BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1967

Omaha Steaks (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(800) 228-9055View Additional Phone Numbers11030 O St, OmahaNE 68137-2346View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1967

BBB has determined that Omaha Steaks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Omaha Steaks' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 73 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

73 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 35 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues28
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues18
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service22
Total Closed Complaints 73

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Omaha Steaks

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (73)
03/16/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On the official omahasteaks.com website, prices for items are altered to be more expensive at checkout. This has happened more than once.
On ******, I went to the Omaha Steaks official website to purchase steaks, burgers and salmon. I have been a loyal customer for approximately ** years at their stores and online. One of the items I placed in my cart was the Private Selection Rib Eye steaks which were advertised as $***. When I went to the checkout, they had increased in price to $***! I went back and deleted it from my cart and went back to the original page and saw that in the 5 minutes that I was ordering, the price had escalated. This is the second time this has happened to me (it happened with my last, or order previous to that). Unsuspecting consumers would just pay for this, thinking that the item was the originally advertised price, but without warning it increases in cost. I called customer service, because I wanted the items and because this was the second time this has happened. The customer service rep was not very helpful, insisting that the problem was that my internet was linked to ******* (i have not purchased a ******* in many many years) or that I actually was not on the official omaha steaks website (which I was...i am internet savvy, utilizing IT and online applications as part of my occupation). After stating that I did not follow a link and none of the suggested problems were a potential cause, she kept insisting that was without any further answers or rectification. If it is a website issue - they need to fix it because it is not fair to consumers when they add items to their cart under one price on their official webpage only to have it automatically increase once you get to the checkout.

Desired Settlement
Fix the website issue ensuring that the price advertised while placing an item into a consumer's cart does not automatically increase when you get to checkout.

Business Response
************
*******************
*********
**************************

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to your letter to the Better Business Bureau.

I apologize for the inconvenience you recently encountered in placing an online order. At Omaha Steaks, we offer a wide variety of specials and promotions. Please be assured that we constantly review our current offers to ensure they are clearly marked and are not misleading. Our records do show that you were able to complete your online order for the Private Reserve Ribeye Crown Steaks at $******.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to notify us of the matter. As a token of apology for the difficulty you encountered, I have refunded the shipping cost on your current order. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me via email ******************** or by phone at ************. I would be happy to assist you.


Sincerely,

**************
Customer Care Supervisor
Omaha Steaks


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


03/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made a large purchase online using the steaklovers reward program for the first time and was later told I would get 0 points for my order.
Confirmation Number: ************

I ordered over $*** worth of product from omahasteaks.com, because the website indicated your first purchase is 2x points for the steaklovers program. When I checked out, the system advised me I would have over *** points credited to my account within 72 hours. I waited the allotted amount of time, to no avail. I then called customer service and they said I was not eligible for reward points because I used a $** gift card in combination with my debit card. I then told the representative if I had known that, I would have placed two separate orders. She then put me on hold for about 5 minutes and came back on the line to advise me there was nothing she could do. I promptly asked her to cancel my order, due to the lack of customer service and satisfaction; in which she proceeded to tell me I would have to call my bank to see if they would send me a new gift card, since the other one was used on the cancelled order.

Not only am I not getting the steaks I grew up on being that I was born and raised in ********, but I also had to cancel my entire order for the party we are having this weekend. Aside from that, I now have to call my bank and deal with the headache of getting the $** gift card back from them.

This is really poor business practice, which makes no sense. Why should a $** gift card purchase hurt a customer who is purchasing over $*** worth of product?

I just received the Omaha Steaks catalog in the mail and was so excited to finally have the quality of meat I grew up on, delivered to my doorstep on a regular basis... but based on this experience, it will definitely take a while to order again, if ever.

I know this can't be acceptable in upper management, because I grew up in ******** and was always so proud of the quality of service and meat that was offered by Omaha Steaks. The only thing ********** can be proud of is *************** and Omaha Steaks.

I truly hope this is a one off situation and this is not common business practice, for the betterment of the company and its customers.

My dissatisfaction lead to the cancellation of a $***+ order.

Desired Settlement
I honestly didn't want to have to cancel my order, as I was truly looking forward to serving Omaha Steak products at my party. I would love to actually receive my order, but just get the ***+ points I rightfully deserve.

