BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2012

Northwest Autocare

(402) 573-12226044 Wenninghoff Rd, OmahaNE 68134-1934 Send email to Northwest Autocare

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2012

BBB has determined that Northwest Autocare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Northwest Autocare's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went in to get a ************ replaced. I left having no functioning wipers, auto locks, temp. gauge, or turn signals. They ***** was to blame.
On *******, I went to Northwest Auto Care to have a ************ replaced. I had purchased a Groupon that gave me $*** worth of services. I had previously had an oil change and was back to utilize the rest of the coupon. I was told it would take about 20 min. and would be no problem. On arrival, even though I had made an appointment, the owner did not even have my part ordered in yet. I had to wait about 20-30 min. just for them to get the part delivered from a nearby store. Once they started the replacement, I waited with my girlfriend for over 30 additional minutes before I was informed that they were having problems accessing the ******. After another 30 minutes or so, I was told they were almost done. Finally after almost 2 hours all together, we were ready to go. I went to drive off and realized my wipers were not functioning. I pulled back in and he asked if I wanted him to look at it. I said, of course, as they were working fine before I came in. After waiting another 30-40 minutes, I was told they couldn't figure it out. He printed out two forms from a help website he belongs to, both essentially leaving him stumped. He said they were at a complete loss and that ******* designs were bad. I called a ***** dealership to see if they had heard of similar cases, but they had not and suggested I bring it in for a diagnostics test. Since Northwest Auto Care could not fix the problem, they let me leave, offering no compensation, but claimed that it couldn't POSSIBLY be because wires had been disconnected improperly (or perhaps not properly reconnected). In addition to my wipers not working, I had no functioning turn signals, my temperature gauge was not functioning (it was not even on), I had no functioning remote control locks (only manual would work)and the emergency brakelight was constantly on - in essence, virtually everything electrical was out of order. I went to ********* ***** (************************************************) the next day to drop off my car. They had to give me a ride to work and pick me up afterward. I had to pay a $***** diagnostics fee (after taxes/fees) in order to find out that Northwest Auto Care had not properly reconnected all wires.
According to the report from ***** (of which I own a copy), they "checked wiring at the passenger junction block. Found one connector to be halfway unplugged." So all of that simply because Northwest didn't properly connect a wire. When I called and left a message telling Northwest all of the problems that were going on with the car in addition to just the wipers, I never received a call back.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed the $***** charge that I incurred from *************** service due to Northwest Auto's inability to reconnect wires after replacing the ****************.

Business Response
I understand this customer's concern, and would have been equally as irritated. The situation was perplexing. *****, in their **** ******* model has placed the **************** underneath and behind the glove box and to get to it the technician must disconnect three wires from the fuse box. In a small cramped car with the difficult placement of an ********** which must be replaced only after disconnecting the battery, then the fuse box, the technician has an extremely difficult job. ***** didn't think this through very well.

The wires referred to in the complaint we checked three times and all the wires were connected when the vehicle was here.

*********, an international data base specifically for concerns with cars, helps identify issues and solutions with all major automobile manufacturers and with all makes and models indicate on their web site there is a common problem with **** ******* with electrical problems related to accessories after a **************** has been replaced. We attempted all the fixes recommended by *********. There SHOULD NOT be a problem with electrical issues when replacing a ****************. We successfully replaced the **********, but this led to other non-related mechanical issues. Northwest Auto Care performed well the services we provided. The groupon purchased by the customer allowed him $****** worth of work for $***** and we provided above and beyond the value of the groupon's worth. We should not be held accountable for a common problem in a vehicle when the work performed is unrelated to the new symptoms. An automobile when brought in to a repair shop for a transmission repair, and while in the shop the air conditioning stops working doesn't mean the repair shop should be responsible because some unrelated component malfunctions. In my scenario above the air conditioning breaking while the transmission is being repaired doesn't make the shop liable.

