BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Blue Diamond Pool & Spa, LLC

(888) 629-222714811 Lebanon Rd, Old HickoryTN 37138-1820http://www.bdpoolandspa.com ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Blue Diamond Pool & Spa, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Blue Diamond Pool & Spa, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 17 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 9 complaints filed against business.
  • 4 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • 14 serious complaints filed against business.
  • Failure to have a required competency license.

This company has received a pattern of customer complaint that is of a serious nature regarding customer service issues, contract issues, product issues, repair issues, and service issues.

Specifically, complaints allege consumers paid several thousands of dollars in deposits for the installation of swimming pools with promised completion dates; however, the company has failed to honor their contracts/agreements as promised. All complaints indicate the company fails to return phone calls regarding installation or repair issues despite leaving multiple messages requesting assistance. Several indicate the project was to begin in 3 to 4 weeks, but after waiting several months, the project remains incomplete. Some complaints indicate that the liner of the pool arrived damaged or was damaged during installation, and the company will not return to repair issues and fails to keep scheduled appointments. Other complaints indicate the installation of the pool has been hindered by the company's lack of preparation beforehand, such as not having the proper parts, tools, or machinery during the scheduled installation.

BBB contacted the business for resolutions to these complaints; however, the responses provided did not resolve the matters.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blue Diamond Pool & Spa, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
06/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inground pool ordered on November 6th, 2012. Pool is not completed yet after almost 6 months from order.
Blue Diamond Pool&Spa Pool Purchase-Studtmann Pool-Timeline

* 11/05/12 Pool order placed, paid $10,000 down via money order. Total project cost is $43,708.71
* 11/29/12 - Requested status update, no response
* 12/18/12 - Requested update
* 12/19/12 - Response from Blue Diamond Pool & Spa (BDPS), plan to start after the holidays
* 01/05/13 - Requested an update from Jeff Slaughter (owner)
* 01/07/13 - Jeff responded saying Adam from (BDPS)would call on 01/08/13 with an update
* 01/28/13 - Begin to dig hole for pool
* 02/14/13 - Pool support Wall installation begins
* 02/20/13 - Support wall install completed. Paid $8302.17 per payment schedule
* 03/04/13 - Pool liner install begins. BDPS workers broke gas line, attempted repair unsuccessfully. Studtmann contacted their propane company to repair break. Large propane bill for this period. Third payment in the amount of $8302.17 paid to BLPS per payment schedule
* 03/08/13 - New foreman (Barry B) on the job from
BDPS. Informed us that skimmer was on backorder.
* 03/13/13 - Expected skimmer & light installation
& delivery of pool equipment. This did not happen.
* 03/14/13 - Barry left us a voicemail: wrong skimmer received, having the correct one express
mailed & will install this week.
* 03/14/13 - Barry said he was in route to pick up
skimmer and bring to Studtmann house. He never came.
* 03/16/13 - Wrote Jeff Slaughter expressing our dissatisfaction with the pool progress. Informed
him that we were going to seek legal council to review our options.
* 03/18/13 - Response from Jeff Slaughter - Arbitration will stop all work on the pool. Asked
that we work with Barry to complete the job. Jeff
also commented that the public pools don't open until Memorial Day. (This is not a public pool.)
* 03/20/13 - Skimmer arrives, Barry does a partial install, but could not complete on his own.
* 04/02/13 - Gravel put around pool. Pump & filter
placed on slab, but not hooked up.
* 04/03/13 - Barry said he was trying to schedule
more dirt & gravel to be delivered on 4/6, 4/8 or
4/9.
* 04/08/13 - Contacted Barry to request a status
update on the delivery since we needed to be home
for this.
* 04/09/13 - Barry left voicemail that the gravel & dirt would be delivered on 04/10.
* 04/10/13 - No gravel or dirt delivered. Called Barry, he did not answer & his voicemail was full;
could not leave a message. Same thing with Jeff Slaughter. Sent Barry an e-­mail - awaiting response.

