BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/1995

Pella Windows & Doors of Omaha & Lincoln

Find a Location

(402) 493-1350View Additional Phone Numbers9845 S 142nd St, OmahaNE 68138-3720View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/1995

BBB has determined that Pella Windows & Doors of Omaha & Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pella Windows & Doors of Omaha & Lincoln's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pella Windows & Doors of Omaha & Lincoln

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
08/24/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Company failed to get back with us after we showed them problems with their high end products.

Earlier this spring we noticed one of our windows' sashes had completely rotted out. (We installed Pella Premier windows and doors 10 years ago in our new home.) Pella said to take pictures of the window problem. We did and they said since the warranty had expired the cost was on us. So we ordered the window and made a down payment.The day the installer came out, I decided to look at the other three sashes of that window and found the same problem! This is a very expensive large window. I took more pictures and sent those photos along with several other rotting windows in our home to Pella. I have tried to call them repeatedly but they won't return my calls. The last time I called them, they said my name sounded familiar and that someone would be calling me yet that week. That was about a month ago. We are very disappointed in the quality of these windows and the fact that they have rotted as soon as the warranty has worn out. We are even more disappointed that the company has chosen not to engage in our problem. Pella installed the windows and the rot is starting from the inside so it cannot be from something we did to them. We feel there may have been a material weakness in this lot of windows installed at the time. We would like Pella to respond to our service call on all of these rotted windows.

Desired Settlement
We first want the business to contact us regarding the entire lot of windows in the home. Then, given there is something systemic about the windows, we would like the defective ones replaced and ongoing support for those that have not yet shown signs of rot.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** - GM
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
We sincerely apologize for the lack of response to your Service Issue. Pella intends on making a call to determine when we can get someone out to your home to determine a solution for your issue. We will remove the Service Diagnosis fee and work side by side to resolve the issue at your home.

Thank you,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We were told we would be charged by the hour for installation of warranty windows and were charged a per window rate instead.
A worker (*****) came on ******* to diagnose the problem with our windows not shutting properly. The window sashes were bowed on two windows and replacement sashes were ordered. The invoice date of **** was approved by me, assuming that the "replacement 1 tech" rate of $*** was for the hourly rate, as stated by ***** who measured the windows. The sashes were replaced on ******* and the installer (again *****) was in our home for approximately 45 minutes total for both sashes. I was then billed for two installation hours for a total of $***.
When I emailed ********** regarding the discrepancy he stated that the installation was per sash which was not clearly indicated on the invoice.

Desired Settlement
First, I am disappointed that the Invoice was not clear on whether the rate would be hourly or per sash. I have paid the entire $*** (mailed ******) but ultimately would like a refund of the $*** difference in installation time for an hour vs two hours. We have no other complaints with Pella or their products. We have enjoyed doing business with them in the past but felt that this representation of the unit installation price was out of character and misleading since we were led to believe we would be charged an hourly rate for the warranty replacement.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** - General Mgr
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
We have reviewed the complaint filed by the customer and recognize how the perception of a per unit price and an hourly price was confusing in this diagnosis. We will work to make sure our communication is clear moving forward and plan to reimburse the customer in this situation. Our employees strive to set realistic expectations with each homeowner interaction. We are going to use this as an opportunity to improve communication internally for future instances.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for resolving this to correlate with what I was told by the service representative.

When I emailed my concerns about the billing to **********, who had sent the original contract, there was absolutely no apology for the confusion or miscommunication. THAT was as upsetting to me as the overcharge in the first place. In addition to improving the communication from the worker (who offered great service except for this miscommunication), I would suggest creating better written correspondence to handle customer concerns.
Thank you for agreeing to resolve the situation. That leaves a lasting impression on me.

