BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/08/1967

John Henry's Plumbing, Heating and A/C Co.

(402) 435-55552949 Cornhusker Hwy, LincolnNE 68504-1519 Send email to John Henry's Plumbing, Heating and A/C Co.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/08/1967

BBB has determined that John Henry's Plumbing, Heating and A/C Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised John Henry's Plumbing, Heating and A/C Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
DID NOT CHARGE A\C AS REQUESTED. STATED IT WAS CHARGED WITH R12.
CALLED OUT *************** TO DO THE JOB & GET A SECOND OPINION. THEY CHARGED UNIT WITH R22 FLUSHED OUTSIDE COMPRESSER UNIT & COMPLETED SERVICE IN UNDER AN HOUR.JOHN HENRYS SERVICED THE SAME UNIT IN **** AND CONTINUALLY PRESSED ME TO REPLACE IT.IF IT WORKS GOOD WHY REPLACE ? I FEEL THEIR TECHNICIAN WAS VERY YOUNG & INEXPIERENCED. THEY CHARGED ME ***** FOR SERVICE CALL & DID NOTHING.SERVICE MAN SEEMED TO THINK IT WAS LAST CHARGED WITH R12 ? I TOLD HIM REPEATEDLY TO CALL OFFICE & CHECK THEIR RECORDS FROM **** . THEY WERE THE ONLY ONES TO TOUCH IT LAST. I WANT TO BE MADE WHOLE AND REIMBERSED $*****...THANK YOU

Desired Settlement
REFUND.

Business Response
************

Case # *********: **** ****

**** **** has an ***************** Model ********* system, Serial Number ********. This unit is over 30 years old and no longer exists in ****************** records. Originally these units operated on R12 refrigerant. Over the years R12 was replaced by R22. Currently, R22 is no longer manufactured and is in the process of being phased out and replaced with R410A. Mr. **** unit is so old that parts, if available at all, are on a very limited basis. By the fact that the refrigerant is low and in need of charging indicates that the equipment is in a state of disrepair. John Henry's would be remiss in our duties if we didn't bring these facts to the attention of Mr. ****. Unfortunately, it appears our HVAC technician failed to address this properly and the intended message was lost somewhere in the process. It is the opinion of John Henry's that any money spent on continuing to band aid or repair this unit is basically a waist. It is inevitable that the day is coming when the failure will be beyond repair. Additionally, the cost of R22 is extremely costly and just compounds the effect of any costs incurred to keep the equipment limping along. Additionally, 30+ year old equipment is terribly inefficient compared to today's modern upgrade in technology. Not to mention that a great amount of efficiency is already lost when the R12 refrigerant was evidently changed to R22.

We do however understand this decision belongs to the customer and that we can only advise or suggest what we feel is the reasonable direction under these circumstances. Consequently we agree to refund our normal diagnostics charge in the spirit of cooperation. We wish Mr. **** the best of luck with his equipment. The check is already in the mail.

01/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had to give John Henry's my *********** **** bank card number but asked to be billed by mail. I was told this was ok no charge would go on my card.
I live in *********. I needed a plumber as prior tenant at my rental let her children flush batteries and toys down the toilet. My son moved into the property the end of ********. I gave the ok for this company to unclog the toilet and check my furnace at ************************. An agreement was made that when I was billed I would use my *********** bill pay and no charges should go on my ** **** card. During this call I gave the secretary my mailing address in ********* (TWICE). I received a call from their office that they kept getting returned bills in the mail. The gal on the phone said they were mailing it to ********* Street in ********** instead of *********. She said they would mail it to my correct address at **** ********* ** *********. I received a bill that was post marked *****************. I did not get the bill in the mail within a normal time. I am guessing due to increased mail ************. On ******** John Henry's charged my **** at *********** without my knowledge or permission. I think they mislead me as they charged my card when they said they would not. I make very good money at my job.
We have had sub-zero temps in *************** for the past month off and on. I planned on paying the bill IN FULL when I get paid on *********.
To my surprise when I went to the grocery store my card was denied today. I had no knowledge until today when I reviewed my online *********** checking statement that I was charged by John Henry's. I make about ****** per year and have been trying to keep my credit in good standing.
This has affected me financially in a negative way. I couldn't buy groceries. I park on the street and Monday we are supposed to have 50 below zero temps and I cannot fill my car with gas. I take care of ************************ while he is at work.....sure hope I can get to work Monday. I have a credit card payment due this next week and don't get paid for another whole week. This will have a negative impact on my credit score. My heat is oil heat. They provider will not deliver oil for heating to my home unless I can pay for a minimum of *********** of oil. That is about $*** per shot. How expensive is it going to be if my water pipes freeze and break because I can't buy heating fuel because John Henry's made an unauthorized debit to my *********** **** the day before *************. Just sick, hungry, stuck at home. Waiting for my car gas to freeze and my heating oil to run out. I thought I would be okay to pay the bill by the 13th considering they didn't even mail the bill to me until 3 weeks after services were rendered. In ********* any service person who works on your home or property can put a lean on your home if you don't pay them. I really don't know what to say except I feel like John Henry's **********.
I hope this goes on their BBB rating because they sure didn't think twice before ***************.
***** ** *******

Desired Settlement
I would like the full amount put back on my card as it was an unauthorized deduction from my bank card.
I would like cash to be taken to my bank and deposited Monday ******** so funds are available immediately. I would like a written apology from the owner of John Henry's Plumbing.

12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Heating/Air Conditioning Equipment, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Plumbing Contractors, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top

This company formerly did business as Forests Furnace and Air Conditioning.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1980Business started: 01/01/1954New Owner Date: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1997, NE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Zohner (Owner)Mr. Fred Matulka (Director of Operations)Mrs. Lindsey Reinke (Human Resources/ Marketing)Mrs. Debra Zohner (Vice President)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Heating/Air Conditioning Equipment, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Plumbing Contractors, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing, heating and air conditioning.

Alternate Business Names
Forest's Furnace & Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for John Henry's Plumbing, Heating and A/C Co.

2949 Cornhusker Hwy

Lincoln, NE 68504-1519

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2949 Cornhusker Hwy 

    Lincoln, NE 68504-1519(402) 435-5555

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*John Henry's Plumbing, Heating and A/C Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.