BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/1993

Hyatt Global Contact Center

(402) 593-88009805 Q St, OmahaNE 68127-3273

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/1993

BBB has determined that Hyatt Global Contact Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hyatt Global Contact Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hyatt Global Contact Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
04/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
closed my points account before I had a chance to make a transaction to keep it active
I called in to see when was the last day I could make a transaction to keep mt account active. I was told I had up until ***************. On the evening of ********** I was going to purchase additional points to keep my account active so that I would not lose the points I accumulated. I could not access my account online so I called Hyatt Customer Service. I was told that they started to delete accounts that morning and mine was deleted. I explained to the individual that if you are given up until ********** then I had all day to make my transaction. If they wanted to delete accounts on ********** they should have told me that I had up until *********** not **********. I called and talked to a manager who said that he understood my point of view but could not do anything about it. I was told to email Hyatt Gold rewards. I did and they also told me that they could not do anything. I asked if they could open another account for me and place my points back and that I would purchase additional points which was my intention from the start. They told me that they could not satisfy my request. I feel that they started too early to delete accounts to reduce their liabilities with their reward programs. This is unacceptable business practices.

Desired Settlement
Return my points back by opening another account and I will purchase additional points to keep my account active which is what I wanted to do from the start. We are talking about **** points which is peanuts to Hyatt but for me it's a nights stay at one of their hotels. I would accept a certificate for a one night stay from a list of hotels in *******.

Business Response
Hyatt Corporate has reached out to our guest and provided appropriate compensation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received my points back as well as additional points from Hyatt which was a good gesture by them. They also provided me with a new account. I want to thank them for their reply and service provided on handling this complaint in a professional manner.

08/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incorrect information given by ****** (Supervisor) Hyatt US Call Centre on ***********.
Hi Hyatt,




I spoke to ***** (Supervisor) in your US Call Centre today *********** and I was informed that this hotel would cost only **** points.




Now ***** is indicating that this hotel is now ****** points and I would like to lodge a complaint about the poor service from *****.




I would like a manager to respond to me.




Thank you




*****




Date: Sun, *********** 09:50:09 +0000
From: ****************
Subject: Hyatt Place ******************** - Confirmation - ***** ******** - **************** - *******

To: ********************

Reservation CONFIRMATION




Hotel Website Visit Hyatt.com Customer Service




HYATT RESERVATION CONFIRMATION




Hyatt Place ********************

Confirmation Number: *******



Check-In Date: Tuesday, ****************
Hotel Check-In Time: **** PM



Check-Out Date: Wednesday, ****************
Hotel Check-Out Time: 12:00 PM



Hyatt Place ********************
********************
********, **********, **********
Tel: ***************
Fax: ***************


CHANGE RESERVATION




HOTEL INFORMATION




MAP & DIRECTIONS









Membership Number: **********
Tier: ********
Dear ******** ********,

Thank you for your reservation at Hyatt Place ********************. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Thank you,

Hyatt Place ******************** Team

To change your reservation or speak with us directly, please contact your local global contact center.
Simplify Your Stay with Hyatt in ********



Keep your Hyatt reservations, Hyatt ************* points, and everything else on hand with Hyatt Passes in ***********. To add this reservation to ********, click the icon below when viewing this email on your *********.






LEARN ABOUT ********









WELCOME TO A DIFFERENT KIND OF PLACE


Allow us to help you plan activities and services prior to your arrival, from dinner reservations to transportation arrangements and more.




Dining Dining
Fresh and convenient, learn more about our dining options. Click Here.

Activities Activities
Make your vacation more memorable and explore your destination with these exciting activities. Click Here.













************* Hyatt ************* Exclusives
Enjoy special offers, which include bonus points and more.



LEARN MORE





***** Earn 2 Free Nights at Hyatt properties worldwide, receive an upgrade to ******** status and earn Hyatt ************* points in more places.



LEARN MORE







ADDITIONAL RESERVATION DETAILS


Guest Name: ***** ********

Number of Adults: * Number of Rooms: *
Number of Children: *


Room(s) Booked: *************
Room Description: Free WIFI:42in TV:Hot Breakfast Hyatt Grand Bed: Cozy Corner:Sleeper-Sofa
Nightly Rate per Room:

********** *C* US DOLLARS

Type of Rate: **************
Rate Information:

CANCELLATION POLICY:
CXL 24HRS PRIOR TO HOTEL CHECK IN TIME

Additional Tax, Fees & Service Charges

SALES TAX: ****%

OCCUPANCY TAX: ****%

SALES TAX: ****%

**************: ****%


Guaranteed by: **** GUARANTEE




Desired Settlement
Please ask Hyatt to offer this night as complementary on *********** due to the poor customer service received by Ms ****** (Supervisor) on ***********.

