BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gateway Tire & Service Center #25

Phone: (931) 381-5100Fax: (931) 381-5122407 South James Campbell Blvd., ColumbiaTN 38401http://www.dktire.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Gateway Tire & Service Center #25 is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gateway Tire & Service Center #25's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gateway Tire & Service Center #25

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Head gasket blew on my vehicle just two months after Gateway had replaced it and while vacationing out state. Gateway not willing to compensate.
On 5/2/2015 my vehicle was towed to Gateway as it had been overheating and ultimately stalled out. The mechanic's diagnosis was that the radiator needed to be replaced which we had done for $606.06. Several days later, on 5/6/2015, this vehicle again had to be towed to Gateway as it was continuing to overheat, was steaming/smoking out of the engine, and stalled out. The diagnosis at that time was that it had a blown head gasket that needed replacing. To Gateway's credit, they provided this repair at no charge to us which we greatly appreciated. It took about a week for the work to be done and we had no further issues with the car overheating throughout the remainder of May and June, 2015.

On 7/6/2015, feeling confident that the vehicle was in good operating order, we opted to drive it 7 ½ hours to New Orleans for vacation. About 7 hours into the trip, we noticed that the vehicle began to overheat. We were able to make it to our hotel, where the vehicle remained parked for the duration of our trip (until we were to leave on Friday, 7/10/2015). Shortly after leaving New Orleans on 7/10/2015, the car again began to overheat and ultimately stalled out, requiring us to have it towed to a ********* ******* ****** in Slidell, Louisiana. The mechanics ultimately diagnosed the problem with the vehicle as being a blown head gasket. In addition, particles from the head gasket had gotten into the radiator, ultimately requiring the radiator to be replaced as well. The total cost for these repairs was ********* As we were out of town, had to be back at work on Monday, 7/13/15 and the repairs to the vehicle would not be completed until around Thursday, 7/16/15, we ultimately had incur the additional cost of a rental car for a week ********** We also incurred the costs of gas and a hotel room ******** when we had to return to Slidell, Louisiana on Friday, 7/17/15 to pick up our vehicle, return the rental car, and drive back home on Saturday, 7/18/15.

Suffice it to say, we are frustrated and disappointed with the work Gateway did on our vehicle both in terms of replacing the radiator and the head gasket, given that we have now incurred the costs of having to have both replaced again (only 2 months after Gateway replaced them). Given that we have been loyal customers of Gateway for several years, we attempted to resolve the issue amicably by first sending a letter and later having phone conversations with the manager at Gateway, *** ******. As of a phone conversation had with Mr. ****** today (7/30/2015), he indicated that Gateway was not willing to compensate us for any of these costs.

It is more than disappointing that Gateway has taken such a position as it seems clear to us that since the head gasket on the vehicle blew just two months after Gateway had replaced it, that the work they did was of insufficient and poor quality. It is truly unacceptable that the head gasket and radiator blew and needed to be replaced just two months after they were replaced by Gateway.

Certainly, had we been local when the head gasket blew on 7/10/2015 we would have had the car taken back to Gateway to be repaired (yet again). However, given that there was not a Gateway location within a reasonable distance from where we were in Slidell, Lousiana, and not being familiar with the area, we felt we had no choice but to have the car repaired at a ********* (since, at least, if there were further problems once getting the car home, we had ********* locations close to our home as well).

We are disappointed (to say the least) in Gateway's unwillingness to take responsibility for what has transpired in this situation. And, we continue to feel strongly that they should compensate us for the work that we had to have done on the vehicle that they had just done for us two months prior.

Desired Settlement
Compensation for the cost we had to pay ********* to replace the radiator and head gasket - ********

Reimbursement for the money paid to Gateway for replacing the radiatory in early May, 2015 - *******

Reimbursement for hotel and gas due to having to rreturn to Louisiana to pick up the vehicle - *******

Reimbursement for rental car due to having to leave the vehicle in Louisiana for repairs to be done - *******

Business Response
BBB,

As per our phone conversation, we do not feel we were in anyway responsible for the ***** trouble on their vacation trip. There were many contributing factors.

We did go to an outside professional to get their opinion, which they agreed with us.

After correspondence with the ***** we decided to offer ******* because customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. They accepted the offer and we feel the complaint should be removed.

Thank you for your time.

***** ******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While it is true that Gateway eventually decided to offer us ***** (half of our total expenses) in compensation for what occurred with our vehicle, it was only after we involved an attorney that they did so. Prior to involving an attorney, we attempted to negotiate with Gateway directly on this matter. As mentioned in previous coorespondence, they were unwilling to provide ANY compensation at that time. Thus, while they assert that they decided to offer us ***** "because customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us," it is our assertion that if that were true, they would have offered that in the beginning. As it was, we feel that their offer was a direct result of us involving legal counsel and an effort to avoid further legal action should they have continued to refuse any compensation.

We have accepted Gateway's offer of ***** and will not pursue any further action on this matter (legal or otherwise).

Final Consumer Response

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/06/2003Business started: 11/01/1972Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1972, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Beadle (Manager) Shannin Alsup (Assistant Manager)
Business Category

Tire Dealers, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Air Conditioning

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers tire sales and auto repair and service.

Alternate Business Names
Dunlap & Kyle Tire Company, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gateway Tire & Service Center #25

407 South James Campbell Blvd.

Columbia, TN 38401

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 407 South James Campbell Blvd. 

    Columbia, TN 38401(931) 381-5100
    Fax: (931) 381-5122

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gateway Tire & Service Center #25 is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

Automobile - Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.