BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/2010

Window World of Omaha (Headquarters)

(402) 537-73138804 L St, OmahaNE 68127-1517 Send email to Window World of Omaha

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/2010

BBB has determined that Window World of Omaha meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Window World of Omaha's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incorrect windows installed, one window missing, sliding door lock scratches the door, job not complete but already billed for it.
After settling on a price, we receive a call that they had forgot to count a window and our price was going to be $*** higher then the contract that we had signed. I told the sales rep that we only went with Window World (WW) because they had the lowest price. He then said that they would have to eat the cost as they advertise they will beat anybody's cost.

Ignoring the fact that our windows were to be installed in *********, in mid ******* when they finally did arrive, they were not the correct ones for 3 of the windows. I talked to the installer and then called my rep about the windows that day and was told it would be taken care of in 2-4 weeks.

On the 3 incorrect windows, they partially filled the gap between the new window and the house with foam and left it untrimmed/wrapped, inside and out and am able to still see daylight through the gap, letting cold air inside, wasting my money and letting the hot air outside (which does concern me if this is the quality of the rest of the windows that are already finished and wrapped). They also said they were going to wait to install our last window until the 3 replacements came in.

The next day when they came back to finish wrapping the windows they said they ran out of wrapping and would finish wrapping the remaining windows around the when the other windows came in.

So now after they have left, my wife notices that they broke some of our solar lights in our front yard. Previously my wife had discussed with WW about moving them and they said their installers were careful and that they shouldn't be a problem. Well apparently they were a problem.

So now i have 3 incorrect windows, 1 patio door that isn't wrapped, my bedroom window still unwrapped and still waiting for WW to install one window.

As we have waited for our windows to arrive we have noticed that the locking switch on the patio door is scratching the door itself.

My wife reached out to WW here in ***** the last week in ******** and was told the "President" would call her the following day. No such call came that day. If they ever did reach out to her, no message was left for us to know they called. Finally last week she called WW again to reach out to the "President" and this time was redirected to our sales rep. He said they are working on the problem but didn't have a date to have the issues resolved. He also said he would send someone out to look at the patio door. We are still waiting on that call to have that appointment setup, but not holding our breath on that.

In mid ******** we also received a bill for our brand new window! Which is great except that we were told that we wouldn't pay until the job is complete. My wife asked how come we were billed, our sales rep said it was out of WW control, it was something that *********** did and that we would need to discuss it with them.
Today I reached out to *********** to dispute the charge since the work was not complete, and besides wasting my time having to dispute this charge, when I asked to *********** Rep how do they know when to bill me, she said they will receive a ticket from the Retailer (WW) to bill the customer (me) when the work is complete, which means WW lied to us.
This has worked out great for advertising for all of our family and friends who have come over for the holidays and noticed all the unfinished work and embarrasses us for choosing such an unreliable company.

We also referenced a person when we signed our contract and that person has yet to receive their bonus for referring us.

Desired Settlement
We want our correct windows installed and the remaining work to be finished in a timely and agreed upon fashion.

We need to have the trim and wrap removed so that we can check the quality of the work, especially related to the foam between the window and the house as we can already see daylight between our unfinished windows and the house and we would be led to believe this is the standard of quality for all windows.

We want our reference to be compensated as they were promised when we used them as a reference.

We need our damaged solar lights to be fixed or replaced.

We would also like to be compensated for the energy that we are STILL wasting on unfinished windows where you can still see daylight especially knowing how cold it has already got this year.

If this cant be done we would like a full refund on our windows and patio door and our old ones can be reinstalled while we look for a new company to do the job correct and to customer satisfaction.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** - Owner
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********************************
Mr. *****, we apologize entirely for the breakdown in communication between you, your wife and Window World. Your replacement windows were on order prior to receiving your BBB complaint. Unfortunately, this was a situation where an individual that made the mistake on the contract and measure sheet was quite hesitant on addressing that mistake. Something that should have been taken care of quite a while ago to the point you did not have to contact our office multiple times. Rest assured, the correct windows are in fact on order and are scheduled to arrive the last week in ******** (depending on the Holiday delivery schedule). The instant we receive your windows, our scheduler will contact you immediately to line up a time to get the correct windows installed, spray foamed to your satisfaction and have everything completed for you at once. This is not the way we do business and for that I am ashamed. Window World will do everything in our power to resolve your issues and get you taken care of promptly.

