BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1952

Nebraska Furniture Mart (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(402) 397-6100View Additional Phone Numbers700 S 72nd St, OmahaNE 68114-4614View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1952

BBB has determined that Nebraska Furniture Mart meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

All Locations are BBB Accredited
Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nebraska Furniture Mart's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 308 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

308 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 132 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues113
Billing / Collection Issues16
Delivery Issues44
Guarantee / Warranty Issues31
Problems with Product / Service104
Total Closed Complaints 308

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nebraska Furniture Mart

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (308)
06/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This did go to collections. NFM attorney auto deducted my account until pay off and now they are charging monthly fees. No statements sent to me.
This did go to collections. NFM attorney auto deducted my account until pay off and then stopped deducting my account. I didn't even know they were reporting a balance until I pulled my credit. This account should have been closed and since I paid off the balance through auto deductions there should be no balance. Instead NFM is charging fees monthly. I'm not getting any statements and the balance and ding on my report need to be removed.

Desired Settlement
Correction to my credit and removal of the balance. Stop any further charges.

Business Response
The account was sent to an outside collections agency. The customer will need to conduct all inquiries through the third party collections agency at **************. We are not able to assist with his account at this time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why was it sent to collections? This debt was previously already paid. We are getting no statements and are unaware of why charges are even being assessed on this account. There should be no balance as we allowed NFM collection auto deduct our account until balance zero over a year ago. They have not sent a single statement since the last payment and told us it was paid in full. Why are new charges now being added when we have not used this obviously closed account.

Final Business Response
*** ****, Collection Support Specialist **************, has reviewed the complaint by Mr. ***** and has confirmed with ****************, attorneys for the collection agency (**************************) where our claim was placed for collection, that the consumer in fact paid in full in ***************. Through an oversight, ********* did not process the closing and advise NFM. Today, ************* I instructed ********* to close their file showing it was fully paid as of ********. NFM will adjust our balance to reflect zero balance today.

We will cause a new report to be sent to each credit reporting agency updating his file to show paid in full and zero balance, with the correct date as ********. A copy of our report will be forwarded to this email account (info@bbbinc.org) later this morning for the purpose of sharing with our customer. The processing time varies by agency but generally should be seen in 2 or 3 calendar days.

NFM seeks to accurate and complete in the reporting of credit history of our customers. We regret the oversight and apologize for any inconvenience.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/02/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold some furniture that did not have a warranty and sold a protection plan that was not valid The manger at the store said it was my fault.
In ******** I bought a four piece furniture set from Nebraska Furniture Mart. The sale man sold me the floor model and told me it had a warranty and sold me a five year protection plan. He explain to me that they where getting a new style and that is why it was on sale. He also told me that it was top grain leather couch. The couch begin to peel after three months when I called ************************* they told me that the furniture should be covered by the warranty and directed me to call Nebraska Furniture Mart. When I did I was told there was no warranty and that I should not have been sold a protection plan because ************************* does not cover floor models and offered me my money back for the protection plan. I then explain to the store manger that I was lied to just so he could make the sale. I then told him I would not have bought or financed the furniture with out a warranty or protection plan and that the sales man knew that. He then told me it should not have been financed. Because we don't finance floor models we only sale them as is. But they did a credit check and financed the furniture. I financed the furniture though Nebraska Furniture Mart. The store manger said sorry you should have read the fine print. You can not returned the furniture. After explaining to two other store mangers they agreed to let me return the furniture less **% then agreed to **% I feel that I should be able to get all my money back because I was lied to and would not have bought the furniture if I was told the truth and sales men knew that because I asked him about the warranty and the protection plan.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back or a four piece furniture set that is top grain leather with a warranty and a five year protection plan for the amount I paid.

