BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/2002

SAC Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

(402) 292-8000View Additional Phone Numbers7148 Towne Center Pkwy, PapillionNE 68046-2125 Send email to SAC Federal Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/2002

BBB has determined that SAC Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SAC Federal Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made a deposit for two checks on **********. The checks where issued by ***********************, my former employer as a settlement. The checks were placed on a seven day hold! They were flag as possible fraud. I don't understand this as I have been with SAC credit union for over six months, and I have not purposefully bounced checks. I understand them being placed on hold, but seven days is too long. I even opened a new CD with them.
Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
Release the funds by Friday. The checks should be clear by then.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, VP
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************
Ms. ****** deposited checks drawn another financial institution. The checks were placed on a hold based on Regulation CC which permits a financial institution to place the hold based on collectability.
The proper hold was placed on Ms. ******** account based on her account status. She was given a significant amount of cash back and other funds were made available immediately in her checking account from this deposit. There was no suspicions that the checks were fraudulent but the standard statement for the hold was printed on her receipt. The statement reads: 7 Day Business Hold with a check hold reason of Doubtful Collectability. This is the statement for the check holds established within the guidelines of the regulation.
I have contacted Ms. ****** and discussed her concerns. I did advise her that, if in the future she needs to deposit a check, she can request assistance from a Branch Manager on the transaction.

06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On *****************, I received a letter from SAC Federal Credit Union that they have received my Opt-In response for Overdraft Courtesy. I was advised today that I do not have overdraft courtesy even though they just charged my account $***** twice last week against $*****. I have an important bill that I was attempting to pay; and I get direct deposit weekly, so I do not understand the issue. I have a copy of this letter in hand, and I believe that it is false advertisement due to the fact that I have been advised more then once at the branch that I do not have Overdraft Courtesy. If this does not exist, then why would the credit union send this letter to me? I am very disappointed.
Product_Or_Service: Overdraft Courtesy

Desired Settlement
I feel that as a courtesy, SAC should refund the $***** ACH fee seeing as they have given false advertisement, and did not support me with any courtesy what so ever. They just made sure that they got a $***** fee.

Business Response
After reviewing ******** account, I can see where the account was turned on for Overdraft Courtesy Pay on *****************, but had 1 field missing to pay negative balances on this account. The process that generates the letters that SAC Federal Credit Union sends to our members was corrected in ******* or *************, because it was misleading to those who didn't have ODC fully enabled.

We will be refunding ******** account $** for the returned payment that occurred on ********, and will have the account corrected so Overdraft Courtesy will work in the future. The transaction for $** was paid last week, and would have resulted in an Overdraft Courtesy Fee. Additionally, there was a $** fee refunded on ******** for $** by SAC's **************** Branch. These changes will be reflected on the account no later than ************, and a receipt will be sent to ****** once the fee has been refunded.

05/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to refund CPI they added to loan when vehicle was insured the whole time and lack of communication regarding those additional charges.
This all started when I left for a deployment ************. Upon returning from my deployment I received a letter in the mail saying my car was going to be repossessed due to lack of missed payments when in fact I was making the payments on time with the correct amount. I went to the bank and it was there that I found out that I owed an additional amount of money for CPI that was added to my loan (which I did not need because my car was insured)I even gave them a declarations pages to prove it. They lost the paperwork and never fixed the problem. It took three time of me sending the declarations page before I talked with their collections department and squared things away. I was partially refunded some of the CPI and not the whole amount so I called once again because my payments still weren't being "satisified" (due to CPI that I supposedly owed) Then again I was refunded even more of the CPI and was told that my payments were back to normal and I just owed my normal car note again. My credit was even fixed and I even received a confirmation email saying so on *********. The night before I received that email, I was speaking to the collections department and was told I owed no additional payments for the CPI but from what I found out ********** is that I have owed them around *** dollars since *******. My problem is why was I told from the collections department that all of the CPI was refunded and I owed them nothing and the very next day I supposedly owed them *** dollars? Due to the lack of communication or a possible refund mistake my credit score has dropped over *** points.