Desired Settlement
I would like Blue Diamond pool and spa to have this project completed by the end of this month (April). I have been more than patient. I ordered the pool well in advance of the season. BDPS has worked on this project about one to two days each month. I feel that since I live in Hartsville, they are putting others closer to their facility as a priority.

Business' Initial Response


In response to Mrs *********'s complaint dated the 11th of April 2013, we are extremely regretful that The ********* family is underwhelmed by our timeline involving construction that has transpired over the winter months.

Both parties have incurred significant delays from a Supply-Chain perspective. Also, Blue Diamond's efforts were thwarted again in February when a Sr Project Mgr abruptly left Blue Diamond's employment. This person was at that time handling the ********* Project.

Since February, I have overseen completion of the skimmer installation, remaining plumbing, special visit to accommodate the *********'s chosen electrician, and we have set all equipment contracted through Blue Diamond. The last two days were spent backfilling the pool and it is ready for the forming of the concrete pool deck.

The dirt that had to be brought in was 120 tons of fill material that was required to retain the necessary backfill for beneath the pool deck. This service was provided and overseen by Blue Diamond and was not part of our contract with ********* family. This service was extended as a courtesy and has been completed successfully as the earthmoving portion has been completed and the ********* family has paid the dirt hauling co. Yes, the dirt was scheduled three times with ****** at **************** and we all were let down three times.

All we have to complete is the forming and pouring of the decks. That is contingent upon the electrician having his grounding loop completed and inspected. I did notify their electrician after my site-inspection this morning, via his voice-mail. We also still need to plumb equipment at the equipment pad. There are two small areas where the liner has began to pull out of the track. I reviewed my plan with *** ********* and he agreed this morning.

Mr ********* also said he would contact your office today to indicate that we are moving along.

Best Regards,

***** *******
Sr Project Mgr.
Blue Diamond Pool and Spa, LLC.
*************************************

Consumer's Final Response
The BBB did speak to the consumer. The consumer advised the project was completed the end of May and the complaint is resolved.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pool project
The hole was dug on our property two weeks before Thanksgiving 2012. Our fiberglass pool was installed on March 7th 2013. As of today it has been filled with water but no pump has every been installed. It is covered in algae and has mosquitos and frogs in it.
We cannot even take our grandchildren outside. We just want them to finish the project. 7 months should be plenty of time.

Desired Settlement
We just want our pool completed!!

Business' Initial Response
We are very close to finishing this project. Liquid shock was poured in the pool yesterday to start cleaning it up. Equipment should be set once the footer is cut out, and if no rain it will be done tomorrow. This project is one of top priority jobs and we are doing our best to get it completed in just a few more weeks. The homeowners have been great to work with, very patience and understanding, and we want to thank them for that. Once this project is finished this will be a great pool to enjoy for years to come.

Sincerely
Blue Diamond Pool and Spa

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were forced to cut the ties because Metro revoked the building permit. Blue Diamond signed a contract with us on 10/24/12 without even having a contractors license.
They had another company pull a building permit 6 months after work had already started in the amount of $24,900.00 Our project is for $160,000.00

Business' Final Response
Unfortunately *** ******* chose to cut ties with Blue diamond and would not allow us to complete his job. He has hired another company to do this for him. We would love the opportunity to resolve any issues and complete this job but at this point we are not certain how to proceed.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Blue Diamond has failed to provide any communication on the status of our pool project since the day we ordered the pool, and no work has been done.
We ordered a fiberglass pool from Blue Diamond on 2/26/2013. We gave them a check for $20,000, which they cashed on 2/27/2013. At that time, they told us the next step was to order the permit. Once it was received, they would order the pool.

I provided them the home survey the following week so they could order the permit. Since that time, I have received no definitive information on whether the permit has been requested or the pool ordered. I have tried to get this information from them on more than 10 occasions, via emails, texts, their basecamp communication system, and by phone. I spoke with ****** ***, ***** and various staff in their retail shop. I was consistently told that someone would get back to me or that they had to find out the status from Adam because he took care of all the permits.

