BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2003

Burton Plumbing, Heating & Cooling

(402) 452-3612View Additional Phone Numbers5010 F St, OmahaNE 68117-1316View Additional Email Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2003

BBB has determined that Burton Plumbing, Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Burton Plumbing, Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 47 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues11
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service29
Total Closed Complaints 47

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

106 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Burton Plumbing, Heating & Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 98
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 106 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (47)
05/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Burton did not show up for a scheduled appointment.
I contacted Burton on ******** for a plumbing problem in our home. When I asked for a Monday appointment, I was given a choice of an AM or PM window of time. I chose the Noon-5 window. On, ****, my brother and I received the confirmation from ******* ***** for the ******* appointment. On ***, I was woken up by a phone call at 7:30 AM. I didn't make it to the phone on time, but ***** from Burton left a message that there was an opening at 8:30 AM. I find it rude that, if a client preferred an afternoon appointment, why risk waking them so early. I called Burton at 9:30 AM and told them about the early call and also asked if they had a better idea of when my technician would arrive... the answer was no. At 2 PM, I received a call from **** with an insincere apology for the early call, but when asked more than once about the arrival of the tech, **** could not answer when the tech would arrive. In the initial confirmation letter from Ms. *****, it stated, "our representative will call you 30-45 minutes prior to a tech arriving." At 5 PM, I called Burton, but the receptionist could not tell me when the tech would arrive. Furthermore, if I was to receive a call 30-45 minutes before the arrival, that meant the earliest the tech would have arrived was 5:30-6 PM, completing the work much later. I told the receptionist to cancel the appointment and I was going to file a complaint. About 5 minutes later, ******* called from Client Relations. We talked for about 15 minutes, which was another waste of my time... while she was nice, she tried to explain why this happened. At that point it didn't matter because I decided to never do business again with Burton. According to ********* explanation, Burton needs to book their tech to keep them busy, but - in my opinion, they overbook them out of greed and an inconvenience to the customer. My whole day was planned around that 12-5 window and my toilet was still not fixed. Burton's scheduling policy may work for some people, but is not acceptable to clients like me. No where in any phone call or email did it state that there might be a possibility the tech would be too busy to make the appointment. I would also suggest that Burton contact the client BEFORE the end of their window to state they cannot make it by the deadline. A 5-hour window is too long in the first place, but no communication is even more inexcusable.

Desired Settlement
I was told by ******* that we have a $** credit due... we would like that $** refunded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **********, President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email:**************************
*****,
I am very sorry to hear we have failed you and want to say I am sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. We try hard to meet our clients expectations but do make mistakes. You bring up a very valid point I have addressed with our manager on the updates not being done in time. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I would like to defend our business some and assure you that we do not overbook out of greed. We do our best in the balance of keeping our schedule full and fulfilling our clients needs. I feel we have an obligation to all our technicians to keep them in 40 hours a week. So we need to schedule enough calls per technician to do this. The thing that is always unknown is how long will each call take?? The million dollar question. So we book am and pm calls and try to keep our clients updated as we see the board is over filled. We failed you hear and will make adjustments. We have the technicians notify the dispatchers as soon as they know they are going to be on a call longer than normal. It looks like we had a plumber call off sick that day as well. But either way we should have already notified you. Our goal in no way is to have these types of issues and are sorry this happened. I will have a check sent for your $** coupon and hope you can forgive our mistake.
Sincerely,
**********
Owner

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate the timely response from Mr. *****, but would like to explain what I meant by "greed"... I am a retired business owner who worked on appointments for 33 years. Furthermore, my husband also ran a successful appointment business for 39 years. The difference is we were sole proprietors and never had a complaint. When you choose to have a staff, we understand the challenges, but if your techs' sallaries take precedence over your customers' expectations, you need to re-evaluate if quantity is more important than quality.

Please explain what you mean by a $** "coupon"... if this is cash, we will accept your response. If it's a credit towards future work with Burton, we are not interested.


Final Business Response
I know I signed the check last week. ***** who handles this was out sick yesterday and today. It really has only been 4 business days but we will get it out. It may be in the mail now, not sure. If not if she is in tomorrow it will go out.
Thanks ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your reply.
I just received the check in today's mail.
I didn't want BBB to close the case until I received the check. I also wanted to let you know we did hire another company to fix our two toilets... they gave us a 2-hour window, arrived early, and completed the job within 40 minutes. Hopefully Burton will resolve any future problems from this experience.

