BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1961

Genesco, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (615) 367-7000Fax: (615) 367-8278

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service34
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints41

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (41)BBB Closure Definitions
09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cashier rang up wrong item and then wouldn't give correct discount for correct item exchange
My kids tried on several pairs of shoes the day we were in the Journeys Kids store in Cross Creek Mall Fayetteville, NC. We decided on three pairs and told the cashier who had been helping us. She rang everything up and bagged the shoe boxes. A week later while helping my daughter get all her school clothes organized in her room I saw a pair of shoes that I didn't recognize. I asked her about them and she said, "that's the ones you bought me". I said, "uh no its not". She had a pair in her room that we had tried on but we had decided on a different pair that day. Obviously the cashier had mixed up the boxes and rang up the wrong pair. I took the shoes back to the store yesterday and the manager switched them out but did NOT give me the same discount that I had gotten on the day of the original purchase. As she was ringing up the exchange there was a price difference which I didn't have a problem paying but SHOULD get the same discount % that I would have gotten on the original purchase date for the correct pair of shoes. I had a 15% birthday coupon and the store had an additional 10% off that day. I didn't have time to debate this yesterday while making the exchange because I was on my lunch break but I later called the store to speak with her about this. At first a man answered and told me that he was the manager. I told him that he wasn't the manager and that I knew that the manager was a female and asked again to speak with her. Then I hear them laughing in the background and finally she picks up. I explain to her that she has overcharged me approximately $**** and explained how. She then tells me that the % off was only for the original day. Well DUH! I knew that but it was her cashier that made the mistake and rang up the wrong box of shoes. I have had to drive back to the store once already to have THEIR mistake corrected and now have to go again to have the second error (based on bad customer service, poor management, and a lack of math skills) corrected. This has cost me TIME and MONEY and GAS and I expect to get my $*+ dollars back and an apology!

Desired Settlement
I expect to get my $*+ dollars back and an apology!

Business Response
8/19 - We received this call from the upset customer, ******* *****.
8/20 - Customer Service sent this information to the DM, *********** ******, and he called her and on 8/23 advised "Called customer with no response will try to call again today."
At this point in the incident, the DM was handling the situation.
9/11 - Once we received, the official complaint, we reached back out to the customer, and today 9/12 we left a voice mail saying "we will take care of this, and sincerely apologize for the experience she had on behalf of the company. We do have extremely high standards for our company, and this is not at all what we expect from our stores. We will absolutely honor the sales price, and go above what she requested, and offered $***** gc towards a free pair of shoes, of her choice."

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered shoes WEB order on 04/27/2014, ordered cancelled 05/2 by company due to shoes out of stock. Company refused to do same shoe in alternate color
Ordered shoes WEB order on 04/27/2014, ordered cancelled 05/2 by company due to shoes out of stock. Company refused to do replace same shoe in alternate color for same price. Customer service chat stated to call a live rep, and Live rep refused to replace shoe with the same shoe in alternate color.

Desired Settlement
Would like same shoe in different color.

Business Response
Dear *****.

Thank you for contacting us and we look forward to further assisting you with your inquiry. We are very sorry to hear about your recent order attempt and we will be happy to further research this complaint.

We were unable to locate an account with any of provided the information (name, address, email, phone number). Due to circumstances beyond our control, we at times are faced with the unfortunate position of being unable to fill a requested order.

Please keep in mind that all orders are filled in the order in which they are received by our order processing system. From the information you provided in your complaint, this sounds to have possibly been the cancelation reason, however in order for us to confirm, we do need the order details for review.

In order to better assist you, and in order to reference the canceled order, we do ask that you please provide either your Journeys.com Order Number, Invoice Number, Customer Number, or WEB Order ID. If by chance this info is not available, we MAY be capable of accessing your order with the Billing, name, address and phone number used at the time of your order. We look forward to further assisting you. In addition to your BBB response, you are also more than welcome to contact us at *******@*********** for direct assistance. Thank you and again, we look forward to further assisting you!


****** ******
Executive Customer Satisfaction Specialist Customer Service The Journeys Group
**** ************ **** *** *** ********* *** XXXXX
p:XXX-XXX-XXXX f:XXX-XXX-XXXX
*******@***********

02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to return unworn new shoes.
I purchased them for my daughter at your ********* KY store. She attends the ********** of ******** where she attempted to return them on three different occasions. The first time the store told her they did not have enough cash. The second time their system was down. The third time they told her she would have to make the six hour trip to ********* to return them. This is the first issue I have ever had with Journeys but can't receive any local support. I even asked the store manager to call and also asked for a number of an area rep with no response.

