BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/1998

Tully's Kennels

(402) 391-24567777 D St, OmahaNE 68124-4049 Send email to Tully's Kennels

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/1998

BBB has determined that Tully's Kennels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tully's Kennels' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
06/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/16/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
12/29/2011Problems with Product / Service
02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: No disclosure of medical procedures done to the puppy (i.e. Neutering and Hernia removal)
In **** we purchased a ********* puppy (**) and were told to take him to the vet to complete immunizations. At no time did they disclose to us that the puppy had surgery to remove a ***** ****** and at that time the breeder had neutered him. They sold him as any other healthy intact puppy in their kennel. We found out in ******** by talking with the breeder the circumstances in which he was neutered. The breeder mentioned that they had submitted the paperwork to Tully's that the puppy had been neutered and had a ****** removed. Tully's failed to disclose the condition and circumstances of the puppy.

Initial Business Response
Tully's Kennels apologized for the fact that our records did not state anything regarding a ********* puppy, born *******, being neutered or that he had a ****** repair done. We did not receive anything from the breeder about an ******** ****** repair. The health certificate from the vet did not have any notes on it. The bottom of the shot record that came in with the puppy did have neutered written on it and was missed at check in. We went off the record that was faxed to us. None of this affects the health or the temperament of the puppy. As per our phone conversation, Tully's will no longer rely on a shot record faxed over to us prior to check in. We have asked that the breeder send a neuter/spay certificate with the arrival of the puppy so we can give it to the new owner. We have already requested a letter of neuter from the vet and have mailed it to you like we said we would do. We are still requesting that you send the puppies vet record with a copy of the invoice for the surgery, so that we can resolve this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fact that the puppy went through an unneeded surgery because Tully's did not disclose that he was neutered is still very disturbing to me. And we should have been given the option to make an informed decision about the puppy at the time of the purchase but was denied to us due to Tully's negligence. To even suggest that we return the puppy continues to show Tully's disregard for the bond that happens between the puppy and family. If it is Tully's procedure to not take certain precautions when selling puppies and to just have owners return puppies like a sweater or other piece of clothing shows their disregard that this is a living thing and not just a piece of inventory. Why would I ever trust an animal in Tully's care again? The response given by Tully's still shows no regard for the owners or the puppy.

Final Business Response
Tully's Kennels goal is to find happy, loving families for healthy puppies. We do not sell or advertise them as breeding stock. We do not charge less if a puppy has been neutered. An error with paperwork does not take away from the care we provide for our puppies. We will refund the purchase price of the ********* if you are unhappy with him and want to return him by *******. If you are happy with the puppy and want to keep him we will mail you a check for $*** for bringing to our attention that we need to change some of our paperwork procedures.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Shops, Pet Services, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Dog Breeders, Pet Sitting Services, Pet Transporting, Pet Cemeteries, Crematories & Supplies, Pet Boarding - Dogs, Kennels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/02/1993Business started: 01/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Julie A. Tully (Manager/Owner)Mr. Tom Westman (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Pet Shops, Pet Services, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Dog Breeders, Pet Sitting Services, Pet Transporting, Pet Cemeteries, Crematories & Supplies, Pet Boarding - Dogs, Kennels

Products & Services

This company is a pet shop and kennel that offers sales of cats, puppies and pet products and pet boarding services. They also provide pet cremation services.

Industry Tips
American Kennel Club and Better Business Bureau Warn Consumers to be Wary of Puppy Scams
What to do with Fido?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tully's Kennels

7777 D St

Omaha, NE 68124-4049

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7777 D St 

    Omaha, NE 68124-4049(402) 391-2456

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tully's Kennels is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.