BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2007

Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.

(402) 391-3933View Additional Phone Numbers4005 S 148th St, OmahaNE 68137-5561

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2007

BBB has determined that Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 31 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues11
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service19
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 31

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (31)
08/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They call here weekly for 4 1/2 years looking for ****** ********. I have her old phone number so please find ****** ************* newest phone #.
Merchant Credit @************ calls here several times a week for the past 4 1/2 years with a recording looking for ****** ********. I have actually gotten hold of live callers and told them that I am NOT ****** ********. I don't know her, I only have her old phone number so please find ****** ********** newest phone number. Our 4 1/2 years with this phone number has been absolute **** and inconvenience.

Desired Settlement
For them to stop calling here for ****** ********.
We should not be getting harrassed for someone else's non-payment of her bills. We NEED them to stop harassing us

Business Response
Mr *****,

I have blocked your number of ************ fron our dialing system. I apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you.

You indicated that you have been receiving calls for another person for 4 1/2 years. We did not receive the file containing your phone number until ****************. But Merchants Credit Adjusters will no longer call the number.

***** *****

07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I first started getting calls from this company weeks ago. When I am not hung up on, I was told they are a customer service company.
I first started getting calls from this company weeks ago. I do no normally answer calls from unknown numbers and while I am at work. I called the number back after several missed calls in a short amount of time. I was immediately asked for my phone number, this company called me. The lady was **** when I told her I was not going to give her my number and told me that I was being uncooperative and she is not allowed to release private information. I wanted to know who it is calling me several times a day, not leaving a message for a call back. She told her the company does several things like customer service. Again, what do they do? I ended up getting hung up on. Since then the same number continues to call, I had to look the number up on here to find what the company is. I have not even received anything via mail. I have called the number back and answered the phone several times and every single time, I am getting hung up on before I can find out any information. Any further contact needs to be done via mail. I have no clue why I am getting contacted and if I will not answer the phone to be asked for personal information and not know what this is concerning. Again, any further contact needs to be done via mail.

Desired Settlement
Send me what you are contacting me for. I am receiving phone calls and being hung up continiously. You are a collection agency according to this website, and I was told you do customer service the one time I was able to talk to someone on the phone. She was **** and ************* and still I got hung up on. You call more than 3 times a day most days and hang up when I answer or call back. If it is a collection issue, send me an itemized statement in the mail!

Business Response
********,

I am sorry you had a bad experience when you contacted Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. I understand why you are not comfortable when asked for personal information. Our collection industry is guided by many state and federal laws.

These regulation stress that we must be certain we are speaking with the correct party when we disclose information regarding an individuals debt.

This identification process can not be skipped.

An itemized statement of your accounts has been mailed to your address. I have blocked the phone numbers on the accounts in our offic for you and MCA will not be making calls on these accounts.

If you wish to discuss your accounts, you may reach me direct at ************. I will still need to verify your identity at that time.

Sincerely,

***********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response, but it is not just when I contacted you it was when you contacted me as well. I may have been more inclined to give personal information had I not been told that your company does alot of stuff like "customer service". I understand you need to make sure who you are talking to is the right person but your rep did not have to be so ****.

Im sure with all the state and federal regulations you must follow, having adequate phone systems must be one of them. This is the most concerning as how do you expect to get ahold of anyone or anyone get ahold of you.

I will be looking for the statement in the mail. Thank you for taking my number off the list, I will have your number stored should I need to disguss anything.

06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collection information submitted to Credit Reporting Agencies by Merchant Credit Adjusters has not been properly verified with the service provider.
Merchant Credit Adjusters continues to report 12 unpaid medical bills dating back to **** on my credit report. I contacted the medical services provider and was told that they have no record of these bills. These bills were settled through collaboration with a representative in the billing department for the medical service provider. The representative assured me that he would send updates to Merchant Credit Adjusters.