01/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I am being asked to pay $*** more than what my contract stated and the salesman that i dealt with told me not to pay it but i keep getting billed.
I was quoted and signed a price for my windows back on *********. My windows were installed on ********. Now I keep receiving bills from Pella of Omaha stating that I owe them $*** and yet no one there knows why. I contacted my salesman ***** and he said "no, you only pay what we agreed upon" and then he said he would take care of it. Another month goes by and another bill shows up. I call PellaOmaha's office and the lady there states that she would contact ***** and get it resolved. Nothing happens again and now I have another bill. Which I don't understand why they are wasting paper when I never agreed to paid this amount so they are not getting any money out of me.

Desired Settlement
Stop billing me for something I don't owe and that your sales rep says I do not owe.

Business Response
We did research and found that our customer was correct. We issued a credit on the customer's account on *******, zeroing out the balance due.

We have contacted the customer and advised him that he was correct, that we issued a credit and that he no longer has an account balance due.

10/11/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Window were broken out from storm last ****. Pella replaced window and while installing new window tore off the nailing flange on outside of window,
After pella installed new windows I have water coming in house. Wood floor got wet and buckled. They have been out three times and all they do is stand around and scratch their *****. They have not come up with any solutions of ideas. They did not install the window properly in the first place. ( they tore off the nailing flange on the outside of the window before shoving the window in and nailing it, than caulked around it. Did not use any tape or such on the outside of window. I want new windows installed in the right manner. I never had a problem before they replace those windows.

Desired Settlement
New windows installed properly and wood floors fixed or replaced.

Business Response
Our branch continually strives to ensure proper expectations are set and work towards overall customer satisfaction.

In reviewing this customer record, the install date was ******* and after the customer returned home this spring it was reported the windows were leaking. In *****, we sent our Field Representative out to explain the windows were properly installed and to determine the next course of action.
Most recently our Field Manager went out **** and determined a plan approved by the customer which includes Pella removing siding, adding nailing flange to the replacement windows, reinstalling/sealing the windows and replacing siding.
Once an ETA for the siding is known, we hope to reschedule in the next 1-2 weeks.

We appreciate the customer reaching out to continue with the open communication and appreciate their ability to meet with our representatives to find the best solution for all involved.

11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Quality Issues (rotting windows) with windows that were installed when our house was built in ****.
We had our custom home built in **** by **********************. He used ******* Pella windows throughout our house. In **** we found a couple of our windows were rotting on the bottom of the windows. Pella came out and found 4 windows that were rotting which they replaced. We requested they replace them all as we were concerned that we would have problems later but were told that if they weren't showing rotting by then they would be okay. Now,in **** we now have 5 more windows which is all but 1 window) are showing signs of rot. I called Pella and they gave me a quote to pay for the windows as they say they are now out of warranty. I say they should replace them as this problem began before their warranty was up. If they replaced all of them in **** I wouldn't have the dilemma of paying for $******* in windows which they say in **% OFF!They know they have a problem with quality issues on these ******* windows and I don't think I should have to pay for their mistakes.

Desired Settlement
I believe they should replace my remaining windows they should have replaced in **** that are now rotting.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** GM
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
Pella is committed to ensuring any issues that arise from the ******* Series windows manufactured in a particular time period are resolved appropriately. As mandated by the class action settlement, a **% product discount has been mandated and offered. However, upon further review of this specific case, we are prepared to adjust the product discount to **% and any labor at **%. This is a one-time service gesture that is in response to the current request.

12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Rep at company rather rude about rotting and hardware issues with windows. no one to come to check till *********. Warranty should cover,told 40%off.
We had Pella Rep come to house over a year ago about rotting windows, and broken hardware. We were informed that this was the contractors fault. One of my windows completely broke at hinge the other day, and we barely got the window closed. The window completely broke away from the hinge. The rep at the ******* office was very short, informed we would only receive 40%off. We complained within the 10 year deadline,and we made to feel we were left holding the bag. We purchased the house in ************, and noticed issues at that time. This to me is very poor business. The lady on the phone acted as though she was reading from a script. To me, a one month wait is unacceptable, especially since we are in the winter months, and I have rotted windows that I can't open, and that are probably leaking much needed heat .