I would also like for the representative I spoke to, to receive additional training as her customer service skills were mediocre at best.

Business Response
*************


*******************
*****************
**********************

Dear Mrs. ************,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize for the issues you experienced when placing your order.

Our records indicate a gift certificate was redeemed for the purchase of your order. As per the terms and conditions of the Steaklover Loyalty Rewards program, companies and gift certificate redemptions are excluded from earning points.

Mrs. ************, as of *************, the order was cancelled and refunded. As a one-time courtesy, I would be more than happy to reinstate the order and offer you points for the entire purchase.

If there is anything else I can help with, please contact me via email at ******************** or by phone at ************.



Sincerely,



********
Consumer Services Supervisor
Omaha Steaks



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
That's all I was asking for.... Thank you!

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told in writing a refund of $*** will be issued back to my credit card since I was overcharged from the retail store. Never received it.
I made contact with customer service regarding and overcharge I received at the store. ***** I was told in writing a refund of $*** will be issued back to my credit card since I was overcharged from the retail store. Never received it. I have been calling every week asking when will it be issued. Same reply next week it should be on your credit card. ******* spoke with ****** (Supervisor) she stated she do not see the overage and everything was charged correctly. So she do not see why a refund would be due. I told her I was overcharge explained I came right before the store was closing (permanently). She asked if I made contact with the store. I said I was told it was closing for good. I don't understand why I am having a hard time getting my money back after it was stated in writing I was getting it back. ****** wanted to know from me what do I think I should be getting back. I stated to her the $*** I don't understand how the other lady managed to figured it out and she can't. I know what I got and it's still in my freezer. What I need to do go through each item with you on the telephone and name off items in my freezer. She said yes and I told her I will call her back. After speaking and thinking about it. I decided enough is enough I am truly getting the run around from them. As of right now I will still be waiting for my credit to show up in my account and they would have never told me they had no plans on issuing my money back. I will never ever shop with them again which is sad. I have done several business transactions with them and never any problems until now. I will not speak highly of this company at all. This is *** business.

Desired Settlement
I only want my money back. No gift card no store credit. I want the over charge $*** stated in writing from your company. Nothing more nothing less. Thank you.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *****,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize for the issue you experienced at your recent visit in our retail location.

I have attempted to reach you by phone to discuss the issue. Based on our records, you purchased products from our ************* location which has closed. You purchased a variety of items at a **% discount.

Ms. *****, according to our records, there is no refund due in the amount of $***. The items purchased were taken from the store the day of your purchase and you were charged correctly to your **** account.

As a token of our apologies for the misunderstanding, you were sent a $** Omaha Steaks gift card via email on ********. If there is anything else I can help with, please contact me via email at ********************** or by phone at ************.



Sincerely,


*************
Consumer Services Manager
Omaha Steaks


Consumer Response /* (**00, 8, 2016/01/28) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated previously in writing from your representative I was correct and there was an over charged per the email message below This company states one thing and do the opposite I have going back and forth since ******** to get reimburse for the overcharge Now I see why their business closed I know I was overcharge I have never ever had to write to BBB regarding any company before until now I believe this company staff is *********** The few additional items I purchased were **% off not **% off Another error on your company behalf

Here are the email messages below
------------------------

SENT: TUE ******** 12:56pm
TO: **
SUBJECT: RE: RE: RE: Re: Omaha Steaks Bad Store Experience

Thank you; thank you *****,Yes, I would like this refunded back to my credit card and I will call in to give my entire credit card number shortly. When I call in will the person know what this is regarding? Now, what about my inconvenience? I must say this has been an experience to remember. Again, I thank you for all of your effort and research you did in getting this
resolved. I can not thank you enough.
Warm regards,

---------- Original Message ----------
From: ************************
Subject: RE: RE: RE: Re: Omaha Steaks Bad Store Experience
Date: Tue, *********** 11:19:17 -0600 (CST)

Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you for contacting us. We apologize for any inconvenience.

I was able to find your retail purchase and it appears that you were over charged $***. We are happy to offer you a $*** Omaha Steaks gift card. If you would like this amount refunded back to your credit card, we will need you to call the number below and provide us with the entire credit card
number that was used on the purchase.

If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us via
email or by phone at **************.

