BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2001

American Payment Systems

Find a Location

(402) 502-9985View Additional Phone Numbers14222 Hillsdale Cir, OmahaNE 68137-5557View Additional Email Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2001

BBB has determined that American Payment Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Payment Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Payment Systems

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We do NOT have any business with American Payment Systems. However, on *****, American Payment tried to withdraw $******* from our bank account.


Our bank is in the process of reversing the charges. Since we have no dealings with American Payment Systems, the withdrawal of funds from our bank account is deceptive and fraudulent. We intend to contact the regulating agency.

Desired Settlement
American Payment Systems should refund the $******** if our bank is unsuccessful in reversing the transaction.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** - Executive Assist
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******************************
*******,

I am very sorry that this has happened to you and I wish you every luck in resolving the matter, however I do believe that you unfortunately have the wrong APS. There is another company out there with the same name that we are not in any way affiliated with and are unsure as to the nature of their business. We are commonly mistook for them. If you have never owned a business and accepted credit card payments using our processing, there is no way that we would have your information. We do not show up on peoples bank statements as American Payment Systems, but instead "************" and also "*************" (BBB, please edit this if posted publicly to not include this banking information to protect our merchants from fraudulent companies that try to mimic non-fraudulent companies). I truly am very sorry that this has happened to you, but unfortunately we cannot help you because we are not the ones that withdrew the funds from your account. If by chance you have a withdrawal from the above mentioned names, please send us a copy of your bank statement with your personal information crossed out (leaving your name visible) and on your bank's letterhead, and we will be glad to very quickly resolve the issue. I apologize for any confusion and wish you the best of luck in resolving the matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Credit Card - Merchant Services, Point of Sale Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/21/2001Business started: 05/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2001, NE

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jim Barnes (Vice President)
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Credit Card - Merchant Services, Point of Sale Systems

Products & Services

This company offers merchant debit and credit card processing services, gift and loyalty card programs, check guarantee, recurring billing, merchant cash advance, as well as point of sale equipment & supplies. APS is also home to the Pinpoint Card. They service throughout the Nebraska, SW Iowa, South Dakota and Kansas state areas.

Alternate Business Names
APS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Payment Systems

14222 Hillsdale Cir

Omaha, NE 68137-5557

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Payment Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 692-5285
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Card Processing Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.