BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2005

Edwards Motor Sports & RV

(888) 281-26041010 34th Ave, Council BluffsIA 51501-8076View Additional Email AddressesView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2005

BBB has determined that Edwards Motor Sports & RV meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Edwards Motor Sports & RV's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Edwards Motor Sports & RV

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
made deal with sales manager. followed all his rules to buy the next day sold the machine to someone else after making deal with me
on Monday ************ I was emailing a friendly sales man all week about utv's and on Friday ************ I called to make a deal and my salesman was out sick and the salesman told me to connect with the sales manager ***** ******* and he would take care of me.
I called the sales manager ***** ******* and told him the situation and we made the deal. offered to pay with credit card and he rejected that. offered to have my bank transfer money to there bank, he rejected that. ***** ******* the sales manager said that he would send paperwork via ****** Monday ************ that I need to sign and to put the cashiers check in the return envelope via ****** and that would complete the deal so my pre-determined transporter could pick up and deliver to me.

***** ******* had a request as did I that there would be a video of the machine so that would be the confiremed walk around as if I was there and would accept as-is and that I would have visual for the receiving the machine from the transporter.

on Saturday ************ I got the videos and accepted and an hour later got a call that they sold the machine and is no longer available..

this in my mind and in all my online buying HAVE NEVER had this happen feel betrayed, feel robbed, feel mistreated, feel lied to ect I could go on.

this is so untrustworthy as for being an online sales company that they should be banned and have an F- for online sales trustworthiness.

on a side note with ***** and my conversation that we are expecting paperwork to show up Monday ************ and after we got the call and was told that the machine was sold the salesman confirmed that I had a Deal and was sold as the same deal I had..

Desired Settlement
seeking the machine or machine that is equal to what we purchased

Business Response
Edwards Motorsports is ************** premier Motorsport and RV dealer. We sell new & pre-owned inventory. It is our policy to not place used inventory "on hold" (or mark as sold) without a signed purchase agreement, payment/signed loan contract and the ability for the customer to take delivery. On occasion, we will mail paperwork to be signed by a potential customer, but until the documents are returned signed and accepted by us, the inventory remains for sale.

I would gladly assist Mr. ******* in purchasing another vehicle. I have a wide selection of new vehicles. Our used inventory is a one of a kind items and sales are on a first come first serve basis, but we will do our best to find Mr. ******* another used vehicle if he would desire.

Edwards Motorsports & RV Center

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
IF and I say "IF" this is Edwards motorsports policy then this policy should be noted and told about when and before doing a DEAL!! there was at NO POINT in the WEEK of dealing on this machine this policy was EVER explained or even brought up!! I do find this troubling that you do a DEAL with the SALES MANAGER and he DOES NOT SAY THIS AT THE DEFINEING PART OF THE DEAL. "IF" this is actual and was explained we would have been there the next day to buy and this IS IN NO WAY HOW TO DO BUSINESS. used new DOES NOT MATTER the BUYER needs time to do a deal when and "IF" EDWARDS MOTORSPORTS CLAIMS TO BE A ONLINE DEALER!! this to ME in my eyes IS a Buyer Beware company and should be a Minus star in rating and should have the LOWEST BBB Rating that there is. IF you can not trust doing business or even better making a Deal with the Sales Manger then what good is a sales persons word and for that matter what good is this company's WORD... when a MANAGER is only a TOOL for the real MANAGEMENT of Edwards Motorsports the OWNER.... there reply to my complaint is in no way a response and ONLY a COPOUT .. if this was a real company with A REAL owner with real management Edwards motorsports would just MAN up and admit they messed up and would go extra out of there way to make a deal right but this only shows what type of business this is with the management and there owner as there leader. this company only cares about MASS SALES not customer relations.. there is in NO WAY EVEN IF THIS WAS THE LAST PLACE ON EARTH TO DO BUSINESS WOULD I BUY WITH THEM ..... BUYER BEWARE... Done wasting my time with this and with this company and ANYONE looking to buy or do business with this company should walk no run away fast and save yourself from there leis .
last note Edward Motorsports and *********** is only out for the $$$ not the customer If you cant trust there word how can you trust to do business with them ...

10/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman said the Tax, Title and license was included in the price. I was told after the contract was signed i could just pick up my plates. wrong.
The price on the ***** motorcycle was ******** The same bike at ******* in ***** was ******* and they pointed to the price tag that had written next to the price 3 pluses which they said was tax title and license included in the price. So i went with them. after all the signing was complete on ********* they said i just have to go to my DMV and pick up the plates. I found out the licensing and plates were NOT included. On ********* i returned to ask that my contract be voided out and they would not do it. I called the finance company covering the bike and they said it hasn't went through so Edwards can cancel still but they wouldn't. This is false advertising and they pulled a scam on me. It wasn't even over 3 days old and they had me ************. they later said tax title and license was for **** people but not *****, so why didn't they tell me in the beginning before signing.

Desired Settlement
I want them to have the bike back, i have perfect credit *** and i have been trying to keep it from going bad, i can't fit in the $*** plates in my budget plan and i already made one payment to the bank ********************* of *********** and they are aware of the scam. the insurance is still covering it but this is not my mistake they knew they were pulling a scam on me and they knew they should have canceled the contract with in 3 days.

Business Response
In response to **** ******** complaint, he is dissatisfied because tax, title and license were not included in his on road vehicle. He lives in the state of ******** and in the state of ********; the law says that you must pay those fees at the courthouse in the county which you reside. Edwards Motorsports & RV could NOT include those in his purchase since it was purchased in ****.

If a consumer resides in **** and the vehicle is purchased in **** then Edwards Motorsports & RV must perfect the lien on the vehicle; which means to record the lien on the title so the taxes, license and registration must be collected at that time.

If you purchase the vehicle in **** but reside in ********, the consumer would have to go to the courthouse and pay their fees (taxes & registration). Perfecting a lien in ******** is different than in ****.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Motorcycles - Dealers, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Jet Ski/Personal Watercraft, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Motorcycles - Repairing & Service, Motor Homes, Boat Dealers, All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs, Financing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/25/2003Business started: 02/20/2002
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Bobby Edwards IV (General Manager)Mr. Troy Ratigan (Vice President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nikki Woods (Administrative Assistant)Ms. Shari Killpack (Office Manager)
Business Category

Motorcycles - Dealers, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Jet Ski/Personal Watercraft, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Motorcycles - Repairing & Service, Motor Homes, Boat Dealers, All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs, Financing

Products & Services

This company offers sales and service of motorcycles, scooters, ATV's and jet-skis. They also offer repairs, parts and accessories for all makes and models.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Edwards Motor Sports & RV

1010 34th Ave

Council Bluffs, IA 51501-8076

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1010 34th Ave 

    Council Bluffs, IA 51501-8076(888) 281-2604

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Edwards Motor Sports & RV is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Motorcycles - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.