Business Response
Mr. ******** purchased a floor model living room set on ********, the items were delivered on ********. On ********, Mr. ******** called in to customer service stating he was having issues with the leather peeling. At that time he was notified of the final sale, no warranty, and was given the number to contact *********, our third party protection plan, to cover peeling. Customer called in on ********, asking if he can return pieces as it is bad quality and should not be peeling this early. Customer was advised again, this was a floor sample and had prior use, and was purchased as a final sale. Customer then requested to speak with a manager, manager advised we can return pieces and ********* coverage with **% usage fee and no pick up fee, even though NFM's normal return policy with new furniture is 30 days and final sale is non-returnable. Customer accepted, and the return was set for ********. Customer called in on ******** again, and spoke with a different customer service manager. Mr. ******** was then given the option of return as a one time courtesy, with a **% usage fee and no pick up fee, as this item is final sale and should not be returned per policy. Customer accepted and return is set up for ********. Once item is picked up, customer will receive total amount of $******* back to the multiple cards used to purchase. Original purchase was $********. A restock fee of $****** will be kept for return of final sale item.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Nebraska Furniture did not include the fact that the sales man told me it was under warranty and sold me a protection plan that was not valid because it was not under warranty and Nebraska Furniture financed it. How could Nebraska Furniture deny that? When Nebraska Furniture financed the furniture to me. Because Nebraska Furniture do not financed furniture when Nebraska Furniture sell their furniture as is. I'm upset because I would not have bought the furniture from Nebraska Furniture if I was told the truth and salesman new it. He lied to me to get the sale and when I talk to the first manager on the phone from Nebraska Furniture she told me you should have read the fine print. As if Nebraska Furniture approve of these sales tactics by their employee. At this point I do not have a choice but to except. Very disappointed with Nebraska Furniture I thought Nebraska Furniture would expect more from the people they hire. I was taken advantage of because I don't know the difference between good leather and bad leather I trusted salesman at Nebraska Furniture to be honest with me. I think all their customers deserve that.

05/31/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a TV stand which they said they had available for delivery within the next week and it was on back order.
I ordered a TV stand from the Nebraska Furniture Mart Website on *************, website stated that it would be shipped on ************* if ordered that day. I then received notice it would be delivered on the ****, which came and went with no delivery and no communication. They then emailed me that it was delayed until the ***********, which again came and went with no delivery and no communication on their end. I called and the lady said they delivered it on the ***********, which they did not. I then received an email stating that the product was on back order and would not be available until ***************. I promptly asked for my money back as I felt I was deceived about the availability of the product and they stated that there would be a **% restocking fee if I cancelled my order. That did not make sense to me as they did not have the product in stock so what is there to restock?

My order number is: ********
Sku# ********
Model Description: ************************** Tv Cabinet-D
Payment Method: Debit card on ************* in the amount of $******

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back in full and not have to pay the **% restocking fee for a product they do not even have in stock.

Business Response
We apologize for the inconvenience. The **% is not a restocking fee, but a deposit due to the extra costs incurred for special order products. This information is available on the website for anything listed as "Available to Order". For your convenience:
Available to Order:

All Available to Order products are not in stock or on display in store. These are Special Order products that we will order direct from the factory for you. Nebraska Furniture Mart will assess a **% non-refundable deposit on all Special Order products without exception. The deposit can be applied to your order in the form of any major credit or debit card. At this time, you cannot purchase Special Order items online using your Nebraska Furniture Mart card. All Special Order purchases using the Nebraska Furniture Mart card will require a **% deposit and can be completed over the phone by calling ************ or visiting one of our factory trained sales people in one of our Store Locations.

