BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2011

Freddy Duncan & Sons Moving & Storage

(931) 526-9500View Additional Phone Numbers809 E 20th St, CookevilleTN 38501-1450 Send email to Freddy Duncan & Sons Moving & Storage

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2011

BBB has determined that Freddy Duncan & Sons Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Freddy Duncan & Sons Moving & Storage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Freddy Duncan & Sons Moving & Storage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to follow up on out sourced moving company after a move that went poorly refused to contact the 2nd party that caused many damages
We hire ****** ****** and Sons to provide a move from TN to MA on 7/26/13 . I am 70 years old this cost me 5,000 dollars paid to ****** ****** he then outsourced the job to North American Van Lines. When I received all my personnel belonging the movers banged my furniture up two flight of stairs.my son and daughter and law had to carry most of the stuff they did not put furniture together that we where told they would put together anything they took apart. After calling ****** and complaining about this horrible experience he stated he would look into this after. I requested copies of the documents that the movers did not give me upon delivery I had to fill out claim forms. My daughter and in law called again and complained I received a letter fro ****** indicating that that it was in our best interest to contact that van line ourselves I feel that is their responsibility because I paid them for services not this other company therefore they should file the complaint and follow thru and it seems once he was paid we where left to do all the work ourselves the move, paperwork and file a complaint with a company we DID NOT hire. My daughter in law was dis respected by the sales rep. I feel that I have paid for allot money for services that we had to do ourselves.

Desired Settlement
We are looking for the value in money that ****** ****** paid to North American Van Lines which we know was around 1,900 dollars seeing that we did most of the move ourselves.

Business Response
In response to complaint to The Better Business Bureau, let me fist state the ******'s have been in the moving & storage business for 32 years now.And in all that time this is the first complaint we have received by the BBB. Not to say we are perfect, the moving business is very challanging and unpredictable. Moving can also be sttressful for the moving customer as well. We are a small company. We only run a few drivers out of state. When we service some moves, we rely on our parent company North American Moving Service. They are represented by 100s of agents throughout the country. You moved was dispatched by van line.I have fowarded your complaint to customer service department to rectify the poor service you received by the driver snd his crew.I think you have spoken with ******* from the customer service team. Her direct contact is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext 2321. I am unaware of an employee being disrespectful to you. If you would like to share this with me, my personal email is ************@gmail.com

Thank You
****** ******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** did contact us. She informed us that you are indirectly conected with North American Van Lines. She has offered to pay for damages. We feel this is not enough.Because the aggravation of the move the ever chaning delivery time line. The fact that my son and daughter and law had to carry the items up 3 flights of stairs.I paid for proffesional movers not to have my son and daughter in law carry out the move. Not to mention the time from their busy work schedule to deal with phone calls, complaints following up etc.I am requesting 10 percent of the total moving fee. Which is 495.00 dollars in addition to the damages. ***** did not provide direct contact information for my son to respond.

Final Business Response
After ******** ******'s delivery of her furniture, her daughter in law called ****** ****** and Son/ North Americans office and spoke with **** Lytle, our sales rep. **** tried to get off of the phone with the daughter in law due to the type of language that ****** ****** was using. It is standard that our employees do not have to stay in a conversation with a customer if they are being cussed. The company that transported the items from our warehouse to the destination is an agent for Sirva. Sirva is the parent company for Aliied and North American *** Lines. The driver J ****** works for Fox Hollow Movers out of Syracuse or Watertown NY. They can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX. The best contact would be Kenneth or Kimberly Fox. The best email address is ****@foxhollowmovers.com. At this point non of our team was involved in the unloading process and we did not cause the damages and frustrations that Ms. ****** incurred.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/24/2010Business started: 01/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Freddy Duncan (Owner)
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Warehousing Services, Packaging Materials, Office Furniture & Equipment - Installation, Recreational Vehicles - Storage, Piano & Organ Moving, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving Brokers, Movers - Office, Movers, Moving & Storage Company, Travel & Moving Services, Truck Rent & Lease, Relocation Service, Office Records Stored, Moving Equipment Rental

Products & Services

This company offers moving services and a climate controlled storage facility.

Industry Tips
Moving - Selecting a Mover

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Freddy Duncan & Sons Moving & Storage

809 E 20th St

Cookeville, TN 38501-1450

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 809 E 20th St 

    Cookeville, TN 38501-1450(931) 526-9500
    (877) 551-0454

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Freddy Duncan & Sons Moving & Storage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 551-0454
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Moving - Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.