Sincerely,

*****
Omaha Steaks Customer Care


Original Message:

------------------------

SENT: TUE ******** 11:04am
TO: **
SUBJECT: RE: RE: Re: Omaha Steaks Bad Store Experience

Here you go *****, ******** and ****,
This is getting really ridiculous that I am not speaking with the same person and I have to keep repeating things. I do appreciate ***** understanding $** was an insult to me. Below is the original email I sent off.

SENT: MON ******** 01:57pm
TO:**
SUBJECT: OtherI shopped at your ************ #*** this pass Friday.
No one greeted us and I had to ask who could help me since they were standing at the registers doing nothing. My bill did not match what I purchased. I
was totally overcharged. I asked the young lady to go over my bill she was not pleased to do it at all. I did your 4 sets of $***** special and I
did purchased other items due to I was told it was **% off. I also did 1 online order. I will never ever shop with your company again.Server:
**********************
Regards,

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you for your response.

I appreciate you providing me with the email sent to you from one of our Customer Care Representatives. Again, I am sorry for this inconvenience and for the length of time it has taken to get this matter resolved.

Based on our email correspondence with you, our agent indicated they would refund you in the amount of $***. I left you a voicemail today requesting the credit card used for the purchase. At your earliest convenience, please contact me via phone at ************ with your credit card number to process this refund.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.


Sincerely,


*************
Consumer Services Manager
Omaha Steaks



Final Consumer Response /* (***0, 12, 2016/02/08) */
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
******* I spoke with ***** from Omaha Steaks. I provided my credit card number. I was informed my $*** will be returned to me by my next billing cycle of my **** card which is less than 3 weeks. It's really sad I had to wait 2 plus months for my credit after I had to show proof of what was in writing from their company. Hopefully, my credit will be returned to me within a week since I had to go through so much from this company. If I do not receive my credit I will be re-opening this case with BBB due to their word(s) is not truthful or trust worthy. I hope ***** will keep her word in having this resolved asap.

02/01/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to disclose ingredient to which gift recipient was allergic and the Company will not stand behind its unconditional guarantee.
We ordered two leg of lambs to give as gifts. One recipient opened the package and found it was laced with chunks of red bell pepper as well as ground red bell pepper. The ingredients online do not list red bell pepper as an ingredient. The ingredient list does list "spices". Chunks of red bell pepper are a vegetable, not a spice. Both recipients, who are relatives, have allergies to red bell pepper, so the product is worthless.
The Company will not stand by its 100% Unconditional Guarantee. Its website states the following "If you are not absolutely thrilled with your purchase from Omaha Steaks, for any reason at all, we'll cheerfully replace your purchase or refund your money, whichever you prefer." Clearly, we were not satisfied with our purchase, but they claim the guarantee is only for the quality of the meat. Inedible is a quality issue. Regardless, the guarantee says for any reason. It does not anywhere mention quality as an issue.
They finally agreed to refund one of the two items, but there was nothing cheerful in the way they handled it. We have no confirmation that they made any refund. It took at least two calls and at least 6 customer service representatives before they took any action at all.

It is my understanding from reading information on the internet that this is a violation of FDA labeling laws. "The FDA's definition of spices, however, does not include dehydrated vegetables, so these require separate labeling in a product, as do any color-contributing spices such as paprika, turmeric or saffron. "

Desired Settlement
We want to be refunded the price of both legs of lamb.

Business Response
****************


******* **********
********************
*********************

Dear ******* **********,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

I am extremely sorry to hear of the problems you've encountered with your order. At Omaha Steaks, we have a 100% guarantee and we stand by our guarantee. Our records indicate we issued a refund on **********, in the amount of $***** to your **** card. As of today, I have refunded an additional $***** for the second leg of lamb.

I appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your experience with your last order. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at ************.


Sincerely,

********
Consumer Care Supervisor
Omaha Steaks


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We are thankful that the company has finally agreed to stand by its guarantee. As long as the money is refunded as promised, we consider this matter resolved. If we do not see the refund on our next credit card statement, we will reopen the complaint.
Thank you for your assistance.

