BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1940

Omaha Public Power District

Find a Location

(402) 636-3747View Additional Phone Numbers444 S 16th Street Mall, OmahaNE 68102-2608



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1940

BBB has determined that Omaha Public Power District meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Omaha Public Power District's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues11
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Omaha Public Power District

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oppd cuts power before a disabled and sick person can pay .
We had oppd on budget billing and a friend of mine was the deposit . well it ran out and he sent in . in the mean time my bill was wrong and we were taken off budget. ******* wife texted me that oppd was there to turn off power and I told her to pay . she told the tech that she was getting her checkbook to pay in the mean time he took off and let her without power. she is disabled and has had a **************. the bill was paid within 15 min of the tech being there and she called the office and told them she was ill and disabled. They told her they will get to it when they can.

Why did the tech take off when she was getting the payment and why is oppd putting someone's health below their $$.

I want our budget put back on and if any damages to food or my wifes health oppd will be held liable due to them being told a few times of her health. Its been almost 4 hrs and the power still is not on.

Desired Settlement
I want our budget put back on and if any damages to food or my wifes health oppd will be held liable due to them being told a few times of her health. Its been almost 4 hrs and the power still is not on.

Business Response
I PHONED MR. ****** AND APOLOGIZED FOR HIS EXPERIENCE WITH OUR COLLECTOR. I ENROLLED HIS ACCOUNT IN THE LEVEL PAYMENT PLAN FOR $******. I OFFERED THE AUTOMATIC BILL PAYMENT PLAN FOR FUTURE PAYMENTS. HE DECLINED.

MS *******
ACCOUNT SUPERVISOR

10/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charges from someone else's account billed to me
My mother had service at ***************. Her bill was solely in her name. She became delinquent on her bill as she had lost her job and was forced to sell her home as a short sale per the banks request. My mother relieved a letter in the month of **** stating her account would be sent to collections. As her son, I took her into my home so she would not become homeless. I have had my OWN OPPD account solely in my name at *************** for the past 2 years. I have always paid my bill and am not delinquent. Today I received a letter stating that my mothers delinquent account balance of $****** was transferred to my account, and I would now be held responsible for paying it.

Desired Settlement
I would like oppd to send her delinquent bill to collections and take it off my account. I should not be held responsible for paying her balance just because she is living in my home. It is unethical for them to hold me responsible because they feel "she is benefiting from my service". I pay my bill and therefore anyone who is in my home is entitled to my electricity! My electricity is paid for. I did not benefit from her electricity that was used during the outstanding months of service! My account has always been separate and needs to be made that way again.

Business Response
OPPD has worked with this customer and her mother to reach a mutually agreed upon resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
At this point in time I can not say that I agree with what they claimed as a resolution. I will have to see when my bill comes this month as to whether or not they have taken my mothers delinquent bill off of my account. If they have removed the delinquent bill from my account, I would say I am satisfied with the resolution. If they have not, I will not settle on this as a resolved issue.

Final Business Response
The customer's new bill will generate on the evening of **************. We attempted to contact the customer to inform him and schedule a follow-up time after he receives the bill to ensure resolution.

The customer is not available during daytime hours to discuss matters. He will be contacted on ************** after 5 pm.

We are confident this matter has been resolved in a way that meets this customer's expectations.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We will see if it has been resolved after we receive the bill after the ****.

12/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
OPPD charged me for 2 and a half months of energy use after I had vacated the apartment.
I moved out of **************** apartments on **********, I had the utilities set to switch back to **************** starting *********, I was told that my deposit should be enough to cover my final bill but if there was an additional amount due that I would receive a closing bill. I never received a closing bill nor any correspondence not even a phone call, so I assumed the account closed. on ********* over two years latter while checking my credit report I noticed a collection from *** in the amount of ****** on behalf of OPPD. I immediately contacted OPPD and was told that these were charges for the account until the apartment was reported vacated on *********. I had bought a house in **** and paid a break lease fee with the apartment so this was all done properly by me it wasn't like I just moved out without saying anything. OPPD comes back and says that I never had the utilities switched over to **************** so I would owe the full amount, this is bogus because I know i had the service stopped in my name. So they want me to pay for there mistake I am not paying for 2 and a half months worth of energy when the apartment was no longer in my name, once I turned the keys in on ********** I no longer had any access or say to what the thermostat could be set at that was up to the apartment and they could have set it as high as they would have liked. I will gladly pay the portion that I owe up to ********** but anything after that should be between the apartment complex and OPPD because like I said I no longer had access to the apartment. This is really poor customer service and I will not be charged for services that I didn't have access to.