The individual that referred you to Window World will absolutely be compensated, but isn't done so until their job has been completed as well as yours. I will find out exactly who that referral is and issue a referral check without yours being complete yet, after all that is not anyone else's fault except ours.

If you would, email me with the make and model of your solar lights and Window World will replace all of them at no cost to make sure they're consistent and same models.

My installers will also make the proper adjustments on your patio door handle, odds are it was simply screwed on too tight.

In addition to the solar lights, Window World will issue a refund check of $*** to accommodate the increase in utility bills over the course of all this.

I left a message with you on both phones we have on file last Friday and have not received a phone call back, as I wanted to discuss this in person as well. We take pride in our customer service and reputation, but unfortunately there are times when issues do not get handled and addressed the way they should be. Please contact ***** ******** at ************ at your earliest convenience if you have any additional questions/concerns.

11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible customer service.
I will start by saying the salesperson and the actual installers are wonderful, other than that my experience with this company is awful.
I was told by my salesperson when I signed my contract that my windows would be installed the first week of ****. To start, I set up a time to have someone out to measure for the windows...he never showed up. I had to call the next day to reschedule something. I did not hear anything about setting up an install date until I called to check on the status the first week of ******. I then was told it would be about a week and someone would be contacting me to set up a time. Again, I heard nothing for 2 weeks so I called again, left 2 messages with no responses and finally contacted my salesperson to get a response. He contacted ***** of finally called me back and set up an install time and the install was done.
The installers noticed a flaw on one window and I called it in to ***** to get a knew sash ordered. I also noticed a few other issues and contacted ***** the following weekday. He asked me to take a picture of one of the big flaws and email it to him, he would take a look and let me know his thoughts on what to do. Again a week and a half went by without hearing from *****. Finally he called me to tell me my replacement sash was in and ready to be installed. I asked about the other issues and he said he forgot to look for my email. He then looked at it and decided that he couldn't see it well enough so he would drive out to my house to check it out. He called approximately 4-5 days later to tell me that he went to the wrong house to look at the flaw.(I am still wondering why when he realized that it was the wrong house he didn't then go to the correct house.) So after this long he still hadn't seen the flaw. I told him I would be home that evening and it would be fine for him to come. He claimed he was going out of town ( which I am finding he does often) and had too much stuff to get done before. ***** finally did make it out the house and finally ordered all the appropriate things that are needed to finish this product.
I will say that it is now ************* and the install project is still not completed but I do have an appointment next week to have it all completed. I do want to say that this company as a whole and not just the local branch is very disorganized and horrible with communication. I finally reached out the corporate office with my complaints and they said they would follow up and get back to me....I still have not heard anything from them but I did get a call from ***** here is ***** saying that they called him.
I find it interesting that through this whole ordeal the department I have heard from the most is the bookkeeping department. They have called me once a week asking me for the remanding balance due on my account...."on the project that was completed in ***." Another proof of disorganization.

also want to say that ***** emailed me and took fault in the lack of communication saying that basically he has been just too busy. Also, I felt he was very unprofessional....When I mentioned to him that I was promised an install date of the first he told me that I should not have been told that because that was not correct and that the salesperson who told me that had been fired for over promising. Ok, first me being told incorrectly was not my problem and you firing the salesperson is none of my business. That is something that should not be shared with the general public. I felt like that was bad leadership and professionalism.
I am not a complainer, as a matter of fact when I first contacted ***** he thanked me for not yelling at him and being understanding. I am just very frustrated. I am writing this because their rating is what they push when selling you and to protect consumers for this disaster.
I have been waiting since my promised install date of **** until now ******** for this to be completed.

