BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/06/1996

Liberty First Credit Union

Find a Location

(402) 465-1000501 N 46th St, LincolnNE 68503-3718View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/06/1996

BBB has determined that Liberty First Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Liberty First Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Liberty First Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Unpredictable Online Bill Pay Withdrawals
I use LFCUs online bill pay service to pay all of my regular monthly bills. My husband is paid on the 1st and 15th of the month, so on these days, I have recurring online transfers schedule to automatically transfer a fixed amount from his individual account to our joint bill pay account. I then have bill payments scheduled to be withdrawn on the 2nd and 16th of the month to allow time for that transfer to occur prior to the bill pay funds being withdrawn.
Usually this process is fine. However, in *************, the 2nd and 16th of the month fell on Saturdays. Without any advance notice to me, my reoccurring monthly payments were made on the 1st and 15th instead of 2nd and 16th as they are scheduled to be. The funds were withdrawn from our joint account before the funds from my husband's individual account were deposited. This resulted in over draft fees against our joint account, a block on my online bill pay service, and a delay in some of my bills being paid.

This is the most severe, but only one of several issues I have with LFCU's online bill pay service. Additionally, I cannot look ahead to future payments beyond the 13 payments presented in the "Pending Payments" section of the site. (For example, I can schedule a payment for **** of next year, but once I submit that payment, I cannot pull it up again to view or cancel it until it is one of the next 13 payments to be made.) I cannot edit a pending payment, only cancel it. (So when LFCU's system changes my payment date to the 15th, instead of the 16th, I cannot manually change it to the 18th or later without canceling the payment and setting up a new reoccurring payment to take place on the 18th.
Further, when attempted to call and seek resolution to these issues, when I finally reached someone via the toll-free 855 number, as the ************ number was not working; I was disconnected mid-sentence from their IT person who was supposed to help me.
I continue, from the day they implemented their new online system, to be disappointed by the limitation of features and functionality. I'm tire of having to manage the quirks in their system.

Desired Settlement
I want my overdraft fee refunded and the issue of premature funds withdrawal remedied immediately.

Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to respond to this complaint as we are concerned with our member's experiences and feedback.

Liberty First visited with this member on ********** about the online bill pay issue that she was experiencing. At that time it was explained to the member by our IT department that on non-processing days (weekends and Holidays) the funds are taken from the account on the day prior to ensure that the funds get to the payee on or before the due date rather than reflecting a late payment for the member with the payee. It is important to note that we offer this information to our bill pay participants during the process of bill payment in the form of a "learn more" button adjacent to the date to schedule payments when setting up a bill payment. We do not have the ability to change the manner in which items are remitted.

As we understood our member's initial confusion with the process, we took steps to ensure that she wasn't punitively impacted by the occurrence. All overdraft fees were waived on the member's account the day she called. Any fees from the occurrence on ************* were refunded on ********. At that time, the member was very appreciative of the assistance and we were under the understanding the member was happy with the resolution and understood the how Liberty First's Online Bill Pay process functioned.

Liberty First has many options for advanced notification and alerts that allow our members to know exactly when their bill pay items will occur and this was discussed with the member during the same phone call. At that time the member indicated that she didn't want the notifications and, therefore, turned them off as much as possible.

We explained to the member that there are several ways for our participants to manage bill payment, including the timing of the payments if they desire results different form our standard process. Some of the options include: pending and scheduled bill pay payments can be edited any time prior to the payment being sent by our bill pay provider, including the due date (whether it is a one-time transaction or recurring payment). The payment can also be edited on the day it is scheduled until Liberty First's third party vendor receives payment and the payment in the member's bill pay system shows "in-process".

The next payment to a payee is listed under the payee within the bill pay section of the web site as well as in the pending payment section. If recurring payments are scheduled, only the next one due will be displayed for editing in the pending payments section however all payees that are set up on recurring payments say "autopay" under the payee name and that recurring payment can be edited there no matter how far out the scheduled payment date is. There is a simple way to edit the scheduled payment to change the date without cancelling the existing scheduled payment and setting up a new one by clicking on the autopay button for the payee.

Liberty First was not and is not aware of any phone issues on the day the member called and Liberty First visited with her about the bill pay issues they were experiencing.

Liberty First always encourages members to call or stop by anytime they have a question or concern on their accounts, services or the credit union in general.

**** ********
Liberty First Credit Union

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Real Estate Services, Leasing Service, Business Consultants, Retirement Planning Service, Mortgage Brokers, Real Estate Loans, Loans, Investment Advisory Service, Financing, Financial Planning Consultants, Credit Cards & Plans

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/06/1996Business started: 01/01/1935
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Frank Wilbur (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Anderson (Vice President of Operations)Mr. Kevin Frenzel (Vice President of Lending)Mr. Blake Nelson (56th St Branch Manager)Ms Angie Schreiner (Marketing VP)Ms. Tami Soares (27th St Branch Manager)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Real Estate Services, Leasing Service, Business Consultants, Retirement Planning Service, Mortgage Brokers, Real Estate Loans, Loans, Investment Advisory Service, Financing, Financial Planning Consultants, Credit Cards & Plans

Products & Services

This credit union offers lending, savings, checking and retirement accounts, credit and debit cards and mortgages services to consumers who live, work, worship or attend school in Lancaster County.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Liberty First Credit Union

501 N 46th St

Lincoln, NE 68503-3718

To | From


5 Locations

  • 501 N 46th St 

    Lincoln, NE 68503-3718(402) 465-1000

  • 5101 N 27th St 

    Lincoln, NE 68521-1199(402) 465-1150

  • 6001 S 56th St 

    Lincoln, NE 68516-3385(402) 465-1100

  • N 84th & Lexington Ave 

    Lincoln, NE 68505(402) 465-1190

  • 3531 Progressive Rd # 103 

    Seward, NE 68434-7652(402) 646-9142

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Liberty First Credit Union is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Credit Unions


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.