Desired Settlement
I will gladly pay charges that are up to ********** if any, however I want my credit restored I was never contacted and still haven't been by the collection agency and was not aware this was on there until last week, I want the account settled and the credit line deleted.

Business Response
*******,

Thank you for contacting OPPD regarding the service at *****************. We have carefully reviewed the documents provided and have contacted the apartment complex in which you had resided. OPPD has corrected your billing through ******** and send out a corrected bill showing the closing bill and and credits made to your account. The current balance is now $****** due by ************.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact us at ************.

Thank you,
*******
Account Supervisor

12/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
OPPD transferred landlord's past due of $**** to my account, even though I paid utilities with rent. House was foreclosed and utilities shut off.
Roughly **************** I was renting a house with intention to buy. My landlord told me that he had been in the process of refinancing his home and utilities would be in his name until I decided on purchasing the home. It was stated in my lease that I would pay my landlord an additional *** per month for utilities and that he would bill me if there was excessive use. At the end of ******, beginning of *********, a tree fell on the house. I was unable to locate my landlord and was told he left town. At that same time, OPPD and water got shut off, and the house was repossessed. I called OPPD to find out that my landlord had a past due of over ****. I found a new place to live, within a few days. After having begged OPPD to work something out with me to keep electricity on until we moved, they transferred my landlord's ENTIRE past due bill to me. They would not let me have electric service in my name or even my roomates name until my landlord's bill was paid. When I argued that it was not my bill, they said that I had lived there, and they did not have a contact number for my old landlord, so charging me was the only way to get their money. I spoke to them several times, begging them to be reasonable. They set me up with *** dollar payments saying that it would be paid at the end of the year. They also said that if it was late even once, that my service would be shut off until paid in full. A year later, my bill went up to *** dollars because the past due is still not paid.
I paid my landlord every month rent and utilities. He did not pay HIS bills, and OPPD has no right to force his debt on me any more than the mortgage company would have. They are adding insult to injury, dragging out the stress from having a house that im living in get foreclosed on. I offered to bring in any documentation from money orders for rent to my lease, but they said there was nothing I could do. They transferred his balance and now his past due was mine. I should not be responsible for his past due bill, that was owing BEFORE I even lived in the house!

Desired Settlement
OPPD has no right to force my landlord's past due (was owing before I even lived there) on to my account. Moving was hard enough under those conditions, and now they are making me responsible for a bill that I already paid to my landlord. Send HIM to collections, he signed the contract for utilities at the old address, not me. I want this past due balance REMOVED from my account, because it was never mine to begin with.

Business Response
***,

Thank you for contacting OPPD.

We have reviewed your account and have found that there was not a transfer made to your account from the Landlord. It appears that you contacted OPPD in ************** and per your request we started the service in **********.

If you made payments to your Landlord, then the what you paid him is between you and him. There is a lot of information on your account that maybe too much to respond through a letter.

I have tried to call you several times, but unable to get through on your ******* phone. If you would like to discuss this over the phone, please give me a call at (***)******** x****.

******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called OPPD in ******, as I stated, because the utilities in the rental were shut off. I had no idea it was past due and asked to switch the utilities in my name for the last week that I would be there. The lady said "No, now that you have said that you have lived there, you are responsible for this utility bill." I told her that it was NOT MY BILL OR ACCOUNT and she said that someone had to pay the bill. I begged, and CRIED so DO NOT tell me that it was per my request. When I moved, I even tried putting the utilities in my boyfriends name because we moved in together and was told that if I did, that balance would MOVE TO HIS ACCOUNT. I had to beg and beg to even work out a payment PLAN for this bill that was not my responsibility. I DID NOT have an account with oppd until the end of ******.
HE WAS FINANCIALLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THAT ACCOUNT AND BILL, and I was told that I had no choice or option in it. When I told you that nevermind, I would just go that week without utilities, and put the utilities of the new apartment in my name, I was told that it was too late, the account had already been TRANSFERED to me. call it what you will, you guys obligated me to a payment that was not my responsibility.
Since when is "there is too much information to actually make public" a BBB response? PLEASE, make it public how you guys bullied a single mother to a toddler by threatening to NEVER put service in my name until my landlord's bill was paid. He was past due when I moved IN to the old house (I was unaware at the time) and yet after you transfered his past due to me, you issued him a REFUND FOR A FEW DOLLARS.