Ever since this has happened to me, I have actually heard MULTIPLE stories of how SAC scams their customers.I have one military friend in particular that had the same problem with SAC adding CPI to his loan. CPI was added to their loan without notice because SAC had lost their insurance paperwork. He found out because he got a call from collections and they responded to him that his paperwork quote on quote "just went away" when he asked why he never received a phone call, email or any kind of notification they say they didnt know. Also when he received his monthly car note the minimum payment was the normal amount so how was he supposed to know that he owed additional money for CPI until he got the call from collections. If they are going to add CPI to peoples loan or monthly bill the minimum payment should be updated so that way credit scores dont get effected.

Desired Settlement
I want to all of the CPI that was added to my loan to be removed and I want the deliquency note taken off of my credit score. I should not be considered deliquent because they made a refund mistake.

SAC should also update minimum payments on monthly bills if CPI is added to avoid confusion. Also, (refering to my friends incident) if insurance paperwork is lost SAC should have the decency to at least call the person before they just tack CPI onto the loan.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *********************
In regards to the friend that ****** ******* mentioned, I will be unable to comment on that due to confidentiality regulations. As of this response I show that all CPI premium has been refunded and that the loan is paid in full. I show that at this time ****** has $****** in her share account. The Credit Bureau has been corrected and there is no delinquency reporting in regards to this loan. I do apologize on behalf of SAC for the confusion and miscommunication that took place in properly verifying that ****** did have the proper insurance in effect. The employee that was handling this account is no longer employed at SAC Federal Credit Union.

05/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SACFCU has failed to honor their repayment agreemnt with me, provide an itemized balance on my account and remove charges they agreed to.
I would liek to start by saying I have been a member of SAC since ****. In ******** I switched my business to another bank. Because of some auto payments that were not updated in time I overdrafted the account. I immediately contacted SAC to work out an agreement to repay $*** a month. In *** I received a call from the collections department who was unaware of the agreement. I spoke with many unfriendly and unhelpful reps of SAC. After many esclations and faxing docs to substaintiate my claim on ******** ****** and her manager agreed to remove the overdraft from my account. I show last payment received in full on ***

Desired Settlement
I have been a member of SAC since ****. In ******** I switched my business to another bank. Due to some lagging auto payments my account over drafted. Immediately I called SAC and they offered a repayment plan in which I honored every month of $*** by the 15th. In ******** I received a call from **** from SAC who was attempting to collect a debt. After many tiresome escalations regurgitating my story because no one had notes to document the account and additional faxed docs from me, ****** SAC finances and her manage agreed to remove $*** of overdraft charges from the account. I show on my records last payment was *****. In ********** when the account had not been restored I followed up with *** (*********) at SAC who stated there was a balance. The next day I received a call from a collection agency. Today when I called, ****, *******, ****** and a request for a manager they forgot to mute their phone and I am deeply saddened and offended by the lack of wiliness and nastiness I overheard "Blah Blah Bla She is confusing and I am not talking to her, ******* from Sac says. I have requested a call back from the manager and not received one. No one will tell me why the account still has a balance, why I was not contacted, why and when it was placed in collection and why the OD charges have not been removed? I am saddened by the lack of organization and deeply disappointed in the way you allow employees to speak to your customers. I am requesting you pull the call from today, an apology would be nice but necessary and amicable resolution in a reasonable timeframe.

