BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1982

Beardmore Chevrolet Subaru, Inc.

Find a Location

(402) 734-2525View Additional Phone Numbers418 Fort Crook Rd N, BellevueNE 68005-4655 Send email to Beardmore Chevrolet Subaru, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1982

BBB has determined that Beardmore Chevrolet Subaru, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Beardmore Chevrolet Subaru, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Awful experience with the sales team at Beardmore Subaru. They were rude and insulting.
On Thursday, August 8, 2013 around 7pm, my husband, ***********, and I went to Beardmore Subaru to take a look at the Certified Pre-Owned vehicles. We are currently in the market to replace my **************** and within 6 months we will replace my husband's ********* that we purchased new from Beardmore Chevy in 2007.

We were helped last night by ************ and we test drove a few vehicles before we settled on a *********** with a sticker price of about $******. ***** took us over to the Used Car Sales Manager, so that he could look at my ***** and come back with a trade-in value for it.

***** then presented us with the pricing taking in account the trade-in value of about $***. I noticed that he was still using the sticker price on the car and asked him to tell me what their bottom dollar price is on this car. He then started talking about my car and everything that was wrong with it, to explain the price they put as the trade-in. I told him that I wasn't even talking about that. I merely wanted to talk about the asking price of the vehicle he was selling. He refused to answer me in any way and kept asking me what amount I was thinking. I just wanted a straight answer with how low they are willing to go, but he would not give me any answer, so I low-balled him. I told him $*******. I realize that there is no way I was going to purchase this car that price, but he insisted, so I threw a number out there. I thought it was at least somewhere to start. Well, I think he was completely flabbergasted with my response and then turned around and said that they can take $*** off the sticker price. He said that they had just reduced it and that was all they were willing to do. So, I said that if that is all they are willing to do, then I was not interested in the car and my husband and I were ready to leave. Then, the Used Sales Car Manager, who apparently had been listening to our conversation, came out of his office and said, "*****, let me take over here for ya.". This man started talking to me as if I was an ignorant child... or ... a woman. He started using an analogy explaining why it doesn't make sense for them to go down further in price, etc. I stopped him and said, "look, I'm not interested in his analogies or his logic. All I want to know is how low you are willing to go." If they had more in to the car than what I was offering, that is all they needed to say. Instead they were so condescending and rude about it.

My husband and I proceeded to grab our keys to leave. On our way out, ************ said, "If you find a car like that for $***, let me know, I'll buy it.". We just ignored his comment and proceeded to walk out to our car. As we were about to drive away, ***** came out and waved us down. I lowered my window and he said, "You know, this is my fault. I should've never showed you those cars, because you can't afford them. You know what you should do is you should go to the ******* dealership down the road. They have cheap cars there that you can probably afford. Oh wait, you don't want to listen to logic, do you..." I interrupted him at that point and told him that he was being insulting and asked him if I was ever insulting to him. He kept on being belligerent, so I just drove away.

My husband and I are both flabbergasted with last night's events. Let me just say that my husband works for *********a and I work for ********************. I have a letter from my bank, stating that we are pre-approved for an auto loan up to $***. We can afford 2 of the cars that we looked at last night. The only reason we are not purchasing 2 vehicles right now is that we don't want to renew plates in the same month. ************ could not have been more off base with his accusations and insults. I have never been treated so poorly and insulted by grown men as I was last night.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *************
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: **************************om
We received ************ complaint the day after her bad experience with our dealership. I immediately contacted her to listen to her concerns and offer our apologies. The core issue we had was our staff hadn't done an adequate job of explaining our pricing philosophy. Unfortunately the ******* didn't get the opportunity to see our vehicle was priced thousand below others like it in the market. Instead they assumed that we like most other car dealerships arbitrarily marked up our pre-owned vehicles and should be able to take thousands off the price. I contacted the dealer immediately to let her know of the situation and she offered an enormous price adjustment which I promptly offered to ************. She later notified me they declined the offer based on their experience and they had purchased a vehicle elsewhere. Internally I met with the involved parties and had a lengthy training meeting. We are equally surprised and disappointed in her experience with our company. We spend countless hours training and taking steps to develop processes to ensure our guests have a great experience with our company. It is very disheartening when that process breaks down but we will continue to make every effort to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ************* stated, "The core issue we had was our staff hadn't done an adequate job of explaining our pricing philosophy.".

I just want to say that this was not the core issue in my eyes. The core issue was the rude and insulting manner in which we were treated.

Regardless of whether someone chooses to accept their price for a car, the staff should NEVER say the things that were said to my husband and myself.

I do feel that *************, the GM, and the Owner did their best to remedy the situation. However, it dissapoints me this is what they feel the core issue was. It was most definitely not.

Business' Final Response
I am sorry that my response came across that way. There is no question the way my team treated the ******* was not appropriate or professional and I wan't in any way trying to justify their behavior. There is no question their dealings with us escalated to confrontation and that should never happen. When that happens I always aim to diagnose where in the process my team errored or where our process isn't working to meet our guests' expectations. We have a very upfront and transparent way in which we price our vehicles and negotiate terms leaving little reason for conflict with our guests. Hence when conflict happens Mrs. Hamilton demands that I determine which of the following occured: 1. Our process is flawed and not guest friendly. 2. Our staff deviated from the process. By the time I had responded to this complaint I had already spoken with ************ and shifted my focus to addressing corrective action with my team not following our process. Unfortunately that came across in my response.

We are very sorry for the way the ******* were treated and are working hard to ensure it doesn't happen again.

02/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
02/29/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/14/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair - Mobile, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Financing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1980Business started: 01/01/1955Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1970, NE

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carey Hamilton (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Doug Christensen (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair - Mobile, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Financing

Products & Services

This company offers Chevrolet sales, parts, and service.

Alternate Business Names
Beardmore Chevrolet, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a CAR
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Financial Aid for College
High Cost Payday Lenders Advertise Everywhere
Home Buyers: Protect Yourself from Predatory Lenders
Phony Grant Foundations Target Business Owners
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers
Zero-Percent Financing Deals Not Always the Best Deal

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Beardmore Chevrolet Subaru, Inc.

418 Fort Crook Rd N

Bellevue, NE 68005-4655

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 418 Fort Crook Rd N 

    Bellevue, NE 68005-4655(402) 734-2525
    (888) 882-3305

  • PO Box 459 

    Bellevue, NE 68005-0459

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Beardmore Chevrolet Subaru, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 882-3305
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.