Business Response
Reached out to guest and issues were resolved to guest satisfaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


04/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On www.*****.com I clicked their "***** *************" advertisement that states Join today "enjoy free nights with no black out dates"
On *****.com I clicked their offer for their ***** *************. Their advertisement states, "Not a Member Join Today *Enjoy free nights with no black out dates *Receive special recognition *Enjoy exclusive privileges" It then offerS A LINK: "Join ***** *************. I clicked the link, signed up, and book a three night stay with no free night nor "free nights". Their advertisement has no mention that special terms may apply, there is no mention that their "Enjoy free nights with no blackout dates" is a earned reward. Per their advertisement I was led to believe that if I signed up for their ***** ************* I would "Enjoy free nights" I called their customer service center for clarification however they could not honor their advertisement.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting they issue me or credit me "Free nights" per their advertisement.

12/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would not allow me to book a specific rate with a gift card. Tried to charge my higher rate due to my payment method.
I was attempting to book a room in ************** at the $*** prepaid rate when I noticed that there was no place to enter gift card information online. I called and the associate advised me that I would have to book the $*** refundable rate and use my gift card when I got to the hotel. I advised the associate that I was still willing to prepay in full and that they shouldn't be charging more for me to use a different payment method. She informed me that there was no way to prepay with a Hyatt gift card. They are essentially charging me a fee for using my gift card by forcing me into a higher rate category.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be able to book the room at the $*** rate, using my $** gift card and paying the remaining balance with my credit card. I do not feel it is fair to be forced into a higher rate just because I am using a gift card.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ****** *****,

My name is ******** and I am with the Hyatt Guest Relations Department.

I am sorry, I was unable to reach you via phone.

I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to forward your concern regarding inability to use your Hyatt Gift Card with the prepaid rate at the Hyatt in **************.
Unfortunately, they are not valid for advanced purchases, deposits or prepayments (the terms are available to view on Hyatt.com under Hyatt Gift Cards). Because of that reason, our associate advised that you would not be able to use the Hyatt Gift Card for a prepaid rate. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

As a courtesy I will work with the hotel's management to arrange a reservation with a lower rate plus to use a Hyatt Gift Card. Please let me know what would be the best time for me to contact you. I am looking forward to your response.

Sincerely,
******** ******
Guest Relations Specialist
Global Contact Center - Omaha

*****************************
T: ********************* F: ************ E: *************************
www.hyatt.com



12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HOtel reservations canceled at Hyatt ****** in *********** one week prior to reserved dates. No compensation received.
Good morning,

I am writing because I am very disappointed at the handling of my recent reservation at Hyatt ****** in ***********. I originally had plans to go to ******* on for my **** birthday, ******************. I was so excited for this trip and to visit the new ****** property. This vacation was much needed as I am a *************************************** and my oldest sister has been **************************** and requires frequent support. Well my excitement quickly turned into disappointment when I was notified the Hyatt ****** would not be open in time for my arrival. I appreciated the Hyatt offering concessions in their email and was willing to reschedule my trip; I was even optimistic the Hyatt would provide quality service to ensure customers were properly serviced and able to vacation. However, the customer service I received was non-existent. I contacted a rep and left a message, it took a few days to get a return call. When I finally got in touch with someone I rescheduled my trip for the following weekend. Well I asked the rep if they could absolutely confirm the resort would be open and everything on the premises would be operational by *****************, and the rep said he could not confirm this information at that time. Therefore, I asked about being booked in a separate location. Well the rep informs me he has to complete accommodations for over 500 people for the week prior to my trip and he could not confirm I would be able to be booked at another resort for at least a week or two. Well, my trip was two weeks away and I found this be unacceptable. I asked the rep when I would be notified I was booked at another property and he again said he could not confirm this information for about a week or two. At this point I am upset and afraid that my already rescheduled trip may have to be canceled. My youngest sister who is traveling with me has already made arrangements to change our dates and miss her ******* anniversary so we can complete our pre-planned vacation. In addition I had to pay airline change fees and my sister had to pay extra for accommodations for someone to care for her children while she is away on the newly scheduled date. We have been grossly inconvenienced by Hyatt's last minute change and lack of service. I informed the representative I can book the new location on my own because the other location already informed me they had limited rooms left for the dates I proposed (*********). The rep then tells me well I cannot be accommodated for my airline change fee and on top of that I cannot receive a voucher for a return trip if I book on my own- even though he could not confirm he could book me at another location for a week or two. This is completely unacceptable. Not only is Hyatt ruining my vacation plans but you are trying to hold me hostage during the changes that now have to be made. I think it is absolutely unfortunate that a company of Hyatt's size and significance would not try to accommodate the customers they have inconvenienced when the customer has to make changes due to their negligence. Not only was the change last minute, but the communication about the change was lacking. Furthermore, the time consumed trying to even get in touch with a representative was horrendous. Then when I spoke to a customer representative there is no empathy and no urgency to accommodate me in any way possible. I understand the change may have been beyond your control, but accommodating customers you have severely inconvenienced is well within your control. I would like to think my sister and I would at least receive the voucher to return at a later date so we can at least get the vacation we planned in the beginning. I hope my concerns will be taken seriously and someone at Hyatt will have empathy for the inconvenience this organization caused with last minute communication and changes.

