BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/12/2002

Dakota Fence & Deck

(402) 598-564215252 S 57th St, PapillionNE 68133-2751



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/12/2002

BBB has determined that Dakota Fence & Deck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dakota Fence & Deck's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dakota Fence & Deck

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
fence continues to have areas dogs can escape through
My son had talked to **** and ask him to install a new wood fence as the previous one was ready to fall over. It was completed *******. My daughter called me and told me the fence was to high and our dogs were crawling under it. We tried to notify them immediately on Saturday morning but got no response til *******. My son was told that the gate he had requested would be an additional $*** vs $** since it had been negated in the estimate as originally asked for, and wood planks would be put down to block areas dogs were escaping through. I came home from work only to find one area had been fixed. I was not contacted to ask me where I wanted the repair or where the dogs were escaping from. I had put chicken wire on the second spot I knew about since I watched my dog escape and come back through. I contacted my son who is going to repair the fence. I'm disappointed that I'm paying for a fence that was asked to be only 2" off the ground to prevent dogs from getting out (we face hwy ***) and what I got was a fence with more than one area the dogs can escape through since the fence is to high off the ground. I was understanding of them not wanting to come out and completely redo the fence and would place boards to cover the escape routes. I am very disappointed that only one area was done and again, if they would have communicated with me, I would have told them what I wanted. I feel that since I'm the one paying the bill, I should of at least have been given the courtesy of asking what I needed done to make me happy. My son told me that when he talked to ****, he got the impression that no one really cared if my dogs got out. My husband just died and he loved these dogs. The dogs have now adopted me and I don't want anything to happen to them. I've had enough loss that I just don't want another one that could be prevented. I had planned on having more wood work done but am now going to ask someone else and hope I get a little better customer service.

Desired Settlement
discount in price since my son is doing the work I need done so my dogs don't get run over. The work was not done as asked so I should not have to pay top dollar for a job that wasn't done as requested.

08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dakota Fence and Deck fraudulently charged for a construction permit from the City of ***** and used defective building materials.
On ********* a contract with Dakota Fence and Deck was agreed upon in the amount of $******* for the construction of a 6' Cedar Privacy Fence on my property. $***** of the total amount was for a Construction Permit from the City of *****. I was verbally assured that Dakota Fence uses only the best materials and that is why their bid was higher than most other fence companies. The nails were specifically discussed and I was again assured that they used galvanized nails. I provided Dakota Fence with the signed contract and a deposit check in the amount of $*******
On ********* the fence was finally completed after numerous complaints about delays in the construction process.
On ********* The balance of the bill was paid in full, in the amount of $*******.
On approximately ********* we noticed that black streaks/stains on the exterior faced cedar boards had appeared. Upon closer examination it was discovered that the nails were bleeding and rusting. I found this disturbing as it had only been a few months and from experience know that galvanized nails should not be rusting at that rate. After consulting with several other builders they all confirmed that the nails used were not galvanized and should not be exhibiting those characteristics.
On ********* we contacted the City of ***** to determine if galvanized nails were part of building code. We discovered that Dakota Fence and Deck had never applied for a permit to construct the fence on our property even though we had specifically been charged for a permit. The Chief Building Inspector advised us that we were liable and a violation could be issued to us.
On ********* we sent an email to Dakota Fence and Deck advising them of the issues. We specifically requested all correspondence be via email or written letter.
On ********* **** from Dakota Fence contacted me by phone. **** admitted during the conversation that the nails they used were electro galvanized nails. **** reported that he himself was not happy with the performance of the nails and had switched to a different nail sometime after constructing our fence. **** also reported that he wasn't sure how the permit had been overlooked but assured me that he had taken care of the permit. **** also reported that he would email a copy of the permit and receipts. **** asked me what we wanted to do about the fence and I advised him that we wanted the fence to be replaced. **** reported that he would not replace the fence. **** advised me that he would give us money toward power washing and staining the fence. I informed **** that power washing and staining would only cover up the stains and that we were more concerned with the integrity of the nails and the construction of the fence.
At the time of this complaint we have not received any further correspondence or evidence that Dakota Fence and Deck has taken any further steps in resolving our complaints.