01/06/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refuses to give refund on $*** gift basket because sent to the wrong address
I ordered a gift basket for a customer worth $*** and accidentally sent it to an old address. I got a call this morning from our customer saying they received notice that the package had been sent to their old address. I called Omaha Steaks to update the address and they told me that I would have to buy a whole new gift basket and they would not refund my money for the first one. They told me that when I placed my order, there should have been a notification before I placed my order telling me that there would be no refunds if the address was incorrect. I asked if this notice was just hidden in their separate page of ridiculously long terms and conditions that companies know people don't actually read. The supervisor I spoke with told me no, it should have been right there on the page I was looking at when I placed the order. I just went to their website to see if this was the case. I attempted to act like I was placing another order and got all the way to the end screen right before you push the button to place the order. Nowhere did I see any notification that they claim is so obvious. The supervisor also told me that the reason they don't do refunds is because the items are perishable. I explained that I could understand that if I were ordering steaks, but this was a wine gift basket and there weren't any perishable items. I told him I would be willing to pay extra for the shipping and he said they couldn't do that. So at this point, I just wanted my money back. He told me the most he could do was give me half off a new gift basket. I refuse to give this company another dime of my money, so I instead told him I would be reporting them to the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I just want my money back.

Business Response
This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize your shipment did not deliver as intended.

Our records indicate your purchase was made online with a delivery address of: ****************, ******************. At Omaha Steaks, we guarantee delivery only to the addresses we are provided; which are confirmed on the online order acknowledgement. Based on the tracking information, this shipment was returned.

Ms. *******, we do appreciate your business and thank you for bringing this to our attention. As a one-time courtesy, I will send a new shipment to the correct shipping address. Please email me at ********************** and I would be happy to set up a new shipment. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.


Sincerely,


*************
Consumer Services Manager
Omaha Steaks



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The address you reference above is the CORRECTED address that I gave them when I was notified that the original address was incorrect and tried to correct it. This was a Christmas gift basket and I already had to order another gift basket from another company as a replacement because your company told me that they would not send another one. I do not need another gift basket sent to them at this point. They already received another one that I had to pay for and now it is past Christmas. I don't want another gift basket. I want my money back.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *******,

Thank you for your response.

As a one-time courtesy, I am refunding the cost of the wine basket. Please know that Omaha Steaks is unable to accommodate any future replacements and/or refunds on purchases when provided with an incorrect address.

Your credit of $****** will appear on your next credit card billing statement.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to email me at ********************** or call me at ************.


Sincerely,


*************
Consumer Services Manager
Omaha Steaks

Page 1 of 6
05/16/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not Honoring warranty of replacement goods.
I was shipped open packages. They were replaced with out question. when the replacements arrived one of the packages was yet again cut open.

When we called them for a replacement and they first informed us that they would not replace damaged replacement goods. On the package of the replacement goods it is stated "Omaha Steaks are 100% Guaranteed".

We called back and were able to finally get them to at lease refund the money for those steaks but it was a fight and they did not honor their 100% guarantee. They also told us that any replacements in the future would also be denied. This company is lying about their guarantee and shipping opened and possibly contaminated food to its customers.

Desired Settlement
A formal apology by a higher up and a guarantee that their 100% guarantee will be honored for not only myself but all customers who purchase from Omaha steaks.

Business Response
Dear Mr ********:

I am writing in response to your letter to the Better Business Bureau.

I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your recent order. Our records indicate you placed an order on *******. This order included: 2/5 oz Filet Mignon, 2/5 Top Sirloins and 4/3 oz Franks. These items were replaced due to damage of the vacuum seals. Upon receipt of the replacements, Omaha Steaks was notified that the replacement of Filet Mignons had another broken vacuum seal. At that time, our Customer Care Representative fulfilled our 100% satisfaction guarantee and refunded your ********** account in the amount of $*****.

Mr. ********, if there are further quality issues with items in your order, please contact me immediately by phone at ************ and I would be happy to further assist. I am available Monday thru Friday from 1:30pm-10:00pm Central Standard time.

Sincerely,

**************
Customer Care Supervisor
Omaha Steaks


04/06/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered meat package for an elderly friend for *********. Finally almost 2 mos. later I had not received a thank you only to find out nothing receive
Package ordered for shipment to elderly friend in time for *********. As my mother was in the hospital I did not see this friend until ******** but had never received a thank you or notification she had received anything. I found out she had not so I contacted Omaha Steaks and they confirmed the delivery service did not make the delivery. They made the delivery a couple months late, but my beef is had I not asked I never would have known and no effort was made on either the part of Omaha Steaks or the delivery service to notify me or refund my money. I wonder how many other packages like this go undelivered. You would think they would have included a side gift to the recipient or a gift certificate but they handled this as if this is not unusual and is expected.

