BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/2010

Transmissions, Inc.

(615) 459-5504View Additional Phone Numbers598 S Lowry St, SmyrnaTN 37167-3818 Send email to Transmissions, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/2010

BBB has determined that Transmissions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Transmissions, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Transmissions, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We brought our 1997 GMC Sierra to your business on 8/11/14 for a transmission leak. Upon breaking it down and checking it out, we were advised that we needed a new torgue converter. You asked that we pay cash before the repairs were to be done. Because this is a business truck used for our landscaping business we needed repairs to be done in a timely manner, we immediately took you the requested amount of $1000.00 cash because if we did not pay by cash it would be more to pay by debit card. We were advised the work would be completed by end of next business day. It ended up being several days.Since then we had to bring the truck back in at least 4 or 5 times, along with the numerous times we came there just to be told there wasnt anything wrong. We had issues such as fluid leaking, truck bucking and jerking, vehicle had to be put into 3rd gear to drive, check engine light on, dirty rags stuffed up into the motor. The last time we was there, a man hooked a machine to the truck and said he was running codes and advised us that none of the codes showing were related to the transmission. And we needed to have those corrected as there was nothing more that Transmissions Inc. could do for us. This was approximately about the date of 10/22/2014. We did not drive the truck a lot over the winter, because of obvious needed repairs to correct the wrong that had been done at your shop. On February 27, 2015 we took the truck to **************, in Lavergne. The invoice is attached. We was advised by the repair man and documented on the receipt that the repairs needed to put the truck back in the original condition it was before your people worked on it were in fact all due to poor workmanship from your business.We are asking for a refund of the $1000.00 we gave you for repairs and a warranty that was not fulfilled. Please mail check to us within 10 days to avoid legal action, which will also include court costs and loss of business compensation.
Product_Or_Service: repair transmission leak

Desired Settlement
***** ***** is registered vehicle owner. I gave ************ all authorization to take vehicle to transmissions Inc. and have repairs made. I paid for repairs that were not correctly done and am requesting to be repaid my $1000.00 for repairs.

Business Response
This is ABSURD.We accommodated these people beyond transmission repair.

NO INVOICE FROM ********** ATTACHED....BEFORE I RESPOND FURTHER......I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE INVOICE FROM ********** SHE CLAIMS TO HAVE.

THANK YOU.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were not accommodated and respected as a customer. Truck was returned on numerous times to be repaired properly. It was taken back numerous times with leaking transmission fluid. we had to drive down the interstate and pull over because it was smoking with fluid spewing all over the road. The "master mechanics" on site, argued that it was not transmission fluid. we had to prove it was. How "ABSURD" that a "master mechanic" cant identify the difference between transmission fluid and motor oil.

each time the truck was taken in for work, it came out worse than it was before. One time we left the truck early in the morning to be checked out. The next morning when **** arrived before the shop opened to see the status. The truck was parked right up front by the road. Keys left in it all night. He brought that to "owners" attention by stating "someone could have stolen my truck." she responded with "That would have been a blessing" The last time we took truck in it was bucking and jerking and engine light was still on from the very first time it was in, your man 'appeared" to be running codes and stated there was nothing at all showing that applied to the transmission.
Each time we had contact with this location ended up in anger and frustration, because we had to pay upfront for a service and warranty that was not fulfilled


Final Business Response
First I would like to address the comment about the anger and frustration every time the customer came into the shop. They brought that with them. Between the cursing and screaming upon EVERY one of their arrivals, I had several potential customers lost and 1 very valuable employee quit. We practically GAVE this customer a transmission. They paid $1,000 for a converter, banner kit, band, drum, and bushing kit. Now anyone knows that you CAN NOT build a transmission that inexpensive.
It shifted firmer than they expected...we REBUILT it AGAIN...FREE OF CHARGE. Now I AM past LOSING MONEY. This is still not acceptable to them. Even though four different people drove it and it drove fine. It did shift firm but that was not the complaints they had. They call telling us there dash is missing and I try to explain that we do not go into the dash. When they arrive, the dash in intact.
My question has always been....if you have ALL of these people telling you what is wrong with your vehicle, then why do you bring it here and not take it to your so called "EXPERTS". Each visit ended up in employees being afraid, someone upset, or the police being called. Even after they were told by the police NOT to be on our property, they continued to bring the vehicle here. I do not know what I, Transmissions Inc. or any employee did to deserve to be hated so much. But this is not just about a vehicle and I am so glad I have been given the opportunity to address it. I am truly sorry************* and ***** ***** if you can not see that EVERYONE in this shop tried to help you even after all of the hateful things you did.
I feel this customer has already received their refund 4 times over and they are still getting the services rendered.

