BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2005

Cool Springs Upholstery and Design

Phone: (615) 794-0718Fax: (615) 794-09457106 Crossroads Blvd Ste 213, BrentwoodTN 37027 Send email to Cool Springs Upholstery and Design

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2005

BBB has determined that Cool Springs Upholstery and Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cool Springs Upholstery and Design's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cool Springs Upholstery and Design

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installing a new convertible top
Product_Or_Service: convertible top install
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: n/a
On May 27, 2014 I ordered a blue twill convertible top online from Car Tops Direct and had it shipped to me.
On their website they had suggested installers to install their tops so I contacted Cools Springs Upholstery and made an appointment for June 4 to have my top installed as they were busy on June 3. I received the top in the mail on June 2, 2014 and opened it to make sure of the color and checking the right invoice etc.

I went on Wednesday June 4 to address only to find out they had moved about 10 miles away. I finally found their new location and dropped my car off for installation. I spoke
to the owner *** ****** he told me then that it should be ready by close of business and if not first thing the next morning. They would call and let me know.

They called at 6pm that night and told me they had a hard time with the seal on the top and that they should have it ready the next day and would call me back. I didn't hear from them at all on June 5(Thursday). My husband called them on Friday June 6 and
asked about my car. They told him it would be ready about noon and he explained he would
bring me on his way to work so I can pick up my car and was told that was fine. They told him the boy that was working on it left early the day before.

When we got there the car was not ready and they offered to take me to the mall so I could shop. I told them no I needed my car to go out of town as soon as possible that day. They said it would only be a couple of hours by 2pm and they would deliver my car
because my husband works nights. My husband was late for work due to this inconvenience. The
lady at the desk told me it was not an excuse but, they had been so busy that week working on ****** ***** travel bus.

I went home and waited for them to call. At 3pm I called back only to be told they were fixing to leave and bring my car back. I waited again till 4:30pm and called back only to
be told by *** ****** finally that zipper did not fit my headliner and they have been trying
all afternoon to correct this. They claimed it was Car Tops Direct that had sent the wrong zipper.
I was told then that they had it velcroed on so I could take the car out of town.

*** ****** delivered it about 5:45pm that evening and promised me they would make this right and fix it properly for me. I told him not only that they should give me a discount for all my trouble and poor workmanship. He agreed. I then told him I would be back from my
trip on Friday June 13, 2014 and I would call to set an appointment for the next Monday to get it
fixed. He said that would be fine.

********
In the meantime I contacted the company that I purchased the top from Car Tops Direct and spoke to
****. He was very helpful and said he needed pictures to send to his technician to determine what happened.
After viewing the pics it was determined that the installation was improper and he told me they have never
had a complaint about the zipper not fitting.

When I returned on Friday June 13, 2014. I called to make an appointment and was told they could not set one until Monday June 23, 2014.

After all of this aggravation and being lied to numerous times I feel I should get it repaired properly, the headliner sags in numerous areas, it leaks and I have had to endure the road noise
due to improper installation. I have not been able to use my convertible top as I fear it will make it worse.

Desired Settlement
Install headliner properly and a partial refund for all the aggravation and inconvenience the company caused.

Final Consumer Response
On June 25, 2014 I went to Cool Springs Upholstery to pick up my car. I was very pleased with the professional job they did on the top and spoke to *** ****** ****** about settling the bill. We both shared in the responsibility and agreed
on a price which I paid.
It was a very pleasant experience and I would refer anyone to them in the future. I am so
glad I gave them the opportunity to make this right. It was a big miss understanding and I am so pleased we worked it out.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Asked for payment of service I didn't agree to have done and put a dent in truck. Also, I never got a full refund on seat covers they suggested to buy
Do not take your vehicle to this company to have vehicle seats reupholstered. I asked them to remove my current upholstery and replace with new. Cool Springs Upholstery suggested a company outside of there's to order the cloth. I bought the cloth from the company and had it delivered to Cool Springs Upholstery. I dropped my truck off and a few days later I called to check on the progress. I was told it would be done in a few more hours. When I arrived to pick up my truck it looked horrible! They didn't do what I asked at all! The company they suggested to order the cloth to reupholster my seats in my truck turned out to be seat covers! After confronting the owner who greeted me by my truck this was not what I wanted, he replied he wanted the full amount that was due for the work they have already done. I then replied this was not what I agreed to have done. The owner replied he was not there during the discussion on what was supposed to be done and said "I want my money." I then said I would of never agreed to pay to have seat covers installed. I already had seat covers in my truck that I put on myself. Anyways, it all boiled down to dishonesty and bad customer service. The owner was trying to bully me to pay for a service I did not agree to have done. There was no miscommunication in the beginning with the staff that deals with automobile service, they obviously wanted easy money for a cover up job they were hoping I didn't notice until I payed and left. Eventually, I got my down payment back from the owners son who is the one who suggested the company where the seat covers came from. Also, I found a pretty good sized dent in my rear bumper that was never there before until after I picked my truck up from Cool Springs Upholstery. They never mentioned my bumper getting hit. Also, I only got half of my money back for the seat covers that was returned.

Desired Settlement
I Would like them to pay for the dent to get fixed on my rear bumper. Also, I would like to get reimbursed for the rest of the money the company didn't give for returning the seat covers. Cool Springs Upholstery suggested me to buy the product. The product ended up being seat covers. I asked Cool Springs Upholstery to remove the old upholstery and put new on. Not have seat covers put over my old upholstery.

Business Response
January 16, 2015

Thank you very much for bringing this complaint to our attention. We were completely unaware of this customer's unhappiness until we received notice from you. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Ms. ****** came in to Cool Springs Upholstery and wanted a quote for a new interior for her truck. She didn't like the price for us to build seats covers so she was told she could go online and purchase them herself and we could install them for her. She said she would do that. Later, she brought the truck to us, paid a deposit of **** (the required half-down) and brought us what she had purchased, which turned out to be slipcovers, not seat covers. Not knowing this is not what she wanted, we installed the slipcovers. When she came to pick up the truck, she was not satisfied with the slipcovers. As a gesture of goodwill, we offered to take the slipcovers off and return her down payment the same day, even though we did the work she asked us to do. She accepted the offer, we wrote her a check for **** and it cleared September 19, 2014. We told her when she purchased the correct seat covers, we could install them for her.

We were never made aware of a dent in her truck until hearing from you now, months later. I can assure you we take great care of any vehicle that is in our possession and we did not make the dent.

Customer satisfaction is very important to us at Cool Springs Upholstery and we feel we went above and beyond for Ms. ****** by returning her money, even though we installed what she brought us. As our car upholsterer is an independent contractor, we had to pay him for the work he did and we received nothing. We do not believe we owe Ms. ****** any additional money.

Thank you again for allowing us to address this complaint.

***** ***********
Cool Springs Upholstery
7106 Crossroads Blvd, Ste 213
Brentwood, TN XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/26/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jim Reeser (Owner)
Business Category

Upholsterers, Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery, Furniture Repair & Refinish, Auto Upholstery Cleaning, Boat Covers, Tops & Upholstery, Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom

Products & Services

This company offers complete auto upholstery, boat interior work, furniture upholstery, window treatments, shutters, blinds, and draperies.

Industry Tips
Refunds & Exchanges

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cool Springs Upholstery and Design

7106 Crossroads Blvd Ste 213

Brentwood, TN 37027

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7106 Crossroads Blvd Ste 213 

    Brentwood, TN 37027

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cool Springs Upholstery and Design is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Upholsterers

Refunds & Exchanges
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.