Thank You
Sincerely
***** *******

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, SVP/Loan
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *********************
The memeber, ***** *******, had an overdrawn checking account. When the account went negative, the member was given the opportunity to go into a 4 month repayment plan, as opposed to having to bring the account positive by paying the entire amount at once. While in this repayment plan the checking account again went into a negative status. At this time, the account was charged off and sent to a collection agency. The two times that this account went negative were not the result of anything SAC did, but it appears was the result of outside payments pulled by another bank as well as ******* issues. SAC did agree to waive $** in fees and this was done and applied to the charged off account. I show no records of SAC agreeing to waive $*** in fees. When a SAC employee, *******, was explaining the situtation to another employee, ****, in our collection department, she did use "blah, blah blah", rather than explaining all of the details, or maybe using "etc.". This is not the way our employees are to act with our members, no matter what the situtation is or whose fault the problem was. This matter has been addressed with *******.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issues with bad address fees, the bad information on how interest is added to the principal of a loan and the overall cust service of this location.
I have multiple accts. The 4 miner accts I have, for my kids, were chrd bad add fees, no other accts were charged. I changed my add at this location in ********, she said it wasn't done but she would do it now. I filled out the paper. I couldn't see who I was talking to because she wouldn't turn on the camera, she tried to hide and wouldn't even acknowledge I was there even it was obvious she was at the window. She said she would have mmgr review for refund and would call me back next day. I waited for 2 more days and called but had to leave a message because nobody answered. Still no call. Finally after a full week, she called me to tell me her mngr has been crazy busy and hasn't had a chance to review this but she needed my DL#, she forgot to get it a week earlier (evidence that they probably lost my last add change as well). Fed up with the fact that they obviously don't feel that I am a valuable customer, I went to talk to the manager directly, who, once again, was not available. I asked to close my accts. I closed out my juvenile accts but she argued with me about the loan. The total of the loan typically includes the principal and the agreed upon interest for the duration of the loan, both added together then the monthly payment divided into the amount of months agreed upon, that is what I agreed to. The teller argued with me telling me that my total due changed on a daily basis and paying it off 4 months early would not lower the balance as the 4 months of interest wasn't calculated. How can there be a total amount including interest at the beginning of a loan if the interest is being added daily? It's not a variable rate loan, it's constant and the rate didn't change. AND the company automatically renewed the children's certificate without my authorization. The teller told me they sent me something in the mail, obviously I didn't get it because they didn't update my address like they were supposed to in ***. They charged me early withdraw fees for the certificate accounts. I am so frustrated with this organization, their lack of customer care and the fact that just because I don't have tons of money invested with them, they treat me like I don't matter.

Desired Settlement
I request all of the bad address fees refunded. I request the early withdraw fees be refunded. I as that the terms of the loan be reviewed to confirm that I should not have been charged the interest for the next 4 months and as that the amount of interest be refunded. The accounts are closed so they can't apply them back to the account, they would have mail a check, to my correct address, as I will be closing my checking acct as well.

Business Response
Ms. ******* requested a change of address on her account in *********. We verified we did not have the documentation on file reflecting her request. A CD renewal notice was generated but member did not receive due to the bad address on file. SAC Federal Credit Union has sent a check to refund Ms. ******* for the bad address fees and CD early withdrawal fee.

We have left messages on ************* at 10:45 am and ************* at 2:03 p.m. to let Ms. ******* know we have refunded the fees. We are also requesting more details on the additional questions she has regarding her loan.

In response to the camera - it was malfunctioning at the time of the transaction.

***** ******
SVP/Operations
SAC Federal Credit Union

Page 1 of 3
10/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Insurance claim check on Vehicle was applied
to my loan.
My, *********************, received hail damage from the storm on ********. The check I received from my insurance company was made payable to ***** and ***** *******/SAC FCU. I took it to the bank on ******** to have them sign off on it so I could have the hail damage repaired. They advised me that I would need to deposit the check into my savings account and it would be held there until the vehicle was repaired. And they would send payment for the repairs. I was advised by the teller that if there was money remaining that it would need to be applied to the loan. At the end of ****, I decided to refinance my vehicle with ********************** because they were offering a promotion to refinance my ***** which was 2 interest points less than I was paying at
SAC FCU. So, I started the process for the refinance. We closed on the refinance on ********. My banker at ***************** advised me to wait about 1 week before I closed out my savings account at SAC FCU. I went to SAC FCU
at ******************* in ***************** to close my account. There was only $***** in my account. That just did not add up since I had deposited my insurance check in the amount of
$*******. The teller did some research to find out that they had applied the entire check that I had deposited to my loan. How am I to fix the
hail damage on my ***** now??? So, I escalated my
complaint to a Supervisor by the name of ********.
I was not given her last name. The solution I was given by ******** was to have ***************** rewrite the loan and add the $******* to the loan
and then they would reopen my savings account and
hold the money there until repairs on my vehicle had been completed. Why would I trust them to do that since that was supposed to be what happened on ******** when I made my deposit. ******** did state that the teller that completed my transaction on ******** had sent an e-mail requesting that the full amount of my insurance check be applied to my loan. I WAS NEVER INFORMED OF THIS. I found this out when I went to close out my account. This was SAC FCU's mistake! Should they be liable??? Also, why would my receipts have a ************ address on them when my transaction was completed in ******************???