Desired Settlement
We are seeking proper replacement or refund to have the job completed properly.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****************
For some reason the permit did not get filed. It was an over sight on our part. As soon as we were aware of the situation I went and filed a permit for his fence. I since sent him a copy of his permit. We did use galvanized nails, but using galvanized nails does not guarantee that the fence will not bleed. There is nothing wrong with the integrity of the fence. I encourage all customers with wood fence to power wash and treat their fences. This helps preserve the fence. I did offer some compensation to help with staining of ******* fence. ****** can call and we can work out the details.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** admitted that he no longer uses the nails he used on our fence because he "wasn't happy with their performance, and has since switched to a different nail." Power Washing and Staining a fence that is less than a year old will only cover up the problem. Staining the fence will protect the wood, however the issue is the fasteners the company chose to use. The nails are rusting and it is visible. The integrity of the fence will be an issue. Customer service is clearly not a priority for this company since he waited until the last day to respond to the BBB Complaint. I attempted to contact him by phone on *********. I left a voicemail and have not received a response.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ALL FENCE POSTS ARE LOOSE
WE HAD THIS COMPANY INSTALL A FENCE FOR US AND SHORTLY AFTER WE HAD TO ADJUST THE GATES. AFTER WE ADJUSTED THE GATES SEVERAL TIMES THEY WERE COMPLETELY OUT OF ADJUSTMENT AND COULDNT BE ADJUSTED ANYMORE SO YOU CAN BARLEY OPEN OR CLOSE THE GATE. WE CONTACTED THE INSTALLER AND AND LET HIM KNOW THAT ALL OF OUR POSTS WERE LOOSE SO HE CAME OVER TO LOOK. HE TOLD US THAT THE POSTS WERE LOOSE BECAUSE WATER HAS SAT IN THE HOLES. HE TOLD US THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO RESET THE POSTS FOR THE GATES BUT IT WOULD COST $*** FOR BOTH GATES. KEEP IN MIND ALL OF THE POSTS ON THE FENCE ARE LOOSE NOT JUST THE GATES. THE ONLY THING THAT I WAS ASKING HIM TO REPAIR WAS CORNER POST FOR THE GATES. MY NEIGHBORS FENCE IS RIGHT NEXT TO MINE AND ALL OF THE POST ARE TIGHT AND THE GATES WORK FINE AS WELL AS SEVERAL OTHER NEIGHBORS FENCES (AND THEIR FENCES WERE INSTALLED WAY BEFORE MINE).
WE PAID A LOT OF MONEY TO HAVE THIS FENCE INSTALLED. DAKOTA FENCE NEEDS TO STAND BEHIND THIS PROBLEM. IF WATER IS WHAT HAS CAUSE THE POSTS TO GET LOOSE WHY IS BOTH OF OUR NEIGHBORS FENCE SOLID?

Desired Settlement
ALL THAT I WANT IS FOR DAKOTA FENCE TO STAND BEHIND THEIR WORK AND DO THE RIGHT THING BY REPAIRING THE CORNER POSTS AT THE GATES.

Business Response
We installed this fence around 5 to 6 years ago. We did go back and adjust gates after the fence ws installed. I have not heard from customer for several years until he called this ****** to ask us to look at gate posts. We determined they needed to be reset. That is why we gave him an estimate for repairs. They have very small side yards. We have not heard from them since we gave them the estimate, until your letter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We should NOT have to pay to have the posts reset! All of our neighbors yards have fences and have not had any issues. Its very evident that the posts were not installed correctly the first time and now they want me to pay them to reset posts.
Dakota Fence needs to stand behind what they do!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Patio Design, Fences - Vinyl, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Patio Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Railings, Fence Posts & Fittings, Deck Builder

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/20/2002Business started: 01/01/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad K. Heinert (President)
Business Category

Fence Contractors, Patio Design, Fences - Vinyl, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Patio Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Railings, Fence Posts & Fittings, Deck Builder

Products & Services

This company offers fence installation and services; including acreages, wood, PVC, chain link, barbwire and non-barbwire. They also provide commercial and residential deck installation; including cedar treated and vinyl, as well as, hand and porch railings.

Alternate Business Names
Heinert Enterprises, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dakota Fence & Deck

15252 S 57th St

Papillion, NE 68133-2751

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15252 S 57th St 

    Papillion, NE 68133-2751(402) 598-5642

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dakota Fence & Deck is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Fence Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.