BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2007

Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.

(402) 391-3933View Additional Phone Numbers4005 S 148th St, OmahaNE 68137-5561 Send email to Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2007

BBB has determined that Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues29
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 34

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (34)BBB Closure Definitions
12/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid amount required in collections w/promise of email that it was paid in full and update my credit by **** of next month, 2 calls later and not done
Saw the collection on ************ and called, paid entire amount with a promise that they would send me an email that it was paid in full and update my credit on the **** of the next month. I have contacted them twice and neither have been done and it has been almost 2 months.

Desired Settlement
update the credit bureau that it has been paid in full!!!!!

Business Response
Ms. *****:

I am responding to your complaint, to follow up on the converastion you had with ********* on *************.

As she had informed you we notified the credit bureaus on ************* that the account was paid in full.

If you need any further information you may contact me direct at ************.

Sincerley,

***********

09/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Stop calling me! ************
I keep receiving collections calls for someone that owned my cell phone more than 7 years ago. I have asked Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. to stop calling me twice already and I continue to receive calls. I want them to stop. They are violating the law continuing to call after I have told them to stop and that they have the wrong number! Please make it stop! They are violating federal law.

Desired Settlement
To make the calls stop

Business Response
Mr ******,

I have blocked the phone number of ************ from being called by our dialing system.

I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused.

***** *****

08/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They call here weekly for 4 1/2 years looking for ****** ********. I have her old phone number so please find ****** ************* newest phone #.
Merchant Credit @************ calls here several times a week for the past 4 1/2 years with a recording looking for ****** ********. I have actually gotten hold of live callers and told them that I am NOT ****** ********. I don't know her, I only have her old phone number so please find ****** ********** newest phone number. Our 4 1/2 years with this phone number has been absolute **** and inconvenience.

Desired Settlement
For them to stop calling here for ****** ********.
We should not be getting harrassed for someone else's non-payment of her bills. We NEED them to stop harassing us

Business Response
Mr *****,

I have blocked your number of ************ fron our dialing system. I apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you.

You indicated that you have been receiving calls for another person for 4 1/2 years. We did not receive the file containing your phone number until ****************. But Merchants Credit Adjusters will no longer call the number.

***** *****

07/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I first started getting calls from this company weeks ago. When I am not hung up on, I was told they are a customer service company.
I first started getting calls from this company weeks ago. I do no normally answer calls from unknown numbers and while I am at work. I called the number back after several missed calls in a short amount of time. I was immediately asked for my phone number, this company called me. The lady was **** when I told her I was not going to give her my number and told me that I was being uncooperative and she is not allowed to release private information. I wanted to know who it is calling me several times a day, not leaving a message for a call back. She told her the company does several things like customer service. Again, what do they do? I ended up getting hung up on. Since then the same number continues to call, I had to look the number up on here to find what the company is. I have not even received anything via mail. I have called the number back and answered the phone several times and every single time, I am getting hung up on before I can find out any information. Any further contact needs to be done via mail. I have no clue why I am getting contacted and if I will not answer the phone to be asked for personal information and not know what this is concerning. Again, any further contact needs to be done via mail.

Desired Settlement
Send me what you are contacting me for. I am receiving phone calls and being hung up continiously. You are a collection agency according to this website, and I was told you do customer service the one time I was able to talk to someone on the phone. She was **** and ************* and still I got hung up on. You call more than 3 times a day most days and hang up when I answer or call back. If it is a collection issue, send me an itemized statement in the mail!

Business Response
********,

I am sorry you had a bad experience when you contacted Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. I understand why you are not comfortable when asked for personal information. Our collection industry is guided by many state and federal laws.

These regulation stress that we must be certain we are speaking with the correct party when we disclose information regarding an individuals debt.

This identification process can not be skipped.

An itemized statement of your accounts has been mailed to your address. I have blocked the phone numbers on the accounts in our offic for you and MCA will not be making calls on these accounts.

If you wish to discuss your accounts, you may reach me direct at ************. I will still need to verify your identity at that time.

Sincerely,

***********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response, but it is not just when I contacted you it was when you contacted me as well. I may have been more inclined to give personal information had I not been told that your company does alot of stuff like "customer service". I understand you need to make sure who you are talking to is the right person but your rep did not have to be so ****.

Im sure with all the state and federal regulations you must follow, having adequate phone systems must be one of them. This is the most concerning as how do you expect to get ahold of anyone or anyone get ahold of you.

I will be looking for the statement in the mail. Thank you for taking my number off the list, I will have your number stored should I need to disguss anything.

