BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Oreck Manufacturing Company

Find a Location

Phone: (931) 646-7834Fax: (931) 646-7842View Additional Phone Numbers1400 Salem Road, CookevilleTN 38506http://www.oreck.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Oreck Manufacturing Company is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because complaints against it are handled by another BBB.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

BBB serving Cleveland, OH maintains a report on this company's headquarters location. Please visit http://cleveland.bbb.org for details or call (216) 241-7678. Prior to 05/14/2014 this company's complaints were handled locally. The following data represents complaints processed by this BBB prior to 05/14/2014.

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Oreck Manufacturing Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
02/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered from oreck.com on 12-34-2013 order total after discount was 143.84. They shipped product but charged me 430.79.
I ordered an oreck magnesium sp power team which after several holiday coupons came to a total of 143.84. I that these coupons should not been allowed to stack but due to an error they would be unable to fulfill my order. As a good will gesture they would offer me 30% off and to call them if I want to accept this offer. I decide that at 30% off I was not interested. On 1-2-14 however I found a delivery on my porch of 2 boxes from oreck. I then logged on to my credit card company to find the charge of 430.79. I believe this sort of behavior is unethical and my infact be against the law. I had no problem with them canceling my order because of their website error. It was there error not mine but they somehow believe they had a right to over charge me. I guess this was also some error. My order number is********** I paid with my chase credit card. I have copy's of my order confirmation email as well as screen shots of my order from oreck.com I also have the email in which they told me they were unable to fulfill my order due to the error.

Desired Settlement
Oreck needs to credit my chase credit card in the amount of 286.95. Which is the dollar amount of the over charge. I can give my supporting documentation to my credit card company and they can charge them back but I would prefer to allow oreck to correct their mistake.

Business Response
I'm very sorry for this inconvenience Mr. *****. As you mentioned, you were using the coupons to stack discounts. On every discount disclaimer that Oreck has there is a exclusion that discounts are not stackable and only one per order.Our website has a error that allowed you to enter them but once the downloaded into our system the error was kicked out. That is why your total was more. It charged you the correct discount. Its unfortunate your item did ship. We tried to stop all these from shipping and it looks like yours slipped through. At this time Oreck will be happy to extend the 30% off discount on your order until 2/21/14. If your are unhappy with the price you paid and do not want the discount, you can return the item. Please call ************ to set up the arrangements.

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/15/2012Billing / Collection Issues
11/29/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/05/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Additional Information

top

On May 06, 2013, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 3:13-bk-04006 .

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Tennessee Middle Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, , Nashville, TN, 37203 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

BBB file opened: 10/25/2006Business started: 08/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2006, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah Butler (Assistant Manager) Renee Claborn (Human Resources)Mr. Ken Furcron (Plant Manager)Mr. Tom Oreck (President)
Business Category

Vacuum Equipment & Systems

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the sale of Oreck vacuum cleaners including XL21, compact canister, Dutchtech and air purifiers.

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Oreck Manufacturing Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (931) 646-7876
  • (877) 593-9251
  • (931) 646-3553
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Vacuum Equipment & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On May 06, 2013, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 3:13-bk-04006 .

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Tennessee Middle Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, , Nashville, TN, 37203 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.