Desired Settlement
I would like to see the $******* returned to me so I can have my ***** fixed. This was their error, not mine or ************************. Is this insurance fraud? They had no right to my insurance check.

Business Response
***** and ***** ******* came to the SAC Branch located at ***************************************** on ******** with the insurance check, and were assisted by *******. Members wished to cash the check to repair the vehicle, and at that time the options were explained to Member that the insurance check could 1) be applied to the loan as a principal payment or 2) be deposited into their share account until the repairs were complete, at which time a statement for work would be provided for payment of repairs and SAC's record of repairs; any excess would be applied to the loan. After discussing the options, the members decided at that time to have the funds applied to the loan, and the check was processed accordingly. The Member ***** *******, did contact ******* ***, Branch Manager, when she was closing her share account. After discussing options, Member advised that ********************** would not re-write the note with a higher balance if the insurance proceeds were removed from the payoff amount.

Consumer Response
From: ***** *******
Sent: Wednesday, ****************** 10:37 PM
To: **** ******
Subject: RE: Case #*********

My rebuttal to reopen this case:

I spoke with ******** *** today. She said she had not seen this complaint.
So, someone @ SAC FCU responded to this complaint that had not been involved in what I was told by ********.


I went to SAC FCU on ******** around 4:30 pm. to have my insurance check signed that I had received for a hail damage claim to my ***************.
*******, the teller, told me that they could not sign the check. I was told that I needed to deposit the check into my savings account until the work was
completed. When the work was complete, SAC FCU would issue a check to the company for the repairs. She, also, stated that any excess would need to
be applied to the loan. OR, if I was not going to fix the hail damage, I could just apply to the loan. Since these were the only choices I was given, I opted to
deposit check into my savings thinking it would be there to repair my ***** when the time came. I did not find out until later, but my check in the amount of
$******** was applied to my loan that same day (********). I was never notified that this action was taken. This is how I found out --- I decided to
refinance my ***** on ******** with **********************. After the refinance was completed, I went to SAC FCU to close out my savings account.
That is when I was told that the check had been applied to my loan. So, now I do NOT have money to make the hail damage repairs to my vehicle. At that
time, I asked to speak with a manager. It was recommended that I talk to ********. She did some research and discovered ******* had sent an e-mail to have another
department apply my insurance money to my loan. I did NOT approve this action. How could I have when I was not notified as to what their plan was???
******** stated this was their mistake and it should have never happened. But it did! Her solution was to have ***************** rewrite the loan. That makes no
sense. I think SAC FCU should make this right with me by reimbursing me the $******** so I can have my ***** repaired. Oh, and just for the record, I was not
behind on my payments. I was CURRENT. This should have never happened!


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because I never agreed to have the insurance check applied to my loan. My full intention was to have my ***** repaired and I stated that when I deposited the money into my savings account. ******** even told me in our conversation on the telephone that the teller
sent an e-mail in error to have the money applied to the loan. She apologized and said this was their mistake. But she gave me no resolution except for
***************** to rewrite the loan. Again, this
was not ************************ error. I think it is time for SAC FCU to step up to the plate!!!
And, NOW, the story changes.

Final Business Response
Why Ms.******* would refinance this auto and have the SAC loan paid off if her intentions were to repair the vehicle does not seem reasonable. She has received benefit of the insurance money by having the payoff reduced by that amount. These were our instructions and there is nothing more SAC can do.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There is a courtesy fee charged in the amount of $** for EACH transaction in the negative.
It is atrocious and absolutely unacceptable that a fee of $** is charged for every transaction following the point at which the account becomes negative. A $** charge for a $* transaction is far from what might be called a fair banking practice, especially from a Credit Union. This issue needs to be resolved by way of a refund for all of the inappropriate fees charged.

Desired Settlement
I will be willing to accept ONE of the charges for $**, but the other THREE charges need to be refunded.

Business Response
SAC's Overdraft Courtesy program has been established to allow our members to overdraw their accounts to allow for processing of payments or to prevent embarrassment from a debit card being denied at a merchant. Our Fees Disclosure states that a $** fee will be assessed on each transactions, which this member has utilized this program occasionally during the past 6 months, which was given to the member when the account was opened in February 2009. Our members are given the option to opt-out of this program if the member wishes by stopping by one of our 23 branches or calling 4***********. If ************ had opted out of this program, the 4 debit card transactions for *********************************, made on September 24th and 25th, would have all been denied, with no fee assessed.