Desired Settlement
I do not feel like I should be responsible for the remainder of my bill. I have tried to be patient and understanding but this has been too long. I feel like because of my patience and understanding I have been pushed aside.
Please address my complaints and settlement wishes. I want so badly for your company to be well respected and I was to be able to recommend your company but as of right now that is the last thing I want to do.

Business Response
Unfortunately, ****** job with Window World did not go as smoothly as both parties would have liked. There are two remaining pieces to install to close out her job; two replacement parts that should have been done long before. I will start off with saying **** is fairly accurate in terms of lack of communication on our end. There were, however, attempts made to resolve ****** issues that were left out. **** did in fact contact Window World corporate on ********** to express her frustration with completing her job. I received an email and phone call from Window World corporate Customer Relations in regards to **** that day. At that time I was out of state at another location of ours and was not able to immediately get her issues resolved, but did try contacting her that afternoon. I left a voice mail around 2:30 PM letting her know I was out of the office the entire week, but I did have my cell phone on me and would be glad to take her phone call. I never received a phone call back. This is where we've failed in terms of our customer service. We should have stayed on top of this and contacted **** several times per week until we were able to come to a resolution, that did not happen on our end unfortunately. **** also states that she made several attempts to try and get ahold of me after I had stopped out and addressed her issues with the order; she had my cell phone number, I wish she would have contacted that rather than consistently calling the office while I was out of town at another location. Throughout all of this, our ***** office has brought on 3 new employees to accommodate some incredible growth we've had and one of the bookkeepers **** was speaking of happened to be a new employee that mistakenly called a few customers that should not have been called.

**** - we genuinely apologize for the lack of communication and subpar customer service we provided to you. I'm aware that the service is scheduled to get your issues taken care of and I'm confident that the two replacement sashes we install will do that for you. Window World is willing to reduce your remaining balance to $*** due to unsatisfactory customer service.

11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ill fitting windows and poor response from Window World on fixing problem.
We ordered 4 new windows on ************** was told it would be 4 weeks. They were installed on ************. At the time of install we were excited my wife came home that night and found that the upstair windows were dirty and greasy on the outside. So we called on this and within a 2 days they came back and cleaned the upper windows. We then noticed the screens on the kitchen window were not fitting properly. This made it impossible for us to open this window all summer do to bugs. My wife called and got no response. She finally sent them a letter in late **** or early ****** threatening the we would a make a report to the BBB. At this time one owner called my wife and made an appointment to come out and look at our windows. At this time around ********* he stated that window was not installed right and that the screens were not right and that within 3 weeks he would get the new screens and have a new installer come out and shim the window and add the new screens. At this time it has been 7 weeks without a word. We had hoped to enjoy these windows an was planning on doing all the windows in our house. At this time we just like to have a kitchen window fixed and we will find a new company to replace the rest of our windows.
Thanks for your time.
***********************.

Desired Settlement
Repair of existing issues.

Business Response
On Wednesday, ************ at 12:54 PM, ***** ******** from Window World sent an e-mail to ****** & ***** ****** at the e-mail address of ****************. The e-mail states, and it is true, that ***** had tried contacting the ******* via ******* phone and in fact left two messages in an attempt to move the situation along. The exact text of that e-mail is as follows:

******,

I wanted to touch base with you regarding the screen that needs to be delivered/installed and the window that needs adjusted in the kitchen. I do have the necessary pieces to get that done for you, and I've left two messages on ******* phone to try and get that finished for you but have not received a phone call back to schedule that. It just dawned on me now to look for an email address in the BBB complaint you filed against us and determined this was the best way for communication. Please respond at your earliest convenience and I will make sure you get taken care of.

