BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

On Campus Marketing LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (609) 771-0005 Fax: (609) 530-1639 3 Graphics Dr, Ewing, NJ 08628 http://www.ocm.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bed linens, diploma frames, care packages,  and PC backup service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that On Campus Marketing LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for On Campus Marketing LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 20

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 06, 2005 Business started: 03/01/1981 Business started locally: 03/01/1981 Business incorporated: 05/28/2003 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andrew McDade, President Mr. Richard Anderson, Customer Service Manager Mr. Joshua Baer, Office Manager Mr. Jeff Cole, Vice President/General Manager Mr. Rodger Jacobson, CFO Mr. Steve Matejka, COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joshua Baer, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Andrew McDade, President
Business Category

Advertising - Direct Mail

Alternate Business Names
Campus Backup Service Program Campus Linens CampusBedding.com Care Packages LLC CarePackages.com Collegiate Carpets LLC DiplomaDisplay OCM Residence Hall Carpets Residence Hall Linens

Additional Locations

  • 3 Graphics Dr

    Ewing, NJ 08628 (609) 771-0005

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    305 W Commerce St

    Chambersburg, PA 17201

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1976 Host Road

    Fairfield, CT 06825

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    305 W Commerce St

    Chambersburg, PA 17201

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Campus Marketing also dba ************ accepted an order for a Campus linen package without acknowledging that the requested items were on "back order". When I called Customer Service to ask why I had not received a Tracking # the representative admitted that there was a "back order' but that the back order was in inventory that day - Monday - and would ship on Tues or Wed. On Wed Customer Service stated that orders were encountering delays but that my order would ship late Wed or Thurs. On Thurs afternoon Customer Service stated that they expected to ship that afternoon or the next day and even gave me a Fed-X Tracking #. Checking with Fed-X I discovered that the # did not exist in the Fed-X system. So we have the issue of not identifying the order initially as a "back order" and then following with the standard "maybe tommorrow" dialogue which serves as the signal that this business requires government oversight. Meanwhile my credit card has a hanging charge for this undelivered order.

Desired Settlement: Either deliver the order as promised or compensate me in an amount equal to the charges plus clear my credit card. Since this company was a referral by a major university BBB should sent the Complaint history against this company to that University - but I assure you that I will be talking to the Residence Hall Manager and filing a formal complaint with them also. I am certain that this University will be happy to discover that this OCM dba rhl has a significant Complaint History.

Business Response:

Customer purchased Linens on 5/15/14 order W5964307. Order was delayed due to backorder.

Customer claims he was not notified.

Resolution: Customer received order 5/28/14. Attempted to call customer on 6/3/14 at 11:15 am left

message. Emailed customer to contact me 6/3/14 11:20 am. Customer emailed me refusing to talk.

Offered apology. Refunding order.


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with this company on 5/4/2014. I never received acknowledgement of the order but my credit card was immediately charged. I reached out the company a week later and they did confirm they received the order and it was "marked for shipment". On 5/18/2014 after hearing nothing for a week, never receiving tracking information which they promised, I reached out to them again. I was told my order was "marked for shipment" and they would tell the warehouse to place a "rush" on it. Now 4 business/mailing days later, I still do not have my order, I have not received any tracking information, and have not received a response to my email this morning requesting a status of my supposed "rush" mailing. I think it is highly inappropriate to charge a credit card before the item is shipped and certainly this company has failed to live up to any of its promises regarding immediate shipping, guaranteed satisfaction, or even basic customer service.

Desired Settlement: I want the items I ordered mailed to me in an expedited manner (i.e. overnight express at no additional cost to me) and a refund of the original $18 shipping cost they charged, since they are now 2 weeks late shipping my order. If this cannont be accomplished within the next 48 business hours, I want a full refund on my credit card.

Business Response:

Customer purchased Linens on 5/4/14 order W5958130. Order was delayed due to backorder.

Resolution: Customer received order 5/29/14. Spoke with customer and offered apology. Applied 15% discount 24.76 and refunded 18.00 totaling 42.76 to be credited back to card.

Sincerely,


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with DiplomaDisplay.com, a property owned by On-Campus marketing, in March 2014, for a diploma frame. The product advertised a 21-day shipping time. After 21 days had passed without any order update or receiving the product, I contacted the company's telephone customer service. I was informed that the product would ship "tomorrow," and should arrive within three days. After another week without update or receipt, I called again, and was informed the product was "on backorder," but an email (which I have) from the warehouse manager informed me that the product would ship within a few days and arrive in less than two weeks. She also told me that I would be refunded a shipping fee. Two weeks later, another call: the product had not arrived, I had received no email status update, and the shipping credit had not been processed. As in the first call, the representative told me that the product would be shipping "the next day," and that there was a backlog in processing credit card refunds, but that that should also be processing "tomorrow." As of this writing, it is now two weeks after the latest call, and I still have not received my credit card refund for the shipping - promised over a month ago - and I still have not received the product. My issues: 1) Each time a firm shipping date has been provided, it has been missed without anyone contacting me; 2) The only communication I have received from the merchant has been an order confirmation email and a direct email from an employee. The company alleges other, automated emails, but I have checked my SPAM folder and my email history and I have received none. Otherwise, I have had to contact them to find out what is going on; 3) A month after promising a credit card refund for shipping fees, they still have not been processed; and 4) Of course, the original problem: I still have not received my purchase.

Desired Settlement: I need this product to give as a gift, and there are not many options that meet my needs. This product would meet my needs if it would be provided. I request the promised shipping refund, expedited shipping, and a firm commitment for a ship date - even if it's some time out - so that I can plan accordingly. A letter of apology and additional discount would be nice and appropriate, but are not required to meet my need.

Business Response:

Customer purchased a Diploma Frame on 3/6/14 order W6134652. Order Was delayed due to

backorder. Credits were promised and not applied.

Resolution: Customer received order 5/20/14. 15.00 Shipping credit was applied 5/22/14. Spoke with

customer and offered apology. Offered 50% discount amount 96.30 to be credited back to card. Sent

customer letter of apology.


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The business has done as it has indicated in their response to the complaint.

Thank you for making this service available to customers.

Regards,

********** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent back the items over a month and a half ago to get a refund. The Package was delivered and the company claims they never received it. I have tried many time to get the issue resolved without any luck. Not only did I not like the products and had to pay an additional $35 just to return it. This company targets college students and their parents. The return process is horrible and the refund policy is worst. Please help.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a refund of the products I returned.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/26/11 I purchased a 4 year computer back up service for my daughter who was starting her freshman year of college. I called the company today to cancel the two remaining years of service (effective today)I was told that I could not be reimbursed for the 2 remaining years. When I questioned this because the paperwork they sent to me regarding their service states "If at any time you are not satisfied, your money will be refunded 100% " (I have this paperwork in my possession). I was told that they would only refund/reimburse within the first 9 months. If that is their policy then it should be included in the mailing that they send out to parents.

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel this service as of today (8/26/13) and I would like to be reimbursed for the remaining 2 years. The company (which goes by both StudentBackup.com and CampusBackup.com) on their website and mailings needs to change their written policy from "If at any time you are not satisfied, your money will be refunded 100%" to reflect what their actual policy is. This is completely false advertising. I am contacting my daughters university to file a complaint as well.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ********



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2013 Delivery Issues
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Delivery Issues
10/4/2011 Delivery Issues
1