Desired Settlement
I would like to think my sister and I would at least receive the voucher to return at a later date so we can at least get the vacation we planned in the beginning. I hope my concerns will be taken seriously and someone at Hyatt will have empathy for the inconvenience this organization caused with last minute communication and changes. A trip to ******* is not local for me; neither was it inexpensive and considering my reasons for vacationing it would have been nice to for an organization who claims to care about its customers and the inconvenience it has caused to actually show this in their actions.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ******* ****,

I appreciate the time you have taken to detail your concerns regarding your recent experience with the Hyatt ****************.
I am very sorry for the inconveniences and frustration you went through.

We further forwarded your issue to ************************ and will continue to work with them towards a resolution. The executives at ***** will be contacting you directly. Please allow 24 hours until you receive a reply.

Thank you for your patience.

Sincerely,

***************
Guest Relations Specialist
Global Contact Center - *****

*****************************
T: ************ F: ************ E: *************************
www.hyatt.com


08/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my Gold Passport account was cancelled without any notice after not using it in 2 years and 1 month. I have had the account for over ** yrs
I had a Gold Passport account # ********** for over ** years and I went online today and could not sign on. The last time I booked was ***************. I was unaware of a policy to cancel the account if I do not book in 2 years as in the past that was not the policy. Today I found out my account was cancelled and my points were forfeited. Not good practice to do this to a ** plus year customer without providing written notice.

Desired Settlement
I would like the account reopened and the points credited again.

Business Response
The guest has been contacted and a resolution has been found.

06/24/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hyatt advertises a "Best Rate Guarantee" on their website but fails to provide what is advertised.
Hyatt advertises a "Best Rate Guarantee" on their website which claims to provide the best rate on their own hotels and that if a better rate is found on another website, Hyatt will take **% of that rate. I submitted a claim form (on ******) as I found a better rate immediately and after reading Hyatt's terms & conditions, it met all criteria. I was notified within 24 hours that the claim was denied because "the third party website automatically enrolling guests in a membership program during the booking process". Nowhere on the third party website did it claim to enroll me in a membership. In fact, I ended up booking through the third party website, getting the better rate, and was never enrolled in any kind of membership or club program. I called Hyatt Global Contact Center on ******, per the directions on the denial email, and asked to speak with management. The manager, *****, was unable to provide me with a solution and advised me to email back the "Best Rate Guarantee specialist" (********) with more screenshots of the website I found with the better rate. I did as advised and never received any email or call back from Hyatt. I am very disappointed that Hyatt advertises one thing but in fact, does not follow though with their guarantee.

Desired Settlement
I am simply seeking a better explanation and proper follow through and customer service from Hyatt regarding their Best Rate Guarantee program. I would like the opportunity to get **% off the better rate that I found,as Hyatt advertises on their website. Hyatt's Global Contact Center had poor customer service and was unable to follow up with me.

Business Response
Guest was contacted prior to check in and the BRG claim was honored.

