BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/24/2003

Glenwood Telephone Membership Corp.

Find a Location

(402) 756-3131View Additional Phone Numbers510 W Gage St, Blue HillNE 68930-8000 Send email to Glenwood Telephone Membership Corp.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/24/2003

BBB has determined that Glenwood Telephone Membership Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Glenwood Telephone Membership Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: i need to file a complaint about a business called Glenwood, out of *********, ********. I have paid my bill every month for unlimited monthly service, yet every time I turn around I am without service, I have been yelled at by Glenwood for complaining about the spotty service, the service I paid for, the service they send me a bill for every month, yet they have the gull to call, threaten, and yell at me, because I dare to call them to complain about not having service half the time, and told that is the best they can do. Well that is not the best they could do over a year ago, yet all of a sudden that is the best they can do.
Thanks to them and not properly protecting their equipment, and even though I have a surge protector on my computer, the wire coming from their equipment to insiide my apartment going to my computer is not grounded, and so there for when we havew had lightening storms, it has fried parts of my computer causing me to have to repair my computer.
They have threatened on more than one occassion to cancel my service, because I have complained about the outages, when I call tech support they supposefdly put in a repair ticket to the on call, who if you are lucky calls, but does nothing about it an hour later, usually though not until the next day, and then you get a call from the office, who proceeds to yell at you and threaten you, or if the on call actually does call you back, he yells at you.
This weekend on Saturday alone, I called, because there was a problem, they supposedly saw a problem on tech supports end, and said they were going to send a trouble ticket in, the on call finally called about an hour later, and yelled at me, telling me the office already said they were not going to do anything about it anymore if there was a problem at my adress, and that that was the best they could do. He left me in tears, when I called back to tech support to complain, then I found out that all of ********, and some other towns were without service. Yet here they yelled at me again, for daring to say anything. I was out of service about 90% of Saturday, it finally half way started working a about the time I went to bed, supposedly then it was a tower problem, that they supposedly were fixing, yet when I talked to them last they finally had part of the town working, but 25 of us still had a problem, a problem I got yelled at for reporting.
On Sunday, once again their was random outage, supposedly they were working on the tower then, on Monday, I was gone most of the day, and while I was at the doctor's office, ***** from Glenwood called me, to tell me, what else, they were working on the tower, they would let me know when it was fixed, hmm 3 dayd in a row, and by the way at about 7 pm i had not heard from them whether they fixed the tower or not yet, and I get on my computer just to find out, what else but the service again was going on and off, on and off, and when I called tech support again, once again I get told they are working on the tower.
So lets see this weekend is 3 more days including today, with lousy, and sometimes no service at all, while they quote, unquote work on the tower, and I paid for the service, obviously a service they are not giving to me for free, yet they act like it, and yet they take my money, and do this. Just a week ago they told me they would only provide service to me until ************, and wanted to know what time would be convenient for them to come pick up their equipment, since I was unhappy with them, and when I talked to their boss, he told me they would provide service for me as long as it took for me to find another provider.
Obviously after this little deal of 3 going on 4 days, of little if any service, and being yelled at, yet 3 going on 4 days of service dI paid for, paid for not just until the 31st but the 1st it is obvious they can provide the service, that they just don't want to, and are doing every thing in their power to drive me out as a customer.
First of all this ****, of them yelling at me is just ****, that and billing me for days they are not even providing the service for, but were paid for is for the birds. The threats, the yelling is not a way to run a business, a business that is getting paid, for a service they are supposed to be providing.
I also have my antivirus secure it through, half the time, you still wind up with a virus, or spyware, because it imisses it. Or you call them after hours or during business hours, and they put you through to tech support instead, not secure it, and when you ask them to put you through to secure it, they argue with you about it, once again this is a service I am paying them money for, their excuse is because it cost them money (money I paid) for them to send my call to Secure it so they can fix the problem, a problem I pais them for.
I also have had their tecnicians tell me the reason why I had problems, on more than one occassion was because I did not pay my bill on time, yet it was not past the late day, they had not even sent me a shut off notification letter yet, why because it was not shut off, it was still on, there was a problem with their service, not my non payment, which they did get paid, they just had not received it in their mail yet, but it had not been shut off. Even when you pay your bill they pull this does not matter what day, or how soon you pay the bill. For instance, that is one of the things I got accused of this weekend, again. The tech told me, that it was noted in my account, that I had made payment arrangements, not that I had paid my bill, but inistead that I had just made payment arrangements, the funny thing is, I know they got my money, why because they cashed the check, and I can prove it, I have the cancelled check, so how do they figure I did not pay it. They have a long habit of this.
The only reason I am able to type this, right now is, here it is after 10 p.m. on Monday night, once again just before I go to bed, and ironically for the moment the internet is working for the moment, yet 90% of the day again, another day I paid for, I could not use my internet. By the way they don't like to give credit for the time and days you are without service, iafterall they would rather yell at you and threaten you, and tell you if you don't like the service that you paid for and they are not giving you, go find another provider, but by the way they will still take, and keep your money.
They are running a scam to say the very least. For one if I go into *********** and pay for food, and they don't furnish the food I pay for, they don't tell me that is the best they can do, and if you don't like it take your business somewhere else, and give you no food, and keep the money for the food they did not provide. For one that is illegal, so why is Glenwood allowed to get away with it.
First of all I don't have a landline, nor do I want one, I have a cell phone. Most companies in our area including charter, they still have to install a landline, a land line I don't want or need, and get charged for just to get internet service through them, hence the reason why it is not easy to find another provider. Glenwood knows they have people like me over a barrel, for they are the only wireless internet that services ********. Yet they threaten, and yell at me for complaining about the service I am paying for and not getting through them. After all their poor little employees, have to get off their heiny and do some work, but according to them they have had to pay their technicians alot of money to come out and fix, or check out THEIR EQUIPMENT, THEIR OWN EQUIPMENT, THEIR EQUIPMENT THAT THEY ARE TO MAINTAIN NOT ME, BECAUSE THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THEIR SERVICE TO ME, A SERVICE, I REPEAT THAT THEY ARE NOT GIVING TO ME FOR FREE, A SERVICE I PAID FOR, BUT THEY HAVE TOLD ME THEY ARE NOT GOING TO REPAIR OR MAINTAIN.
i BELIEVE THEY ARE DOING THIS TO FORCE ME, TO GET MAD AND TAKE MY BUSINESS SOMEWHERE ELSE. I HAVE ALREADY INFORMED THEM I AM MAKING A COMPLAINT TO YOU, AND TO THE NEWSPAPER, AND I WILL BE GETTING AN ATTORNEY.