This advised, our management team has already reviewed the order and decided to make an exception on the customer's behalf. The customer has already been fully refunded on our end as of today (*******); if he has not seen the refund yet it is due to the card transfer time.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/03/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company is charging interest for a 0% interest purchase that was incorrectly entered by their accounting department.
I purchased a dryer in mid-*************. There was a 0% interest offer for 18 months available and I requested the purchase be handled as such. I was told by the sales clerk that it was entered as such. He had me sign a slip and the purchase was complete.
In early ************* I received a statement. They had charged me interest. I called customer service on a Saturday and was told that the purchase was entered into their accounting system incorrectly. The representative said that the only department that could correct it was their accounting department and their accounting was closed (apparently they are only there Monday thru Friday 9AM to 4PM) but the representative would make sure the purchase was switched to the 0% offer and interest removed.
In early ********** I received a statement. They charged me interest again and had not removed the interest from the prior statement. I called a second time. Because I am a ********************* I work Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6 PM. I am unable to call during their apparent accounting business hours. So I called on a Saturday. Same story about what happened. Same story that their accounting department was closed but this representative would make sure the purchase was switched to the 0% offer and the interest would be removed.
In early ********** I received a statement. They charged me interest and had not removed previously applied interest. I called customer service on a Friday at 6 PM and demanded to speak to their accounting department. Was told it was closed. I told them to call their accounting manager at home because I refused to disconnect the call until this was resolved to my satisfaction. The representative apologized but said she could not call anyone at home outside of business hours but that she would do her very best to take care of this. The representative reviewed notes from prior calls. Apologized they have not corrected this. This representative promised to get it corrected. She promised to call me and update me regarding process of getting this corrected. She called me on Sunday ******* to update me that the accounting department had not responded to her call or email but she would check with them on Monday or Tuesday the following week. Tuesday ******* I received a voicemail (which I still have) that said they had moved the purchase to the 0% offer and removed the interest and they sincerely apologized regarding the trouble with the transaction.
Yesterday ******* I received a statement. They removed the prior applied interest but applied interest again for this past month and did not move the purchase as promised. I have no faith at this point they will correct without some sort of intervention from another entity with greater abilities to force them to correct this than I apparently possess. I believe this to be extortion in practice. They are not entitled to interest based on the promotion which was requested to be used for the sale. The fact that their accounting department entered this purchase into their accounting system incorrectly is not my responsibility. It is theirs and they need to correct it to my satisfaction. They are in breech of contract and practicing extortion.

Desired Settlement
I want them to move the purchase to the 0% offer as they have promised they would on ******* and stop charging interest on the purchase pursuant with the original purchase agreement that I believed I had entered into.
Again, failure of their accounting department to enter this into their accounting software appropriately is not my responsibility. It is theirs. I should not be paying interest. They are in breech of contract and also practicing extortion.
I want them to remove all past interest charges.

Business Response
The customer was refunded $***** on ****** which will reflect on her ******* Nebraska Furniture Mart Statement. We received a $***** payment and with the $***** credit her account will reflect $***** under payments and credits. She is on the 24 month promotion which will end on ************. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
Per e-mail from consumer:

NFM has contacted me and corrected the situation to my satisfaction. I am however very disappointed that it had to take this action to get them to correct the situation.

You may close the case.

Thank you
***************.


03/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a vacuum cleaner on ******** and I still have not received it.
On ******** I ordered a *********** vacuum cleaner at the Nebraska Furniture in the ********** location. The ****** representative told me that he was told to sell the floor model but the NFM sales person said he could not do this. He said he could only put an order in for it and that the expected date of delivery was ********. It is now ****** and I have yet to receive this vacuum cleaner that I already paid $******. Apparently, they have to meet a minimum order amount of these before they can place my order. This was something that was never mentioned to me when I paid for my order. Had this been said, I would never have agreed to pay them for a product that had not expected delivery date. Every time I speak with someone in their customer service department, I get told that they can't tell me how many more are needed before they can place the mass order. Just last week I called on ******* and they said that they were 'close' to the minimum order count and that it would most likely be ordered this week and I could call back and confirm. I just called them today ****** and now they tell me it has not been met and they don't know when they will meet the minimum so that my order can be processed. I have been dealing with this same thing over and over and at this point I don't know if they will ever order it. I feel like they should have been very clear with this when they were selling me the vacuum cleaner. This is not good business practice, to make a consumer wait 4+ months for a product that has already been paid. Order #**********. Sales Rep *************

Desired Settlement
At this point I would like them to deliver on my product or provide me another vacuum cleaner of the same specifics to compensate for the fact that they were not able to give me the one they sold me. I was told by one of the customer service managers on a call that I could buy another brand vacuum cleaner from them that was running for $*** something dollars. I do not think this is considered a resolution at all, because why would I want to give you an additional $*** when you couldn't deliver on your original sale.

