BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2012

Tom James Company

Phone: (615) 771-1122

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
07/14/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to timely delivery orderdespite extra fee to expedite.

Failure thereafter to timely correct deficiencies with already untimely order.

The original order was placed on March 23, 2015. Despite being charged a fee ($400, pretax) to expedite two custom made suits ($2,595.84, with tax) the complete order was not made by the agreed-upon delivery date (in April). Partial delivery was made (one suit) in April, but not even that suit was competently made. That triggered an almost five-month process to re-make both suits-requiring multiple re-fittings and returns. The complete order still has not been delivered. Only partial delivery. The sales representative ***** ***** has not competently performed and repeatedly has been evasive and deceptive regarding delivery dates.

Desired Settlement
Refund and collect incomplete order.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@************
Mr. ******
I am sorry you have experienced these problems. I will look into this today and get back to you shortly with a resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Timely and satisfactory proposal to resolve dispute.

01/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order Delivery Late/Not-Delivered: Ordered on Oct 27, 2014. One half of order total charged to me Nov 13, 2014. Jan 5, 2015, no clothing received.
On October 27th, 2014 I had a local rep take my measurements and I placed an order during the same appointment. On November 13th, 2014 my credit card was charged approximately one half of the total amount of the order. The local rep made arrangements to drop the completed clothing order off to me on December 17th, 2014. Also on December 17th, 2014 I received a text message from the local rep that he was sick and would contact me the next day to reschedule order drop-off. No further communication was received by myself from the local rep. On January 5th, 2015 I sent a written request to Tom James (Franklin, TN) to cancel my order and issue a refund. I received no written reply from Tom James (Franklin, TN). Later on January 5th, 2014 I received the following text communication from the local rep:

"****, I wanted to apologize to you, after we spoke I was out another 2 weeks after the flu turned to pneumonia and I fell quite behind. I just got back on my feet this past weekend and am out this week for our meeting. I will be glad to refund your money ASAP or I can schedule a fitting for next week when I am back. Once again, please accept my sincere apology for failing to contact you after and keeping you up to speed Happy New Year, "

I responded to the above text simply stating that I would like a refund at this time, the local rep replied confirming that a refund would be issued.

I am filing this complaint because a refund has not yet been issued to myself.

Desired Settlement
On November 13th, 2014 I was charged for approximately one half of my order total ********** I would like this charge to be refunded in full. Also, I request that the second half of the payment (due on delivery) not be charged to myself.

Business Response
Have emailed client today that we cannot refund because he has filed a dispute with his credit card company and they will give his money back and then if we refund he would receive the credit twice. If he had not filed the dispute we would have refunded him today.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have indeed disputed the charge with my credit card provider and I understand the response from Tom James. I agree that allowing the disputed charge process to run its course uninterrupted is the most reliable plan of resolution.

08/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product never delivered, yet I have paid $1100 over the course of the last 3 months. I want my money back.
I have been a client of this company off and on for ten years. Most recently, **** ********** was my sales rep. Not only did I develop a good relationship with ***** but I referred SEVERAL of my employees to this company, all of which have purchase clothes too.

Back in late March I ordered a new suit. As agreed, 50% of the $1100 charge was billed to my credit card at that time. The other 50% of the charge was billed to my credit card on May 28th. It is now July 8th and I have yet to get my suit!
My rep, ***** has quit the compnay. I reached out to **** and he provided me a managers name/number to call, ***** ***** I left a message for ***** on on 7/5. I have never received a return call, or my suit. I am angry and frustrated that i have paid $1100 for a suit, never received the product, or even a phone call.

I am also disappointed that I referred so many of my employees to purchase clothes from Tom James.

At this point I expect a full refund. That is the only reasonable measure in my opinion. If this complaint process through the BBB does not rectify receiving my money back, for something I've never received, I will take this to small claims court.

Desired Settlement
$1100
*this is the cost of the product, that I have paid for, and have never received.

Business' Initial Response
One of our managers, ***** **** has been in touch with client and has appointment today to resolve all issues.
7/29/13

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
everything is fine now
thank you for the follow up

Business' Final Response
The refund for this client was issued on 8/15/13 & I show the garment has been delivered. Please let me know if this is not the case.