OIn early May, I was told that ****** their lead installer, had left the organization and that I needed to speak with ***. When I spoke with ***, hhe apologized for the situation and said he would do his best to find out what was going on. HHe acknowledged that there had been communication problems and things were falling behind with many clients. Thereafter, I received a couple of communications from *** saying that he was trying to reach Adam to get me an answer. As of today, I have no answer and *** is no longer responding to my calls.

I sent Blue Diamond an email on Wednesday, May 22nd, requesting that my $20,000 down payment be refunded. I outlined the reasons why--complete lack of communication on the project status and the significant length of time that had passed without any evidence of progress.

Today (5/24/2013( I called the City of Brentwood and they informed us that no pool permit had been applied for at *** ********* **** (our home).

Desired Settlement
We would like our down payment of $20,000 returned to us. The pool has not been ordered, and the permit has not even been filed so Blue Diamond has incurred no significant costs.

Business' Initial Response
We are working with Ms ******** to get her shell installed next. I will be talking to the fiberglass manufacturer today to set up delivery hopefully next week. I will keep you posted on the progress of this job.

Thanks
****

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would like update on issues and better communication when we call for assistance.
Numerous issues from day 1 with services as promised. They don't show up for scheduled appts. Have to call them to remind them and told they were too busy and behind and then set up another appt. Supposed to service pool monthly as part of agreement but never consistent services. As of today over a month since last service.

Most upsetting issue is our pump motor is going out. After no show to look at it, we called back and given usual excuse of too busy. Finally came and got part numbers a week ago. No updates had been given. Yesterday, 6/10/13 called and made 3 attempts that day for a call back. Left messages: General mailbox, Employee named **** to check with ******** Receptionist message. Tried Service Manager **** but voicemail too full for messages. Today 6/11/13 called owner **** ********* directly in hopes for call back. Had to leave message with receptionist again.

Simply would like a response on when we might expect replacement. Parts should be under warranty still since only had 1 year. Afraid they may not have even ordered yet just because of past experience with service. We would like some reassurance. Filter/pump getting worse and if not replaced soon, afraid it will burn up. Then there will be no filtration at all in the pool.

We are not trying to be difficult but we paid a lot of money for pool. Already having product failure and unfulfilled service requests we were promised at the time of sale. Hope we are not being purposely ignored at this point but afraid that we are. If we could get services as promised and just common courtesy responses from them, we would not have to bother them constantly for help. At this point, don't know what else to do unfortunately but file a complaint with BBB in hopes of future cooperation and communication with service issues. Especially need this part replaced as it should be under warranty still and will cause major issues if not.

Thank you

Desired Settlement
Just want services as promised to clean and service pool monthly and main need right now is to get part replaced before major issues.

Business' Initial Response
This is a warranty issue that we are resolving as quickly as possible. Unfortunately we cannot control how quickly the manufacturer sends us replacement warranty parts. But their items have been ordered and we will take care of this as soon as we receive them! It should be within the next few days. We do apologize to the ****'s that this has taken longer than we would both like and we appreciate their patience as we get this matter resolved. They are wonderful customers and we enjoy working with them!

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have accepted that there will be no resolution with Blue Diamond Pool. This response they gave is a TERRIBLE excuse! Their progress is not limited by having to wait on the parts to replace our motor. It has been 3.5 weeks now and NO communication from them. I have contacted them repeatedly by phone, email and in person. I find their comment: "They are wonderful customers and we enjoy working with them!" to be a joke because it's obvious they do not respect their customers who have already paid them. They are fantastic at selling and getting the deal written up though!