SAC's account disclosure states that we reserve the right to pay these overdrafts and charge a fee for doing so: "OVERDRAFTS. You understand and agree that We may from time to time, and at Our sole discretion, pay certain items in order to cover an overdraft, and charge You a fee for doing so. You further understand that payment of any overdrafts will be made in an order of Our choosing. You hold Us harmless from any and all liability which might otherwise exist if We do not pay an overdraft. If You would like to opt-out, that is, if You would prefer We not pay any share drafts that would overdraw Your share draft Account, You may opt-out by writing to Us at the address in this Agreement or by calling Us at the telephone number shown in this Agreement and informing Us of Your intention to opt-out."


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Embarrassment at point of sale is not an issue. It is literally cheaper to use a credit card and pay that off with interest than use this "COURTESY" program set in place by SAC. It is not right, and it is greedy and crooked. I will be spreading the inappropriate nature of your banking practices, and can assure you that there will be no more business done with this company by us.

07/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The collector denied accepting any payments from me even if I mailed it in because I didn't accept their payment option. The collector harassed me.
I am fully aware that my account is past due on my car note. I called today **** to set up payment arrangement to make my account current within 30 business days. I spoke with SAC's collection manager ****** ****** on the phone. He was very rude. He informed me of repossession which I was fully aware of but told me we could make a deal if I paid *** to cancel repo fees. I told him that I was only making my payments towards my loan only. Then he hung up on me after talking over me after I tried to set up weekly payments. Then he called me back staying I would have to pay *** toward repo fees first before he would accept any other payment from me. He also stated that he would mail my payment back to me if I tried to mail it in. On the letter they sent me it states that *** is the fee to cancel repo notice if the car is not repossessed. He lied telling me I had to pay *** before he could even accept a payment from me for my loan. I also requested a copy of my agreement which he at first told me no until I stated that it's in their disclosures that it's illegal to deny my request for a copy. Also he never told me the call was being recorded which I hope it was because he is a collector. He called me back and never re verified any of my information to even ensure he was legally speaking to me. He kept harrsdding

Desired Settlement
Taking off repossession notice for lying about how much I had to pay for it because that is illegal & giving me 30 days to pay it current since he told me he would deny ANY payment I mailed to the credit union.

Business Response
I listened to both calls made by Mr. ****** to our member, ****** ********. Ms. ********* auto loan with SAC Federal Credit Union is 4 payments past due and will be 5 with ****** payment. Ms. ******** has failed to answer written notices or return phone calls to make arrangements on her loan. She only contacted Mr. ****** at this time because whe became aware that SAC had a repossession order out on out collateral. In the first call Mr. ****** informed Ms. ******** that we cannot accept her offer to pay $*** per week as at that rate it would take several years to bring her loan current. We will do what we can to help out members who are behind on their loan obligation, but the member has to stay in contact with us and be willing to give us the necessary information that shows that the arrangements can be kept. Ms. ******** during both calls refused to give Mr. ****** valid information as to where she worked and who her new employer was. She was only told the repossession costs (so far) and that was on the second call, when Mr. ****** advisied her that she would have to pay $*** to cover those costs and then make arrangements to bring her account current that we could accept. Ms. ******** during the second phone call told Mr. ******..."good luck finding my car". Her account is in a serious delinquent status and at this point SAC will continue with the repossession order and will not accept any arrangements that do not bring her account completely current. This loan is 4 months past dure and will be 5 past due and Ms. ******** continues to be uncooperative. This loan is in default and SAC is excersing its' legal right to obtain our collateral and hold the member liable for any collection costs and deficiency balance that may exist once the collateral is sold.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If you listen to both calls they left out a lot of false information that was giving to me. I did not only call because I knew my car was out for repossession, but also I was trying to pay my loan current within 30 days not years. On the call I specifically stated that I would make at least *** a week and some weeks I would make more then that. I said some weeks I may pay *** or more but the ultimate goal was 30 days not YEARS. This man talked over me and threatened to send my payments back through the mail if I tried to mail them in, so why would I feel comfortable making any payment now if you threatened to send it back to me because I could not pay over the phone the amount asked? He also quoted me 3 different prices to call off repossession. I started to think he was coming up with random amounts. He went from ***, *** and when I seen the actual letter it said ***. Also I'm not obligated to tell him where I work especially after his rudeness made me feel uncomfortable. I am trying to resolve this within 30 days. It's not like I don't want to catch up, but I explained to him that I have been out of work and money. All I asked for was 30 days not years. He denied my request for a copy of my agreement which is wrong under their own disclosures and when I brought that up he asked me "where did I read that at"... He finally emailed it once he found out he can't deny my request. Also he sent me very harrassing emails when I stated I know my right.. He replied "I didn't know you were an attorney and a bartender" ... That was very offensive to me. Also when he called back he failed to verify my information. The calls were also being recorded which states that from the response because the calls were listened to. Mr. ****** NEVER informed me that the calls we're being recorded or even attempted to verify my information to see if he was legally speaking to me. Bad business practices and I'm pretty sure the mini miranda is required for all collections, so if it is I could technically sue SAC for not stating it. Overall I tried to make payments to catch my loan up and I'm still trying to, but if he threatened to send my payments back to me and will not accept my payments over the phone, then how would I pay to make my car current? I am very angry about how this is playing out when it could easily be resolved in 30 days not years. I've been threatened & harassed. Also I've been given false information to obtain a payment when I was willingly trying to make payments.

