BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2010

C & S Roofing

(402) 650-6205View Additional Phone Numbers2211 Peoples Rd # B, BellevueNE 68005-4636



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2010

BBB has determined that C & S Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered C & S Roofing's rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised C & S Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on C & S Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/17/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had C&S come out to look at our roof because we had water damage. They billed us $*** after telling us there was not a fee to look at the roof.
We called C&S to take a look at our roof when water leaked on our living room ceiling. ***** came out and met with my husband stating he couldn't find the source of the water but that he thought it could be the windows above the living room. He told my husband however to call him next time it rained so he could take a look when it was wet to verify this information.
It rained on ************ again and so we called them to have them come back out. ***** was unavailable and emailed stating he would send **** to come out to take a look and possibly tarp it or repair it.
Instead two men who could not ************* arrived and got up on the roof trying to figure it out. One of them kept telling my husband he didn't think it was the windows and proceeded to use a hose on our roof to see if they could get the roof to leak again. The water test, however, was started on the roof then up to the windows right above the roof. There would be no way to identify where the water came from since they had water all over that portion of the roof.
These men then called ***** who tried to tell my husband I told him they were going to tarp the roof which never happened. When my husband proceeded to tell him they were not going to tarp the roof that we wanted a second opinion, he proceeded to tell my husband they needed to poke a hole in our living room ceiling to try to find out where the water was coming from. This started out to be the size of a screwdriver hole to a 2" hole needed. My husband refused to let them do this.
The men then started pulling siding off to look at the flashing I'm assuming. We were not notified of the results of this. Only saw them cut the tape and replace it with something else.
One of the men was also in our attic trying to find the source of the leak. The email I received today from ***** said my husband told him there was no access to the attic.

For a second opinion we called ************ - **** ******** who came out to look. Took pictures of our siding revealing that C&S had actually damaged our siding, even showing a had mark on portion, one piece cracked and another separated.

I just received an unpleasant voicemail from ***** with C&S Roofing stating he had to charge me for the time their men spent on our roof. This was never discussed nor agreed upon. He sent me an invoice to ***************** for $***.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that this invoice be found void and that they are responsible for the amount it costs us to have our siding repaired and the drywall repaired after running so much water on our roof. I do not want to use them to fix these issues. I am asking that we can find another company to fix these issues and C&S be held financially responsible. We have the pictures that ************ took of the damage caused to our siding by C&S and also the email from ***** with the invoice.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, Owner
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****************
In response to your complaint I want to make a few observations. The first being that poor communication during this entire process, on everyone's part made the situation worse and contributed to most of the issues that you wrote about. Part of the blame for the communication problems does lie with ***** from C&S and for that we do apologize. The other piece was the use of emails mixed with phone calls and the fact that more than one person from our company spoke with more than one person from your household, both you and your husband. Here is my understanding of what happened. You first called some weeks ago with regard to a water stain on your ceiling. ***** came out and did a free estimate and determined that there was a really good chance that the window was leaking not the roof. He further explained that it's very hard to tell because there is no attic space directly above this water stain and he suggested to your husband to have a window person take a look at the window. He also said that if you would call the next time the ceiling was wet he would make another visit to see if he could see anything else. A few weeks pass and you send him an email saying that the leak is worse now and asked him to stop out again that day if possible. I will copy and paste his exact email response here,
" I can likely get someone out there (his name is ****) who actually does our repairs. I myself will be South of ******* but **** can
a) bring a tarp out and/or b) make the repair. In either case I would call insurance. There is no foul in initiating a claim. But please do call the office this morning ************ and let them know you've had me out prior."
You did indeed call the office and I returned your call and spoke with you. I told you that our repair guy **** was also in ******* and I would have a hard time getting someone out that day. You expressed extreme concern because it was going to rain again that night and you did not want any further damage to occur. You also said that you have another leak, upstairs, which you had never mentioned before. In an effort to help you out I decided to have my roofing crew, who are all ********, come out and see what they could do, even though my roofing foreman was also out of town. I told you that I would get someone out to at least put a tarp on your roof that day. When my guys got to your house they were told by your husband that they couldn't put a tarp on the roof because you were having another roofing company come out to look at it?? Anyway, in an effort to find the leak upstairs they got into the attic and sprayed the roof down with water but were unable to get any water to leak again. They determined that the leak upstairs was more than likely from snow or ice blowing into a vent over the winter. As far as the leak downstairs, where there is no attic access. they agreed with our initial findings that either the window or siding was leaking.
My guys spent more than 2 hours at your residence trying to determine where your leaks were originating from. My guys do not work for free and I decided to bill you for their time. Since, no one told you in advance of this charge I will gladly remove the bill from your account. As far as the drywall damage on your ceiling is concerned, there was water damage to your ceiling before C&S came onto your property. You were going to have to get that drywall repaired anyway and I don't see how my company should have to pay for that because we put more water on your roof to try and find the leak?? You gave us permission to put water on your roof. That was your choice.
For the siding, I haven't seen any pictures of this damage but would be glad to fix any damage that my guys did to the siding. I will need to come out first and personally inspect the damage to see what needs to be done.
My company has bent over backwards to try and help you with your situation and I feel that your reaction and judgments have been very unfair and harsh. With that said I am sure that communication could have been better on our part and for that I apologize. I would have never sent my roofing crew to your home without an interpreter if I had any other choice. I was only trying to satisfy your wishes to get someone out the same day. Like I said the invoice will be voided and I will come take a look at the siding damage if you would like.


11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/21/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Interior Finishing, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - Gutters, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Shingles, Contractor - Flat Roof, Home Improvements, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/07/2002Business started: 03/08/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2002, NE

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Robert "Shane" Dupuis (President/Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Interior Finishing, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - Gutters, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Shingles, Contractor - Flat Roof, Home Improvements, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

This company offers contractor services for roofing, siding and gutter installation and repair. They also offer interior remodeling services for kitchens, bathrooms and basements.

Alternate Business Names
C & S Roofing, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling & Construction

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for C & S Roofing

2211 Peoples Rd # B

Bellevue, NE 68005-4636

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2211 Peoples Rd # B 

    Bellevue, NE 68005-4636(402) 650-6205

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*C & S Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 502-5559
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Remodeling & Construction
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.