Desired Settlement
A change in their tracking so others are notified if shipment is not made or received.

Business Response
**************

***************
************************
********************

Dear Mr. *****:

This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

I apologize your shipment did not arrive to your gift recipient on *************. Based on the *** tracking, the package was incorrectly sorted at a *** facility. Omaha Steaks does receive notification from *** on non-deliverable packages, however; due to high shipping volume in ********, it can take a lengthy amount of time to receive these notifications. I assure you that this process is under continuous review to maximize its efficiency.

Our records indicate a replacement shipment was sent to your gift recipient and delivered on Wednesday, *******.

Mr. *****, we do appreciate your business and thank you for notifying us of this matter. If you have any further questions, please contact me at ******************** or ************.


Sincerely,


**************
Customer Care Supervisor
Omaha Steaks


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The package was delivered about 2 months late and had I not asked whether the proposed recipient received it I would have not known nor would I have been refunded for my purchase. Although I got my package in the end I question how often this happens with others. I would not recommend this service.

04/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased strip steaks from the retail location, they turned out gray, dry and unfit for consumption. Product are backed by full refund - 30 days...
I purchased 4x strip steaks for $***** and a verity or other products, $*** with of products in total. That evening I cook 3x of the steaks, they turned out gray and did not look safe to eat.

I called customer service to get a refund, and was initially told 3-5 days. I did not see the refund post, so I called again and now they are saying that it will take 30 days to process.

The company charges premium prices for meat that is not rated with then USDA, but they claim there is an unconditional gaurente. A 30 day processing time is unacceptable, and I was never contacted about the about the amount of time it would take.

Desired Settlement
I would like my refund in the initial amount of time I was told it would take.

Business Response

**************


****** *******
**************
***********************

Dear Mr. *******,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize for the delay in processing a refund.

As of Friday, **************, a refund check in the amount of $****** was mailed to you and sent to the following address: ******************, ***********************.

Mr. *******, I am extremely sorry to hear of this situation. Please take a minute to review any mail from Omaha Steaks over the next week to ensure that you received your refund check. If your check does not arrive in the next week, please contact me at your earliest convenience by phone at ************ and I would be happy to further assist.


Sincerely,



********
Consumer Care Supervisor
Omaha Steaks


03/15/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
order delayed because of one digit mistake (**** instead of ****). *** was set to deliver. omaha demanded package returned. Am out $******.
Customer #*********
Order #********
Delivery date *******

Because there was a one digit mistake in the delivery label ( **** rather then ****) the order was delayed until the morning of the ****. When I called Omaha Steaks to complain since the mistake was not my fault, customer service said it was my fault for not catching it on the order form. They then asked *** to send back my order. Are charging me $******, they refuse to either refund (minus the shipping fee). They say their policy is to call back any mislabeled packages. I am out all this money.
To add injury to insult they sent an email today announcing that my order had arrived.
*** in **** said they had never heard of such a thing. They had my order scheduled for the morning of the ****.
I have talked to the customer,m service department three times. They say too bad. It is policy. I paid for food I will never receive.
I checked on line, and it appears that I am not the only person with a problem.

Desired Settlement
I would like the order replaced or a credit at the local outlet here in ****. I would love an apology, but that is not going to happen.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
*************


*********
********************
***********************

Dear Ms. ****,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize your shipment did not deliver as intended.

Our records indicate your purchase was made online with a delivery address of: ******************** **********************. *** attempted to deliver to the address provided on ***********, but scanned the package as an incorrect address.

At Omaha Steaks, we guarantee delivery only to the addresses we are provided; which are confirmed in the online order acknowledgement. Omaha Steaks shipments are perishable and we cannot guarantee the condition of the package to an incorrect address. If you would like a new package to be sent, a new order must be placed along with new product to be shipped.

Ms. ****, I am extremely sorry for the inconvenience and that your shipment did not arrive as expected. If you would like to further discuss the issue, please contact me at ************. Thank you for your understanding.


