BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

Natura/Iams Pet Products

(800) 532-7261View Additional Phone Numbers2779 Rademakers Way, FremontNE 68025-8044

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

BBB has determined that Natura/Iams Pet Products meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Natura/Iams Pet Products' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Natura/Iams Pet Products

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Natura made and sold dog food contaminated with salmonella. My dogs became ill with salmonella and one subsequently passed away.
I have been in contact with Natura Pet Food numerous times regarding the salmonella tainted ********** Natural Dog Food and the subsequent Salmonella poisoning our dogs, ***** and ****** endured. The same salmonella poising that lead to the death of our dog, *****, substantially shortening her life and lead to her untimely death.

I started feeding my dogs Natura's ********** Naturals Lamb and Rice Dog food ************* after our dog ****** was diagnosed with food allergies. Unfortunately, this brand is one of the few that does not contain these allergens. Unbeknown to us, there were recalls for this dog food from **********, with expanding recalls into *********. Due to Natura not recalling all Lots and all UPC's until *********, this food was available on shelves and able to be purchased until mid-*********.

***** and ****** were both treated for Salmonella poisoning by our veterinarian beginning *********. We were alerted to the salmonella recall and illness by our veterinarian on ********, ****. I contacted Natura that same day. I was issued a reimbursement check from ****************** for some of the tainted food in an amount of $93.12. In addition, I was told on ******** that a veterinary technician from your Pet Health and Safety Team would be assigned to our case and be in contact with us. ***** condition continued to deteriorate so I took her back to our veterinarian on ***************.

On ***************, after still no contact from Natura, I again called to check the status of our case. During this call, I was told Natura had irresponsibly forgotten/failed to assign a veterinary tech to our case but someone would be contacting us soon.

On *************, I again had to call Natura to inquire when a technician would be contacting us regarding ***** and ******'s illness. Finally that afternoon, I did receive a call from ******, the Veterinary Technician with Natura's Pet Health and Safety Team.

On **************** ****** phoned me stating Natura would be reimbursing me for all of our veterinary expenses due to the obvious and laboratory confirmed Salmonella poising. I informed ****** that ***** continued to be ill with the Salmonella and I had an upcoming appointment for ***** on **************** with our veterinarian. ****** stated she would be waiting to send a reimbursement check since we would be accruing more expenses and it would be easier to issue a single reimbursement.

During ******* appointment on ****************, I was informed from our vet that ***** was in organ failure due to sepsis from the salmonella poisoning. She required 24 hour care with intravenous fluids and antibiotics in which I transported her between the veterinarian office and the pet hospital every morning and night. ***** succumbed to the salmonella poisoning on *****************. I contacted Natura on *****************, at this time ****** refused to take my phone call and i was informed Dr. ****, the Technical Services Veterinarian for Natura would be contacting me. On ***************** Dr. **** informed me that he needed to speak with our veterinarian once more before we could settle the vet bills. This was the last time I have been able to speak with anyone from Natura. In addition, our veterinarian stated no one has called him from Natura.

I have since attempted to contact Natura and their parent company, ******************, with no response.

Natura has refused to take accountability for their actions. This has been evidenced by:
*Failure to pull all Lots and all UPC bags of dog food at the first incidence of salmonella.
*Not assigning a pet health and safety team member to our case when contacted.
*Avoiding my phone calls/contact attempts.

I am asking Natura to pay for all the expenses we incurred because of the health issues caused by our dogs ***** and ****** eating ********** Naturals dog food. This total is $********.

Desired Settlement
I am asking Natura to pay for all the expenses we incurred because of the health issues caused by our dogs ***** and ****** eating ********** Naturals dog food. This total is $********.
This includes the following:

********** Natural Dog Food purchased from ********** thru *********. This totals $****** ($****** minus $***** already reimbursed)

The veterinarian bills from ********* through *********** accrued due to eating the salmonella tainted dog food and overnight hospitalization at the Veterinary Emergency Hospital for ***** for 3 nights. This totals $*******

The mileage to and from the veterinarian hospital and the veterinarian for all appointments, figured at $0.**/mile set by the IRS for medical mileage rate times 525.45 miles in all. This totals $******.

Special food, treats and care items while sick with Salmonella. This totals $*****.

Business Response
Dear Ms. xxx,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us about your dogs ***** and ******. We want to express our sincere condolences for any inconvenience or anguish you have suffered.

We do appreciate your patience in working with our Consumer Care Pet Health and Safety Team, and sincerely apologize if our efforts to support you and your pets did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide caring, timely and personal attention to every person who contacts us. We did not immediately contact you on Monday *************** to ensure that we had time to fully understand what had happened. Our intention was to call you the following week, but when you asked to be called sooner, we did so-and at that time you asked to not be called again.

We responded to you via postal letter on ***************. Careful consideration by a panel of experts, including veterinarians, has been given to the review of your concerns. After conducting a very in-depth investigation that included discussion with medical professionals, thorough review of your pets' medical records and pet history, and the letter we received dated ******************, we have concluded the following resolution to offer $****** as goodwill. This offer will cover full reimbursement for all veterinary care dated ******* and ************ as well as all Natura Pet products purchased since **********.

We are not able to offer reimbursement for travel expenses or for pet care products not purchased from the veterinarian and/or not specifically used for ***** and ******'s veterinary care provided ******* and ************. The decision that we cannot offer reimbursement for the additional and intensive veterinary care that ***** received in July and ************** is based on several factors, the most important of which is that she was unfortunately diagnosed with cancer (lymphosarcoma).

Thank you again for your patience during this difficult time. We sincerely regret any inconvenience; and we consider this matter fully addressed and closed.

Best regards,

xxx, Manager, Pet Care Consumer Care North America

10/21/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Foods - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Pet Supplies & Foods - Wholesale, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/31/2005Business started: 08/20/2003New Owner Date: 12/23/2008
Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 2008, DE

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Marti Hissong (Consumer Relations Manager)Mr. A.G. Lafley (President)
Business Category

Pet Foods - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Pet Supplies & Foods - Wholesale, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Products & Services

This company provides manufacturing and wholesale product sales of organic and healthy pet foods for dogs and cats.

Alternate Business Names
Natura Pet Products, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Natura/Iams Pet Products

2779 Rademakers Way

Fremont, NE 68025-8044

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2779 Rademakers Way 

    Fremont, NE 68025-8044(402) 727-0870
    (800) 532-7261

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Natura/Iams Pet Products is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 727-0870

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Pet Foods - Wholesale & Manufacturers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.