Business Response
A sales manager was reached out to and will contact you today to offer a reselection and explanation for the delay of this item.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The sale manager, ****, did reach out to me on Monday ***. He explained to me that the vacuum cleaner that I ordered was no longer available because ****** no longer made them. He offered me another vacuum cleaner that was comparable but they didn't have it in the store. Since I didn't want to wait any longer for an order to go in again we settled on the *********** vacuum and he provided it at no additional cost to what I had already paid for my original **** order. Although ultimately the product I paid for was not provided, **** was very understanding and did his best to correct the issue. He was very apologetic to the fact that this should not have taken this long to resolve and due to his great customer service I would consider purchasing again from Nebraska Furniture.

Page 1 of 18
06/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inferior leather on leather recliner
Purchase date ********** order # ******** and ******** model # ******* purchase price including tax and delivery ****** for 2 leather recliners. One recliner is in great shape but one recliner has a bad piece of leather. One is nice and soft and one is hard and brittle. I have complained about this and they did replace a piece of the chair which was the head rest with a quality piece of leather but the arms of the chair are all hard and cracked....the other chair no problems at all. Nebraska furniture came to my home to look at the chair and said that it had a bad piece of leather and said that even though it is a few days out of warranty they will replace headrest. They saw the minor cracking that was starting on the arms at that time but did not replace the chair. The chair was inferior from the beginning you can clearly see the difference in the chairs one is soft leather and one is hard brittle leather. Even so I did go ahead and pay for the chairs and feel that they should make sure that I get a decent product. I feel that they should contact the manufacturer of this chair and let them know about this inferior leather. The claim for the head rest repair was ********** Nebraska furniture knew when they were here that the chair had issues.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of the chair would be great but I am open to anything...store credit. Some solution where I don't get stuck spending money and getting junk chair.

Business Response
I am sorry for the issues with the leather on the recliner. The manufacturer's warranty for leather and repairs expired on ********. The return or exchange timeframe ended 30 days after purchase. NFM would not be able to offer in store credit for this recliner or any replacements at this time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Due to the fact that they came out and saw the issues with the chair and did fix parts of it. The chair was simply inferior product and it really should be replaced. People should be made aware that Nebraska furniture is selling inferior products to their customers.

Final Business Response
We first received contact with ****** on ******* regarding her purchase of the rocker on *******. She contacted us regarding only the head piece at this time. We issued a servicer and placed a part order for a complete head test with frame. It wasn't until ****** that she advised us of the damaged leather on the arms. At that time the product was outside of the manufacturers warranty at which we are not able to order parts, offer a replacement or provide in store credit without approval from the manufacturer. We ordered parts for the head replacement and were received by the customer in **************. The part needed, came as a set and would pull over the top like a car seat as advised by the servicer. The customer was advised they could do it themselves or contact us to have it installed. This was the end of our communication until ****** as mentioned above.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If Nebraska furniture needs the manufacturer's ok on this issue then they should contact them because selling bad furniture should be something that neither Nebraska furniture nor the manufacturer should be doing to any consumer. I just want to be treated fairly and receive some type of compensation for my leather recliner.