Initial Business Response
On the dates of *******, ********, ********, and *******, the customer was told we could no longer provide her reliable service. We offer a wireless Internet product and there are times when trees will grow to a point they obstruct the signal from the house to the tower. The customer was told she needed to find another provider who could offer her better service. I even called ********************** to see if service was available to her without a phone line.

This customer is very vocal and yells and swears at our employees. I have recordings of all the phone calls we have had with her and there is not one where an employee of Glenwood has yelled at the customer.

The customer is no longer being charged for the service and at the end of the month we hope to disconnect service. The customer needs to find another provider that can give her better service.

I can share the call recordings to back up my statements if this is necessary. Thanks

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Companies, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Telephone Communications, Internet Services, Consultants - Telecommunication, Telecommunication Design, Telecommunication Equipment & Systems Dealers, Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/24/2003Business started: 01/01/1957
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1984, NE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Troy Stickels (Marketing Director)Mr. Stan Rouse (General Manager)
Business Category

Telephone Companies, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Telephone Communications, Internet Services, Consultants - Telecommunication, Telecommunication Design, Telecommunication Equipment & Systems Dealers, Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

Products & Services

This company is a full service telephone co-op offering cable TV, long distance service, high speed and dial up internet service, computer sales and service, networking, business phone systems, cabling, fiber and cable splicing, and web design and hosting.

Alternate Business Names
Glenwood Telephone, Glenwood Telecommunications, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB Alerts Businesses to Beware of Voice Mail Hackers
Beware of Fraudulent International Phone Calls
Changing Wireless Carriers? You Can Now Keep the Same Number
Choosing a Web Hosting Service for your Business Web Site
Has Your Computer Modem Been Hijacked?
Phone Leasing
Prepaid Cell Phone Services
Protecting Your Long Distance Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Glenwood Telephone Membership Corp.

510 W Gage St

Blue Hill, NE 68930-8000

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 510 W Gage St 

    Blue Hill, NE 68930-8000(402) 756-3131
    (877) 756-4746
    (866) 756-4746

  • PO Box 97 

    Blue Hill, NE 68930-0097

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Glenwood Telephone Membership Corp. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 756-4746
  • (866) 756-4746
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.