04/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to clean a clogged kitchen sink drain. Told I needed plumbing pipe repair. When it was just grease in the P trap.
***********, **********. Tenant called Burton for plugged kitchen sink drain. Because her rental lease said she would be responsible for plugged drains.

Burton called me, saying since I owned the property. I had to give them my credit card number to charge the job to before they could could come out. And have the tenant reimburse me.

On the job. Burton employee told us the vent pipe was plugged. And I would need a technician to repair plumbing pipes. And charged my credit card a service call.

This upset my tenant because she was told my plumbing pipes were stopping her from using her kitchen sink.

I called ************** to fix the plumbing pipes. ************** told me there was no problem with the plumbing pipes. The tenant had grease in the P trap.

That they cleaned the grease out, and it then drained fine.

The tenant told me Burton had told her it was my pipes, and she didn't feel she should have to pay for the fix? So to keep the tenant happy because Burton was miss informing tenant of the problem. I couldn't charge her to re-pay me.

I informed Burton's office that they ought to know their man had missed the grease build up in the P trap. Lady on the phone told me she didn't know what a P trap was? But would have some one get back to me.

I waited for a reply, and did not hear back from them. When I saw an amount come through on my credit card for the service call. I called them back again.

Again I waited for an explanation. And got an e-mail stating at the top. That her name was ********, I am Burton's customer advocate. That she was here for me to resolve any issues that caused my experience to be "less than 100% satisfying"

Then went on to say at the bottom of the letter. Stating she had already reviewed my history of service with them. And they wanted me to use another company in the future.

********, referring to my earlier experience with Burton. When I called in for replacement of a faucet on a cast iron leg bathroom tub. I requested they bring along the special tub faucet required for this replacement.

That time the technician not only didn't bring the faucet with him. He told me he he couldn't get that faucet any more. The tub was out of date, and I needed a new style tub put in.

My wife went to a local hard ware store and bought one. And put it in herself.

I had called in, and told the company I was not happy with their man. I got a call back. And they were extremely apologetic. And sent me a refund check for the charges on my credit card. I was satisfied, and pleased at how nice they were about it. And figured they now could keep and eye on this man. So when asked for a survey. I just thought this was a mishap, and Burton had done what they could to correct it. So I gave them a '10'.

So now when Burton hadn't put on the tub faucet I had called in to request. And Burton hadn't cleaned out the kitchen p trap, a tenant called them to do.

I feel Burton is now insulting me by calling me a lair and a trouble maker?

By referring to the "10" I had given them.

Even though I offered to send them the billing from ************** showing the prompt date, and diagnostic for the drain cleaning. I feel they are still calling me a lair, and trouble maker?

And being told they no longer want my business.

I am feeling deeply hurt by the way they have treated me?

Desired Settlement
I would like my credit card charges removed.

I would like the owner to check into this. And let me know if he thinks I am wrong to feel less than satisfied with the service I received?

I am not requesting a refund for the money paid to another company. Was just trying to explain I did have ***** come right out and fix what their man didn't do. (willing to show Burton the dated bill, and diagnostic). And the fact that their wrong diagnostic did cause me, I felt in fairness to the tenant, to pay the $*** plus tax for the drain cleaning paid to *****.

If Burton thinks this is the way he wants his employees to treat customers? So be it.

Business Response
****,
I have looked into this matter and am sorry this has happened. I feel like we have some misunderstanding in the communication between us, tenant and yourself.Our technician actually worked on open the greased up line for over an hour. Grease is hard because it is slow to remove and sometimes not possible from the sink area. *** had recommended after working for the hour to change and clean from the roof. He did not say the vent was plugged, rather that this access may work better. The tenant refused and we left and did not charge for our efforts. Had *** worked longer he may have opened as well but the question is always how long are we going to try before going to plan B?? So ***** coming in behind our hour of work does make sense.
I see in our notes that we offered to return the $***** in ******* during our phone call. We are still willing to refund this amount and are sorry that this complaint had to be filed.
Sincerely
**********
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I agree, we are having a communication problem.