02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered 2 business suits (jacket & pants) from *** ***** in July 2014. They processed 1/2 of the ***** invoice in early August and the 2nd half in October. They delivered suits that didn't fit or had fabric problems. They promised to fix them but didn't. On Dec 8, 2014, their sales representative promised a full refund which they haven't made despite several attempts to contact them. *** ***** has had half my payment for 5 months and has had a full payment from me for 3 months, but I still don't have the suits in my closet to wear. They promised a refund but haven't made it.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of ***** as they promised in a 12/8/14 email.

Business Response
The manager of our Dallas location has been in touch with this client just last week. We have offered to fix the garments even after his monies are returned. However,we cannot refund client because he has filed a dispute with his credit card company and they will automatically return his funds to him.If I process a refund he will receive his funds twice,which would create another problem. At this point we are waiting on ccd company to reimburse him then we can follow up with him on the garments.Please let me know what else needs done.



Business Response
We have received the chargeback paperwork from American Express and will allow the amt of $3010.41 to be given back to the client. We consider this matter settled. Please let me know if there is any further information needed.

08/29/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a sport coat and cancelled it the next day via email. Tom James twice charged a credit card and is now threatening legal action.
January 11, 2013, a Tom James sales person came to my office. I was pressured into buying a sport jacket, on January 12, 2013 (the next day), via Email, I cancelled the order. Tom James had charged my American Express card $900. I contacted AMEX and submitted a dispute #WOXXXXX on January 12, 2013, AMEX reached out to Tom James. February 27, 2013 AMEX closed the dispute and agreed with me, there was no payment processed. On March 18, 2013, I noticed Tom James charged my AMEX again for $900. I disputed the charge, #WTXXXXX. On April 17, 2013 AMEX closed the dispute after reaching out to Tom Jones again, and again no payment was processed. I did NOT receive the sport coat. This week I received a letter threatening legal action if the $900 is not paid by August 12, 2013. I do NOT have the sport coat, do not want it, and should not be threatened to pay.

Desired Settlement
Tom Jones should stop unlawfully charging my AMEX card and sending me harassing letters threatening legal action.

Business' Initial Response
If Mr. ******** would please forward me the email that he sent to cancel the order I may be able to clear this up quickly. My email address is ********@tomjames.com. I have also put a hold on any legal action until I resolve this.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am providing the requested email today. This claim should remain open until Tom James Company accepts the email and stops harassing me:

From: ******* ******** <*********@gmail.com>
Date: Sat, Jan 12, 2013 at 12:03 PM
Subject: Cancel Order #XXXXXXX
To: **************@tomjames.com



Good Day

II have decided I do not want the sport coats and belt I ordered yesterday and wish to cancel the order. I believe my cancellation is early enough - within 24 hours. I have bought suits from Tom James and enjoy them. I do not think I will get enough use from the sport coats. Payment information is below. Thanks much.

Payment Date:
11 Jan 2013 01:52 PM CST
Card Type:
American Express
Card Number:
***************
Payment Amount:
USD 900.00
Client Name:
******* ********
VIP Customer Number:
XXXXXXXXXX
Tom James Store:
306
Payment Number:
XXXXXXX
Sales Professional:
***** *****
COF/Ticket:
XXXXXX

07/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a very expensive, custom-made tuxedo from Tom James Company for my wedding. The day of my wedding the front button on the jacket broke.
On February 28, 2013, I ordered a custom-made black tuxedo from Tom James for my wedding. Order No. XXXXXXX. The total price for the tuxedo was $2,805.94, which I paid by Visa credit card in two installments on 3/3/13 and 5/16/13. The names of the Sales Reps are ****** ***** and ******** **** (both are based in New York City). The sales rep who took my order was ********* ****** but she quit the company at some point in February / March without even having the courtesy of letting me know who would be handling my order going forward.

I picked up the tuxedo from Tom James on 5/6/13, more than 9 weeks after the order was placed, and after trying it on twice. I wore the tuxedo for the first time on 5/19/13, the day of my wedding.