Thank you and have a great day,
***** ********
Window World of Omaha
**********
***************
***********************************
Work: (***) ******** ext. ****
Cell: (***) ********
Fax: (***) ********

Thank you,
***** ********, Window World of Omaha

03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sale of siding incorrect financing.
***** came to my house to give me an estimate on siding for my house. ***** told me the financing was thru *********** and the payment plan was one that allowed me to make whatever payment I wanted each month. When I received my first bill it was almost $***. Which was going to be my monthly payment. Several calls and over a year of late fees nothing was resolved. I finally have it paid off with $**** late fees that I paid due to *****'s lack of handling his error. I had him come out a week ago to look at a window he installed and he said he would have someone come caulk the window, due to his company's lack of proper installment. ***** left without asking when someone could come fix the window. To this day I have not had any contact from him on when they can come fix the window. This company is very poor at their sales and service. I will never recommend them.

Desired Settlement
***** came to my house to give me an estimate on siding for my house. ***** told me the financing was thru *********** and the payment plan was one that allowed me to make whatever payment I wanted each month. When I received my first bill it was almost $***. Which was going to be my monthly payment. Several calls and over a year of late fees nothing was resolved. I finally have it paid off with $**** late fees that I paid due to *****'s lack of handling his error. I had him come out a week ago to look at a window he installed and he said he would have someone come caulk the window, due to his company's lack of proper installment. ***** left without asking when someone could come fix the window. To this day I have not had any contact from him on when they can come fix the window. This company is very poor at their sales and service. I will never recommend them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** / Owner
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****.********@********************
The installation of your siding took place in late **************, it is now ****. I had given you any/all contact information for my representatives with *********** when I found out the trouble you were having regarding your payments. There was never any ill-intention whatsoever and many attempts were made on my end to try my best to accommodate you. Once the finance documents reach ***********, it unfortunately is completely out of my control.

In regards to the window you're talking about now, you are correct when you say I was going to send an installer out to address the caulking issue on the interior of the home which I was the one who came forward and said it was done incorrectly and that I will gladly get it taken care of. The main reason I came out to your house that day was solely based upon one window in the back of your house that Window World did not install whatsoever. In fact, you had a family member contact Window World in a very deceitful manner. He was put on speaker phone acting as though he was a potential customer wanting to have Window World out to give an estimate on replacing windows and siding at his property. Throughout the conversation he was asking questions in a way that would to and prove Window World guilty of improper installation of our vinyl siding and windows. After a lengthy phone call, he finally admitted that he did not in fact want to have Window World out to his house, but instead he was calling on behalf of YOU, for YOU and that he had a window he wanted me to come look at. At that point I had dropped everything I was working on and arrived at your house within 5 minutes. Upon arrival the very first comment I had made was that it was incredibly humid inside your house. That ended up having a major impact on our conversation because the window in question that I dropped everything for to inspect, one that Window World did not even install, was having problems because your house was acting like a sauna. The humidity levels were entirely too high, thus causing extreme condensation on the interior of your home. After discussing that with you and the gentlemen calling on your behalf I suggested going to your local home improvement store to purchase a humidistat to check the humidity levels. After telling you my suggested course of action I very deliberatlely told you that after researching humidity levels and purchasing a humidistat I would send my installer out to run a bead of caulking on the interior of your living room window. When leaving your house, the conversation had gone incredibly well and you understood exactly where I was coming from in regards to the installation of our siding and windows. I am very disappointed that there was no contact made to me with your displeasure of this, instead there was contact made with BBB to try and get the issue resolved. When I hear back from you I will gladly send my installer out to caulk the interior of your window.

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Doors - Patio, Doors - French, Garage Doors & Openers, Contractors - Gutters, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/28/2002Business started: 01/01/2001New Owner Date: 04/01/2013
Type of Entity

LTD Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Danny Thompson (General Manager)Mr. Bryce Thompson (General Manager)
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Doors - Patio, Doors - French, Garage Doors & Openers, Contractors - Gutters, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

This company offers sales, installation and service of vinyl windows, entry doors, storm doors, patio doors, garage doors, gutters and siding.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Window World of Omaha

8804 L St

Omaha, NE 68127-1517

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8804 L St 

    Omaha, NE 68127-1517(402) 537-7313

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Window World of Omaha is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.