Sincerely,


**************
Consumer Services Supervisor
Omaha Steaks


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** corrected the address and was set to deliver my order the following morning. When I called the company they intercepted the Oder and had it returned. The food is packed to last a very long time in transit. Even *** assured me that delivery a half day late would cause no problem. They deliver for The company all the time..,.
Two days after my order was sent back I received an email from the company assuming the order had arrived, . and telling me I could leave it in the hamper until I used it.
I think there is something decidly fishy about what happened. They have no right to take my $***. Their policy of incorrect addresses is in very small print. They probably divide the returned food up in customer service and reuse the hamper. It is a racket!

Final Business Response
**************


*********
********************
***********************

Dear Ms. ****,

Thank you for your response.

The order shipped to ********************, ***********************, was attempted for delivery at 5:37pm on *************. At this time, *** recognized the address was not correct and attempted to correct the address. *** was not successful in getting a correct address. At 7:51pm, *** again unsuccessfully attempted to correct the address. The package was returned to sender. Due to the perishable nature of the product, the items are not returned to Omaha Steaks but typically sent to a local Food Bank.

At Omaha Steaks, we guarantee delivery only to the addresses we are provided; which are confirmed on the order acknowledgement. Omaha Steaks shipments are perishable and we cannot guarantee the condition of the package to an incorrect address.
If you would like a new package, a new order must be placed along with new product to be shipped.

Ms.****, I apologize if we are unable to agree on an acceptable resolution to the matter. As previously stated, Omaha Steaks will not replace or refund on shipments with an incorrect address. However, as a one-time courtesy, I am happy to honor free shipping on a new order. If you would like to place a new order, please contact me at ******************** or by phone at ************. Thank you for your understanding.


Sincerely,

**************
Consumer Care Supervisor
Omaha Steaks

02/23/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unwillingness to combine multiple accounts that you have set up for us NOT at our request due to our unique shipping and living destination.
Having spent $*****'s over the years with your company, we only just learned that you have set up multiple accounts for on both online and instore. When we requested that they be combined for point credit, we were refused because of the multiple locations or phone numbers. Both my wife and I have placed orders using one of our multiple phone numbers or the same address that is different due to the fact we live on an "Island" with no actual street address (at times your system does not even like the real addresses we input!, the Lack of flexiblity / and understanding of your Customer Service department is nexceptable considering how much we have spent over the years. If that is how you treat your customers that have a valid complaint we will stop using your services.

Desired Settlement
a combination of the points in multple accounts that have been created by Omaha on their own due to minor diffences in the way we input information. Perhaps not all but meet us partway!

We would like to speak with a real manager by telephone, my cell number is ************.

*************

Business Response

*****************


******** ********
*************
**********************

Dear Mr. ********,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.

Our records indicate that you are not currently enrolled in our Steaklover Loyalty Rewards program. While it is not possible to combine multiple accounts for different addresses into one Omaha Steaks account, we can attach your Steaklover Loyalty Rewards profile to all of your Omaha Steaks accounts. In order to accomplish this, we will need a valid email address to set up your Steaklover Loyalty Rewards.

Mr. ********, I would be more than happy to set up a Steaklover Loyalty Rewards profile so you can begin earning points on your accounts. Please contact me via email at DanL@omahasteaks.com or via phone at ************.


Sincerely,



********
Consumer Services Supervisor
Omaha Steaks


Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Meat - Retail, Meat - Processing, Internet Shopping, Advertising - Direct Mail, Poultry - Retail, Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Grocers - Retail, Gourmet Shops, Frozen Foods - Retail, Fish & Seafood - Retail, Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors, Meat Packers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1967Business started: 01/01/1917
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Cris Hay-Merchant (Corporate Communications Director)Ms. Jamie Holmes (Consumer Services Manager)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jamie Clayton (Senior Supervisor)
Business Category

Meat - Retail, Meat - Processing, Internet Shopping, Advertising - Direct Mail, Poultry - Retail, Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Grocers - Retail, Gourmet Shops, Frozen Foods - Retail, Fish & Seafood - Retail, Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors, Meat Packers

Products & Services

This company offers steaks, meats and gourmet food items nationally with an unconditional guarantee.

Alternate Business Names
Omaha Steaks International, Omaha Creative Group

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Omaha Steaks

11030 O St

Omaha, NE 68137-2346

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Omaha Steaks is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 597-3000
  • (800) 960-8400
  • (402) 597-8135
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Meat - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.