09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We agreed on a price then they told me they needed money upfront for parts I said I would have to get back to them then they ordered the parts anyway
We agreed on a price then they told me they needed money upfront for parts I said I would have to get back to them then they ordered the parts anyway without contacting me first and started rebuilding the transmission when I went up there was somebody to buy the car as is what I tore down transmission they wouldn't let me have the car because they said I owed them for the rebuild of the transmission I had to give them the transmission and pay them 500 for labor to take the car without the transmission and no where was that what we agreed upon in the beginning I wished I had gotten everything in writing to begin with

Desired Settlement
My $500 back or my transmission.

Business Response
TransmissionS Inc.
598 South Lowry Street
Smyrna TN XXXXX
(XXX)XXX-XXXX

September 5, 2014

**********
Better Business Bureau
Nashville TN


Re: Case #XXXXXXXX, ***** ***** ********

Thank you for your efforts to mediate this disagreement. We respect our customers and community. It is our position we have gone above and beyond requirements to satisfy Mr. and Mrs. ********. Perhaps you may be able to convey our understanding to them after we share our policies, timeline and notes with you.

The 2001 Honda Civic was brought to our shop on July 31, 2014 for a specialized computer diagnostic that searches for specific codes. This machine replies with codes more in depth and with more accuracy than standard diagnostic machines. Our 25 year master mechanic does this process to rule out any problems other than transmission failure. We do not charge for this service.

After running the diagnostic, we informed the customer that the transmission had an internal problem, and to find out the extent of the damage, we would need to remove the transmission from the vehicle, take it apart, clean and inspect the interior parts. We do not quote by book time...we offer a flat rate of $698 for labor plus parts, because we do not automatically quote customers on replacing the transmission with all new parts...only the ones that need replacing. There are also other money saving options of reconditioned or inspected used parts, and adding an external cooler and lines to bypass *** radiator, which helps extend the life of a transmission, and we provide different warranty lengths according to which options the customer chooses.

On July 31, 2014, Mr. *** ******** approved the labor cost of $698 to remove and restore the transmission, plus parts cost, which would be determined once the transmission was inspected and we could shop around for parts quotes. He gave us his date of birth as proof that he agreed to this. We have been rebuilding transmissions for 30 years and have a general idea what is costs, so we can provide an estimate, and we deliver this figure in a spread of dollar values, so as to give the customer the most up front information possible so they may make a decision as to whether their car is worth the repair cost and that they have the finances to cover the possible costs.

After receiving approval from Mr. ******** on August 4th for $2600 for parts and labor with a one year, unlimited mile warranty covering the replaced parts and labor, Mr. ******** again approved this cost over the phone by providing his birth date. We then ordered the parts and began rebuilding his transmission.

Later that day, Mr. ******** brought a gentleman to our shop to look at the car, who was interested in purchasing the car for $1000 from Mr. ********. I was confused by this action, as we had approval to repair the vehicle and had done work on it, and our shop had more than that invested in the car in parts and labor. The parts have a 30% re-stocking fee, if we send them back to the supplier.

On August 7th, Mrs. ***** ******** came into the shop with another gentleman wanting to go look at the car, telling me I was going to let that gentleman tow the car out of the shop. She was acting very rudely and harassing me. I have three witnesses of this. I asked her to leave, but my phone communications with Mr. ******** continued.

On August 14th, I agreed to allow removal of the vehicle if they paid $500 cash and leave the transmission with us as compensation for our significant investment. Mrs. ***** ******** paid $500 cash on August 14th and towed the vehicle away. Attached please find documentation of these occurrences.

Hopefully, you will be able to assist the customer in understanding that once approval for repairs is given, we should have been paid a minimum of $698 for labor, plus the cost of parts. If they rejected the parts, they should have paid an additional $500 for a restocking fee. It is customary that husbands and wives agree to the ordered services before hand and not put a repair shop in the middle of their disagreements as to what to do with their car. We simply do what we are told promptly, as most customers want their vehicles back on the road as soon as possible.

Thank you, once again, for your assistance in this matter. I will fax documents today.

