BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2012

Pool & Spa Depot, LLC

Phone: (931) 854-9255Fax: (931) 854-9277View Additional Phone Numbers1470 Interstate Dr, CookevilleTN 38501-4123 Send email to Pool & Spa Depot, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2012

BBB has determined that Pool & Spa Depot, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pool & Spa Depot, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pool & Spa Depot, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Work on pool never finished
Purchased liner in March 2015. Asked if pool could be ready by end of May , they finally got here June 6, worked a couple hours said they would be back next day. Had to call *** in cookeville to get the contractor josh back out worked another hour and left ,after many calls to *** and a call to *****, finally started adding water on June 27, 2015 and wrote a check for $4500.00 , $800.00 more than quoted.Had a 4th of July party scheduled, it set into raining , liner floated to top on July 3rd, called ***** ( owner of pool & spa) he got in touch with *** who finally got josh back out Late that afternoon. Water was running in from bottom of pool so much rain, was told by josh nand *** not their problem but would put liner back in this time. After rain stopped tried to get in touch with contractor josh would not answer my calls after a week or so called *** . Josh said he would put some cement in hole and caulk around pool so water would not run behind liner . Josh came back on July 16th put liner back in said he would be back to finish when it got full of water , called him on July 17, had wrinkles in bottom of pool to this date August 11 , have not seen or heard anything from josh or pool and spa.

Desired Settlement
Finish job or money back.

Business Response
I'm extremely sorry that it took so long to get the liner installed that you purchased from us and the issue that you had after the liner was installed with all the rain that we had in a very short time coming up from the ground causing the liner to float. I know it's been frustrating with the amount of time it took for installation and all of the problems that you have had after installation with the rain. It is set on the schedule to be resolved on 8/26/15 and I hope to have it 100% complete before the end of the day on Thursday 8/27/15. We appreciate your business and choosing Pool & Spa Depot as your pool store of choice. I hope with getting this resolved we can continue working together as your pool service center.

Please contact me with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,
*** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Pool and spa service tech came out and fixed the liner,pool looks good.

09/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Damaged personal property in the attempt to perform a repair service.
Acquired the service of Pool and Spa Depot to replace my pool liner. In which they are whom I purchased my pool from 8 years ago in May. Once the liner was installed we were unable to fill the pool up due to a leak. While in a attempt to search for the leak we were suprised to notice that the walls to our pool were damages. Appearing to have been cut while removing existing liner. Contacted Pool and Spa several times trying to obtain a service guy to repair. With many attempts and false scheduled times for someone to come out. Each account I had requested for someone to call me before they come to my property so I could be there. That did not happen and I was told they sent someone to take pictures of the damage. Still attempting to get someone to come out regarding the liner replacement. Finally the service gentlemen came out and stated that he would check with manager about replacing the liner due to a leak in the seam. Spoke with manager regarding the walls and he stated 1st that it was from rust until we informed him that we have aluminum walls. Stated that it was from sand oxidation. Explained to the manger that these slits and openings are from inside out not inside in. The store mgr stated to me that he discussed these slits with his other managers and they were quarter dollar size. I explained that was untrue unless he zoomed in on his picture. Not sure why he did not take pics using a measuring tape. Which I can provide. He is stating that the repair will cost me approximately $2700. Explained to the manager that I should not be responsible for their mistakes. There was nothing wrong with the Pol walls until I contacted his company to perform my repairs.

Desired Settlement
Would like for someone to contact me that has some customer skills which should not be the manager of the Cookeville location. Need my liner replaced as well as the damaged walls to my pool.

Business Response

I am sorry for the issues that you have had with your pool. After talking with the owner and the manufacturer of the pool we have submitted to you a quote on fixing the 8 *** year old wall and replacement of liner via email. After contacting you, you stated that you wanted to get several quotes from different pool companies.
We would like to get this resolved with replacement of new wall and liner as soon as you are ready.
We will perform the work for ****** plus tax. This is a further discount from the last one as an effort to resolve the problem.
Please contact me with any questions or concerns.
Thank you,
*** ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** von Hopffgarten called me on X-XX-XX @ 12:53pm asking me to contact the BBB & tell them that we are working this situation out. I explained to him that I would contact BBB and state that he has made contact with me by phone. Although I would not state that this matter was being resolved because it has not been. Also I did not state that I was contacting 2 other companies for an estimate. I stated that I would like to contact 2 more companies to give me their opinion or quote on what they think caused this issue at hand. Whether it was negligence on the companies install crew or some other reason. Mr. ******** states in his response that "We would like to get this resolved with replacement of new wall and liner as soon as you are ready.
We will perform the work for $2,200 plus tax. This is a further discount from the last one as an effort to resolve the problem". There has only one bid submitted to me for repair in which I will attach. The ***** comes into play because before I replaced my liner I inquired on the cost of replacement to see if that would be an more reasonable route to take. Until I asked why I was quoted $2200 before the liner replacement and now since there is damage to my pool walls with a 30% warranty the cost jumps up significantly. The only resolution that I am being offered is to replace my walls when there was no damage until the liner was replaced. If this damage was there when they removed the liner then why did they proceed to put the new liner in? Someone should of contacted me at that point. Not install a new liner & wait for me to find the issues. If the new liner was not defected I would probably have not found the issue. The new liner needs to be replaced at no charge. Also the walls could have been repaired before installing the new liner. Two other companies that have looked at it states that this is not from sand oxidation but a warranty defect & the new liner should have never been installed. The damage area is in the same measurement area not just sporadic which is what it would have been if it was from the sand. Also one company at first suggested that it had been cut but then stated more they looked at it that it was a defect. Also both companies state that the damage on the inside will be extremely worse than what I am seeing on the outside. So there is no way that the repair guys could have not seen it. It could have been repaired at that moment. Not sure why I should pay for a defect. In closing at this point I am contacting the manufacture of my pool to see status of my warranty is since the Zenith pools state "The Zenith's steel structure is entirely protected by a variety of finishes. These optimize its resistance to corrosion while preventing condensation between the liner and the wall - ensuring a long, solid life for your pool". I will contact you as soon as I get a response

Additional Information


The company asks that consumers contact Greg Carrell, General Manager, at 615.315.8000 ( or Peter Von Hopffgarten, Owner at 615-405-0522 ( prior to filing a complaint with BBB. BBB encourages consumers to allow Greg or Peter 72 hours to respond to the matter (excluding weekends and holidays) before filing a complaint.

BBB file opened: 09/25/2002Business started: 09/15/1996Business started locally: 03/01/2002New Owner Date: 06/01/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Von Hopffgarden (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Greg Carrell (General Manager)Mr. Jim Sullivan (Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Storm Shelters, Pool Tables Sales, Sauna Equipment & Supplies, Tanning Salons Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Furniture - Outdoor, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

This company offers swimming pools, supplies and accessories including furniture. In addition, the company sells hot tubs, saunas, tanning beds, pool tables and related recreational equipment.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pool & Spa Depot, LLC

1470 Interstate Dr

Cookeville, TN 38501-4123

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1470 Interstate Dr 

    Cookeville, TN 38501-4123(888) 876-0323
    (931) 854-9255

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pool & Spa Depot, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 876-0323
  • (931) 260-1237

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.