After reviewing my credit report on ************ I disputed all of the bills listed under Merchant Credit Adjusters. Within a little over 24 hours, one of the credit reporting agencies sent the results from the dispute which stated that Merchant Credit Adjusters had verified that the information reported was fact correct. I was simply amazed that all of the information could be verified within such a short timeframe and and that I could receive the results on Sunday, ************. Per the instructions on the dispute results report, I sent written correspondence to Merchant Credit Adjusters requesting verification for each item listed on the report. The address that Merchant Credit Adjusters has provided to the credit reporting agencies is incorrect in that my correspondence was returned "Undeliverable".

Conclusion: It is very clear to me that Merchant Credit Ajdusters has challenges in reporting correct information on my credit report, especially since they have challenges in reporting correct information about their company.

Desired Settlement
Merchants Credit Adjusters should immediately remove all information from my credit reports with all 3 credit reporting agencies.

Business Response
Ms. *******,

This complaint seems to be in the same vein as the complaint you made earlier to the CFPB. I have included our response below.

Please read the section where I have included our client telephone numbers. I know you have called them previously. But did you inform the persons you spoke with the dates of service of the items in question. Due to the age of the accounts, they may not be readily available to the person(s) you spoke with.

If you have any further questions, please contact me direct at ************.

***** *****



**:The hospital and I worked out payment arrangements and settled the debt. However Merchant's Credit Adjusters, **********, has continued to report these items as being unpaid. I spoke with the hospital 's Credit. Further Merchant's Credit filed civil suit against me for paid accounts.


MCA Response: The ************************* accounts were not paid. Our client, *************************, provided Ms. ******* an **% discount for charity care on her accounts on *************. They have not received a payment on their three accounts listed here at Merchants Credit Adjusters after that reduction was made. Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc obtains approval from our clients prior to filing suit. It was on those authorized and approved balances that Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. included in the law suit with the authorization of our clients.

Acct # Date of Service Original Acct Balance Balance After Reduction *Current (********)
*********** ******** $******** $****** $******

********** ******** $****** $****** $******

********** ******** $****** $****** $******

*Does not include court cost of $******

**: Desired resolution:
All outstanding balances reported by Merchant's Credit Adjusters , **********should be immediately removed from all 3 credit reporting agencies. Further, I think all collection agencies need to be monitored more closely. They are notorious for keeping inacurate records. And, they can never provide original contractual information to prove the validity of the debts they are attempting to collect.


MCA Response : Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc has not reported the **************** accounts in question here to the Credit Bureaus since *************. The ********************* (DOS: **********); *************c (DOS:**********); ********************** (DOS: **********) and ************************* (DOS: **********) we have not reported since ************* due to the age of the accounts.
Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. does not file suits on any account without express permission of our client on an individual account basis.

I have listed our clients' telephone numbers for you Ms. ******* so you may call and verify the balances. It will be important that you provide the dates of service to them due to age of the accounts. I have attached a listing of balances we still show outstanding.

************************* ************
********************** ************
************** ************
************************* ************
************* ************
********************* ************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Merchant Credit Adjusters is reporting information regarding these accouts on my credit report. The credit reporting agency is reporting the information as verified and correct because it is their position that the information from the creditor/collection agency is correct. Therefore, it is not my responsibility to verify informtion that has already been deemed to be verified by the creditor/colletion agency and the credit reporting agnecy.

Therefore, it is Merchant Credit Adjuster's responsibility to verify that they are passing on correct information to the credit reporting agencies as this information affects my creditworthiness adversely or otherwise.

03/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Numerous unsolicited phone calls received from the number ************ to my work number (************).
I have received over 50 calls in the last two weeks from Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. to my work number at the ****************** - often 2 or more calls per day. These are unsolicited calls. Only one time did I speak with someone who was looking for **** ********, who no longer works with the ******************. (In fact, I explained on ********** that she sadly passed away at the end of ************.)

Desired Settlement
Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. needs to take my work number (************) off their contact list so that the ****************** receives no further contact from them.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ****;


I have taken the steps necessary to block/prevent phone calls be generated to ************.

We had previously attempted to block the number but were not successful. For this error I apologize.