The front button on my tux jacket came off in the middle of my wedding ceremony. As you can imagine this was extremely embarrassing. I had to walk out in front of 200 people with a button missing on my jacket and had to leave my jacket unbuttoned for the entire wedding party, which ruined our pictures.

My wife and I spent months preparing for our wedding and I was hoping that my tuxedo would be the last thing I had to worry about. Unfortunately, this issue caused me and my wife a fair amount of stress during the entire wedding party.

I paid a huge amount of money for this tuxedo (close to $3,000!) because I wanted it to be perfect and flawless for my wedding. Despite being on a tight budget, we decided to spare no expense in getting the best, most expensive tuxedo because we wanted it to look perfect in our wedding pictures and video. This tuxedo was one of the largest expenses that we had to incur for our wedding. If I wanted a less than perfect tuxedo I could have rented one for $200 or buy one from a retailer for much less. Rather, I decided to order a custom-made tuxedo from Tom James Company because the company prides itself on its website for "sparing no resource, cost or effort to provide you with details that meet the quality standards you've come to expect from Tom James Company". Unfortunately the product that I purchased from them was defective and did not meet the level of quality that was promised to me.

The day after my wedding, on 5/20/13, I contacted the sales representatives via email to complain about this issue. The email described the defect in details. I also attached a picture showing the defect as proof. I received no response.

On 5/23/13, I followed up again with the same sales representatives via email. Again, no response -- not even an apology.

On 5/28/13, I followed up again with the sales representatives. Once again, no response.

Desired Settlement
As requested to Tom James via email, I would like to return my tuxedo and obtain a full refund. I do not want to keep a tuxedo that is so poorly made and defective.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******
While we are sorry for your experience I am afraid we cannot accept the return as the overall garment is not poorly made. As you recall we had to expedite your tux so you would have it in time and our representative, ******** ***** had offered you a $500 credit which you & your wife accepted due to the experience. Please let me know if you would like our representative to contact you to take care of that.
******* *****
Client Retention Mgr.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business' response is very disappointing and unsatisfactory. Essentially, they are offering nothing to fix this issue. First of all, the business is misrepresenting the facts when they say that they had to expedite my tux. My tux took over 9 weeks to get done, which is longer than the normal time frame. The delay was caused by a Sales representative quitting the company and not following up properly. I was given a $500 credit after complaining about the delay and the poor experience I had with my order -- but this credit has absolutely nothing to do with the complaint at issue here.

Tom James is saying that they cannot accept a return because "the overall garment is not poorly made." This statement ignores the fact that the defect at issue here is essential to the overall garment. It's like buying a brand new car, having one of the wheels fall off and then saying that the wheel is not essential to the overall car! I bought this tux for my wedding, the button fell off in the middle of the wedding ceremony and made my tux look horrible. A front button on a tux jacket is absolutely essential to the overall garment -- and if it was well made it wouldn't break after wearing it for the first time for one hour.

All I'm asking for is to return the defective garment and get a refund. The Customer Return Policy posted on Tom James' website clearly states that:

"Tom James Company strives for 100% customer satisfaction whenever reasonably possible. If Tom James cannot satisfy the customer, the company may accept timely return of purchased items in original condition for credit or full refund of payment."

Rather than trying to resolve this dispute in good faith, Tom James is trying to play hard ball and is offering absolutely nothing to resolve this issue.

I would also highlight that since I reached out to Tom James about this issue a month ago, I have not received a single phone call or email from them (not even an apology), despite having sent them at least three emails. They have taken the approach of just ignoring me, rather than working to find a mutually satisfactory, amicable resolution. This is not the type of customer service one would expect from a large company like Tom James.

Business' Final Response
While we do feel the garment is infact not defective, I am sorry for your inconvenience. We would like to offer a credit of 50% off the price you paid for the tux, $2559. Which would be a total credit of $1279.00. Let me know if you accept that and I will refund that to your card.
**** *****
07/02/13

03/15/2013Delivery Issues

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.