BBB Accredited Business since

Freehold Toyota

Phone: (732) 431-1300 4268 Route 9 S, Freehold, NJ 07728 http://www.dchfreeholdtoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Freehold Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Freehold Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Freehold Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 14, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1984 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Department of Banking & Insurance
20 West State Street, CN-040, Trenton NJ 08625
http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/index.html
Phone Number: 609-292-7272
The number is 9926556.

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Cerillo, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Cerillo, General Manager
Related Businesses
DCH Auto Group
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
DCH Freehold Toyota, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 4268 Route 9 S

    Freehold, NJ 07728 (732) 431-1300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have on lease a Toyota Camry 2015 that has a navigation system that is powered by 'Entunes', a Toyota based system. Starting around June 2015, the Bluetooth part of the navigation system would lose phone contacts. This is an intermittent problem. The contacts are lost and then it comes back by itself. I had my Apple Iphone6 checked out by Apple who ran diagnostics on it and there is nothing wrong with my phone. After bringing this problem to Toyota's attention, they finally replaced the original one with, I hope, a new one. Now, not only do I lose contacts, the whole navigation system blanks out and reboots itself. Again, this is intermittent. I notified Toyota and opened up a case with Toyota corporation. I was told that the dealership and Corporation would not replace the system again and 'live with it'. I found out that Entunes has a separate division and after telling them the scenario, they too said that the navigation unit should be replaced. I gave them my Toyota Corporation's case number and they added their findings but Toyota will still not comply.

Desired Settlement: replace the unit and get the unit working correctly.

Business Response:

Toyota North America has inspected your car multiple times and found no fault. Your radio head unit was replaced because you insisted on Toyota replacing it even after they told you that there was nothing wrong with the unit (This was a one time good will gesture from Toyota North America). Toyota North America made the choice to decline your second request not the dealership. DCH Freehold Toyota does not control the manufacturer and cannot make them replace it for you. I suggest you return to where you purchased this car and speak to their service department. This car was not sold by DCH Freehold Toyota. We replaced the unit with a brand new one from Toyota and have the documents to prove that and the serial number was provided to you. Every other phone that was tested on your car worked. You should have your phone replaced and then try it with your car. Just because Apple told you they ran diagnostics on you phone it does not mean your phone is not the problem. Other iPhones worked fine on your car. There is nothing else DCH Freehold Toyota can do as we have involved Toyota North America and had your car inspected by them and they are the final word.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: First, Toyota NA did not inspect my car.  The local dealership inspected my car using their dealership mechanics.  As proof, pictures were shown to them as to the navigation failing.  It even failed when I brought the car in and they saw it with their own eyes.  Freehold Toyota's tech told his service manager to replace the navigation unit.  I did not.  Since the new unit was replaced, it is worse.  Now it not only loses contacts as before, but it reboots itself. The car was purchased at another dealership but both dealerships are owned by DCH--one in Freehold and one in New Brunswick.  Even though I did not get the car in Freehold, any Toyota dealership can service their Toyotas that are under warranty.  Apple did do diagnostics on my phone several times and there is nothing wrong with my phone.  The problem is intermittent which means occurring at irregular intervals not continuous or steady. I even spoke to Entunes which runs the software for the navigation system and they know of such problems and the representative told me that it is the 'head' and it should be replaced and it is not the phone.  Let Toyota or BBB call Entunes and verify the problem.



Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: Thank you for your response. As I already said Toyota North America makes the call on what can be done to assist your concerns. Toyota replaced your item as a one time good will and they will not replace it again. The dealer can only do what Toyota North America allows under the warranty. Any further issues must be taken up with Toyota North America. If they say they will replace it then we will do what they allow. It has been brought to them and denied for a second replacement. Freehold Toyota has done all we can working with Toyota North America and found no fault in your radio unit.

10/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a Toyota Camry 2014 on 10/18/2014 from DCH Freehold Toyota. Freehold Toyota put a charge called "Secure etch" on my receipt. It's a security feature that they put it on every single car. It's VIN etching and it was on the car even when we took it for a test drive. It's not from car manufacturer, it's something dealer do at their place. Sales representative told me that it's required to have it and it already comes with car. The charge for it was $299 plus tax. When I asked if other dealers also do it, the salesman told me that yes everyone does this. Since we hadn't bought a car in last 3 years, we thought it might be something new. When we got home and rechecked all the papers, I realized that it wasn't mandatory. It's something they do to increase the car price little bit. I searched online little further and I found out that it only costs around 20 to 30 dollars to do it. I felt like I was misinformed and I would have declined it if they would have explained it properly and correctly. Since I signed 10 to 15 papers that day, I totally missed that paper. Sales guy was hurrying us and didn't let us read contract papers properly. I also called them and explained it what happened but they wouldn't do anything about it. I feel like written information should exactly match with what they say verbally because of number of papers we have to sign when we buy a car.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund of $ 299 plus tax for the charge called "secure etch," since they misinformed me about the charge verbally.

Business Response: We spoke to the customer and resolved his issue. He signed a purchase order that had the word "optional" next to the item. We explained to him what the etch warranty was and that's what he paid for. The actual act of etching his glass is free on all of our cars but the insurance policy he purchased was $299.00 there was a miscommunication regarding his refund. Issue closed.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arrived at 8am for a scheduled appointment, to (1)repair flat tire, (2) regular 10K mile service, and (3) emergency recall. The car, 2013 Prius, was externally inspected in my present before it is passed to the shop. During inspection, I pointed out that there is a small dent, resulting in someone hitting it with a car door while in a parting lot. I asked if i can (4) get a quotation to fix that small dent. There was no verbal explaination to me, or any indication that there were other issue with the exterior of the car at the time. I was asked to sign 2 papers before i hand over the key. The only explanation and confirmation made is the 4 jobs that I requested above. During the 2 hrs of waiting time, I was informed periodically the status and the price of the repair of flat tire. I signed another agreement to pay $25 to fix the tire. At the time the service is completed, I picked up the car outside of the garage. Since there was very limited space and high traffic at the area that i'm picking up the car (not a parking spot), I decided to drive home before i put all the stuff back into the trunk. As I parked on the driveway, and intended to put all the stuffs & cooler back to the trunk, i approached the trunk and saw immediately a 4 ft long damage at the back of the car. I immediately call toyota and drove the car back. Without a detail inspection of the car, they claimed it is not a damage that they would have done in the shop, and the dent was "painted over". They accused me, that the damage was not done here, and that it was repaired prior. Not knowing any better, and not an expert on car bodywork, I do not know what can be done. They then asked me for the key of the car, and drove my car outside of their garage, and ask me to leave. Upon inspection when i get home again, it was clear to me the dent was not painted. I'm dissatisfied with the result of the serivce, treatment from the service manager, the "conclusion" without any attempted investigation.

Desired Settlement: They claimed it is not their fault without investigation, or have an expert looking at the damage. They asked me for my key and drove my car outside of their garage, and ask me to leave.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#:

*******

Company Name:

DCH FREEHOLD TOYOTA

Company Contact:

**** *********

Company Phone:

************

Company Email:

*******************************

Person Who Sent the Complaint:

***** ***

Staff Member:

********* *******

Response:

TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE INSPECTED CUSTOMER VEHICLE AND DETERMINED AN OUTSIDE ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUE CAUSED DAMAGE. REPRESENTATIVE OFFERED CUSTOMER REPAIR AT NO CHARGE AS GOODWILL GESTURE. CUSTOMER ACCEPTED AND DEALERSHIP PERFORMED REPAIR.

Sent on: 4/16/2014 11:20:56 AM

7/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Freehold Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)