BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2003

Window World of Middle Tennessee

Phone: (615) 868-7400Fax: (615) 868-9850View Additional Phone Numbers1616 Elm Hill Pike, NashvilleTN 37210-3604 Send email to Window World of Middle Tennessee

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2003

BBB has determined that Window World of Middle Tennessee meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Window World of Middle Tennessee's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Complaint Information

The company has provided BBB with the names and contact information for the person consumers should contact prior to filing a complaint with BBB: Frank Courreges 615-479-4412 Install Manager, Jamie Price 615-739-7698 Branch Manager, and Daryl Price 615-504-3988 Owner. Please allow the business 48 to 72 hours to respond, not including weekends and holidays.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Window World of Middle Tennessee

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 8 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Into third month of attempting to receive warranty door replacement. In that time staff has repeatedly lied and failed to return ANY calls.
First contact made 11/23/15: explained that slider door had fogged & requested warranty repair or replacement. Spencer said he would order replacement door & call back with details. No return call received.
11/30/15: called Spencer who said that slider had been ordered & that he would receive confirmation within 1-2 days on shipping. Said he would call back with info as soon as he got it. No return call received.
12/9/15: called Spencer who reported that door had been ordered, would be received by 1/7/16; would call with confirmation 1/8 or 1/11. No return call received.
1/15/16: Steve said Spencer in warehouse, took message for return call. No return call received.
1/18/16: called Spencer who said he was unable to find the door, that he would look in warehouse & call back by end of business. I told Spencer that if this did not happen I would file complaint. No return call received.
1/19/16: Window World called while I was on another call - they left no voice mail/message.
1/26/16: called and asked to speak with Spencer's supervisor. Frank advised that he was co-manager with Spencer, would track down information and "call right back." No return call received.
1/27/16 - called, spoke with Spencer who reports that door is "on back order' and Frank getting in touch with manufacturer. I, complainant, will call back this afternoon.

Desired Settlement
While I would like to not be lied to and to receive factual information, I recognize that this is not within the power of the BBB. As such, I want my warranty replacement door installed.

Final Consumer Response
Consumer notified BBB she is satisfied with the resolution.

01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lack of communication on the process from scheduling the appt, time of arrival on appt date and no installers arrived on scheduled date.
On 10/7/14 I met with a sales representative at my home from window world to receive estimates on 7 new windows for my home. After hearing all the great care stories, the high remarks they receive and a reasonable rate I decided to place my order with this company to install my windows. On that date I paid $1,394 which is half of the total bill to begin the process of ordering the windows and then the installation. I was told that it would take 4-6 weeks before I heard from the company to schedule my installation once my windows arrived. On 11/6/14 I called just out of curiosity to check the status on my windows and I was informed that they were in and we could set up an appointment for two weeks out. This appointment was scheduled for 11/22/14 and I was told by the receptionist that I would hear from the installers in reference to a time that they would arrive at my home on 11/22/14. On 11/20/14 I called the Window World office because I had never received a call from anyone in reference to a time that an installer would arrive at my home and I was told by the receptionist that I was the 2nd stop of the day and it would be around 11am-12pm and that the installers would call when they were on their way to my home. On 11/22/14 in preparation for the installation of my windows I removed all of my blinds from every window and removed furniture out of the way in 3 rooms as instructed by window world. On 11/22/14 at 4:05pm I called the Window World office and informed the person that answered the telephone that I have an appt. scheduled on today and I have been at home all day waiting on installers and I have not received a call and no one has arrived at my home to install my windows. I was placed on hold by this person and when he returned to the phone I was told that he could not reach the installers and their telephone keeps going to voicemail. He informed me that he would look into this and call me back. At 4:20pm I received a call back and was informed that the installers were having a difficult time at the installation of the first home and they would not be able to install my windows on my scheduled date. I asked was it customary for the installers to call and notify me that they would not be installing my windows on the date I have planned and scheduled my installation date and he stated that it should have happened that way. He informed me that they were contractors and not direct employees of Window World which does not excuse anything in my eyes because they pay them to service their clients. I now have to wait two more weeks for the installation of my windows on 12/5/14 and the reason I planned this installation prior was because I wanted to complete it before the temperature dropped. I decided to call the office on 11/24/14 to speak with the district manager and was informed that he was on a conference call and the receptionist took a message with my call back number, name and reason for calling and I was told that I would receive a call back. I called this morning 11/24/14 at 9:00am and it is not 4:20pm and I still have not received a return call to address this issue at hand. I am not impressed by this so called "highly rated service" that the sales associated raved and ranted on while taking my order and my money. This is unacceptable customer service especially from a business that is highly respected and that comes highly recommended. I decided to go this route since no one seems to care about my concerns within the company of Window World and the lack of communication is very disrespectful.