While we are equally as concerned as the customer, we cannot pay for the ***** garage's work. We are uncertain what work they actually performed. We are uncertain why this issue occurred, and regret the customer's inconvenience, but common problems occurring in brands of automobiles are more easily fixed when those vehicles are seen everyday at *****, and we see one once a month.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** documented that the technicians had NOT properly reconnected the wiring. I have the documentation to back this up as I stated in my original complaint. ***** assessed the situation and documented what they did to fix the problem. They said there was a connection that was only half-way reinserted. A very simple fix that Northwest overlooked, which is distressing as they state they looked it over three times. It is clear that the mechanics at Northwest believed they had connected everything, but since nothing electrical was working after I left their shop, belief does not help to make a vehicle work properly. Yes, I had used a Groupon, but that has absolutely no relevance to the fact that the work was not completed properly and satisfactorily. Unfortunately, Groupon is designed to gain customers, which I'm not sure Northwest understands. Additionally, I gained absolutely nothing from the Groupon, since I had to go to another shop to fix what had been done. So I would have been better off never purchasing the Groupon in the first place. Not to mention the fact that the shop is no where near where I live, but I wanted to give them a try as I'm always looking for a trustworthy mechanic. If the technicians at Northwest are uncomfortable with the internal workings of a *****, then they should state this before accepting a job to work on one. Their unwillingness to admit that their work was directly related to the malfunctioning of my electrical system is simply amazing to me. I cannot fathom this kind of stubbornness with regard to a customer concern.

Final Business Response
To help mitigate this matter we would offer an oil change with oil filter and fluid level, color, and smell check, tire pressure check and a wheel-on brake inspection at no charge to the customer. This is a $***** value.
********* ***** may have said the wires were loose; however, we triple checked the wires while the vehicle was in our shop. We are not certain what fix they performed, but, we used a third party independent resource "*********" to research the problem. The data found on ********* clearly indicated this to be a common problem with public records called "Technical Service Bulletins" released by *****. It was easy for ********* to point the finger back at us and explain away the loose wire scenario; however, we are certain those wires were reattached. We should not have to pay for what ********* ***** did to fix a problem they know fully well was related to a common occurrence in that year and model of automobile. We did not create the problem, we simply changed the ****************. We followed procedure and attempted every effort we could to help, but to no avail. We regret this incident occurred while this vehicle was in our shop. This matter is not representative of the thousands of satisfied customer experiences we've produced in 30 years of being in business in the same neighborhood. This, to our knowledge, is the ONLY complaint ever expressed to the BBB regarding our service. We do not like having anyone dissatisfied with our work and again would like to express our sincere concern for this customer's experience with his automobile.

08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Northwest Autocare, Inc installed both lower control arm/ball joints on my car per their estimate. In the process of repairing the ball joints, the front sway bar broke and had to be replaced also. There was nothing mentioned about alignment before or after the repair. After the repairs the steering was erratic. I took my car to have both front tires replaced due to excessive wear. Per the technician at the ********** the tires were not aligned. The new tires were put on the rear and the back tires were rotated to the front per the *********** policy. Due to tire noise when turning corners I took my car back to the ********** where they verified the tires were inflated correctly. They did note the front tires had some wear on them since I had the tires put on. I contacted Northwest Autocare to discuss the issue and they said they don't do alignments and don't have the equipment to do alignments. I talked to **** ********* (owner) about compensation for 2 tires that required replacement after his company replaced the ball joints. He refused to cooperate.Due to a death in the family my car was driven a total of 840 miles round trip. Upon return to ***** the steel belt treads were visible on both front tires. I took my care to the ***** dealership for an alignment. The alignment was corrected. Due to the extent of the misalignment and the resulting extensive wear on the tires, I had to purchase 2 new tires. The lack of alignment by Northwest Autocare caused extreme wear to all 4 tires, requiring me to purchase 4 new tires.
Product_Or_Service: lower control arm/ball joints and front sway bar

Desired Settlement
I would like to be compensated for the 4 new tires I had to purchase due to the lack of alignment after Northwest Autocare replaced the lower control arm/ball joints. I am also requesting compensation for the cost of alignment. The total cost for the tires and alignment is $******.