06/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inaccurate product information and sales by company leading to cancellation of order and significant delay.
Ordered special order dining set on ****** (********) over the phone with a sales rep. Paid the required deposit. Found out 4 weeks later that wrong dining table had been ordered (counter height instead of standard height). Research revealed that NFM had wrong product SKUs on their website which was not even picked up the sales rep placing the order. Requested expedited replacement of correct product which was denied by manager. Have made multiple calls to get this sorted out with no clear resolution in sight. Sad that customer services department does not realize and/or appreciate that I have been waiting for 4 weeks for a dining set for a new house and now face the possibility of waiting another 4 weeks. I have worked with ****** and other companies in the past which have superior customer service which try to help resolve the problem and not merely state what happened and plainly state that there is nothing they can do. Hard to believe that Americas largest furnishing store has inaccurate product info on their website and appear so helpless when it comes to making things right for their customer.

Desired Settlement
I want NFM to assist me in getting the dining set that I ordered through them in a timely manner or reimburse me for the lost time and serious inconvenience.

Business Response
The customer called in and placed the telephone order on ******. On ******* there was a sales call to the customer to advise that they purchased a pub table with regular height chairs and if he wanted to correct the order. We had not had any contact with the customer again until ******. Our credit department needed to run an update credit report. They left a voicemail and emailed the customer on ******* as his last report was in ****. On ****** the customer decided cancel the order. The same day the customer decided that they would like to reorder inquiring a new arrival date of *******. We have a disclaimer that reads: "Prices and availability of products are subject to change without notice. Errors will be corrected where discovered, and NFM reserves the right to revoke any stated offer and to correct any errors, inaccuracies or omissions including after an order has been submitted and whether or not the order has been confirmed and your payment method accepted and charged. In the event your payment method has been accepted and charged, NFM will issue you the appropriate credit within a reasonable time after your order has been revoked". Once we received the deposit owed we can arrange delivery. We are estimated to receive this from the manufacturer on ******* and are scheduled to deliver this out on *******.

06/13/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
install wall oven wrong and short out the breaker
on ******* i went to nfm we saw ********* we order a wall oven he said we had to pay $*** down to get the oven for $******** model #********. on ******* *** &**** came to do the measure order#******** and we had to pay $*** for Modifications. the next day i got a call from nfm telling me i have to pay the full amount $******** and that $*** was for special order we wasn't told that.i got a call from ***** ext.***** he said we didn't have credit to cover the oven.i call from **** from credit dept. he offer me a oven sky #******** for $******* with a $*** down payment the refund for special order.thy came out ******* to install the oven *** & **** and it did not work because the breaker cut off. ***** told me i had to get a eletrieian to come to determine was it my fault or theirs.i did and he found out that it was install wrong by *** & **** a white wire was burnt and it had a funny smell i have a picture of it. it could have started a fire in my house i i don't know what might happen later to my system in my house.i paid $****** to get it fix and i paid $*** for installation from NFM.

Desired Settlement
refund of my installation $****** and $****** And a stainless steal microwave

Business Response
Mr. **** called to inform NFM on ******** that the cooktop was installed however the breaker was tripped. NFM customer service representative gave customer multiple numbers for electricians to come and evaluate. Customer wanted someone to come sooner, NFM advised that due to Memorial Day, we cannot guarantee anyone sooner. Customer called in at 6pm on ******** asking if we can compensate for the electrician. Before we could advise of the next step, customer disconnected the call. Mr. **** called on ******** at 08:24am. At this time, an NFM customer service manager advised Mr. **** that he would need to e-mail us an invoice for the electrician so we can compensate. In order to compensate for the electrician or labor fees, NFM will need to receive a copy of the electrician's invoice before proceeding.