Desired Settlement
At this point with the treatment I have received I would like a refund of my payment that I have already paid and that has already cleared my bank account. There was no lack of communication when they received payment on my end and I have done everything asked of me.

Final Consumer Response
BBB verified with Mr. ****** that business is working on the resolution with him and ok to close the case.

Business Response
The Company has worked very hard to go above and beyond with Mr. ****** to resolve the issues he is having with Window World of Nashville. His job has been completed to Mr. ******'s satisfaction.

12/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
3 windows installed have issues - installed one with dents, one with stains, one bad trim -set 3 seperate appointments to fix;they never show nor call
I had my second batch of windows installed about a year ago. They never contacted me after ordering them so several month later after the order was placed and paying the required 1/2 down I contacted them they confirmed they had my windows but they were just so busy. It took ME calling THEM to get an appointment set. The installers that came for the appointment were to be there first thing in the morning but they showed up closer to noon and that was after me calling around 10:00 a.m. to find out where they were. They had an excuse that their truck broke down. One window they installed has a few small dents, another sash of a window has light stains that won't come off and a third window inside they pieced the trim together on the top instead of one piece and it still has gaps between the pieces. The installers also left my drive way full of nails and metal slivers/shavings from cutting the trim work for the outside of the windows. I had to clean up that mess. I called right away about those issues and to date I've had three different appointments set up asking for the "first appointment of the morning". Of course they can never get me scheduled for the next weekend so this has been going on for months. The first two appointments I ended up calling around lunch time to find out what time the installer was coming as they were not there "first thing" as scheduled and each time I find out that they are not coming and there is always an excuse (again truck broke down, sick, hospital). They NEVER contact you to say they aren't coming just leave you sitting each time waiting the entire day. After calling on the second no show they scheduled my third appointment for Nov 22 and the person I spoke with said he wrote on the appointment ticket "do not reschedule" "first appointment in morning". Last Saturday was Nov 22 and yep you guessed it- no show and no one called so another day off work losing money sitting waiting for installers that never show.

So to date I've lost money taking off work 4 days (1 for the install and 3 for no show appointments). My first set of 10 or 11 windows installed went perfectly so I used them for the 2nd set - gosh am I sorry. I've even recommended them to friends, I'm really sorry that I did that too. NEVER AGAIN CAN I MAKE A RECOMMENDATION OF THIS COMPANY. Once they have your money from the install you are no longer important to them. I bet if one of those last three appointments had been for installs, instead of repairs, where they collect the last 1/2 of your payment they would have been there albeit probably late. You may save money using this company but you're gonna pay in the end.

Desired Settlement
I want my windows fixed and I want a partial refund to pay me back for lost wages.

Business Response
BBB was informed by the business that they have been in contact with the consumer regarding a resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After filing the report I was contacted by Window World and another appointment was scheduled for 2 weeks out. This time they were present at the time they said they would be and fixed the three windows that had defects.

12/13/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Windows purchased are warrantied for life from defect. I've contacted the business by email, "contact us" and by phone twice with NO answer.
The rail slide/lock broke and needs replacement, but I can't get anyone from Window World to respond. I've been trying to reach them for several weeks. Spoke to someone at the Nashville office who gave me a number to their warranty department and said she'd follow up with my at the end of the day to make sure they called, but as usual...nothing. I've tried to reach a solution with Window World by email, "contact us", and phone messages twice with ZERO response.

Desired Settlement
I just want the window fixed.

Final Consumer Response
Window World contacted me very quickly and the matter has been resolved. The owner of the business got involved and explained what went wrong - ultimately they handled the situAtion and I am satisfied.

