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to honor their advertised listing and certify the vehicle as that is what I thought I had bought. When the advertisement says certified, is listed under the certified car filter, and the sales people say it is certified (maybe they were reading straight off of the listing?), the car should in fact be certified. I would never have flown across the country and have a van shipped to Texas if it was a non-certified car. Also, I want the refund for the overcharged taxes. It is illegal to overcharge taxes and profit off of the refund from the county.

Business Response: It appears there was a miscommunication internally regarding the said Honda's certification. Once I was made aware there was an issue from the customer, I had found the vehicle could not be certified due to time that had expired. Since we would like to resolve this issue quickly I would like to offer *** ****** an extended warranty of 24 months/24,000 miles bumper to bumper. The certified warranty is 12 months/12,000 miles. I would need some additional information from *** ****** to process that warranty. As far as the Texas sales tax we have no record of receiving any check here at Honda of Toms River. If there is any way of obtaining a copy of the check or proof the monies was sent and to whom I would be glad to refund any difference the customer was charged. In no way we would be looking to profit from taxes the customer is responsible for. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

10/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DEALER CHARGED FOR "WINDOW ETCHING" WHICH WAS NOT MENTIONED WHEN PURCHASING VEHICLE ..... POINTED OUT TO DEALER THAT VEHICLE DID NOT HAVE ETCHING ON WINDOWS & DEMANDED REFUND OF $198 + TAX ...... GETTING RUN AROUND FROM SALESMAN & MANGER ...... I PURCHASED VEHICLE FOR SON & DAUGHTER IN LAW WHO LIVE IN PHILLY

Desired Settlement: SINCE SERVICE OF "WINDOW ETCHING" WAS NOT PROVIDED, NOR REQUESTED, AND NOT WANTED .... REFUND OF $198 + TAX

Business Response: Mr. ****** has contacted me on behalf of his daughter in law. He felt as though it was wrong to have been charged etching for a vehicle she had purchased from our dealership. After e-mails and conversation, I agreed to reimburse them $212 which was agreeable to Mr. ******. Please let me know if there is anything more I can do to assist in this matter.
All the best,

General Sales Manager
Honda of Toms River
732-349-7474

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Payment has been received for refund.

Regards,


 

We now have the issue of STILL waiting for title & tags (PA) .... it is now 1 month since purchase & still no tags .... Dealer IS paying for rental vehicle at this time





  ...














Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Honda of Toms River
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)