If you are aware of any secondary number that may roll over to the ************ number please give me a call at ************ and will block those numbers as well.

Sincerely,


***** *****

02/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I asked for written documents via mail about this debt and I have not received anything in the mail.
In the 1st week in ******* I asked for written documents about the debt. I never recieved anything the 2nd week in ******* I recieved 2-3 call about payment when I asked where is the documents I was suppose to receive in the mail the respone from a rep named ***** was we dont control the mail. The 3rd week in ******* ***** called again and I asked to speak to her Sup which she denied me at first until I continued to ask,spoke to her Sup came to an agreement. The 4th week in ******* I received 2-3 calls from them when I answered no one was on the line. Today ****** ***** calls me at my place of employment harrassing me about the debt. I do not want to be contacted by phone from this company again. The agent ***** is rude and has no customer service skills at all. In the future if contact is needed they should do it via email. I feel like I am being harrassed by the company MCA over a debt that is over 9yrs old. I am paying what I can afford at this time.

Desired Settlement
To stop calling my home phone and work phone. I feel the agent ***** needs to go through customer service training again or let go.

Business Response
Ms ******:

I am ***** *****, the Compliance Director here at Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. I have reviewed your accounts listed here at MCA and listened to the calls of your conversations with my agents.

I am in agreement with you that the tone of speech ***** used was in appropriate. She did come across as rude and not helpful. I have reminded her personally during a training seminar, that while our duty to our clients is to collect the money owed to them by their customers; we are to treat those customer with dignity and respect.

It is MCA'a policy that if a caller ask for a supervisor or manager, that call is to be transferred to the manager or a message taken. I have reiterated that message to our entire staff.

I have ordered a list of all accounts we have listed for you here. You should be receiving the letter in the next day or so. If you do not receive the letter, please contact me directly at ************.

I have blocked your phone numbers from being called by my agent. If a new account should be placed by one of our clients, you may receive a phone call regarding that account.

As of today you had four accounts listed with us. Two were listed in **** and two listed in September ****. All four have a balance remaining. As stated before we will not make phone calls in regards to the four accounts, but the balances of each is still owed to our client.

If you have any further questions or concerns, you may contact me directly at ************.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Page 1 of 2
11/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I moved addresses from a clinic, was never billed the final bill. Was sent to collections. This was paid in full.
On *************, Merchant Credit Adjusters reported to TransUnion an amount I owed of $*** from *******************. ******* never billed me to my address, and instead just reported to MCA. On ***************** MCA reported another hit to my TransUnion of $***. Whatever I owed was paid completely in full.

Desired Settlement
I would like Merchant Credit Adjusters to clear everything from the credit bureaus.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ****,

I have reviewed the accounts that were placed with our company for collections. We had received two accounts from ******************* for $******. The dates of service were ******** and ***********. Our records reflect that both accounts were paid in full on ************. We reported the accounts as paid in full to the credit reporting agencies on *************.

I will put in the request to have the items deleted from your Transunion report as you state you moved and did not receive a billing notice from our client.

I am not certain how quickly Transunion will act on the account, but the request for deletion will be submitted by **********.


Sincerely,

***** *****
************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for acting on this. Will the same be done to Experian/Equifax if necessary?

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned a saxophone bought on approval on ******* and returned it *******.I have not received my money ($*******despite verbal promise from owner.
Purchase was a ************** Sax.Sent back *** Tracking****************** I have never received a refund of $*******Purchased on approval ****** Retuned *******. I have previously spent about #********* on 3 saxophones from ***** ***** of *************.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: **********

Desired Settlement
Refund of $*******

Business Response
We are unable to locate an account in our office for Mr ***** with information provided.

Is he certain his account has been placed to MCA out of ******** for collections.

In reading his complaint, I am not aware of a musical instrument company we serve.