Final Business Response
Dear ***.

I have reviewed all the documention on your account regarding the address of *************. All the documention is between you and another Supervisor ****. From my understanding, you had been living at this address since **********. This would make you responsible for the bill from the time you moved in until you moved out. If there was a contract with your Landlord to pay the utilities, then you will need to take that up with him for reimbursement. There was no transfered dollar amount added to your account, it is simply the charges you incurred from the time you moved in. We have tried to roll the balance into a level payment for you, however those payments were not kept & the account was removed. Currently your account is set up on a level payment of $*** per month and your current balance due is $******. If your account is removed from the level payment your balance due is $*******. OPPD will do what we can to work with our customers, however if the payments are not made, it makes it hard for us to continue to work together. There is no information that we cannot make public through the BBB, however since there was so much going on with your account, I felt that it may have been best to discuss over the phone. Unfortunately at this time, the bill will stay as is. If you would like to discuss your account further, please contact me at ***-******** ext. **** or **** at ext. ****.

Thank you,

******

11/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quote one price. Charge Something Drastically different
OPPD are the biggest ****** in the Power Industry. Spoke to a CS REP, was quoted a refund from a deposit that was payed to turn on service. Two weeks later, I sign into the account to see what is taking the refund check so long to arrive, only to find that instead of a refund, i have been assessed charges for services I never received, along with a late fee for a bill I was never sent, therefore never payed. When I spoke to the ****** at OPPD, they said the CS REP misinformed me, and that he would be 'talked to' about the discrepancy. I was bullied into paying money I do not believe was owed under the threat of being 'reported to a collection agency'.
I payed every bill they ever sent, on time, in full. Since they are big business theres no way to fight them, In short, I was told "although we told you one thing two weeks ago, we would like to steal/rob/take your money today."
Due to the poor treatment of Residents by the oppd, I will avoid ever living in, or even VISITING Omaha, NE in the future. I will also due everything in my power to persuade friends, family, even strangers to steer clear of oppd and to keep a tight grasp on their wallets if they are ever unfortunate enough to live there and get electricity from them.
I believe ***** is a powerful thing, and everything that goes around, comes around. I will let ***** deal with oppd.
I payed the ridiculous charges wrongfully assessed, to protect my credit score.
Further, ****** 'refused to provide last name' (an inept member of oppd's pathetic customer service team) has no idea what she is doing. She is rude, snobby, and has no business being in any line of work with which she speaks to or even sees other people.
Glad to say I made it out of Omaha alive, intact (aside from a dent in my bank account) and that I never have to go back.

oppd should be ashamed of themselves for taking advantage of consumers and bullying people into paying outrageous amounts of money for electricity, and especially other nefarious charges. Good riddance to bad rubbish.
VERY TRUELY,
****** *****


Desired Settlement
an apology and a hope that unfortunate future customers be treated fairly and not overcharged.

Business Response
Dear ******,

I would like to review your OPPD account before adressing any of the issues mentioned in your complaint. Can you please provide us your last address with OPPD?

Thank you,

******

Page 1 of 3
02/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I beleive there to be fraudulent charges or improper utility rates charged per kwH on my account
I called OPPD prior to moving into my current address and inquired on the previous two years' billing history. The average oppd utility bill for my apartment is ~$**/month year round. In the summer months, the average bill was around ~$** for prior tenants; while in the winter months, the average bill for prior tenants was about ~$**. This is due to the apartment hallways being heated by the landlord in the winter and windows having good sunlight, thus eliminating the need to even turn on heating in the winter at all. I have NOT turned my heating on all winter and have only normal appliance use; however, my bill in the winter months has INCREASED to $**/month. I believe this to possibly be due to fraudulent activity either by the meter reader or someone within the company who may have had a verbal dispute with me about this billing issue.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see my monthly bill to be in alignment with the average for all the prior tenants and data showing what it should be, ~$**/month-higher in the summer and lower in the winter. I would like to have an inquiry into my itemized utility rate and have data showing that this rate is accurate according to prior tenants rates or comparable units within my building. I would like a refund for the incorrect billing difference.