You keep referring to the drain pipes which were not the problem. The bathroom plumbing on the other side of the wall, from the kitchen. And the washing machine next to the kitchen sink, all using the same drain pipe. Were all working as should.

Being *** was working after the plugged P trap. He would be wasting his time to no avail.

I feel your technician showed lack of professional work skills. By not doing the easiest thing first by checking the P trap under the sink? Which of course, would be easily accessible from under the sink.

From what you are saying. And from what ******** made clear. By telling me she had made a decision not only not to refund the charges to my credit card. But for me to take any of my future business else where. You are calling me a lire. If I am right in feeling this way. I am willing to go through small claims court. Where I can have a chance to prove I am being truthful. And let the judge decide?

It was not so much the money charged to my credit card. As my failure to be able to do my duty of letting Burton business know what actually went on with this job. To help you prevent future customers from possibly having the same experience with you serviceman as I and my tenant had.

I feel I must have did something wrong in my approach to this incident? To have it get so blown out of proportion. If I did? I wish to apologize.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******,
I am sorry if I lead you to believe that I think you are lying. I just believe there is miscommunication between what really happened and what you are getting from you tenant. I have spoke with ***, who has been doing this for several years. He is very sure that when he removed the p-trap he dumped it in the bucket. We worked hard to open the grease line and decided after an hour to try another option.Please let me know how you would like to move forward.
Sincerely,
**********
President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
To me, it seems clear you have no interest in learning your man ***. Did fail to perform his job in a professional manor.

I do not understand your statement there was a miscommunication with my tenant? It seems a fact that she was right in her observations. That with ***** efforts, the sink was still non draining. That when ************** left, her sink was draining as should.

I had called ***** to have the vent pipe cleaned from the roof, as *** stated would need to be done. ******* bill stated; "Cleaned grease from P-trap. Sink then drained fine. No further actions were needed."

I am puzzled by your not being willing to take ***** plumbing job description at their word. Even when *** said he cleaned the P trap. Since it drained when ***** left, and didn't when *** left.

For my part, I feel bad that you still seem to be saying ***** workmanship was up to your company's standard? And that my concern to let you know what went on in the field on one of your jobs. Was met with such harsh resistance by your company.

I am great full for the BBB helping me get through to the person in charge, to express my concerns. That now being done. I guess it is up to you to decide how you are going to deal with this?

Since I now have been given a chance to let you know what occurred on my job. For me, your offer to credit my Credit Card charges would seem to be in line?

