BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2006

Midtown Realty & Management

(402) 342-2322View Additional Phone Numbers511 Turner Blvd, OmahaNE 68105-1421

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2006

BBB has determined that Midtown Realty & Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Midtown Realty & Management's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Midtown Realty & Management

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Midtown Realty refused to fix a broken water pipe causing major water damage & causing me to pay for water running 24 hours a day for months.
Midtown refused to obtain 2 bids to repair a broken pipe in a property they are managing for a *************** Deed in Lieu proceeding and submit them to ****************************, the national property mgmt co handling the property. This caused me to have to pay utilities for water running 24 hours a day for months, including the time after the pipes broke that I was unable to live in the house due to the water.
Mrs. ****** at Midtown was extremely ineffective whenever presented with any question and was uncooperative when asked about any help in resolving the issue.
She constantly forget our conversations and did not pass on information important to the situation being handled.
Her refusing to help me solve the problem has now caused me money for utilities and also has put me in a position to possibly be charged rent for a month that I do not want to be in the property as I do not want to vacate the property with the water utilities still in my name and running 24 hours a day nonstop.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: ** Attny General's Office

Desired Settlement
I would like Mrs ****** to obtain two bids for the cost of repairs and submit them to **************************** for approval so that they may make the necessary repairs and I may remove my name from the utilities at the property located at ******************, ***************.

Business Response
property manager did not have authority from the property owner to contract with a plumber without first obtaining approval by owner. Estimated cost of repair was between $***** and $******** - PM referred Mr. ***** to her contact at ********** and provided names and phone numbers. PM DID provide all information to her client, and did encourage Mr. ***** to communicate with them, which he did. PM was NOT ordered, nor authorized to order the plumbing work to proceed. ********** property services has ordered the work to be done and it has now been completed. Repairs, while facilitated by property manager, remain the obligation of the property OWNER, not MANAGER. This was explained. After every conversation with Mr. *****, Pm either called or emailed her contact at ********** to advise. Phone calls were exchanged between ********** and Mr. ***** about this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
PM did refer me to ********** who told me to contact PM and plumber I had already paid once to attempt repairs. PM was to get bid, contact ********** to receive authorization and then facilitate repairs (as per ********** contact's instructions).
PM DID NOT provide me all information in a timely manner. Most importantly that the process for obtaining authorization from ********** began with PM obtaining two bids for repair job and providing this bid info to **********. This information was not provided to me until the last day I had legal access to the property, which greatly reduced my ability to interact with utility companies and **********, as well as my ability to check to see if the work had been done. PM's only response, until the last day, when questioned about repairs was that she had no authorization and that she was not going to incur any cost to her own company.
Aside from the specific, factual mishandling of the situation, there was a general apathy displayed by Ms. ****** to the fact that the house was unlivable because of the water coming from the broken pipe 24 hours a day.
The situation has been taken care of by ********** but Ms ****** and Mid Town Realty had nothing to do with those repairs taking place. This falls far short of what I'd consider to be reasonable expectation of any property manager in a similar situation.

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged rooft is causing a severe leaking.
It has been 5 weeks, since I let my landlady knows about a minor leaking that eventually bacame a nasty and severe leaking on the leaving room rooft causing the sealing falling apart. It all started on the last week of ************* and unfortunatly she has not done anything about it and just keep saying that the roofing people have not being able to come yet. I am really concern and needed of help.

Desired Settlement
All that I ask for is a decent place where to leave.

Business Response
tenant notified management of hole in living room ceiling - mgt sent maintenance to check on it, discovered a hole in the roof-management advised owner of the issue, owner replied roof under warranty when he purchased prop in ********-owner and agent searched for roof warranty and gave mgr the name and telephone number of roofing company - mgr had been advised NOT to have any maintenance attempt any roof repairs or could potentially void the warranty- mgt made several attempts to receive return phone calls from roof company - mgr advised property owner, agent AND tenant that it was unsuccessful in attempts to get roofer to respond - on or about *********, prop mgr received return phone calls from roofer - roofer then sent personnel to do an inspection and to do an inspection of the damage caused to apartment from roof leak - on or about ****** representatives from the roofing company went to tenant apartment - on ****** roofer called mgr to explain that there was a tear in the roof and it was not covered by warranty - roofer said he would provide a written estimate to mgr to present to owner - ****** mgr contacted roofer to ask for the estimate - roofer said it would not be excessive and the work could be begun in approximately one to two weeks and completed in a short time - mgr contacted tenant to explain that the work could be scheduled and completed in approximately one to two weeks - from the time of the notification of the damage to apartment from roof, manager and tenant had numerous telephone conversations, with manager explaining that it would do no good to repair the drywall damage in the ceiling UNTIL the roof could be repaired, as it would only happen again the next rain or snowfall - manager explained that not just anyone could fix the roof, it needed to be done following the provisions as it applied to warranty work - the owner of the property had believed he had a warranty as it was inspection upon purchase ******** - mgr followed the property owners instructions for getting the roof repaired - manager on numerous occasions and conversations explained same to tenant, explained that mgr was waiting on roofer who had previously covered the roof to respond explained to tenant that if the roof needed repair and unauthorized work done, potentially the roof repair would not be covered under warranty - which is why immediate steps were not taken to fix the roof or the drywall in the ceiling of apartment-prop manager followed property owners instructions - the conversation with roofer on ****** between roofer and mgr is for a quick resolution, the roofer said the damage is not extensive and repairs are not anticipated to take a long time - weather permitting the estimate now is to proceed to get the roof repaired and as soon as that is done management will send repair to fix the drywall damage caused by roof leak - prop mgr is in contract with property owner with limitations as to approval for repairs and maintenance - prop owner wanted to be sure potential roof warranty could be in place as it was unknown by visual how extensive any damage could be - property manager feels there was no other action that could have been taken other than what was taken - to have fixed the drywall in tenants ceiling without fixing the roof would have only necessitated in repeating the process each time it rained or snowed - mgr asked tenants cooperation in such and explained necessary steps - if necessary manager can supply email notifications to owner who then had to obtain information from the real estate agent who was involved in the sale to get the name and number of the roofing company to call- the repair was not being ignored, there was a valid reason for the delay -

11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate, Leasing Service, Apartment Finding & Rental Service, Real Estate-Commercial and Industrial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/12/2005Business started: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Delores Meyers (Owner)
Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate, Leasing Service, Apartment Finding & Rental Service, Real Estate-Commercial and Industrial

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Midtown Realty & Management

511 Turner Blvd

Omaha, NE 68105-1421

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 511 Turner Blvd 

    Omaha, NE 68105-1421(402) 342-2322

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Midtown Realty & Management is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 707-7003
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.