Business Response
****,

Thank you for contacting OPPD through the BBB.

OPPD has reviewed your records and we have tried to contact you regarding the billing. The following dates and times were **** @ 10:30am, **** @ 11:40am, and ***** @ 9am, messages were left each time with no response.

A little more information regarding the billing, two of the last five years the bills have been more than what you are experiencing. Since you have only been there a few month, we are unable to compare a full year of your usage, we also do not know what your future bills will be.

If you would like to further discuss your account, please feel free to contact us at ************ M-F 7am to 8pm and Saturdays from 9am to 1pm.

Thank you,

******
Account Supervisor
Omaha Public Power District

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response did not address my request or concern at all. That is the reason for not returning their call after listening to their message. I think this business is grossly unaccountantable, and their representatives contacting me show no regard or expertise to resolve the issue. I think our city needs a new energy company or better personnel/management within OPPD. I still have not been provided the data for this apartment's energy use/bills for the last 5 years (with customer details removed). I would take this issue to their Board, but their Board members do not appear to be experts either- just retired people from entirely unrelated career paths.

Final Business Response
****,

Thank you for contacting OPPD through the BBB regarding your OPPD billing.

Our records show that one of our field representatives, ******** spoke to you on ************ regarding your concerns and offered to set up an appointment to test your meter. This will allow us to show you that everything is working correctly. She also made a follow-up call on ************ since she did not hear back from you to set the appointment. If you would still like to set up the appointment, please contact her at ************. If you have questions for our Customer Service, please contact us at ************.

Thank You,

******
Account Supervisor
Omaha Public Power District

09/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dispute over utility charges with OPPD.
I have lived at my current residence for 2 years, during which time my bills at OPPD have averaged $***** per month. The ********* bills in **** were $*****, $***** and $*****. In **** the ********* bills were $******, $****** and $*****. To date I have discussed the matter with 6 different individuals at OPPD and have yet to come to a resolution. My heat source is boiler operated, so the winter months should not affect my fee. I did use electric heaters in ****. I also used electric heaters in ****, as well as the remaining winter months in **** with no affect to the usual $***** average bill. The only change in living habits I can think of in my tiny 750 sq ft apt, is my niece did stay with me a few days a week in ****. So actually, one would think my bills would be lower this year instead of triple the price from last year. I asked OPPD to send my meter readings for the months in question 2 weeks ago, but have yet to receive them. I am glad to furnish a complete history of charges over the past 2 years if needed.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $******, which reflects the variance between what I was charged and the average fee that is normally charged for the 3 month period in question.

Business Response
******,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your usage in ******** & **********. Our records indicate you have spoken to a few people regarding this issue.

I will be mailing out a copy of the meter readings taken from your electric meter during this time frame. To determine the usage from day to day, subract the readings, for example, on ******* OPPD read your meter and recieved ***** as the reading, 2 days later we obtained another reading of ***** and the difference was 88 KWH, which is about 44 KWH per day.

Space heaters are the number one reason for a high bill in the winter months. We also spoke to the Landlord regarding the boiler heating source, if this does not keep your apartment warm enough & you have the space heaters running consistantly, the electric bill will increase.

Based off of the information you provided with running the space heaters and the meter readings we have obtained, the electricity was used, therefore the bill will stand.

If you have further questions or concerns, please contact OPPD at ************.

Thank you,

******
Account Supervisor

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is not reasonable to blame space heaters on the high bills for the 3 months in question. The space heaters were used for ************, ************, ************ and ************. If space heaters were the cause, then wouldn't I have received higher bills for 12 months of use instead of just 3 months? Instead of blaming space heater use, it seems to me perhaps somewhere in the billing process some errors were made.

05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1946Business started: 12/01/1946
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jeff Hanson (Manager of Public Information/Community Relations)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Johnston Ms. Kim Barnes (Communications Assistant)Mr. W. Gary Gates (President/CEO)Ms. Carolyn McClean (Executive Office Administrator)
Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial electricity services.

Alternate Business Names
OPPD

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Omaha Public Power District

444 S 16th Street Mall

Omaha, NE 68102-2608

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 444 S 16th Street Mall 

    Omaha, NE 68102-2608(402) 636-3747

  • PO Box 3995 

    Omaha, NE 68103-0995

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Omaha Public Power District is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 636-2000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.