06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
LIVID! Table ordered *************-Delivery Date: *****-Still no table! Customer Service-UNSATISFACTORY.
I purchased a table as well as a sectional for my den in *************. My home was scheduled for completion ******** and was pushed to ********. I changed the delivery date maybe twice. When the delivery arrived on the ****. The delivery driver stated the table top did not fit on the legs. He also stated, he told the warehouse it didn't look like it fit based on the size, prior to it being loaded on the truck. He says they loaded it anyway and he was used to it. He called the warehouse manager, ***** and I spoke with him. He told me the earliest he'd be able to get the table top to me was the ***********. I expressed my disappointment and he told me I could drive out and pick it up and he'd waive the delivery fee of the table. I told him I was moving a storage and an apartment and only had a ***** for 4 more hours. I told him the *** was not fair since I'd ordered my piece 3 months prior and asked if it could be included with another order coming my direction because I had a housewarming event planned. He stated there's nothing he could do. I placed him on a brief hold...talked with my partner and decided we'd have to wait until the ***. I told ***** (Warehouse/Delivery Coordinator) we'd wait until the ***. The delivery driver left the 4 chairs and bench along with the hardware and told me someone from Customer Care would call me shortly. Since I did not hear from anyone by Tuesday evening, I called and talked with a Customer Care Manager, *****. I told her I'd expected to hear from someone and I was disappointed at the level of service I was receiving. She looked at my account and stated there wasn't a new table ordered, placed me on an 8 minute hold...came back and told me it couldn't be delivered until the ***. I told her I was not happy and because the order was placed in **** I expected to receive my order on time and since it wasn't, I didn't feel I should have to wait since the error was at fault of the Warehouse. She too stated there was nothing she could do about the delivery. She then told me the time slot of delivery was 12-6. I told her I work 8-5 and needed it to be delivered after 4 as I could only leave my office an hour early. She said, "I can't guarantee that, someone will need to be home 12-6" to make sure your delivery is received". I was irate, so she put me on hold again, called the warehouse and then came back stating she'd put a note on the account for an after 4 delivery, but if they can't accommodate that time...the delivery would need to be rescheduled for a later date. She then said, "We can compensate you monetarily...IF AND WHEN the table is finally delivered. I responded with, "Thank you that would be nice; however, what about the inconvenience I'm experiencing now? Why should that not qualify for compensation?" She says, well we need to make sure you get your table. Nonetheless, I'm extremely upset with the way my situation has been handled and the lack of communication or empathy from everyone I've encountered at Nebraska. I can easily cancel the order and buy another item from *********** and still have it before NFM can have it delivered. I spent 4.5 hours in the store searching for pieces in my new home.

Desired Settlement
compensation for my inconvenience and an earlier delivery.

Business Response
On ******** Ms.***** called in to NFM upset that no one had contacted her about delivery for the *** and issues she has had with the table. At that time, a new order was not set up by our warehouse staff, so the customer service manager set up the new order for the table. The delivery date was out farther than *****, however the manager then called our delivery team and set the delivery for ********, as trucks were full and that was the only date they were able to specially place the table on the truck. The NFM customer service staff did send in a request for after 4pm for delivery. We cannot guarantee the time frame for delivery as our trucks are routed from the farthest stop out from the store to the closest. How the trucks are routed directly effects the time frame. We have made special requests to our delivery provider and management for our delivery team, to advise of the situation and to try to accommodate the requested delivery time. However, we cannot guarantee this can be met at this time.

Compensation cannot be offered at this time as the pieces have not arrived. We are unaware of the condition or if the customer will be satisfied with the items. If compensation is offered now, no other means of compensation can be offered after delivery. We would be happy to look into compensation once the items are received and the customer is satisfied, for the inconveniences this has caused.

Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2016/*****) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The table is expected to be delivered today. I told them I work so it would need to be after 4p.m. She told me there are no guarantees but she would include a note to the driver. I am leaving work at 3:30 today to be there. She also stated I would receive a call from NFM the day before. I waited to hear from them yesterday and no call. I am terribly inconvenienced as it is now. I should be compensated for the turmoil that has happened thus far...not if and when I will get the table. It is apparent I want it because I have yet to ask for a refund in the amount of $***+. There are 3 items in my shopping cart (totaling $*****) I am about to order with hopes of no future issues; however, I am waiting to purchase these items with the $***** delivery fee to be sure there are no flaws today. That being said, the compensation should NOT be contingent upon the table being delivered FINALLY. It should be offered BECAUSE of this situation. This entire ordeal has upset me, simply because I feel like NFM does not value me as a client. I am a ******************** and when our clients have an issue we address immediately...to show them we value their view of our agency. I would like a phone call from someone in a position who is able to see and agree with my point of view.