Thank you, ****

01/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed furnace/AC;never worked right;they went through warranty steps;replaced with different,less expensive unit. Didn't refund price difference.
We purchased a furnace/AC unit & thermostat from Burton Plumbing for $******. It was installed on *******.
It had ongoing problems. It would randomly shut off. Numerous mornings, we woke up with the house at 45 to 55 degrees. Luckily, I was home & turned the furnace back on. If this had happened while we were not home, the pipes could have frozen.
I made multiple calls to Burton in fall & winter **** & was told temporary fixes to do. Primarily, I was told,"Just turn it back on.".
On occasion, a repair person would come out & restart the unit. However, no repairs were done. Each time a repair person came out, I had to take the day off from work.
This continued from ************** (date installed) until ********.
I called Burton in ******** & insisted they fix or replace the furnace/AC unit. I didn't hear back from anyone. I began calling the GM's secretary & leaving messages for **** ******, the general manager of Burton in *****. I left numerous messages over the next month.
Over one month later, on *************; I called Mr. ******** secretary to leave another message & was finally able to speak with Mr. ******.
I explained our history to him. He said he would speak with ****, the most recent repair person to look at our furnace/AC unit.
Mr. ****** stated that Burton would file a report with ***** (furnace/AC unit's manufacturer) & the unit would be replaced, probably that week.
That afternoon, *************; **** (repair person) called me. He took a full summary of our history with the furnace/AC unit for the report to *****. He said he would speak to ***** & get back to me to get the furnace/AC unit replaced with a new one.
On *************; I called **** to get an update. He was surprised no one had called me. He had been told to replace a part on our furnace/AC unit (low voltage wires).
He said the office was supposed to have called me & set up an appointment for him to replace the wires. The office had already dispatched him to come to our house that day & replace the wires. I took the day off from work so he could replace the wires.
**** replaced the wires & left at 3:00 pm. At 3:12 pm, the AC unit quit working. I immediately called ****. He said he would come back.
He returned, looked at the unit, & restarted it...again.
Exasperated, I told him I did not want to keep having repair people come out & "fix" the furnace/AC unit. I said I wanted a new unit, like we paid for almost a year prior.
**** agreed & assured me that it would be replaced. I requested that it be replaced with a unit that had less technology. I was told the "advanced" technology appeared to be the cause of the continual glitches & malfunctions.
Later that day, **** called & said they'd be at our house on Monday morning (*************) to install the new furnace/AC unit.
I arranged to have Monday off from work. **** & his associate arrived ************* & replaced the furnace/AC unit & thermostat. They were replaced with a less expensive model.
On *************; **** said Mr. ****** would call me within 1 to 2 days to take care of the refund we were due since the replacement was less expensive than the original unit we purchased & paid for in *********.
I did not hear from him & called on ************. I left a message, stating that the new unit was working well, but it cost less than the unit we had paid for the previous year. I also reminded him that I took numerous days off work to be home when repair people came out.
Mr. ****** called me on *************. He said he would cut a check on *************.
I asked how much the refund would be. He said he hadn't calculated it & would look at his paperwork on Monday. I said I would also like some compensation for the days I had to miss from work (which were unpaid).
We did not receive a check on *************. We've never received a refund.
We had further phone conversations & letter correspondence. He offered $******* & I countered $****. Yet, we have never received any refund.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the difference in the original furnace/AC unit and thermostat for which we paid and the less expensive model that was installed to replace the defective unit.
The process took an inordinately long time to complete. Due to this, I was required to take numerous days off from work, which were unpaid. Therefore, I would also like some compensation for this.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********, G. M.
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: **************************
The letter I sent to you offering $******* refund clearly stated that it was my last/best offer. I did not receive a response. Would you like to accept my offer?

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The refund check can be made out to either ***** or **** ******.
Mail the refund to:
***********, ************************.

The last refund offer that I had received from you stated an amount of $*******. As we are both aware, I repeatedly responded to that letter. Several of my letters were even delivered by certified mail.

However, in an effort to finally get this resolved; I am accepting the offer.

***** ******

Final Business Response
Our apologies. We cannot find where this was ever submitted for payment. I have submitted and it will be in the mail today.
Thanks ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Please make payable and send to:
**** &/or ***** ******
***********
************************

10/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales men *** came out, looked at ac, did not look at furnace and left. Since then manager has been calling daily, even though told him not to.
****, sales manager, has called on **** at 11; **** at 11:06; **** at 3:38; **** at 12:30; ***** at 1:15; ***** at 11:27; ***** at 11:27; ***** at 4:07 and ***** at 12:23 asking about how *** called us back, which he did not, and gave us a quote on the fall prices for the HVAC system. These are the phone calls that are current, there are some from ****, but I do not have the dates for those. In ****, I told ****, to stop calling me and if would call again, I would call my best friend who is *******. These are the times and dates he has called in *******. At the times that **** has called, I was at work and he has left a message every time.

Desired Settlement
I just do not want **** or anyone from Burton to contact me about the HVAC system that *** supposedly gave a quote on.

Business Response
I am terribly sorry for this misunderstanding. I will see to it that you are not called again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As long as I do not receive any more phone calls from ****, sales manager, I am satisfied. If I do receive a phone call from him, I will contact my best friend and he will be contacting Burton himself. They do not want ******* contacting them. We already had a HVAC system installed on ******** by a company that does not constantly harass people.

01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I feel like I was overcharged for work that was not completed by the tech that came to my home
On ********** Burton came out to my home as the floor drain in the laundry room was overflowing. I explained to the tech what exactly had been happening. He tried to recreate what was occurring by having the washing machine drain. The issue did not happen. He stated that he would 1st try to see if there was anything in the floor drain. If not he would either have to remove the bathroom toilet or go on to the roof and put a 3 inch scraper down the drain. This would cut everything in the pipe and everything should start flowing. He stated that he would go out to his truck to get his equipment. When he came back in I asked him how much this was going to cost because I saw the billboard off **** on *********** for $**. He had a lot of different amounts written down. After the tech came off the roof he told me that he was unable to see what was in the basement drain and he went on the roof and the camera showed something but he wasn't sure what and his supervisor would have to bring his equipment out to see what it is and I owed $******.

