BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2012

Bobby's Transmission, LLC

Find a Location

(931) 647-7358160 Kraft St, ClarksvilleTN 37040-3091 Send email to Bobby's Transmission, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the repair and service of automobile transmissions.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2012

BBB has determined that Bobby's Transmission, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bobby's Transmission, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bobby's Transmission, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This was the worst shop I have ever done business with in my life. They recommended I get a new clutch and transmission so I accepted. When I got it b
This was the worst shop I have ever done business with in my life. They recommended I get a new clutch and transmission so I accepted. When I got it back the transmission was grinding when I try to put it in gear. So I took it back for them to work on. I got it back again and still the same problem. This went on for months I took it back 3 times and they could not get it right. A taxi driver from ABC taxi drove me home and told me the same exact thing happened to him with his trans am. He had to keep taking it back and they couldnt get it right. He finally gave up because they were wasting his time. ***** told me over the phone they worked on my car 3 times and the third time is the last time. He said he wasn't going to work on my car anymore. So the transmission is still grinding but they told me to not come back.

Desired Settlement
refund

Business' Initial Response
We did not repair Mr. ***********'s transmission, we replaced his transmission with a remanufactured transmission from W.I.T., a very reputable nationwide company. His car worked perfectly when it left our shop. Mr *********** told me that he had been taking his car to the drag strip and racing it. He was advised that it would not hold up for the purpose of racing and should consider an automatic transmission for durability. Race car parts are generally not warrantied. Surprisingly W.I.T. gave him two more transmissions at no charge. His warranty does not cover abuse and when he chose to race his car at the drag strip, he voided his warranty.

08/13/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i have a 1 year warranty on my transmission to my windstar van .that they rebuild and i had it for five months and it started lecking fluid.and he wan
i have a 1 year warranty on my transmission to my windstar van that they rebuild.and i had it for five months .and it started lecking fluid.and he wanted to charge me 450 dollors to fix it.and payed 1,306 on 12\4\12 for him to rebuild it and 159 for a cooler instullation and 18.99 for speed secor and 38.50 for fluid.and he will not onor the warranty for the windstar van.oder number 44852and 44562and 12\28\12.year200 make is ford model is wlx body type is es.

Desired Settlement
i will like my money back .or if they can fix it it would be better.

Business' Initial Response
We repaired this customer's transmission in Jan. It was brought in to our business already removed from his van and also carried out. We did not perform the installation. The customer was advised at that time that we would warranty the transmission but could not warranty the installation and were not responsible for any problems that might result from improper installation performed by another party. That policy would be the same or similar policy had he gone anywhere else and bought a transmission off the shelf. The installation of this customer's transmission was completely improperly causing the pump seal to be broken causing the leak. He was charged for the rebuild with no labor for the removal or installation. The rebuild of this transmission was done correctly.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because this transmission is slipping.if it was put in correctly then why is it .its slipping first gear real hard.and the tracing device light come on . First of all the transmission is slipping and they rebuilt it.and something need to be done about this .why is my van changing gear real hard

Business' Final Response
As we stated in our original response, the installation or problems resulting from an improper installation are not covered by warranty because the installation was performed somewhere else. The slipping and changing gears hard that Mr. ******* describes in his latest complaint are likely caused by driving the vehicle with the fluid level too low. The leak was from the broken pump seal which was a direct result of improper installation.

05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/03/1992Business started: 01/01/1962
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tracey Smith (Owner)
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobile - Transmission
Automobile - Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bobby's Transmission, LLC has received 4.42 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bobby's Transmission, LLC

160 Kraft St

Clarksville, TN 37040-3091

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 160 Kraft St 

    Clarksville, TN 37040-3091

  • PO Box 845 

    Clarksville, TN 37041-0845

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bobby's Transmission, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Transmissions - Automobile

Automobile - Transmission
Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.