04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to complain, yet again, about Merchant Credit Adjusters in *********. They keep putting false information on my credit report. I have health insurance and the supposed Hospital that the company is reporting that I have an account with has no record of myself owing a bill. When I asked the company of where these bills took place I was informed that I was seen at a hospital and at a pediatricians office for that matter. I am ** years old and have not seen a pediatrician for quite some time and to ass to this, they also reported to me that I was seen in a city i have not lived in for well over a year. This accounts are false and I am sick of agencies reporting falsely. Please correct this matter immediately.

Desired Settlement
I would like the collections that are reported to my credit report removed immediately.I would also like some sort of action taken against this company for repeatedly putting false accounts onto my credit report.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ********:


As you state in your complaint you are not aware of the charges and state they are false. I have started the process to have the accounts deleted from you credit record. Our clients stated the pediatric charges were for a ****** and an *****. If you are not aware of these children you may have been a victim of identity theft and may want to take measures to protect yourself if someone else is using your information to obtain care.


Also in response to your complaint I have mailed copies of the itemization statements that our clients have provided for us. I have mailed the items as they contain private information.

Our collection efforts have ceased on these accounts. We will also notify our clients of the possible identity theft concerns.

In the future,when you call a provider to inquiry if an account exist, make certain to inform the service representative the account may be collections. Many of our clients utilize a separate accounting system once an account is placed in collections.

If you have any further questions please call me direct at ************.

Sincerely,

***** *****





02/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told by a couple of coworkers at my job that a guy had called there and left a message on the general voicemail that he was looking to see if I still worked there. I have now secured a copy of it. He Left on the voicemail with my full name, address, and full social security number. Now I am afraid that I have my social security number for anyone's personal use. There was not a voice mail on my phone line which is weird since I work there. I have never received a voice mail on my personal cell phone to give them a call either. If they would of called me I would of call them back. I actually pay for an app on my phone that tracks all my voicemails and saves them that I can read.

Desired Settlement
This company has broke several collection federal laws. I work in this department so I am well aware of the laws in this. This company needs to be reprimanded for this and something needs to be done. Maybe they should go far enough and settle with me.

Business Response
Dear Ms ****.

Please accept my apology for our company disclosing you personal information. I have personally listened to the message left by Mr. *******. He had asked to verify employment on yourself and the call was transferred to a voicemail. The voicemail stated it belonged to a ****** ******, Manager of ********************.
Your your full social security number was left along with your name. Your address was not included.

I have started the process to all accounts associatd with this call removed from the credit bureaus.

If you desire further information or will to discuss resolving the open accounts, please contact *** ******** at ************.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Also along with this I would like the documentation for them to prove that these bills belong to me. If they do I want a responsible amount that I can afford to pay every month till paid in full.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. ****:

I have mailed itemized statements to your address today.

Please review the items. You may call myself at ************ or Mr ******** at ************ to ask questions or establish a payment plan.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have look over the bills that you have sent. The only bills that are mine that you have proof of are :
******
******
******
******
******
******
******
Which total to be $*******. Due to my income I will only be able to make $****** monthly.

12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid amount required in collections w/promise of email that it was paid in full and update my credit by **** of next month, 2 calls later and not done
Saw the collection on ************ and called, paid entire amount with a promise that they would send me an email that it was paid in full and update my credit on the **** of the next month. I have contacted them twice and neither have been done and it has been almost 2 months.

Desired Settlement
update the credit bureau that it has been paid in full!!!!!

Business Response
Ms. *****:

I am responding to your complaint, to follow up on the converastion you had with ********* on *************.

As she had informed you we notified the credit bureaus on ************* that the account was paid in full.

If you need any further information you may contact me direct at ************.

Sincerley,

***********

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Billing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1954Business started: 01/01/1919New Owner Date: 05/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1974, NE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Truckenbrod (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Evans (Compliance Manager)
Business Category

Collection Agencies, Billing Service

Products & Services

This company is a collection agency that also offers billing services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc.

4005 S 148th St

Omaha, NE 68137-5561

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Merchants Credit Adjusters, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 584-9348
  • (402) 201-2839
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Collection Agencies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.