After 2 weeks, because of BDP's incompetence, excuses and avoidance, I went directly to pool pump manufacturer ********** A ******* Rep shipped the part to BDP for me to be sure they got it and to help expedite our repair. I was told it would have taken no longer than 3 days to arrive. I waited about 4 days and contacted BDP via email to see if the part arrived. Once again....NO response. Yesterday, I contacted my ******* Rep and informed him BDP will probably just sit on the part and that we as customer's are at the mercy of this company. The ******* Rep was nice enough to ship to me directly. It will be here no later than Monday. I would also like it to be known that I called 2 other local pool stores and they both said they could get the part in within days. BDP's response on 6/27/13 is a generic response. They are trying to blame the manufacturer for slow delivery. That is not the case at all.

At this point, I am going to have to pay out of my own pocket to have another company install this for me. We are willing to do this though because this whole past year has been too stressful anytime we have had to deal with BDP. The stress isn't worth it and when they do something for us anyway, it's not without hassle and disrespect. It's very sad that a company can do this to their "customers" and basically get away with it. Again, at this point, we want nothing to do with them. We are handling it on our own with another competent company.

I do not want anything from them at this point other than for the facts to be known. I hope other's who might be considering BDP for their major purchase, will research with the BBB and avoid becoming another victim.

07/02/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were told our pools installation would start in 4 weeks. It is now 7 and the owners will not communicate with us. They have $10,000 of our money
This company has the worst communciation that I have ever experienced. We signed a contract for pool installation 7 weeks ago. We provided them $10,000 for a deposit and were told our pool installation would start in 4 weeks. Over the first 4 weeks we heard nothing....3 weeks ago I was able to contact **** **** (Owner) on his cell phone (after 7 attempts of texts and messages)and he sent someone out to the house to inspect our property. We were told then our installation would start in 2 more weeks. After this didn't happen, I have tried to get back in touch with **** without success---Texts and emails haven't been returned. At this point I either want my $10,000 deposit back and we'll go with a reputal company that communciates, or I want my pool insatllation started immediately. I've tried to be as patient as possible but when a company has $10,000 of your money and wont communicate it's very hard to trust them.

Desired Settlement
I either want my pool installation to start immediately or I want my deposit back. They haven't started anything yet so they could refund my money. My fear is, they have taken my money and are waiting for other suckers to shell out $10,000 to purchase my pool. I have spoke to their distributor ******** Pools)and they haven't even ordered my pool kit yet....Imagine that!!

Business' Initial Response
We have been consistently communicating with *** ******* and keeping him updated on the status of his pool installation. Per our contract we do not do refunds due to delays. Unfortunately in this business the weather can cause major delays as well as other unexpected events. We are working as hard as we can to complete everything and get the ******* pool finished. We really appreciate their patience and look forward to working with them!

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is running a type of Ponsi scheme. I have spoke to a recent employee and have been told that they wait for new suckers to pay them $10,000 and they they pay a contractor to start on a old scheduled pool, etc....I have spoke to numerous people (16) in the same situation I am. I signed a contract and was verbally told before I signed by their representative that my pool would start within 4 weeks. I was also told 4 weeks ago by another of their represenatives that my pool would start in 2 weeks. This company will never start my pool and they are giving the BBB lip service and using the weather as a crutch. The weather isn't the issue. They have spent no $$ on my pool installation. (I have verified that with the pool manufacturer) So they have my $$ and certainly haven't used it for my pool. If they were a legitmate company they would refund my money. I want my $$ back and am meeting with a Lawyer later today. Please help anyway that you can.

Business' Final Response
We have a contract to build, Mr. ******* pool, and that is what we do, build pools, we have several pools being built right now, and as soon as we are finished with the ones that signed before him we will start his pool. We have a contract that we go by, and Mr. ******* signed this contract and its terms. We understand he is anxious to start but he will need to wait just like the other customers we have before we start his pool. His accusations are false and misleading. We have customers patiently waiting to install their pools. This is standard in the pool industry and in construction. We start projects and customers add features and products like outdoor kitchens, pergolas and fences. This causes major unforeseen extensions on projects as well as the weather. We will begin Mr. ******* project shortly and can keep you up to date on the progress.

