BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1984

Anderson Pools & Spas & Wild Bird Station

Phone: (615) 867-7000Fax: (615) 867-7003View Additional Phone Numbers811 N. Thompson Lane, MurfreesboroTN 37129 Send email to Anderson Pools & Spas & Wild Bird Station

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1984

BBB has determined that Anderson Pools & Spas & Wild Bird Station meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Anderson Pools & Spas & Wild Bird Station's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Anderson Pools & Spas & Wild Bird Station

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

refused to furnish me a copy of my pool specs,which they installed.They are holding my pool specs hostage to insure are the only ones to replace liner
I had two pools built by this company. When it came time to replace the liner in one of those, I went to their office to get a quote on a liner replacement.after pulling my file giving me a quote on a liner install, i asked for them to furnish a copy of the pool specs to insure I ordered the correct one. After taking 50k of my money they refused to supply me a copy of my own pool measurements. What kind of business are they running? They are holding my pool measurements as hostage to leverage that they are the ones who replace the liner! horrible customer
service !

Desired Settlement
i want them to furnish the spec sheet / measurements for my pool.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********,III Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
The majority of reputable companies that replace liners would insist on measuring the pool themselves because they, as we, would have to guarantee the liner to fit. The complainant, as is her right, may intend to order the liner online where they are asking her for the measurements for the pool. If we furnish them in this situation, we become liable not only for the liner but for the installation in which we have no control. We are not holding her hostage. She is free to buy the liner anywhere she pleases. These measurements are intellectual property and in this case are a protection for the consumer to avoid a possible substandard outcome. I have contacted THE ASSOCIATION OF POOL AND SPA PROFESSIONALS, of which we are a member in good standing and I am a Certified Building Professional, for a legal opinion which I will forward to you as soon as I receive it. I will also make it available to our local chapter of the BBB for their future reference. We were honored by the board of directors with their first award for an A+ rating since 1983 and we intend to protect that vigorously. Our first notification of this complaint was today by fax with no emails or a previous fax. Our staff was courteous in denying her request and I saw no reason to consider the matter further. Please keep us informed of the progress of this complaint. I will call ****** today and apprise her of the situation.

06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This company recommended an excessive use of a ph balancer to use in our spa. They refused to follow through with help to remedy or even address prob.
I brought in a tap water sample to Anderson 1/31/13. The spa was empty, clean and ready to refill and I needed water test to make sure correct chemicals added. I was told (and it was written on my sheet to take home. I can fax copy if needed and I brought them to show proof) to add 16 oz of spaguard PH Decreaser to our 500 gallon spa. This was almost an entire bottle. Almost immediately a gritty sandy feel was evident all over the surface of our hot tub. We gave it a few days to settle and it was still present. It collected in all jets, filters and surfaces. Feels like sitting in a sandy pool. After cleaning twice since then using rags inside jets and completely debriding surface, the same issue comes back. I took the form and pics to anderson, explained I thought this was way too much and asked them to come look and please clean out my tub as it was obviously in the pump system and jets. They promised to come out that week and after 2 follow up calls, never showed. I called Friday afternoon and was told that since the form was from January that they didn't think it was their problem. I re-explained that I told them initially it was from Jan and we haven't been able to use since despite multiple cleanings and I wanted it cleaned. They didn't call back this week despite a message left on Monday. I called poison control and they said the chemical can burn skin if applied directly which concerns me as myself and my children (age 4 and 1) have tried to get in it and have been exposed to the chemical in excess. I called spaguard the company and they recommended for the levels listed on my water test report from anderson that I should've only needed about 2 tsp. I also contacted our spa distributor and they recommended .25 oz. As Anderson has been negligent in addressing my concerns (I am a business owner and mother of 2 small children and don't have time to keep trying to follow up on things you say you will do) I went ahead and purchased (as recommended by both the company spaguard and our distributor **** and *** ****** ********** ************ granules, Brilliance ph decreaser w mineral salts, Brilliance calcium hardness increaser and Brilliance metal, Spa pure spa shock, Spa purge, a water filter and scale control w soy protein.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a check from Anderson for $80 which will cover the cost of these items that apparently should've been recommended in the first place and my time spent remedying and cleaning a 500 gallon spa three times now in 4 months. And I will have to fill it twice more to purge the chemicals from the pumps. I don't wish to have to contact them again as they don't follow through anyway and it's a waste of my time. I'm happy to fax and email new water test results from the same hose (without new filter attachment) analyzed by Pool and Spa Depot as well as the one from Anderson and pictures of the debris this material left in my spa if needed. Thanks, ******

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for your prompt notification of this complaint. We protect our A+ rating vigorously with excellent customer service provided by trained service professionals and supervised by a manager with 31 years of experience.

I sympathize with Mrs. ******, but caring for a pool or spa is a team effort between customer and company. The single time that she brought a water sample to be tested at our store was on January 31, 2013. A copy of this computer generated test which was then reviewed by a professional is included. The water test indicates an extreme scaling condition. We asked her to reduce the recommended amount by 2oz. in line with our always conservative approach to treatment. You will notice the handwritten note on the enclosed water test form. I am also enclosing a copy of a field test manual to confirm the accuracy of our original recommendation. To be extra conservative with our treatment, we treated the spa for 450 gallons instead of her stated 500 gallons.

Our next contact with Mrs. ****** was on *** 20, 2013. Without regular water testing there is no way we can adequately treat a body of water. She did not provide a water sample on 5/20/13, even after four months. The minimum water test to maintain warranties is once per month. Even though it is a 22 mile drive to her house, we advised her that we would look at it when we were in that area; although the treatment we prescribed is accurate and verifiable with no subsequent water samples to ascertain progress. A concerned customer having problems would be in at least once per week with a water sample. (Please note page 6, of enclosed Pool Care Guide, which states testing once per week by owners and once every 4 to 6 weeks by a professional testing lab.)

The customer's call to poison control is completely in line with the warnings on most pool chemicals against direct contact with skin and eyes, not in diluted pool or spa water.

The "sandy" condition is indicated by the test results of the 1/31/13, water test which indicated the formation of calcium scale. This was a test of tap water as indicate,d by the customer, so without continuous testing and professionally advised treatment, as indicated by the enclosed Pool Care Guide, scale would form on all surfaces of the pool or spa. The spa products Mrs. ****** purchased else where are normal products to be used in the weekly and monthly maintenance of spa water, and are not the ones needed by the water test of 1/31/13. They are typical products that we supply at no charge when we open one of our spas for our customers. The spa shock and other chlorinating products are related to water sanitation and not water balance. Unless Mrs. ****** stated that she needed to purchase any of these items, we would not recommend anything to her that her water test did not indicate she needed. Mrs. ****** should also realize the spa needs to be drained and cleaned at least every four months with regular usage, cleaning more often is needed with heavier usage.

A copy of all her business activity with us is included.

I hope the included information will be valuable in future cases. Please feel free to contact us anytime we can be of service to you.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/14/1982Business started: 01/01/1976
Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 1979, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John R. Anderson (Owner/President)Mrs. Pam Anderson (Owner/Secretary Treasurer)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Bird Feeders & Houses, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

This company is a pool & spa builder and offers the sale and service of swimming pools & spas, chemicals, and maintenance items, as well as backyard bird feeding items and garden & patio accessories.

Alternate Business Names
Anderson Pools & Spas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Anderson Pools & Spas & Wild Bird Station

811 N. Thompson Lane

Murfreesboro, TN 37129

To | From


1 Locations

  • 811 N. Thompson Lane 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Anderson Pools & Spas & Wild Bird Station is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 282-6739

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.