BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2003

Outfitter Satellite, Inc.

Phone: (615) 889-8833Fax: (615) 902-0028View Additional Phone Numbers2727 Old Elm Hill Pike, NashvilleTN 37214 Send email to Outfitter Satellite, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2003

BBB has determined that Outfitter Satellite, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Outfitter Satellite, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Outfitter Satellite, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/01/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Illegally changed one-time purchase to subscription. When I cancelled, they sent to collections.
Bought a sat phone with one time bucket of minutes (authorized a one time charge). Didn't want any subscription or commitment. About 6 months later, they changed me to a subscription plan with the credit card I had originally given them. I didn't see it immediately. When I objected and tried to cancel, they wouldn't let me. I paid the past charges, but they also wanted a cancellation fee! When I refused to pay they sent to collections. Unbelievable ripoff and illegal practices. The collection agency said they would not enforce, but then reported it to credit agencies. Now, the $35 if on my credit report.

Desired Settlement
Statement saying the reporting was not authorized and should not have been sent to collections. Resolve with *** ***********. Remove from credit report.

Business Response
Our mutual customer bought a POSTPAID plan that included 240 minutes per YEAR. This was an ANNUAL auto renewing plan. The customer was notified via his invoice that the satellite network was no longer offering the plan and he needed to go our notifications page to see how his plan would be adjusted. If he did not like the new plan that he would be on, he could cancel without penalty. NINE months on MONTHLY billing for the plan that he was adjusted to passed before any word from the customer. The customer then called and left a voice message. Per the contract with the customer, we have to have the cancellation of the service in writing (email will suffice). The customers CALL into the office happened on April 11, 2013. A written request was finally received April 19th, 2013 and the service was cancelled the SAME DAY. The customer's credit card had declined for the April charge that occurred on the April 15th, 2013 billing (before the required request). Several attempts to get the account paid off and closed in it's entirety where ignored and we were forced to turn the outstanding balance over to our collections company. I would strongly urge the customer to review the contract with our company as it would appear that many of the complaints of the customer are covered in the details of his service agreement. I wish that we would have been able to get the customer to respond and finalize the outstanding balance on his account. I have not received ANY communications according to our notes from the customer since the April cancellation request -and now we have a complaint filed for matters that are clearly defined in the service agreement signed by the customer. The services were provided to the customer and therefore the charges are valid.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The merchant acknowledges the change from an annual contract to a monthly contract. This was done via an email. Unfortunately, their emails were going to my junk mail for the 9 months. Irregardless the modification of a contract term of this nature is illegal under California law. I was due a refund of the 9 months, but did not pursue it. The final cancelation via phone was also enough to notify then of their error in billing under California law. Given they do business in California as an electronic commerce merchant, if they don't voluntarily clear this with *** COLLECTIONS, I will have to sue them in CA court to have this reversed. The bottom line is their conversion of a contract from annual to monthly is not allowed (at least in CA). And, I am protected under CA law.

Final Business Response
Upon conversation with *** Collections, it has been determined that the mutual customer has paid the outstanding balance as of Jan. 19th, 2015. The collection company is going to see if there is any relief that can be extended as a courtesy to the customer with regards to removal from his credit history. This is not something that is within my companies control and bound by credit reporting requirements and standards.

For reference, I have copied the contract executed with the end customer that covers Notices and Governing Law.

J. Notices. Before October 3, 2014, notices of any sort provided pursuant to this Agreement must be made in writing to the OUTFITTER SATELLITE, INC., at **** *** **** ****, Nashville, Tennessee 37214 USA and shall be effective only when actually received there by OS. Beginning on October 3, 2014, notices of any sort provided pursuant to this Agreement must be made in writing to the OUTFITTER SATELLITE, INC., at **** *** *** **** ****, Nashville, Tennessee 37214 USA and shall be effective only when actually received there by OS. Until termination of this Agreement, CUSTOMER acknowledges an existing business relationship with OS and gives permission to OS to send email, fax, cell phone, or other transmissions to CUSTOMER (regarding notifications to the CUSTOMER, price changes, term changes, and new products and services of OS) using the email, fax, or other contact information provided by CUSTOMER in this contract or amended by CUSTOMER later via phone, email, fax, web site form handler or other communication.
K. Governing Law: CUSTOMER agrees that this Agreement shall become effective and binding only upon execution by a duly authorized officer of OS at its corporate headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee, United States of America, and that this Agreement shall be governed by and enforced in accordance with the laws of the State of Tennessee, U.S.A. WITHOUT REGARD TO ITS CONFLICTS OF LAWS; VENUE of any dispute INVOLVING OS and CUSTOMER will be in a court in Davidson County in the state of Tennessee. CUSTOMER shall pay OS all costs including, without limitation, court costs,
attorney fees, the fees of any collection agency, early termination charges, and any other costs (including employee and/or o!fficer compensation and travel) incurred by OS in exercising or defending any term of, or right under, this Agreement.

I have attached a copy of the Terms and Conditions for reference.

Outfitter Satellite has no store front in California and the agreement with the customer is governed by the reference in Section K.

I believe that this matter is closed with the paying of the outstanding balance by the customer. I will attempt to update when a decision with regards to the ongoing reporting requirements is made.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I paid *** simply because I need to clear the credit issue and was ABSOLUTELY NO ADMISSION OF FAULT. CA law is very specific, a storefront or agent is not required to bring suit in CA. As interstate electronic commerce that targets residents of CA, I am protected by CA law. Look at Outfitter's **** reviews. All 3 are for people in CA and all three are the lowest possible.http://www.****.com/biz/outfitter-satellite-inc-nashville

Outfitter needs to provide both *** and myself a letter saying the $35 charge was in error for this matter to be cleared.

05/17/2013Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/18/2001Business started: 05/02/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1995, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James McKinley (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr Michael Denning (CEO)
Business Category

Satellite Equipment & Supplies, Telephone Communications

Products & Services

This company offers Iridium, Globalstar, Thuraya, and Inmarsat satellite phones and high speed data terminals. Rental satellite phones are also available.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Outfitter Satellite, Inc.

2727 Old Elm Hill Pike

Nashville, TN 37214

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2727 Old Elm Hill Pike 

    Nashville, TN 37214

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Outfitter Satellite, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 436-2255
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Satellite Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.