BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/1993

Suburban Bridal

(402) 255-0022View Additional Phone Numbers4614 S 132nd St, OmahaNE 68137-1764View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/1993

BBB has determined that Suburban Bridal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Suburban Bridal's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Suburban Bridal

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they ordered dress size two sizes to small refused to exchange it for the right size stated we should buy fabric for it and have it sized a larger
the dress we bought was sized by ************* in ******. it was ordered two sizes too small. the owner said that was normal practice. stated we needed to buy fabric and have it tailored at our expense. told them they should feel some responsibility i.e. pay for alterations or order the right size. owner refused to help us initially. finally the owner said we should get the fabric from the other dresses and they would alter it at a charge. we shipped dress overnight from ****** at a ***** charge. i took it to suburban bridal and dropped it off. owner said their seamstress would alter it at our expence. two hours after drop off, the seamstress called refuseing to do it."i dont want my name associated with this dress". The problem was my daughtr lives in ****** and was unable to return to ***** because of grad school courses, to try on dress for alterations. they knew that before they agreed to alter the dress. so i picked up the dress and called my daughter with the their decision. we decided she wouldnt be in the wedding. again suburban bridal refused to take the dress back and refund our money.

Desired Settlement
refun and i will return the dress

Business Response
From: **************** (mailto:****************)
Sent: Tuesday, ************* 3:54 PM
To: **** ******
Subject: Complaint

Hi ******, Here is our answer for case ID: *********

To Whom it may Concern:

We understand her frustration as to the fit of her gown. When a person goes to a regular store and the garment does not fit, she/he does not purchase. Unfortunately, in a bridal shop most garments have to be ordered. The customers's measurements are taken and the size chart is shown to her. We point out where her measurements fall according to that company's size chart. In this case, the bridesmaid was measured by ************** and our brides' mother brought them in because due to circumstances the bridesmaid was unable to come. If a garment is too big or too small, the customer tends to want to put the blame on someone else! We do not pick the size because of this very reason. The brides' mother chose the size. We do not always agree with the size chosen, however, we order the size that particular customer has chosen as in this case. We always explain that sometimes gowns can be a little small or a little bit larger than the particular chart and this must be taken into consideration. In most cases, ordered garments require a little or a lot of alterations depending on how the customer fits the size chart of the style chosen. We also explain that petite sizing (under 5'8") is a different situation and must be considered with how the garment falls on the customer with or without a waistline. All of these situations and more are gone into detail on the purchase agreement which was signed and initialed at the end of each paragraph. Whether a garment is too small or too big, it simply requires alterations. In this case it was small in the hips which we was shown on the chart. Our alteration lady could not possible alter the dress without having the customer at this location which the customer could not do. What we did do was order the fabric, change the size to what she needed so that she could take it to a seamstress in ****** and have it altered to her specific needs.

Yes, there was a cost for the fabric and changing the size. Whether she wore the dress or did not wear it, that was her choice and not our problem. We do not refund ordered merchandise.

Sincerely,

*********************
****** Suburban Bridal


Consumer Response
From: *************
Sent: Tuesday, ************* 9:14 AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ********* (Ref#*****************************)


---- Better Business Bureau <**********************> wrote:
i have the measurements from ************* shop that was given to suburban bridal my daughter called me after trying on the dress i went directly to the shop and talked with one of the managers she was very apologetic she showed me the correct measurements from ************* it was in a white binder behind the front desk stated she would help resolve the issue but didnt have the power to order a different dress i would need to come back when the owner was there returned to talk with ******** she explained how easy it would be to alter the dress i stated why not order it in the right size she stated "we always order dresses two sizes smaller" so they would be easier to alter bust line questioned her about it she assured thats the way they order merchandise i told her we shouldnt have to pay to alter it since it was their mistake i asked her to send the dress back and order the correct size she said it would take three weeks to get another dress, the wedding was in two weeks my daugher didnt sign the release form although ******** said she did also i have proof of the measurements from ************* the two managers were very helpful unfortunately the owner wasnt we wanted to return the dress and be reimbursed and not attend the wedding ******** refused to honor our suggestion


Final Business Response
From: **************** (mailto:****************)
Sent: Monday, ************* 6:27 PM
To: **** ******
Subject: Case ID:*********

Hi ******,
This is second answer for second complaint on case #*********

To Whom it may concern:

Measurements were given over the phone to our store for this specific bridesmaid. The size chart was discussed and a size ** was chosen by the customer on the phone. We never chose the size of any customer but we do give all measurement information to whomever is involved so they can make an informed decision.
When the dress arrived too small in the hips, we advised ordering fabric to have the dress size corrected and fitted properly. This particular bridesmaid could not find the time to come to ***** for a dress fitting and we will not "blind" alter any dress without the customer in it. What we did do was change the size to a ** so she could have custom alterations done in ******** where she lived. Evidently this was done since we saw a photo of that wedding party and the dress looked fine.
We do not refund deposits or payments as stated in the Purchase Agreement mailed to her along with the bank card receipt. This Purchase agreement also states that alterations are an additional charge.
Interestingly enough, the brides mother paid for the fabric, the alterations to change the size, and the freight to return the dress back to the bridesmaid. She was happy to do this since the bridesmaid's mother did not return the many phone calls and messages we sent attempting to solve these issues with the wedding date as close as it was.
We feel that we did everything we could under the circumstances involved. The bride was happy with the resolution we found to solve the problem of fit. From the photos we saw, everyone looked beautiful and that is our concern! We feel no other correspondence is necessary.

Sincerely,
*********************
Suburban Bridal

Industry Comparison| Chart

Bridal Shops, Dressmakers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/18/1992Business started: 12/01/1969
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Mary Lou Scherer (Owner)
Business Category

Bridal Shops, Dressmakers

Products & Services

This company offers bridal apparel, accessories and consulting. They also provide formal wear, prom fashions and special occasion dresses.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Suburban Bridal

4614 S 132nd St

Omaha, NE 68137-1764

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4614 S 132nd St 

    Omaha, NE 68137-1764(402) 255-0022

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Suburban Bridal is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 362-7064
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Bridal Shops

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.