Desired Settlement
I was charged $****** for a drain that was not opened or cleaned. How would a warranty apply on something that is not fixed??? The drain is still overflowing. The only thing I would like is a refund minus the dispatch fee. Thank you

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** GM
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: **************************
We tried to resolve this with you yesterday, but you refused to call us back. Your mother even called and used a string of profanity at our Customer Service Professional. We tried to call your mother back, but received no response.

You were given 8 options that included our $** special. You chose an option above that for $******. You signed the authorization, the technician completed what was agreed, and we even offered to come out at no charge to run our camera down your drain to show the work was done correctly. You agreed to schedule this, then cancelled the complimentary service. We are confident that we did our job as agreed, and that you may be experiencing some remorse based on the price paid.

I feel at this time that we fulfilled our end of the deal 100% and no refund is due.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. I did not return your call because I was in school when you tried to reach me that is why my mother was making an effort to assist with this issue.
2. the language that was used with the CSR was unwarranted however, out of frustration with and when your employee is telling me what my rights are in the manner that she did was uncalled for also.
3. The $** special was not a selection on the sheet provided to me.
4. What exactly did i pay the $****** for?
5. I would like for **** ******, GM to personally come out and the run the camera down my drain....

Final Business Response
To the ***** complaint, we did exactly what was agreed upon. The line was cleaned. It plugged up again because of a Breach in the Sewer. That is beyond the scope of our warranty. If the line plugged up again, our agreement called for the ***** to call us back in order to get the work done at no charge. That was not done. As a good faith gesture, I will offer to have a supervisor come out and run a camera down the sewer at no charge.

Page 1 of 4
03/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work is not finished
Work not finished as of ****** contract date ******* contract ****** sales rep ************ amount ******* paid to ************** work as of ***** was sewer work done but back door steps not finished which is what we were asking for 2 disabled people in house and that's main entrance to house. Back porch roof is still propped up with 4x4s starting to sag causing damage to siding sprinkler system needs fixed but do realize this can't be done till spring.main thing is to get porch pillar back up and steps put back so we can use entrance to our home. Also barricades and work tape taken down and removed we live next to school and am afraid children will trip on these barricades siding and sprinkler can be fixed in spring I have called and left messages with no response back very frustrating

Desired Settlement
Put steps back
Fix pillar on porch so it doesn't cause any more damage
Fix siding
Fix sprinkler system
Take down barricades and construction tape

Business Response
We have been working with **** ***** for some time now.
I feel this dispute should not be counted due to us already being in the process of handling it.
It involves subcontractors that have to be scheduled and weather is a part of that. We were very upfront with her and have communicated with her clearly.
Appreciate your help with this.
Thanks
**********
President
Burton A/C Heating Plumbing & More
**********
****************
************ Direct



Initial Consumer Re****al
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to Burtons reply they clearly were not in contact with me on anything except that sprinkler would take till spring to fix. I called on ******** and told them that steps needed to be replaced, they. Sent out contractor to put in cement step which I refused. I wanted our original steps to be put back. Contractor took cement step back out and told me to call **** which I did and left message, never received a call back until I filed a complaint with BBB. A timely response was never made, we had nice weather up until day or so before *********. Original work was done ******** so they had almost 3 weeks before bad weather hit plenty of time to put back steps and have contractor fix overhang. Siding could also been fixed. When I finally heard from Burtons on ******** after I filed a complaint I received call from **** stateing that there was no damage done on sprinkler system. I told her there was two sprinkler heads missing and lines had been cut through. She then said well if indeed there was it would have to wait till spring. She said we will send someone to pick barricades and look at porch. It was like they didn't know job wasn't finished. They then sent contractor out and he fixed the overhang but not like it was originally. He argued that the support for overhang would not be strong enough for the weight of it if he fixed like originally was. How can that be its been like that since 2000 when it was built, just a way of not putting in the time and work to fix it right in other words the cheapest way out for the company. Still have Hole in my yard big enough for some to trip and break an ankle. Siding and sprinkler can wait till spring, but they could give a letter in writing to ensure me that the work will be done. The hole could be filled in with dirt and the porch could be fixed back into its original state because it's **** ugly the ways it's done not even painted also the step board is cracked and not fixed because contractor didn't have enough wood. Over all worse company to work with they haven't a clue to what is done and isn't done. Take advantage of people when they are in a pinch, blame it on weather and other contractors, when they don't have a clue what's been done and what's not been done.Salesman assured me it would be all put back the way it was what a JOKE don't believe a word that company says