02/15/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered 2 replacement windows from Window World in
Nov. 2014. They have never been installed or calls
returned regarding them.
The windows were scheduled to be installed in early
Dec. on a Sat. but no one ever showed or called. They were then scheduled to be installed again but it didn't happen. And yet again - no one showed or called. I paid a deposit of $450 - half the total or total for one window. I have tried contacting them by email with no response.

Desired Settlement
I would like either the one window I have already purchased -I'll find someone to install it - or really a refund of my $450 because I don't want to do business with Window World. Thank you for your help.

Business Response
BBB received notification from the business the window would be delivered July 7th.

12/01/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid down payment for service in January 2014. Still waiting for products to be installed. Almost 1 year and cant get company to respond to me.
January 2014 had 3 companies bid for complete window replacement and back patio French door replacement. Selected window world as they promised superior products and quick manufacturing and install time.

Total job bid was for almost $8,000.00. Paid 10% of the cost up front. 6 weeks later when they were supposed to be installing our windows and door they called saying they needed to come back out and measure a second time as the first person messed up our measurements and had since been fired.

They came out and measured again and we waited 6 more weeks for the install.

In March on the date of the install they brought all the windows and door and installed the windows but the $2,500 door was to small and they had to again measure and promised a quick 4 week production and install.

Its now almost November nearly a year since we paid window world money to install our windows and door and they have our money but we have no door. I have left message and sent letters and at first I was told its just taking longer to get the door manufacture. This is our busy season. Will get you taken care of. ect. Eventually I gave up trying to get them to fulfill their contractual obligation and stopped calling them.

Our wooden back door continues to disintegrate from wood rot but I am afraid to have another company install a door and pay them as there is an unfulfilled contract with window world. I have a toddler and a second child on the way and that back door leaks cold air really bad. I don't know what to do as I need this fixed before winter gets here.

In addition we were promised 1 year 0% financing through Wells Fargo. Well Window World pulled our credit and opened up the account with Wells Fargo but since the project was never finished the project equity line went unused. According to life lock credit monitoring this new account had a negative effect on our credit and now the 0% financing has 2 months left and we the job is still not completed!

Desired Settlement
1. I would like the door installed and the projected complemented.
2.Window World to comp / not charge us for entire job product or service.

Business Response
Window World has resolved this issue.

10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Window World installed 8 windows and 1 patio door on August 1st. Two weeks later the job is not finished.
installers tracked up carpet; damaged sheetrock around window; failed to put a working lock on patio door.

someone called to say they stopped by to "fix" it but failed to call before coming and I was not home.

Desired Settlement
fix lock on door; putty sheetrock and deduct $400 so that I can have my carpets cleaned and master bedroom repainted after putty work.

Business Response
BBB was informed by the business that they have been in contact with the consumer regarding a resolution. At this point, the business is waiting for a response from the consumer.



02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The business and it's installers have promised repair yet I have yet to see them.
I'm trying to get insufficient work completed on my new windows so that I can receive my $500 TVA rebate. I've had to contact them several times to arrange more trim to be put in and fix my window that won't lock but I have yet to hear back. They didn't even contact me when my windows arrived in stock, I had to call to inquire. After the initial installation they left framing nails all in my driveway. Communication seems to be a very big issue.

Desired Settlement
Complete the work promised so they I can get my Tva rebate/approval

Business Response
BBB contacted business. Business manager stated the customer's issue has been resolved and the consumer is satisfied. BBB sent an email to the consumer to confirm case has been resolved.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/20/2001Business started: 01/01/1999Business started locally: 08/01/2001New Owner Date: 11/07/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2006, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Daryl Price (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Jamie Price (Install Manager)
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Window Security Laminates, Windows - Repairing, Glass - Plate and Window, Windows, Guards - Door & Window, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

This company offers replacement vinyl windows, siding, shutters, and gutters.

Alternate Business Names
The Bay Group, Inc., Window World Nashville
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Window World of Middle Tennessee has received 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 8 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Window World of Middle Tennessee

1616 Elm Hill Pike

Nashville, TN 37210-3604

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1616 Elm Hill Pike 

    Nashville, TN 37210-3604

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Window World of Middle Tennessee is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 740-2100
  • (800) 210-2489
  • (615) 800-7766
  • (615) 866-0279
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.