02/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid off auto loan and didn't receive title for vehicle
Had an auto loan with SAC Federal Credit Union acct#******* paid off early on ******* received a title on ******* to the wrong vehicle not in my name I called SAC they didn't seem to care. The told me they would call me back, I waited for over an hour before they finally called back and informed me that they simply can't find it and I will have to wait until they can get a duplicate title.
When I first got this loan (refinanced, was with another bank) SAC took so long to pay the other bank off that my credit was hit with a late payment, thus damaging my credit unnecessarily.
I have had many problems with SAC and the only reason I have stuck with them to this point was because I had the loan through them and I felt trapped.

Desired Settlement
I want the original title to my vehicle. A duplicate title does not reflect well if I try to sell it.

Also, I am ABSOLUTELY SHOCKED that SACFCU has an A+ BBB rating when there are so many complaints about them every where else.

Business Response
Mr. ****** closed his auto refinance loan with SAC on *********. The payoff check was sent to his bank and cleared our account within 10 days of closing. A person's credit is not effected unless a payment is in fact 30 days or more past due, so unless his loan at that bank was past due prior to his refinance, this should have had no adverse effect on his credit. The original title did get lost and SAC requested a duplicate title. Sac did unfortunately mail him the wrong title. Today we have contacted our member and made arrangements to get him the duplicate title and to get the incorrect title from him. We have explained to him that having a duplicate title does not in any way anversely effect him when he goes to trade or sell his vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This matter is not resolved, my original desired resolution was to have my original title to my vehicle and had to settle for a duplicate. I have lost all confidence in SAC Federal Credit union, I personally drove to a branch location to pick up my duplicate title for fear that if it was mailed I would not have received the duplicate title in another mix up.

Final Business Response
Sac is responsible for mailing Mr. ****** the wrong title. This was human error and we do apologize for the inconvenience that this caused. A duplicate title is fine when one goes to sell or trade their vehicle. When we were unable to locate the original title, we did order a duplicate and upon receipt made arrangements with our member to get him the title. How ever long the state says it takes to get a duplicate is out of our control. The member should now be in possession of the title and this matter should be resolved.

04/11/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Real Estate Services, Retirement Planning Service, Mortgage Brokers, Real Estate Loans, Loans, Investment Advisory Service, Financing, Financial Planning Consultants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/06/1997Business started: 01/01/1946
Type of Entity

Local Branch or Office

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Gail DeBoer (President)Ms. Jackie Boryca (Vice President)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Real Estate Services, Retirement Planning Service, Mortgage Brokers, Real Estate Loans, Loans, Investment Advisory Service, Financing, Financial Planning Consultants

Products & Services

This company offers full service personal & business financial services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SAC Federal Credit Union

7148 Towne Center Pkwy

Papillion, NE 68046-2125

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SAC Federal Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (402) 514-4980
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.