BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/06/2002

Elkhorn Glass, Inc.

(402) 289-1013View Additional Phone Numbers2321 N 203rd St, ElkhornNE 68022-1531

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/06/2002

BBB has determined that Elkhorn Glass, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Elkhorn Glass, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Elkhorn Glass, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Owner came out measured broken window. Installed window (wrong window-no panes). Ordered another window (wrong window panes too wide). Third window ok.
Neighbor kids broke a window in our garage. Owner came out measured broken window. Window ordered and came in. Installed window (wrong window-no panes). Ordered another window (wrong window panes too wide). Third window was the correct window and installed properly.
I had to take three (3) half days of vacation so installer could have access to both sides of window.
Asked to talk to the owner as my salary exceeded the cost of the window. No return phone call.
Owner should have made adjustments in cost (window or labor or both).

Desired Settlement
Adjustment in cost of the window including labor. Expect window to be free, especially since the owner was involved.

Business Response
We did come out to measure a broken thermal pane. When we came out to install, we noticed that the information on the internal metal grilles was not transferred to the paper work. We put the glass in anyway so the customer would not be without a window until a new one could be made. When we brought the new one out with the internal metal grilles, the grilles were a bit wider than what was there originally. The third glass had everything exact. We did offer after hour and weekend install, but he declined. It was never brought to my attention that he wanted any kind of price adjustment. We gave it to him fro free. There was no charge. He was always crabby to deal with as well.

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Elkhorn Glass failed to install a mirror in home with proper anchor system to support weight and the mirror fell off the wall.
Elkhorn Glass failed to install a mirror within my home with proper product and installation. Elkhorn Glass used a single anchor system that couldn't support the weight of a ******** dining room mirror (44.5T x68w) which ended in equipment failure, wall damage, and mirror distruction.

After contacting Elkhorn Glass via phone on ***************** I followed up with support documentation and pictures via email(s). Upon receipt of email(s), Elkhorn Glass stated they would review claim with the owner/****. However, week after week Elkhorn Glass kept pushing out formal resolution and response. A final email was received ***************** stating Elkhorn Glass had a one year service warranty that was never stated at time of installation nor was on bill of sale.

I believe it is a reasonable expectation that they would provide an anchoring/hook system that would not fail and would stand behind their service work. I had been a customer of Elkhorn Glass for years and will not use them in the future as I truly question the integrity of this business.

Desired Settlement
I'm looking for Elkhorn Glass to stand behind their installations and service. I would look for Elkhorn Glass to come out and look at the damage and then file an insurance claim with Elkhorn Glass Insurance to cover: repair/replacement of the mirror, repair wall (drywall/paint), rehang with correct support system to secure mirror in place. This is a $******** ******** Mirror that I thought was being hung by a professional glass and mirror service provider.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********************
On ********, customer contacted the office. I was the one who answered his call. Before he even identified himself or the situation, he asked what our warranty policy was. I told him the thermal pane glass we install has a ten year manufacturer's warranty and that there was a one year warranty on our labor. He then proceeded to tell me what happened. We had hung a framed mirror for him in ************* and it had fallen off the wall. We discussed e-mailing photos over so I could share with the owner. Photos were then printed out and given to owner with customer's e-mail. On ******** I e-mailed customer telling him we were standing firm on the one year labor policy and there was nothing further we could do. Customer e-mailed back asking owner to "re-visit" the situation. I printed it out and gave it to the owner. Customer again e-mails us on ******** saying "any progress here?" The owner asked me "What does he want?" On ******** I send customer an e-mail asking him what he wants and to be specific. He responds with pretty much what he wrote in the "desired resolution" section. Owner responds on ******** with "we are standing firm on our one year policy on installation labor". Then he filed with BBB.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Product used to hang mirror could not support weight, installation failed after a year. Elkhorn Glass claims they have a year warranty for this service, warranty is not on receipt nor website. A mirror "professionally" installed should stay installed. Service was and is unexceptable

Final Business Response
We are standing firm on our one year policy on installation labor.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Glass - Plate and Window, Screens - Door & Window, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Windows - Repairing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/06/1997Business started: 05/01/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1993, NE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Stehno (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Deb Weaver (Office Manager)Ms. Candy Stock (Office Assistant)
Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window, Screens - Door & Window, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Windows - Repairing

Products & Services

This company offers on-site windshield repair and replacement services. They also provide commercial and residential window panes, plate glass, store front windows and table tops. In addition, they offer storm screen repairs. They specialize in thermo-pane replacement.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Elkhorn Glass, Inc.

2321 N 203rd St

Elkhorn, NE 68022-1531

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2321 N 203rd St 

    Elkhorn, NE 68022-1531(402) 289-1013

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Elkhorn Glass, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 306-5585
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Glass - Plate and Window

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.