Desired Settlement
Contact my daughter XXX-XXX-XXXX and schedule a return at your ***** store. Thank You

Business Response
Dear *******,



We would like to express our deepest apology for the experience you have encountered. We take our customers' comments and concerns very seriously and will be forwarding your e-mail to the appropriate individuals regarding the store. Our return policy guarantees that you may return your items in original condition for a refund or exchange with your receipt. We also guarantee a 30-day warranty against manufacturer's defects but not for wear, tear, or comfort issues. We would be happy to accept your shoes at our corporate office for a return.



Please send the package to:



Journeys Returns

ATTN: *****

**** ************ ****

***** ***

********** ** XXXXX



Please include a copy of the original receipt, a copy of the shipping receipt, and a copy of this e-mail. Please keep in mind, we will only be able to refund up to $10 of your return shipping costs. However, if you prefer, we will be happy to mail or email a shipping label to return these items. Please reply back with your preferred method of receiving this label and your return address information.



If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.



Thank you for choosing Journeys!



Thank you,

****** ******
Executive Customer Satisfaction Specialist/Supervisor
Customer Service
The Journeys Group
**** ************ **** *** *** ********* *** XXXXX
p:XXX-XXX-XXXX f:XXX-XXX-XXXX
*******@***********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My goal was to raise awareness of the issue. A pair of shoe won't break my budget but it may some other families. Thanks for your response.

02/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I never received the merchandise I ordered.
Order #0DXXXXXXXXXXXXXK, I purchased on Nov. 10, 2013 total cost of $116.86 for Youth/Tween UGG regular Classic Short Boots Item # XXXXXXX. I never received this merchandise. The company said UPS delivered it on Nov. 13 to my front porch. I explained to Journeys and UPS that I never received it and I also filed a missing package report with the Flossmoor Police Department. I am asking that the company refund my money back to my PayPal account or ship me the kid boots I ordered.

Desired Settlement
To have the merchandise ship to me or refunded back to my PayPal account.

Business Response
Dear *****,


We sincerely apologize for the experience you had in with your Journey order, #XXXXXXX. Journeys strives to provide our customers with only the best ordering experiences, and it genuinely concerns us that this experience was not up to our expected service standards.

We take our customers' comments and concerns very seriously, and we want you to know that this matter has been investigated and addressed accordingly.

We truly appreciate your patience in this matter, and we thank you for bringing the service issues you received regarding your recent ordering experience to our attention. According to the UPS tracking number ********XXXXXXXXXX, your order was delivered 11-13-13, however because you did not receive the delivery, a Tracer Investigation was initiated with UPS in an effort to obtain the package's whereabouts. Upon closure of the investigation by UPS on 1-10-14, a claim was issued to Journeys in the amount of your order for $116.86. Once the closing paperwork was received by our offices, this claim was in turn issued to you via refund to the purchasing Paypal account for the missing merchandise on 1-15-14. During this process, a complaint was received from your attorney via mail in addition to this BBB complaint.

Again, we thank you for sharing your experience so we might understand how we can better serve you.


If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.



Thank you for choosing Journeys!



Thank you,

****** ******
Executive Customer Satisfaction Specialist
Customer Service
The Journeys Group
**** ************ **** *** *** ********* *** XXXXX
p:XXX-XXX-XXXX f:XXX-XXX-XXXX
*******@***********

02/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 16 year old daughter ordered a pair of vans on 12/19/2013. She used her debit card and they charged her card, but never sent her the product. On 12/28/13 they sent her an email that her shoes were being shipped. She still has not received the shoes. I tried calling customer service and was on hold for over 30 minutes, left a message and they never returned my call. At this point we just want a refund for this product. The amount charged to her bank is 37.12. I am very unhappy with the service we received.
Product_Or_Service: Vans
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund for $37.12

Business Response
Dear ****/****,


We sincerely apologize for the experience you had in with your Journey order, #XXXXXXX. Journeys strives to provide our customers with only the best ordering experiences, and it genuinely concerns us that this experience was not up to our expected service standards. We take our customers' comments and concerns very seriously, and we want you to know that this matter has been investigated and addressed accordingly.

We truly appreciate your patience in this matter, and we thank you for bringing the service issues you received regarding your recent order experience to our attention. A refund was issued back to the purchasing card ending in ****** in the amount of $37.12 on 1-16-14.

Again, we thank you for sharing your experience so we might understand how we can better serve you.


If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.



Thank you for choosing Journeys!



Thank you,

****** ******
Executive Customer Satisfaction Specialist
Customer Service
The Journeys Group
**** ************ **** *** *** ********* *** XXXXX
p:XXX-XXX-XXXX f:XXX-XXX-XXXX
*******@***********

Page 1 of 8
03/19/2012Billing / Collection Issues
10/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.