Thanks!

11/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered pool liner with installation with a down payment of approximately 90%. This check cleared my bank on 6/13/2013, liner never delivered.
On 6/7/13 made down payment of $2,028.90 (90%) for a swimming pool liner with installation. This check cleared my bank on 6/13/13.
As of 7/29/13, I have yet to receive the liner. I have written a letter to the owner of Blue Diamond Pool and Spa, Inc., Mr. **** ********* to return my money. They have not returned my calls.

Desired Settlement
I want my stolen money back $2,028.90.

08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract signed in early March but work has been horribly slow and is not done. Calls, texts and emails not returned. Constant missed dates.
Signed contract in early March for small pool. Fiberglass shell was delivered 4 months later, wrong color, and calls/texts/emails go unreturned to get status. Proj mgrs we've worked with have all left the company. Diggers finally came in June and damaged the cable and AT&T lines and nearly hit electrical because they dug before all lines were marked by TN One Call. Neighborhood took cable outage while the crews had to repair the line. It's nearly August and crews are not showing up to finish the project and no one is communicating with me after significant money has been paid them. Retaining wall was supposed to start Monday but no one has showed up. Project is now 5 months in and there has been no progress since shell was dropped in. I get excuse after excuse from Blue Diamond on why the delay, and they have not met any promise they have verbally made me. I have left repeated texts and voicemails with **** ******** and **** **** and am not getting response. Sales rep has left the company now as well. Many Blue Diamond staff also keep their voicemail boxes full so we can't leave messages. Trying to obtain my last contruction draw payment so we can part ways and I can find someone who "can" finish the project. This has been nothing short of a nightmare.

Desired Settlement
I am merely requesting my last construction draw of $10,000 and a copy of the warranty for the ******* fiberglass shell so that I can find another company to finish the project.

Consumer's Final Response
After closer evaluation of the work that has been completed to date, we feel $18,000 approximately has been completed and we are requesting the remainder of our $27,000 paid and cashed to date be refunded. We never received our pool equipment either.

08/20/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company has not provided paid services or returned calls for updates on services.
Customer went to company 06/05/13 and purchased pool liner and installation services. Company promised customer 2 weeks for completed services. As of 07/24/13, company has still not provided services, will not return calls to customer and when customer goes to place of business to discuss, customer receives no updates from company or finds the business doors closed.

Desired Settlement
Customer would like paid services of installing pool liner or be refunded down payment of $1,500.00

08/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ignoring court ordered refund of 10k deposit
Pool was to be built in 2011. Permit was not granted by Williamson County. Blue Diamond refused to refund a 10k deposit. I filed suit in small claims court and judge ruled in my favor. To date, I have not received my refund from Blue Diamond Pools.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my 10k refund as ordered by Davidson County court.

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to honor contract to construct pool and retaining wall as detailed in the work order.
On May 3, 2013 entered purchase and installation contract with Blue Diamond Pools & Spas; gave deposit of $*** personal check. Estimated start date given was June 1 and we were told that completion would be 4-6 weeks. Since this contract signing communication between Blue Diamond and homeowner has been poor at best. Mid June several calls were made to store and to ************** regarding status updates. Per an email dated June 19 from our sales rep, **********, a *** was to come to our house on June 21 to review details of the job. *** did not show up nor did anyone call. Again phone calls were made in an attempt to get some sort of follow up. June 26 email from **** ********* stated that previous jobs were taking longer than anticipated and that he would be in touch. Mid July went to store and spoke directly with **** and he again stated that the previous jobs were behind; they were ordering concrete for one job, finishing another then ours would be next. He also mentioned that because the jobs were running behind that our sales rep should not have given us the start date of June 1. On August 10 went to the location on Lebanon Rd. for updates it was at this time that we noted the store was closed with a "we're moving, location TBD" sign. Several calls have been made to the main number as well as to ************** with no success in reaching anyone.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a full refund of our deposit of $******.