Sincerely at your service,



*****************
General Manager


JC/pla


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes we agreed on $2600 then she asked for half cash up front I said I didn't like that she said what about at least thousand this was supposed to be before she would order the parts I said I would have to get back to her my mistake was taking her at her word that she wasn't going to order the parts till I brought her $1000 in cash I told her I would have to get back to her that's when I decided to sell the car for what I could get out of it when I brought somebody there she told me she had already ordered the parts I said why did you do that I had not brought you any cash so I thought she was going to cancel the parts and now she knows I'm trying to sell the car for what I can get out of it the way it is and I still didn't give her any money every mechanic that I've talk to says after they tell a customer they need money upfront before they order the parts that means just that they're not going to order the parts until after they receive some money upfront. She had said that once it was torn down if we decided it was too much to repair because they wouldn't have to put it back together or put it back in the car that we would just owe $500 and that was it of that 698 that she quoted for base parts and labor that's what I was expecting to pay $500 and get my car and the tore down transmission but that's when she said no first off she changed it and said that she never said that it would just be 500 she tried to say that she couldn't let the car go without the transmission Being in it so in my opinion they stole my transmission and if it was in such bad shape why did they wanted so bad.

Final Business Response
Thank you for your efforts to mediate this disagreement. We respect our customers and community. it is our position we have gone above and beyond requirements to satisfy the complainant. Perhaps you may be able to convey our understanding to them after we share our policies, timeline and notes with you.

The 2001 Honda Civic was brought to our shop on July 31, 2014 for a specialized computer diagnostic that searches for specific codes. This machine replies with codes more in depth and with more accuracy than standard diagnostic machines. Our 25 year master mechanic does this process to rule out any problems other than transmission failure. We do not charge for this service.

After running the diagnostic, we informed the customer that the transmission had an internal problem, and to find out the extent of the damage, we would need to remove the transmission from the vehicle, take it apart, clean it and inspect the interior parts. We do not quote by book time...we offer a flat rate of $698 for labor plus parts, because we do not automatically quote customers on replacing the transmission with all new parts...only the ones that need replacing. There are also other money saving options of new or reconditioned parts, and adding an external cooler and lines to bypass *** radiator, which helps extend the life of a transmission, and we provide different warranty lengths according to which options the customer chooses.

On, July 31, XXXXX, the complainant approved the labor cost of $698 to remove and restore the transmission, plus parts cost, which would be determined once the transmission was inspected and we could shop around for parts quotes. He gave us his date of birth as proof that he agreed to this. We have been rebuilding transmissions for 30 years and have a general idea of what it costs, so we can provide and estimate, and we deliver this figure in a spread of dollar values, so as to give the customer the most up front information possible so they may make a decision as to whether their car is worth the repair cost and that they have the finances to cover the possible costs.

After receiving approval from the complainant on August 4th for 2600 for parts and labor with a one year, unlimited mile warranty covering the replaced parts and labor, the complainant again approved this cost over the phone by again providing his birth date. We then ordered the parts and began rebuilding his transmission.

Later that day, the complainant brought a gentleman to our shop to look at the car, who was interested in purchasing the car for $1000 from the complainant. I was confused by this action, as we had approval to repair the vehicle and had done work on it, and our shop had more than that invested in the car parts and labor. The parts have a 30% restocking fee, if we send them back to the supplier.

On August 7th, the complainant's wife came into the shop with another gentleman wanting to go look at her car, telling me i was going to let that gentleman tow her car out of here. She was acting very rudely and harassing me. I have three witnesses of this. I asked her to leave, but my phone communications with her husband continued.

On August 14th, I agreed to allow removal of the vehicle if they paid $500 cash and leave the transmission with us as compensation for our significant investment. Mrs. ***** ******** paid $500 cash on August 14th and towed the vehicle away.

Hopefully, you will be able to assist the customer in understanding that once approval for repairs is given, we should have been paid a minimum of $698 for labor, plus the cost of parts. If they rejected the parts, they should have paid an additional $500 for a restocking fee. It is customary that husbands and wives agree to the ordered services before hand and not put a repair shop in the middle of their disagreements as to what to do with their car. We simply do what we are told promptly, as most customers want their vehicles back on the road as soon as possible.