Desired Settlement
I feel that these windows should be replaced. The was apparently an issue with the product/and or wood/hardware from installation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****, Ops GM
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
Pella Windows is committed to working with the customer to replace units is question. The appointment was scheduled on ********** and originally was scheduled for **********. Due to a cancellation, we will be able to move the trip up to ********* to get out to diagnose the problem sooner. The result of the trip will be determined once someone properly diagnoses the units in question.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive the proposed quote. Pella continues to stay with the 40% discount. The proposal states that my windows are out of the warranty, when in fact we had contacted them last year, and was then told it was the contractors fault, because he did not use the right stain. This was Pella's fault, not the contractor. I believe the warranty discount should be at least 50% for that timeframe. The proposal also stated that we would have to stain the windows, or Pella would do this for an added charge.

Final Business Response
Pella Windows was able to process the customer's quote one week after the Service trip date of 12/5. The Service department attempted to contact the customer via phone and left a voicemail that we had mailed the quote to the customer on 12/12/13. Once the quote is received we are open to discuss any specifics about our warranty policy, the discount amount, and any other questions the customer may have regarding this issue. We are determined to find a solution with the customer.

12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Our issues were not handled in a timely manner and more damages were made when taking care of other issues.Products not ordered when said.
We were building our home and had windows and a patio door delivered in Dec ****. Wrong kitchen window and grills. Patio door was warped and we had to go through a lot more steps than necessary in order to get it replaced. They adjusted it and wanted us to live with a warped door.Hardware and screens were installed before ready and we had to remove them ourselves and reinstall. The patio door was not received in a timely manner and was back ordered several times and we were never notified of this and set us back in getting staining and flooring finished. Jamliners were damaged when the tech installed the screens and had to be replaced. Not enough were ordered after the sales rep had looked at all windows, then didn't order the ones we were short on. Tech again damaged the jamliners when installed new ones.We are sill waiting for these to be replaced and are on order. We feel we have had a lot of issues arise and have not been dealt with in timely manners. It is almost a year later and we are still having to have issues resolved. I feel that some compensation is in order for our time and trouble. We spent a total of $****** and not sure that I would order ***** again. I understand mistakes happen and things get damaged, but we didn't have just one issue we have had several and as a business owner myself you take care of your customer. I have contacted ***** and we can not come to an agreement.

Desired Settlement
I would like 10% refunded to us for our time and trouble. We didn't just have one issue arise we had several. I understand things happen, but when a customer is snowballed on you sometimes need to go above and beyond to make things right with them and I feel this just hasn't been done.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: * ********, Sales Mgr
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************************
***** Windows and Doors has taken action each time the customer has brought to our attention an issue on this project. All issues to date with exception of the reorder of some window parts which we have on order have been addressed. Our team has worked diligently to resolve any issue that has been brought to light and will continue to do so.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept because we would have to follow up ourselves too many time to get the problems resolved that were ******* mistakes. I feel we deserve compensation as stated in the original complaint. The parts that are finally ordered now are parts that were supposed to be ordered months ago. I will not be satisfied until we are compensated for our time and trouble.

07/15/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows - Egress, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Vinyl, Doors - French, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/30/1983Business started: 01/01/1967
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Greg Boulay (President)Mr. Steve Noel (Vice President)Mr. John Noel (General Manager)
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows - Egress, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Vinyl, Doors - French, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors

Products & Services

This company offers the sale and installation of Pella windows and doors.

Alternate Business Names
Pella Products of Omaha & Lincoln, Pella Products Company, Pella Windowscaping Center, Pella Windows & Doors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pella Windows & Doors of Omaha & Lincoln has received 4.34 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pella Windows & Doors of Omaha & Lincoln

9845 S 142nd St

Omaha, NE 68138-3720

To | From


2 Locations

  • 6891 A St # 118 

    Lincoln, NE 68510-4111(402) 484-5700

  • 9845 S 142nd St 

    Omaha, NE 68138-3720(402) 493-1350

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pella Windows & Doors of Omaha & Lincoln is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 331-9225

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.