06/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The automated system calls twice a day, every day. When I'm able to answer it's usually a dead line. When I ask them to use mail instead they refuse.
There automated system calls me each and every day at a random time and then about 30 minutes later. They have done this for months if not a solid year. Usually I am at work and simply cannot take calls so I shut my ringer off but keep my phone on for emergencies. The system Always leaves a blank message which has filled my voice-mail memory and made me miss important messages on a few occasions.
When I have been able to answer, I say Hello and nothing is returned from the other end. No message, no sound, nothing. I wait up to 30 seconds then hang up. Thats what happened today, yet again. ********* at 10:07 Am. I called back, often I don't have time to or I'll be stuck on hold for minutes, when I can't be caught on the phone at work. This time I got right through and asked the person to take me off the call list, I was scared to give out any information as I have been the victim of fraudulent activity in the past. She asked my phone number, which I gave her. She asked my name, which I eventually agreed that I was that person she spoke of and again tried to ask to get something in the mail and not be called. She pushed some disclaimer on me about the call being recorded, fine, whatever. She accused me of owing money, which would be fine if I knew this was a real company and saw something in writing. I continued asking to be taken off the call list and be sent something in writing, but she told me that they don't keep sending things out in the mail. I said, I haven't received anything in the mail. She tried pushing for my address, which I would not give. I stated I had problems with someone trying to defraud me before and wouldn't give her that. Then I hung up.

I have not moved recently and every company I have ever dealt with, has my correct address and phone number. If this is a real company (I didn't think so until just now, looking it up on BBB), and if this company is trying to contact me (Not someone posing as the company for fraudulent reasons), then they should have my address much as they do my phone number. And I NEED to see something in writing. No excuses, no other way. People can't just go calling people and telling them to pay but not tell them why or for what.

This company needs to pull and copy the recording as I have this time and a couple of times in the past, asked not to be called.

Desired Settlement
I want an apology and to stop being harassed by phone. I've already had problems at work because of this and asked them to stop calling but they wont.

The employee I talked to this morning really needs to understand, if someone asks to not be called or to get something in writing, you don't tell them NO.

If I do owe money and get something in writing to prove such a thing, at this point I don't even want to deal with this rude company who has harassed me for so long then talked to me like a common criminal, in which case, I'll run anything I receive through my lawyer first. Thank you.

Business Response
Dear Mr. *********,

I would like to apologize for the way you were treated by one of my agents on ********. I personally have listened to that call and was taken back by treatment you received. Ms. ***** has received and will continue to receive coaching to prevent a repeat of the incident with any consumer. I have also explained to her what actions I may be forced to take if the behavior continues.

I am not certain as to why we are having issues accepting inbound call and have asked our IT team to investigate that issue.

I have blocked your phone number (************ from receiving any more calls from MCA.

I mailed a list of accounts here at our office to ********************. You should be receiving that correspondence soon.

If you should have any further questions or concerns please call me direct at ************.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Page 1 of 7
02/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told by a couple of coworkers at my job that a guy had called there and left a message on the general voicemail that he was looking to see if I still worked there. I have now secured a copy of it. He Left on the voicemail with my full name, address, and full social security number. Now I am afraid that I have my social security number for anyone's personal use. There was not a voice mail on my phone line which is weird since I work there. I have never received a voice mail on my personal cell phone to give them a call either. If they would of called me I would of call them back. I actually pay for an app on my phone that tracks all my voicemails and saves them that I can read.

Desired Settlement
This company has broke several collection federal laws. I work in this department so I am well aware of the laws in this. This company needs to be reprimanded for this and something needs to be done. Maybe they should go far enough and settle with me.

Business Response
Dear Ms ****.

Please accept my apology for our company disclosing you personal information. I have personally listened to the message left by Mr. *******. He had asked to verify employment on yourself and the call was transferred to a voicemail. The voicemail stated it belonged to a ****** ******, Manager of ********************.
Your your full social security number was left along with your name. Your address was not included.

I have started the process to all accounts associatd with this call removed from the credit bureaus.

If you desire further information or will to discuss resolving the open accounts, please contact *** ******** at ************.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Also along with this I would like the documentation for them to prove that these bills belong to me. If they do I want a responsible amount that I can afford to pay every month till paid in full.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. ****:

I have mailed itemized statements to your address today.

Please review the items. You may call myself at ************ or Mr ******** at ************ to ask questions or establish a payment plan.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have look over the bills that you have sent. The only bills that are mine that you have proof of are :
******
******
******
******
******
******
******
Which total to be $*******. Due to my income I will only be able to make $****** monthly.

03/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues
01/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Billing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1954Business started: 01/01/1919New Owner Date: 05/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1974, NE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Truckenbrod (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Evans (Compliance Manager)
Business Category

Collection Agencies, Billing Service

Products & Services

This company is a collection agency that also offers billing services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.

4005 S 148th St

Omaha, NE 68137-5561

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 584-9348
  • (402) 201-2839
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Collection Agencies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.