Business Response
Northwest Auto Care, in future text referred to as NWA, did sell labor and parts to replace ball joints, control arms, and sway bar links as was indicated by the complainant. We did not sell tires to the customer, and the customer is requesting a new set of tires which, according to the customer's complaint wore out in 840 miles. The customer did not have a complaint about the work performed, or the parts replaced by NWA. The complainant (the customer's relative) indicated they had worked in the auto repair industry for many years. If so, the intimate knowledge of having worked in the auto repair industry would indicate when buying tires with the old tires being badly worn, and knowing they did not pay for an alignment, or purchase the tires from NWA the vehicle would likely need to assessed for wheel alignment. NWA is not liable for work NOT performed, or for tires NOT purchased. When a vehicle is out of alignment badly enough to wear out tires in less than a 1000 miles, the vehicle would pull hard to the right or left indicating to any driver there is a problem which needs resolved before the vehicle is driven much further. Complainant expressed intimate knowledge of the auto repair industry; therefore, knew implicitly we did not align the vehicle. Furthermore, the complainant threatened legal proceedings relative to NWA not WARNING of work NOT performed related to the work which was performed. There are many other parts and labor related to suspension and steering which were not repaired, and NWA did not WARN of any number of conditions which could potentially exist related to wear and deterioration.

NWA was not given an opportunity to observe the problem which allegedly caused the inordinate tire wear. If a set of tires sold by another company wore out in 840 miles the responsibility for tire wear would likely be assigned to the company selling, mounting, balancing those tires. $****** is an inordinate amount to pay for a set of 4 tires (2 of which were already used and old), and an alignment. The set of tires originally on the vehicle must have needed replaced. The tires currently on the vehicle were not sold my NWA, and NWA will get no benefit from those tires. The set of tires worn out in 840 miles is unusual. The amount requested by the complainant is grossly disproportionate for 2 tires and an alignment. The cost to NWA for 2 tires of good quality and an alignment would be $******. Although NWA is NOT responsible for tires not sold or an alignment not performed, NWA is willing to provide, not money, but two tires and an alignment for the ***** serviced in the future at no charge to the customer. Those tires and the alignment must be sold and provided by NWA.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not have a complaint about the service provided because I thought the "pull" was to be expected with a new front end. I personally do not have intimate knowledge of the car repair industry. My father does, but he doesn't own the vehicle and doesn't drive it. He became involved after he drove my car on ****** across the state. Upon returning to ***** he and my husband noticed the belts were visible on both front tires. The tires on my car were not old and worn out when I had the repair done. They became prematurely worn out after repair work performed by NWA. Since the repair work included extensive front end work totaling $*** a front alignment would be expected by a customer. NWA indicated that they didn't tell me about other possible hazards related to my front end, but they also didn't make any mention of my tires being worn out, because they weren't. An alignment would seem to be warranted with the work they did. I had to buy 2 new tires because they wore out without the alignment and my car was driving with difficulty, especially in the rain. I had to purchase 2 more tires (the ones with the belts showing) shortly after that. The tires purchased were replacements of the tires that were on my car. I didn't 'upgrade' to a higher priced tire.
I don't accept the offer from NWA for 2 new tires and an alignment. I no longer need new tires. I've already replaced them. And I was told they didn't do alignments or have the equipment to do it when the problem was brought to their attention so I fail to see how that is even a possibility.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Retread & Repair - Equipment & Supplies, Tire Changing Equipment, Battery Supplies, Auto Services, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Rustproofing & Undercoating - Auto, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Consultants - Auto Repair, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Heaters - Automotive

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/24/2000Business started: 07/01/1982New Owner Date: 12/10/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1997, NE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael A. Van Meter (President)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Retread & Repair - Equipment & Supplies, Tire Changing Equipment, Battery Supplies, Auto Services, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Rustproofing & Undercoating - Auto, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Consultants - Auto Repair, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Heaters - Automotive

Products & Services

This company provides auto repair and maintenance services including transmissions, engine rebuilds, heating and air conditioning repair, computerized engine diagnostics, undercoatings, batteries and tire changes.

Industry Tips
General Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Northwest Autocare

6044 Wenninghoff Rd

Omaha, NE 68134-1934

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6044 Wenninghoff Rd 

    Omaha, NE 68134-1934(402) 573-1222

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Northwest Autocare is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

General Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.