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As you can see this company has a problem with time issues, they were to respond by******* it's now ******* and we finally receive a response. They give give me a letter that states they will take care of everything, but I'm not holding my breath. They have a problem with following through with things and time is of no importance to them. So spring will probably be next fall . They actually argued the point of fixing my porch back to its original state, said it wouldn't be strong enough. To me that means they don't want to make customers happy. I will give them every opportunity to see if they will follow through and fix everything the RIGHT way, but I would ask you to keep this open until that time. A letter is just a piece of paper, well so was their contract and that didn't mean much to them as well as their word. So please keep this case open and let's see what they do. Thank you

Final Business Response
Our service manager ********* has meet with them, signed an agreement that we will return in the spring to complete items listed. This should be complete.
Please let us know if you need any further information.
Sincerely,
**********

03/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Burton failed to fulfill services that were being paid for in a service contract. They also were unresponsive to phone calls made by the customer.
We entered into a service contract with Burton on *****************, to include heating, plumbing, and electrical services. This service agreement provided us with priority services for any heating, plumping, or electrical problems and a **% discount on all services. We contacted Burton on *****************, due to a significant electrical problem. We were told by Burton that all of their electricians were on another project and unavailable. We were forced to contact an outside electrician, paying full price for services. This was a breach of the service agreement. I contacted Burton on *****************, asking for a return phone call from someone in management to address this matter. I never received a return phone call. I later discovered, through several reliable sources, that Burton had no electricians employed at this time. I cancelled my agreement on ****************. We were never contacted by Burton regarding our concerns or their failure to provide services promised in the service agreement.
Prior to our cancelling the agreement, on *****************, we made a service call due to problems with our heat pump. The technician appeared to have difficulty establishing the problem and determined it was a part on the heat pump. After replacing this part, we then had to replace the main board inside the house, going all weekend without heat. The final repairs were made on *****************. We paid over $****** dollars on these repairs.
We contacted Burton on ****************, due to our heat pump tripping the air conditioner circuit breaker. We thought that one of the parts replaced may have been defective. The technician informed us that the compressor in the heat pump had gone out, a costly repair. After consulting with several experts in the field, we were advised that the original call, *****************, may have been the compressor beginning to fail. I addressed my concerns, once again, with an individual at Burton on ***************, and asked for a return call from ****, the owner of the company, to address several of my concerns. I never received a return phone call from ****, or anyone in management.

Burton has demonstrated unethical and poor business practices in offering a service that they were unable to provide and in their refusal to address concerns made by a customer. There are also concerns in the appropriateness of repairs made on ****************.

Desired Settlement
We are asking that Burton compensate us for the funds we were forced to pay to hire an electrician on *****************, $******. They failed to provide services agreed upon in the service contract, forcing us to seek services outside of the company, paying full price. They also acted in a dishonest manner, telling us that all electricians were on a project, when in fact, they had no electricians employed at that time.

We are unable to prove that the compressor was failing in **************, thus, we are not asking for any financial compensation on this matter.