Thank you, once again, for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely at your service,



*****************
General Manager

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for Transmission replacement. I still have the same transmission and still isn't working after 2 months of being in the shop with more problems.
The woman initially said they were going to put a new tranny in for x number of dollars. She is telling me now that there is no such thing as a new tranny. I paid for my transmission to be fixed in August. T/I insisted that I pay at least $500 before they started the work and I did. When I picked up my car up I didn't get home before the Tranny started shifting hard again. I took it back in, a couple of weeks later they said it was replaced with another tranny. I picked it up and there was a horrible noise in the front end, all of the dash lights stayed on all the time, there was a clunk when starting the car and the engine was running rough. I took it back again and they said they fixed it. The tranny is still the same tranny that I originally had in the car and I paid for a replacement. She admitted that they just did some tweaks to it and didn't really replace the tranny. She did offer for me to bring it back in and she would pay for a rental but I don't want a rental. After 2 months I should be able to drive my car. I have a funeral out of town that I have to attend. I am hoping the car will make it. This woman has lied to me over and over.

Desired Settlement
I want my money refunded so I can take my car to be fixed somewhere else.

Business Response
Transmissions Inc. towed this vehicle free of charge from Thompson Station to Smyrna and did a full diagnostic free of charge. We found internal problems with her transmission. Codes present were Maximum Adapt and long shift and lockuo, therefore we knew it was an internal problem. The customer gave authorization to pull and tear down the transmission, then on 09/04/13 gave authorization to build the transmission. At this time, we told the customer that her engine mounts were weak and the motor was shaking excessively. She informed me that she just wanted the transmission repaired. On 09/10/13 customer brought vehicle back with complaints of hard shifts and we could not get it to recreate the problem. In order to provide a solution, we replaced the transmission with a LKQ unit, shifter cable and all the labor involved with those repairs at our expense. ( I have copy of LKQ transmission purchased for her on file.) The transmission is NOT the same one we built originally and can be verified with the receipt I have on file. On Oct. 21, 2013 customer brought the vehicle in with the complaint of grinding noise and clunking when starting, we found that someone had replaced the wheel hub assembly incorrectly damaging the wiring harness.This was verified through several mechanics and parts stores. She said her car had not been worked on other than here. In order to resolve the situation once again, we purchased another wheel assembly hub and spent 3 hours labor installing it. I informed her once again that her mounts were bad. She replied they were fine when she came in.She accused the mechanics of messing up the mounts. Mounts can not be messed up, they just wear out with time. They were weak when she brought it in the first time. ONCE AGAIN, I tried to resolve the situation by offering her a rental car and free labor to change the mouunts, I only asked her to buy the mounts that should have been purchased in the beginning. She refused that offer.
As much time and parts as we have in this vehicle, the customer has already received a full refund. The original price for the rebuild was $1640. We have tried everything we can to help this customer but we are in the negative on this car at this point. We can not be expected to repair problems that have nothing to do with transmissions or any services we performed. This vehicle had mutiple mechanical issues on arrival. We repaired what the customer requested. We are a transmission shop and went above and beyond to repair additional mechanical problems to satisfy this customer.

Consumer Response
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Y ****** <********@bellsouth.net>
Date: Fri, Dec 13, 2013 at 12:35 PM
Subject: Complaint
To: "*******@gobbb.org" <*******@gobbb.org>



I sent in a complaint about Transmission, Inc. The complaint says I didn't respond. I didn't get any notice to respond.

But that's fine, I'm getting an attorney and I realize that BBB doesn't really stand for anything.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/06/2004Business started: 05/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1994, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Callahan (President)Mr. Darrell Becker (General Manager)Ms. Andrea Sias
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Differentials - Automobile, Towing - Automotive, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Clutches, Engines - Gas

Products & Services

This company offers automobile repairs including transmission repairs and parts. In addition, the company offers towing and car rental services.

Alternate Business Names
High Gear
Industry Tips
Automobile - Transmission
Automobile - Renting
Automobile - Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Transmissions, Inc. has received 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Transmissions, Inc.

598 S Lowry St

Smyrna, TN 37167-3818

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 598 S Lowry St 

    Smyrna, TN 37167-3818(615) 459-5504
    (615) 459-5550
    (888) 459-5504
    (615) 371-9866

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Transmissions, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 376-3498
  • (888) 459-5504
  • (615) 459-5550
  • (615) 371-9866
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Transmissions - Automobile

Automobile - Transmission
Automobile - Renting
Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.