Page 1 of 2
08/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Blue Diamond is lacking Customer Service and not fullfilling contractual agreement. Be warned!!!
We started our pool project with Blue Diamond and signed the contract at the end of February. We had one project manager (*****) that was supposed to start our pool and pull permits, etc. After being told that there was a "delay" due to rain and "four other projects", we expected to start building in April. ***** quit his job and nobody ever called us, informed us about further delays, or returned any of our many phone calls and e-mails. See previous complaints! In the middle of May a sub-contractor started digging in our yard without any plan and no project manager on site to supervise. We met *** (our new project manager) once and even then he was too busy on his cell and preoccupied with other jobs to talk about our project! Needless to say, our pool (walls, concrete bottom, and vinyl liner) ended up to close to the back property line and the issue had to be resolved by us with the city over the next 8 weeks because Blue Diamond did not respond to our numerous requests to resolve this issue. We also found out that nobody had pulled a building permit like promised at the beginning of the project. By the time we received the okay from the city to buid again, Blue Diamond was already in trouble. We paid three installments since February and have nothing to show but a shell with a liner that holds just enough green water to present a health hazard for the neighborhood. We lost 10's of thousands of dollars and are now back to square one. It is really hard to trust anyone else after this! Numerous attempts to have Blue Diamond pay us back or complete the already paid for work failed.

Desired Settlement
We would like a settlement of $********* to replace costs of equipment, tools to maintain pool, pool chemicals, materials to backfill the pool, needed plumbing labor, ladders, pool vaccuum,etc that should have been provided to us by Blue Diamond after we held up the contractual agreement to pay three installments.

Additional Information

top

On August 16, 2013, the company filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 3:13-bk-07171.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Tennessee Middle Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, 701 Broadway, Room 100, Nashville, TN, 37203 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

Claims must be submitted by 2013-10-16.

On August 2, 2013, BBB visited the 14811 Lebanon Rd. location for Blue Diamond Pool in response to calls from consumers indicating the company is no longer there. BBB found a sign on the door stating:

"Store notice. Blue Diamond will be moving new address coming soon, if you need to talk to service or install dept. call 888-629-2227 thanks Blue Diamond Pools & Spas."

BBB left a message for the owner of Blue Diamond Pool & Spa requesting assistance in providing the company's new location; however, the company failed to respond.

BBB file opened: 07/14/2009Business started: 03/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Slaughter (Owner)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers pool and spa sales, installation, maintenance and repairs. The company also sells pool and spa equipment and supplies.

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14811 Lebanon Rd 

    Old Hickory, TN 37138-1820(888) 629-2227

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blue Diamond Pool & Spa, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

This company's business practices resulted in a BBB media release titled "Blue Diamond Pool & Spa Fails to Complete Contracts." Click here to view it:

http://nashville.bbb.org/article/blue-diamond-pool-spa-fails-to-complete-contracts

On August 16, 2013, the company filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 3:13-bk-07171.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Tennessee Middle Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, 701 Broadway, Room 100, Nashville, TN, 37203 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

Claims must be submitted by 2013-10-16.

This company has received a pattern of customer complaint that is of a serious nature regarding customer service issues, contract issues, product issues, repair issues, and service issues.

Specifically, complaints allege consumers paid several thousands of dollars in deposits for the installation of swimming pools with promised completion dates; however, the company has failed to honor their contracts/agreements as promised. All complaints indicate the company fails to return phone calls regarding installation or repair issues despite leaving multiple messages requesting assistance. Several indicate the project was to begin in 3 to 4 weeks, but after waiting several months, the project remains incomplete. Some complaints indicate that the liner of the pool arrived damaged or was damaged during installation, and the company will not return to repair issues and fails to keep scheduled appointments. Other complaints indicate the installation of the pool has been hindered by the company's lack of preparation beforehand, such as not having the proper parts, tools, or machinery during the scheduled installation.

BBB contacted the business for resolutions to these complaints; however, the responses provided did not resolve the matters.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.