06/07/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging Of An Old Bill
Nebraska Furniture Mart reported to credit agencies that I owe ************ something dollars approximately 2 months ago. This is an old debt which bankruptcy was filed in ****, the same year my husband died. The credit card is under my dead husband name and Furniture Mart keeps playing games asking for his cell phone and such. This is after telling the customer service rep he is deceased. After 30 minutes I was finally given the so called account number *******. I do not have any accounts with Nebraska Furniture Mart and any old debt was settled through my Bankruptcy in ****. I'm in the process of attaining a house loan and my loan agent advised me of this credit report. I do believe this is against the FCRA, and with me applying for a home loan. I would like this dispute to be rushed and corrected immediately. Plus an apology from Nebraska Furniture Mart also to never harass me illegally on an old debt that was charged off with my filing bankruptcy. Thank you, ******* ********

Desired Settlement
I would like this illegal harassing act corrected immediately.

Business Response
Ms. ******** is on the account with husbands name and is still held accountable for paying the rest of the dues in the amount of $***. Customer can pay in store with cash, register an account online and attach the account number, or over the phone at **************. Please have your account number, checking/routing number and the amount she would like to pay.

Ms. ******** is allowed to close the NFM account, however, payment would still need to be made. If customer needs any further assistance please contact ************** ext. *****.


Page 1 of 44

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Compact Discs, Tapes & Records - Retail, Television & Radio - Dealers, Linoleum Dealers, Pictures, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floor Materials - Retail, Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Furniture - Childrens, Carpet Layers, Mattresses, Home Theater, Interior Decorators & Designers, Appliances - Major - Dealers, Carpet & Rug Dealers - Persian/Oriental Rugs, Hardwood Floor Maintenance, Home Economics Consultants, Home Electronics - Designers, Carpet Installation, Floor Removal, Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing, Floor Resurfacing, Floor Refinishing, Floor Coverings & Installation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1952Business started: 01/01/1937
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1952, NE

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Brittany Van Camp (Online Service Manager)Ms. Elizabeth Barton (Director of Customer Relations)Mr. Ron Blumkin (President)Mr. Curt Burney (Customer Service Manager-Kansas City)Ricky Stidham (Customer Service Manager-The Colony)
Contact Information
Ms. Kathy Cosgrove (Senior Assistant of Customer Relations)Mr. Dan Craig (Appliances/Electronics Service)Ms. Kristin Oxtal Ms. Jenny Wiebelhaus (Flooring Customer Service Manager)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Compact Discs, Tapes & Records - Retail, Television & Radio - Dealers, Linoleum Dealers, Pictures, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floor Materials - Retail, Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Furniture - Childrens, Carpet Layers, Mattresses, Home Theater, Interior Decorators & Designers, Appliances - Major - Dealers, Carpet & Rug Dealers - Persian/Oriental Rugs, Hardwood Floor Maintenance, Home Economics Consultants, Home Electronics - Designers, Carpet Installation, Floor Removal, Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing, Floor Resurfacing, Floor Refinishing, Floor Coverings & Installation

Products & Services

This company offers retail sales of home furnishings including furniture, bedding, flooring, rugs, electronics, appliances, lighting fixtures and home accessories. They also offer sales of computers, video games, music CDs, DVDs, cell phones and all related electronic equipment and accessories. In addition, they provide pick-up and delivery services.

Alternate Business Names
Mrs. B's Clearance & Factory Outlet, NFM, Nebraska Furniture Mart, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Nebraska Furniture Mart has received 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 7 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nebraska Furniture Mart

700 S 72nd St

Omaha, NE 68114-4614

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nebraska Furniture Mart is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 392-3498
  • (402) 392-3499
  • (402) 397-6100 ext 27926
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.