BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/20/2009

Art's Repair Service

(308) 641-6664View Additional Phone Numbers40840 Sugar Factory Rd, ScottsbluffNE 69361-5412



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/20/2009

BBB has determined that Art's Repair Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Art's Repair Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Art's Repair Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shop had vehicle for 2 weeks and have had constant problems since repairs. After repair of engine the engine was worse off than before the repair.
Car (*******************) was towed to the shop in ******* of this year. It took two weeks for the repairs then to be completed. Repairs done to car included replacing timing belt and other engine work that totaled $****. Mechanic guaranteed his work. However, since then car has started eating oil to where there is no oil left in the vehicle after only a thousand miles of driving. After calling the mechanic I was informed that the entire engine would need to be rebuilt as his repairs had nothing to do with the issue (even though he had not looked at the car since his repairs), and that the problem was that ********* were not meant to last over 100,000 miles.

Desired Settlement
As the repairs done the first time caused more damage to my engine I would want a refund so I can take it to a mechanic who would simply not write off the problem as just being because it is a ******* without even looking at it.

Business Response
In ************, ******** ******** had her car towed to Art's Repair Service, LLC. to have her car repaired. Art's Repair Service, LLC. found that the timing belt was broken, and because the timing belt broke it bent the valves in the cylinder head. We replaced the timing belt, had the cylinder head rebuilt, replaced head gasket, and head bolts.
On ************** ******** ******** brought her car in because it had a noise. We checked it out and found that there was no oil in the dipstick. We added 3 quarts of oil. At this time ******** ******** said that she had just taken it to ******** to have the oil changed. We told her on this visit to keep an eye on it to see if it was losing any more oil.
Customer called after hours on Sunday, ***************. She was very rude and accused Art's Repair Service of messing up her car. Art requested for her to bring it so we could check it out. Then she started texting to Art's phone and said that she was not going to bring it back and that she called the BBB and filed a complaint, and also, going to get a lawyer to sue Art's Repair Service LLC.
The mother of ******** ******** called on Monday, ************** and arranged to have us check the car out. She set up an appointment for Tuesday, but brought car on Thursday. Art brought car into the shop on Friday evening to check it out. Our repair orders show that from ******* to **** there has been 5,722 miles put on the car. We removed spark plugs and they still look new. We removed valve cover to check seals on valves and found them okay. When we preformed compression test, psi was within limits. We found no SIGNS OF A PROBLEM EXISTING.
We reassembled car, and checked oil level and it is just over full. I then took car to gas station and put in ***** dollars of gas because they brought car on empty. Test drove the car 63 miles, and checked oil again and it was still just over full. There is no SMOKE OR LEAKS.
I find NOTHING wrong with this car, *********


Consumer Response
NATURE OF DISPUTE:Guarantee of service for previous repair of timing belt, see previous complaint, and poorly performed repairs led to engine failure not honored.
Please note the previous complaint against this business by complainant. As a result of the poorly done original repair the engine has now failed. A call to Art's resulted in a rude response, a failure to acknowledge any fault with the work, and basically a dare to sue him. He refuses to acknowledge that even after his extensive and expensive repairs which took an inordinate amount of time that the car was consuming an excessive amount of oil as well as other fluids which ultimately resulted in the engine failure .

DESIRED RESOLUTION::As the repairs were done so poorly in the first place I have absolutely zero desire for any repairs to be performed by this shop. Since the original repairs were so inadequate that the engine has now failed it has placed an incredible financial hardship on me which I was I am requesting a refund.


Business Response
Customer's mother called Art's Repair Service, LLC. , and demanded a new engine for her daughters' car. The parts we replaced didn't cause the engine to consume oil (see previous explanation). Customer has put over 5,700 miles on the car after the repairs were performed. Customer said that she has taken the car to another repair facility, and she refused to allow *** to talk to the Technicians. She also refused to say what facility the car is being repaired at. Customer told *** to pay for a new engine or she would sue Art's Repair Service, LLC. *** told the customer that if in fact our repairs caused the engine to fail that Art's Repair Service, LLC., will pay for any repairs directly related to the timing components Art's Repair Service LLC replaced, but we needed proof from a **************** or a Certified Repair facility that the repairs performed by Art's Repair Service, LLC did indeed cause the engine to fail. No repairs will be paid for by Art's Repair Service LLC., that are due to the negligent of the customer, such as running the car with no oil in the engine, etc. Customer said that her daughter didn't have the money to fight this, but she did, and *** told her to do what she needed to do, but that she would still have to prove it in court.
Resolution:
The customer is to have a **************** or A Certified Repair Facility, return all parts that were installed (by Art's Repair Service, LLC.) to a **** store to be returned to the manufacture to determine if they were installed correctly and evaluated for the cause of engine failure.
Art's Repair Service, LLC, provides a 12 month warranty or 12,000 miles on all repairs provided unless otherwise stated on invoice. This warranty is good at any **************** in the nation. However, only repairs provided have the warranty, not the whole car.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Consultants - Auto Repair, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Clutches, Engines - Gas, Engines - Diesel

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/24/2009Business started: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Kyann Smith (Owner)Mr. Arthur Smith Jr. (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Consultants - Auto Repair, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Clutches, Engines - Gas, Engines - Diesel

Products & Services

This company provides automobile service and repair. They also offer mobile repair services.

Alternate Business Names
Art's Repair Service, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Art's Repair Service

40840 Sugar Factory Rd

Scottsbluff, NE 69361-5412

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 40840 Sugar Factory Rd 

    Scottsbluff, NE 69361-5412(308) 641-6664
    (308) 641-8509

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Art's Repair Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (308) 641-8509
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.