BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Solar Sales & Service

Phone: (615) 952-5185Fax: (615) 952-5188View Additional Phone Numbers2101 Griffin Town Road, White BluffTN 37187http://www.Solarsales.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Solar Sales & Service is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Solar Sales & Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor record keeping and failure to maintain records has resulted in my family being submitted to a collection agency.
I filed a work order request with Solar Sales (now "The Service Company") through Old Republic Home Warranty. This is now the SECOND time I have had to contact the BBB about this company. In February of last year, we received a notice from a collections agency saying we had not paid our service fee to *** ********* We contacted Solar Sales and they said they would "take care of it" meaning submit a paid receipt to Old Republic.

I have now contacted them AGAIN because Old Republic is saying we still have a past due trade call fee and cannot file a service request. No one there seems to have ANY record of us paying the service fee and the company is now conveniently "out of business," and even though they USED to be Solar Sales & Service, they don't have ANY record of the service. I have never worked with a company that doesn't keep strict records, even if they changed names or ownership. It has been less than two years since this whole situation was started.

The service was in August of 2013 and we contacted them about the collection agency in February of 2014. So in 9 months, they have conveniently "lost all of their records."

Desired Settlement
I just want a receipt saying we paid our $100 trade call fee so I can submit another work order request through *************

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@aol.com
Please be advised that no response has been made due to the fact that Solar Sales & Service is NO LONGER in business therefor this email is rarely checked . In response to the complaint . This is a customer of a home warranty company I am not required to keep records for a business that has been shut down . The homeowner has copies of her financials also *** ********* SENT HER several letters for response only when she needed service a year and a half later did they refuse because she did not resond . It was sent to collections for NO response on her part not ours . We were only told this when she was .

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In February of this year, we received a notice of collections, which was due to the fact that Solar Sales and Service never submitted to the warranty company that we paid the warranty fee. In return, my credit score was reduced, due to no fault of my own. We contacted Solar Sales in February and we were told that it would be "taken care of." Thankfully, I did receive a copy of the check we wrote through my bank and this situation has been taken care of.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/07/1989Business started: 12/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Wood (Owner)Ms. Shirley Wood
Business Category

Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers, Contractor - General Green Builder, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Supplies & Parts, Solar Energy Products - Retail, Solar Energy Products Service & Repair, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Manufacturing & Distribution, Lighting Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Water Heaters - Dealers, Fans - Household, Heating & Air Conditioning, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Skylights - Distributors, Skylights, Sewer Contractors, Plumbers, Home Improvements, Heating Contractors, Electricians

Products & Services

This company has advised the BBB that it is a licensed home improvement contractor specializing in the sale, installation and service of solar products and related energy products.

Industry Tips
Home Improvements
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2101 Griffin Town Road 

    White Bluff, TN 37187Fax: (615) 952-5188

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Solar Sales & Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 398-5188
  • (615) 952-4900 (Disconnected)
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.