BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1940

Mutual of Omaha Companies (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(402) 342-7600View Additional Phone NumbersDodge @ 33rd St, OmahaNE 68175 Send email to Mutual of Omaha Companies

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1940

BBB has determined that Mutual of Omaha Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mutual of Omaha Companies' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 156 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

155 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 52 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues16
Billing / Collection Issues24
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service109
Total Closed Complaints 155

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (155)BBB Closure Definitions
02/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: To resolve the billing issue for my mother-n-law, ****** * ***** with her Medicare supplement insurance.
Bottom line up front: If the first gentleman had done his job, on ******, MOA could have taken the premium that I knew ****** owed, and all would be good. But....
I am **** ******, Attorney in Fact for ******** ****** who has been given a POA from ****** * ***** to assist her in her medical and financial affairs. On ***********, I noticed that Mutual of Omaha (MOA) did not make a collection of her monthly premium $****** from her bank. Medicare supplement part F, policy ********* (New as of ********). I merged a call with ****** to Mutual of Omaha to see what the issue was. We talked with an unknown person for MOA, and he looked over ******** policy and billing and told us that ****** was paid through ************* and her next payment would not be due till ***********. I asked him 3 different times if his facts were correct, as I knew it wasn't. He assured us that she is good. With that said, ******, who is on SSI alone, spent the extra money she had on things she needed. She lives month to month on her SSI. On *****, to assist ****** to pay her monthly bills, I noticed that on ******, MOA sent a request automatic withdraw of ****** which in turn put ****** in the hole along with a $***** insufficient funds charge. The bank did release the funds to MOA. My wife and I called MOA and talked to a lady to which I asked for a floor manager, ****. I explained to **** what had happened, what the conversation ****** and I had on the ****************. She spent the time to read the transcript or listen to the tape and agreed that previous gentleman made an error. Although the error was founded on MOA, **** was adamant that ****** will still have to make the ****** payment nonetheless. Not getting anywhere, I asked to talk to her supervisor, *****. I asked **** to brief ***** on the whole situation. ***** understood what had happened and asked what I would expect the outcome of our conversation. I explained that MOA was at fault for giving inaccurate information to ******, and that the outcome should be that MOA would cover the *********** payment and that the next automatic payment to ****** would start up again on ***********. ***** finally agreed, and we were satisfied with the result of the 2 hour phone call. ****** came and went by and no premium was requested from MOA. **,**, and ** ******** I paid attention to ******** bank online and saw no premium request. Normally it is on the **** or the first business day thereafter. My wife and I called MOA, spoke again with ****, and she explained that ***** did not have the authority for the decision that was made. I asked if she could look at the transcript of the conversation between ***** and us, and was told that part of the conversation is not taped. "Really" We asked if ***** was available and she said, No. We asked if he can be reached and give us a call and she said she would draft a email and send to him to call us. To date, ***************, we have not heard from *****, and then also noticed that on the MOA website for ******** account, she was placed in an "Inactive" state. ****** is ** years old, has ********, and has a few minor conditions that she is being cared for. Now we don't even know is she has coverage.

Initial Business Response
This was previously sent on *******. We are sending it again.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 26
05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies, Pension & Profit Sharing Plans, Mutual Funds, Insurance - Disability, Insurance - Dental, Annuities, Insurance - Senior Products, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Life, Health Care Plans, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Accident & Health, Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1940Business started: 01/01/1909
Business Management
Principal: Mrs. Rachelle Bruning (Vice President of Policy Owner Services)
Business Category

Insurance Companies, Pension & Profit Sharing Plans, Mutual Funds, Insurance - Disability, Insurance - Dental, Annuities, Insurance - Senior Products, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Life, Health Care Plans, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Accident & Health, Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans

Products & Services

This company offers individual life, critical illness, long-term care, Medicare supplement, disability, dental, work site and hospital insurance plans. They also provide annuities and mutual funds. In addition, they offer employer group life, dental, disability, health, prescription and work site insurance. They also provide group annuities and 401K pension plans.

Alternate Business Names
Mutual Asset Management Co., Mutual of Omaha Investor Services, Inc., Mutual of Omaha Marketing Corporation, The Omaha Indemnity Company, Exclusive Healthcare, Inc., Mutual of Omaha Health Plans of Lincoln, Preferred Health Alliance, Inc., United of Omaha Life Insurance, Tele-Trip Company, Inc., Companion Life Insurance Company
Industry Tips
Automobile Insurance
BBBTips on Saving and Investing
Discount Cards are not Health Insurance!
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
Scam Artists Even Target the Bereaved
Travel Insurance - Is it Necessary?
What to Consider When Looking at Discount Medical Plans
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mutual of Omaha Companies

Dodge @ 33rd St

Omaha, NE 68175

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mutual of Omaha Companies is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 775-1000
  • (800) 228-9999
  • (800) 733-3114
  • (800) 230-8411
  • (800) 676-9577
  • (402) 351-2889
  • (800) 801-5207
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.