BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2014

Terryl's Flower Garden

(402) 393-3131View Additional Phone Numbers7631 Pacific St, OmahaNE 68114-5420

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2014

BBB has determined that Terryl's Flower Garden meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Terryl's Flower Garden's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Terryl's Flower Garden

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
01/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We did not receive what we paid for. After contacting the owner we were treated disrespectfully have not gotten compensation we were told we would get
We went in to order flowers for our wedding, which was *************. We ordered our flowers and put down a $*** deposit in *****. In late ***, early **** I got a phone call saying that what we ordered could not be done because they did not have the flowers we wanted in the colors we had asked. When I asked why we were still able to order it that way I got an unclear answer. This happen once more on *************. I went in to pick up an arrangement we had ordered for the rehearsal dinner and she told me that some flowers I had ordered for the bouquets did not come in so she was going to change them to something else. She asked if it was alright and I only agreed because it was the day before the wedding and I did not want to go without flowers. When I asked about it I got another unclear answer. After telling me about the bouquets, she wanted me to change something else we ordered. We ordered 2 low lying arrangements and specifically told her they needed to be low lying because they were going to be on the head table. She basically told us that was crazy and they should be up in vases so people could see them. I had to explain to her at least 3 times why we needed them low lying. By this point I was stressed out and confused why my orders were not happening the way I ordered them. I went to look at the arrangement we ordered for the rehearsal dinner and noticed some of the flower petals were wilted and turning brown at the tips. She told me it was because they were real. They next day (the wedding day) the flowers looked wilted and droopy. During the ceremony an entire flower fell off of my bouquet and several petals fell from my bridesmaids. Later I found out that most of the corsages, boutonnieres and all but one of the bouquets were dead by the end of the night. We never received two of the boutonnieres we ordered. We also ordered a corsage for my grandmother that had to be made with artificial flowers and was told that she put it on before the ceremony and it completely fell apart on her wrist during the ceremony. The Tuesday after the wedding I received a phone call from the owner (*****) saying we would be compensated for the boutonnieres (she knew because a family member contacted her). Once I told her about everything else she started to be rude and act unprofessionally. She told me she would take care of getting us our money back for the boutonnieres. One month later we still had not received anything. I went into the store to talk to her about it. When I told her who I was she immediately started to act rude and unprofessional again. She told us that the flowers were dead because we did not take care of them properly. I told her the people who handled the flowers before the ceremony are the same people who take care of them every week before the church services and they have never killed flowers before. When I told her about the flower falling off of my bouquet she asked me "What were you doing to your bouquet to make it do that?" When I told her I was listening to the ceremony she told me I had to have been doing more than that. I then mentioned the corsage that fell apart and she asked if it was fake or real. I told her it was the artificial one and asked if it made a difference and she did not answer me. ***** told me that she would call me in a week to get it figured out but she would need to call her headquarters and her lawyer. It has been almost a month now and we still have not heard from her.

Desired Settlement
Due to the flowers that were ordered and not delivered and the condition of the flowers that were provided and the fact that the florist changed the flower type because she could not provide them. I feel that I should be reimbursed $*** because we did not receive everything we ordered and flowers that the florist delivered were of lesser quality and value than originally ordered.

Business Response
This complaint is not completely valid and I can only respond to the complaints that were brought to my attention when speaking with the customer directly. We did contact the customer regarding the flowers that were requested in the original order to be substituted, due to them being out of season. I offered a refund on the 2 boutineers that they were missing and partial refund on the bouquet. It is not our standard to send out wilted flowers and would not have done so. There is a 48 hour guarantee on the flowers, and I did not receive a complaint until 2 weeks after the wedding.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My mother-in law went to return the vases that came with the bridesmaids bouquets on Monday the ************ ****. While there she told the employee working about what had happened with the flowers. I got a phone call from ***** on Monday ************* at 2:51 p.m. with a voice mail apologizing for the missing boutonnieres saying we would get refunded for them. I returned her call Monday ************* at 4:02 p.m. and told her about the flowers not lasting the entire night and that was when she told me she would refund a bouquet as well. I can prove these phone calls happened because it is still logged into my phone. This shows that she heard about the complaint 2 days, not two weeks after the wedding. The shop is closed on Sunday which is why we waited until they were open again to make the complaint. The 48 hour guarantee did not happen with our flowers because my grandmothers corsage fell apart after she put it on and my bridesmaid's and my bouquets were losing petals all night. I also believe that if they flowers we ordered were out of season we should have been told that upon trying to order them, not after.

Business Response
Called owner (*****)and she is offering $*** to settle this complaint.

06/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/04/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Florists - Retail, Internet Shopping, Plants - Retail, Gift Shops, Florist - Funeral Bouquets & Wreaths

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/13/1997Business started: 01/01/1995New Owner Date: 06/01/2013
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Paula Benne (Owner)
Business Category

Florists - Retail, Internet Shopping, Plants - Retail, Gift Shops, Florist - Funeral Bouquets & Wreaths

Products & Services

This company is a florist that offers fresh, silk and dried floral arrangements for weddings, funerals and special events. They also offer retail sales of plants and gift items, internet shopping and delivery services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Terryl's Flower Garden

7631 Pacific St

Omaha, NE 68114-5420

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7631 Pacific St 

    Omaha, NE 68114-5420(402) 393-3131

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Terryl's Flower Garden is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 553-1533
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Florists - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.