06/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company's cancellation website was not working and I sent an e-mail requesting cancellation. It was never answered.
I booked a reservation for the *************. I attempted to cancel this reservation on ********** on the Hyatt website. The system was giving me errors even though my information was correct, so I immediately sent an e-mail to their customer service requesting immediate cancellation of the stay. I never heard back, so on the **** I finally was able to cancel it via the automated system. Hyatt still charged my card even though I made them aware of this error. My Hyatt membership number is ********** and my confirmation number for the folio is **********. I also called and attempted to talk to the accounting department multiple times and was always told they were closed and was never able to speak to anyone. I have been a Hyatt cardholder in the past and have stayed at many Hyatt hotels over the years, but I am strongly considering my future business with this location, and will begin to voice my concerns over social media and any other avenue with which I can make my voice heard, as my treatment over this entire situation has been nothing but appalling.

Desired Settlement
I am simply asking for a refund of the $****** charge as it is not my fault that my cancellation was not accepted properly, as I did attempt to cancel through the appropriate channels.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******, DOR
Contact Phone: **********
Based on our records, Mr. ***** ****** originally made a reservation for arrival on **************, however on the ************* Mr. ****** called our central reservation center and changed the arrival date to **************. Then on ********** Mr. ****** canceled his reservation online. Our cancellation policy clearly states that reservations must be canceled by 4:00pm hotel time 48 hours prior to arrival to avoid a cancellation penalty, so by cancelling the reservation on day of arrival, Mr. ****** did not meet our reservation cancellation requirement which resulted in a cancellation penalty. Hyatt Hotels & Resorts offers 24 hour reservation assistance through our Central Reservation Center, so if Mr. ****** experienced technical difficulties via the internet on **********, he could have called our Central Reservation Center at ************** to cancel his reservation and avoid the cancellation penalty.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business refuses to accept any responsibility for continuously ignoring my e-mails requesting assistance. I sent a total of three e-mails, one on the **** and two after the date to try to attempt to reconcile the issue before escalating the issue. I understand that I could have called, but I also have the right to e-mail to request a reservation be canceled far in advance. I will also be filing this complaint with the Attorney General of ********** as it does not seem my concerns are being addrressed.

Final Business Response
The hotel's cancellation policy requires that all reservation must be canceled by 4:00pm hotel time 48 hours prior to arrival to avoid a cancellation penalty. Customer is not entitled to a refund because reservation was canceled day of arrival.

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hyatt corp. did not honor a credit for cancellation due to ICU hospitalization. We, as guest, do honor that will not receive refund of payment.
Confirmation #********, was a booking for ***************, a Hyatt Hotel in ************. The booking was for ********* for a ********* for ********. Due to ICU hospitalization of the father of one of the guests, the two guests cancelled their trip. The brother of the guest called Hyatt to cancel that trip. The brother, along with the two guest, were fully aware that they would not receive a refund, as per the booking confirmation. The customer service representative was not very sympathetic, kind, or understanding of the situation. Per the brother, the customer service representative was more in a hurry to get off the phone. The brother kindly asked if we could get credit a few times, and continued to get short and rude responses. He noted he can submit a doctor/hospital note, as the patient is still in the hospital.

The entire trip had to be cancelled. Other vendors, including, airlines and tour package groups were very understanding and sympathetic. They did not give us a refund, as we were aware, but credit for future use.

As a family, we were very shocked by the customer service and type of service received from a big hotel corporation. We have stayed at the Hyatt or family of hotels many times, either for business or pleasure. This service can be reflective of the service offered by hotels.

We would like to speak to a high level associate who can deal with this matter. At the time of cancellation, the guest's brother was so frustrated that he hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement
We are looking to speak to a higher level associate who can comment on the customer service given and the standards that the Hyatt hotel embraces. Secondly, we are not asking for a refund, but a credit as the two guests plan to make the travels in the future. We would like to patronage this hotel during our future travels.

Business Response
Reached out to guest, and issue has been resolved to his satisfaction.

09/23/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels - Reservations, Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1991Business started: 11/01/1972
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Hale (General Manager) Chris Elam (V.P. of Central Reservations)
Business Category

Hotels - Reservations, Hotels

Products & Services

This company offers a reservation center for Hyatt hotels.

Alternate Business Names
Omaha Hyatt Reservation Center, Hyatt Hotels, Hyatt Corporation, Hyatt Reservation Center

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hyatt Global Contact Center

9805 Q St

Omaha, NE 68127-3273

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9805 Q St 

    Omaha, NE 68127-3273(402) 593-8800

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hyatt Global Contact Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hotels - Reservations

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.