Business Response
I am happy to refund your **% discount on the $****** electrical repair you had. I do know that our electricians were booked out for several weeks at one point. Then we had to let them go and did not have any electricians. I apologize seeing how this could look misleading. I hope it was just bad communication on our part. I understand your frustrations with your heat pump. These systems run in a sequence. We start at one spot and when we come to a failure we have to replace. Many times we will offer to replace all the related components depending on age and condition of the system. I do not see where **** did this so he must have felt everything looked good. Most parts are hard to tell when they are going to fail. The compressor was drawing the correct amount of amps when **** was there and that is the only check we can do that gives any indication of a possible failure. I will do whatever it takes to regain your trust. We did not respond to your request in a timely manner. It is a long story that would just bore you. We have put a new process in place to keep this communication error from happening again. But in your case we failed. I hope you will accept my apologies and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Sincerely,
**********
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response and apology. We received from very reliable sources, of which I cannot divulge the names, that there were no electricians in your employment at the time that we requested an electrician due to an electrical problem. Instead of being honest about the situation, Burton was deceptive in reporting that all electricians were on a "big job." This is troubling as it is an indicator of a company that is not ethical or forthcoming.
Under the service agreement, which we paid monthly, electrical was part of the plan at a reduced rate. We paid full price, $******, to have another electrician provide services. We are also going to have to pay full price to have further electrical services completed, which would have been provided by Burton under our service agreement, had Burton maintained electricians in their employment and had acted in an ethical manner.
We are asking that the $****** dollars be refunded in full due to the breach of our service agreement on Burton's part and the fact that we will be required to obtain further services at full-price. Of note, our service agreement would not have been cancelled if Burton would have responded to attempts to contact the company and would have been forthcoming and honest in their dealings with this client.
Thank you.

Final Business Response
I feel our offer to compensate you for the **% off the repair is fair. You would of had the repair expense either way. I do apologize for the confusion caused by us losing our electricians. We did have other electricians available to help us out with our customers. Unfortunately they did have other jobs going on at the time making them unavailable at that time. This was a time in our city when ****** in ************** had over 2000 electricians employed. It made things difficult for many, I do apologize for the inconvenience.
Sincerely,
**********

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damage was done to my walls and ceiling on *********. I called and talked to **** on ********* and he told repairman would call but no response.
Damage was done on *********. Talked to **** on ********* and he told me the repairman would call me in a day or two. Received no call. Have called **** 5 times since but he will not answer the phone. I have left a message for him to call me please, but have not received a call. I called the office and she told me that she would tell him to call me. He did not.

The damage was to the wall behind the refrigerator,has a hole in it and on the other side of that same wall they cracked the wall up from about the floor, up about 3 feet. Also damaged the ceiling above the refrigerator

Desired Settlement
To repair the damage now and to be contacted by the business.

Business Response
********* has spoke with Mr. ***** and the work is resolved and completed.
Please let us know if we can do anything else.


01/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installation of gas heater was not accomplished correctly. Follow-up with company was never responded to.
We contacted Burton to have gas heater installed. It was replacing an older unit so minimum plumbing was required. By the instructions, three things were required of the installer: gas pressure reading, gas orifice changed, and unit changed from LP to natural gas. Reading and orifice change not done. Additionally, gas pipe extends into the housing too far for the heater to be properly positioned. Could have been better if either a shorter nipple or a 90 degree elbow fitting had been used. When the technician departed I asked if he was finished and he replied that it was all connected with no leaks. After he left, I tried to light the heater. The pilot light lit correctly, but would not remain lit, no matter how long the control valve was depressed. I assume that he never tried to light the unit which I assume would be part and parcel to a heater installation costing in excess of $***. He didn't put the battery in the igniter. Also, the company followed up on the action and whoever called was surprised to hear these details and learn that everything had just come to a dead stop with the technician's departure. I was told that the caller would check into it and give me a call back. It has been almost a week and I have had no further contact.

Desired Settlement
I would prefer to have the heater working, but otherwise a refund would allow me to get someone else to do the work I would expect the input plumbing to be corrected, the pressure to be checked and recorded in the book, and the heater to be functioning correctly.

Business Response
Mr. ****,
I have reviewed your service. I will start by apologizing for **** not getting back to you. He does remember the call and just dropped the ball, our mistake.
On the actual service I would like to speak with you as I feel we may not have been clear with our options. It sounds like you perceived the option to make the fireplace operational. After speaking with *** the technician and looking over his invoice, the option you chose only included connection of the gas line to gas valve. If you will look at your next option up, it included installing the burner, which would have made the fireplace operational. *** told me this is why he did not put the battery in or start the fireplace.
I look forward to your response and will help any way I can.
Sincerely,
**** *****
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All I wanted originally was to have the heater installed, which to me meant serviceable. Then the repairman hit me with a half dozen options which angered me since I hadn't asked for any of that. That was probably part of the cause for the misunderstanding. He took the instruction book and was reading through it. The first thing was an explanation of the manifold pressure requirements. Since improper pressure could damage the heater or even possibly pose a safety concern, I feel that he should at least insured that it was correct. I would settle for having the pressure verified so that I can continue to troubleshoot with the help of the manufacturer, since the item is under warranty Thank you.

Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/*****) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I gave the technician the manual, the first thing in the manual was the necessary manifold pressures. The gas appliance is new and under warranty. The manufacturer wants to know that the pressure is so that we can proceed with troubleshooting. All I need, then, is to have the pressure read so that I can get the repair in motion. Thank you.

Final Business Response
I have responded directly to ******************** since I did not receive anything after his response on *****? I have shared our supervisors contact info. so they can set up for us to test his gas pressure.
Thanks ****

12/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A Burtom plumber tried to charge more than their advertised rate. I am ******** stuck in a wheelchair and felt uneasy with his high-pressure tactics.
On *********** of this year my wife called Burton Plumbing of Omaha to request a plumber to unclog a clogged kitchen sink drain.
We had an awful experience with them once before over charging us, but we saw their advertised special to unclog any drain for $** so we felt secure trying them again. My wife called, mentioned the special, and then scheduled a visit.
The Burton employee came on time looked briefly at the sink and then told me he had to look around first. He went into the basement for five minutes or so and then outside to look at our roof.
When he came in he had five options to fix our clog listed on a piece of paper. The options listed prices the cheapest was $***+, the most expensive was $*****+. He recommended the $***+ option. I asked what happened to the $** special and he told me, "Oh, you don't want that one."
He kept at me to pick an option, and I finally told him to leave his estimates so I could show them to my wife, at which time he quickly folded the sheet and stuck it in his pocket saying, "Oh no, I can't leave this."
He stayed around 30 minutes, and as far as I could tell he didn't spend one minute working on the clog. Before he left he gave me a bill for the service call - $***** which I paid.
As near as can tell I got 30 minute annoying up-sell that cost me $***** - no value was received.
I called ********** and they were out the same day, worked quite a while clearing line to the basement floor, charged me $***, and gave me a 6 month guarantee on their work.

Desired Settlement
A refund of service call fee.

Business Response
Mr. ******,
I have reviewed your service. The bottom option **** gave you was the ** drain opening. It included the ***** dispatch fee (should have been clearly quoted, when you scheduled the call)and taxes of **** for a total of ******.
The Opening special that we advertise is just for an opening, not a cleaning. Many times things end up in the drain that do not belong there. Hair brush, deodorant cap, etc. All that needs done is to remove and open the line.
**** stated on his invoice that when he went to the basement and removed the clean out cap, it was full of sludge all the way in the basement. Doing an opening in this case is usually not the best option. **** recommended that he would pick one of the cleaning options, rather than the opening in your best interest. He stated you wanted to speak with your wife, since you were planning on the ** price.
I hope I explained this clearly for you. Feel free to call me if you have any further questions.
Sincerely,
**********
President

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Contractor - Water Conditioning, Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heating & Air Conditioning, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers - Commercial, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Electricians - Commercial, Electricians, Electricians - Residential, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/05/1993Business started: 04/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1998, NE

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mark A. Evans (President)Mr. Rich Cape (Service Manager)
Business Category

Plumbers, Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Contractor - Water Conditioning, Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heating & Air Conditioning, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers - Commercial, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Electricians - Commercial, Electricians, Electricians - Residential, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers commercial and residential plumbing, heating and air conditioning services that are charged by the job instead of by the hour. Consumers are informed of the price prior to signing a release for work to begin. The company states that the technicians come to the job site with all the equipment necessary to complete the job in most cases. Their drain services are charged by the half hour. They provide line stoppages, video camera inspections, pipeline locating, foaming root killers, pumping, jetting and 24-hour emergency service. Additionally the company does plumbing and sewer excavating, complete sewer and water line replacement and remodeling services specializing in bathroom remodeling.

Alternate Business Names
Burton Plumbing Services, Inc., Burton A/C Heating Plumbing & More

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Burton Plumbing, Heating & Cooling has received 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 106 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Burton Plumbing, Heating & Cooling

5010 F St

Omaha, NE 68117-1316

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5010 F St 

    Omaha, NE 68117-1316(402) 452-3612

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Burton Plumbing, Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 343-0011
  • (402) 934-7003
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.