BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/20/2009

Premier Roofing of Middle Tennessee, LLC

(615) 585-23435543 Edmondson Pike STE 228, NashvilleTN 37211-5808 Send email to Premier Roofing of Middle Tennessee, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/20/2009

BBB has determined that Premier Roofing of Middle Tennessee, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Premier Roofing of Middle Tennessee, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Premier Roofing of Middle Tennessee, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Un-satisfactory repairs to bathroom and closet.
On October 3rd workmen removed remaining vinyl floor from bathroom and layed cement board and tile that I purchased for upgrading the bathroom after it was damaged from a pipe that burst on August 17th. In the closet there were two holds that needed to be replaced with dryway. The workmen added insulation behind the tubs and replace the dryway, taped and the patches. They removed the baseboards and replaced them. After arriving home on Thursday night, October 3rd I was dissatisfied with the tile that had been layed and made a call to ***** **** of Premeir Roofing and he came by and expressed displeasure with the grout lines in the tile, the tiles were up higher than others and some dipped in places and I had ask the workman the night before that I wanted a marble transition bar in the doorway and he wanted to do something different there. I was not happy that he didn't do what I had ask him to do. That night will vacuming the carpet came up and still does. There was white past all over the vanity. I made the decision to ask them the next day to come in and get their belongs out of the house that they had done enough damage to the bathroom and they were doing their things instead of what I wanted to be done. Mr. **** called and wanted to know what was going on I told him that they were to come in get their things and leave. He continued to with his variable abuse and I hung up on him after 15 minutes of this and he called back and having to hear the same things again. I ask him to call on the home phone and he just came by and he was there for over 2 1/2 hours of hearing him talk about what I didn't know about tiling floors and suggest I get somebody to look at it which I did and that Saturday I had someone come that all he does is lay tile flooring. That same day I had *********** out to give me an estimate on replacing carpet and had him look at the job and both men said that the tile was improperly layed. Also, the workmen left open the pipe that the toleit sat on and did not cover it up. I called the environmental department and they told me that they should have covered it while they were working on it. I purchased a cap at HD to cover so the smell would not be so bad in the house. I started the process of painting in the closet and found that the base boards in the closet were not properly installed each corner base board was higher I called another construction company to come in and remove and replace the base boards. They also had to seal the two corners of the wall where the previous workmen failed to seal. I gave ***** **** a check for $600.00 with an amount that my friend, him and the workmen come up with. The next day I canceled the check that I gave ***** **** for un-satisfactory work and that him his workmen and Premeir Roofing had done. ***** **** or Premier Roofing did not provide me with a contact or price of the job. ***** **** received a copy of what the insurance company was going to pay from me. We never discussed how much this job was going to cost and the workman that was there told me that he had only been tiling floors for a few months. That they did special projects for ***** and Premier Roofing. He also informed me that he didn't do carpet. So I told him that I would take care of that myself. I received a letter last Wednesday afternoon from Premier Roofing / ***** **** attoneys for a worthless check for work that they had performed and finished. I also picked up the invoice from my porch from Premier Roofing that date of the invoice is incorrect. Damage to the property the white paste on the vanity, they through their trash in the back yard and left white paste in the front yard and the bank in the neighbors and my yard.

Desired Settlement
If I pay Premier Roofing/ ***** **** $600.00 I'm expecting them to pay for the labor cost of having the tile flooring removed. To pay for the cement board, tile that I will have to purchase a second time and the materials that I will be paying for that they are charging in their $600.00. Also, the labor cost of removal and replacement of the base board and sealing/cocking the base board and sealing the corner seams in the closet.

Business Response
First of all, I as the owner of Premier Roofing want, as the last thing, an unhappy customer. The customer had employed Premier to remove and install her storm damaged roof only months before. Having never heard anything but thanks for our well done job on that project, it seemed curious to me that she would take the actions she did. The customer came home after the first day of what, all involved, were expecting to be a 2 day job at the least. It was agreed upon that we would make the repairs as they were spelled out in the insurance settlement, as we did with her roof.As the customer stated, after the first day ***** was called to answer questions. He stated that they were not finished and that these things would all be taken care of and done to her satisfaction when the job was completed. The customer was concerned about temporary spacers used when setting tile, before the grout was finished the next day. The customer admitted the spacing was fine but felt using different temporary spacers was wrong. As they inspected the customer pointed out numerous things that were rough finished, again this is how remodeling is done. The customer felt she would be embarrassed to have her friends know what kind of people did her work, which was a puzzling statement. The next day our crew was rushed out not allowed to do any of the clean up and basically thrown off the property. At the same time, *****, the customer, and the customer's friend discussed the payment for the work that was done. The friend was at the home during the first days work and felt no reason to say anything bad about the crew or the work. We were then told there was going to be an expert inspect and judge the work and that ***** and the Customer would work it out. At this time the customer cancelled the check. As had having a previous working relationship with Premier, I told ***** to contact the customer to see how and when we could speak with the person and make things correct. All along the problem was the job was never given a chance to be even finished. As far as our crew's experience, I can only believe the customer spoke with a new laborer. This crew has over twenty years in Tile, Carpet and Painting/restoration. Premier has used them happily for over five years with never anything such as this occurring before.
We then were told repeatedly that someone else had fixed and redone the bad work we did, I at least expected some documentation of this. Legally, in a dispute such as this the customer destroyed evidence in an ongoing situation. Her only expert being a carpet man. If we are wrong, we are the first to admit it. And I have found in almost all situations like this it is miscommunication. But I must admit here, there seems to be an underlying reason as to why we were not allowed to work something out.Almost all of the customers complaints, except if they left some grout on the vanity which should have been cleaned, were caused by the job not being allowed to finish. The customer bought the tile and complained it was not flat. If it is not grouted the illusion can be this or maybe the tile is not level flat. Most are not, but when finished, it is not noticed. Especially when the customer initiated the action of taking our crew off the job in the middle and offering to settle for work done I am again perplexed.
We have offered to the customer to work this out again and believe in all fairness it should be settled somehow. Again, we had a good relationship before, why it became such a bad situation so quickly is beyond me. I as the owner take the blame for any situations that go wrong. But ***** has never not pointed out any problems or questions a customer has had before and has always worked to make every situation correct. We would like very much work this out but would not want this one situation in which we pleaded for information and the right to work with the customer, to ruin our reputation.
I sincerely hope the BBB can mediate this and have faith in this process. Thank You

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The owner of the company contacted me on Tuesday, November 19th and we did reach an agreement. The companies attorney contacted me by email on Friday, November 22nd with a copy of Premier Roofing's and my agreement to pay them $300.00 and an Agreement and Release from the attorney to sign. I contacted the attorney on Monday, November 25th and he ask me to sign the Agreement & Release document and mail that form along with a certified check for $300.00 and he would have Premier Roofing to sign the form and he would mail me a copy of the agreement and release form. I mailed the attorney the Agreement & Release Form along with the Certified Check for $300.00 by certified mail on Tuesday, November 26th.

Final Business Response
Please comments from the business.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/17/2008Business started: 04/30/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Chip Horan (Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants

Products & Services

This company offers residential roofing contractors services.

Alternate Business Names
Premier Roofing of Middle TN
Industry Tips
Home - Roofing Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Premier Roofing of Middle Tennessee, LLC

5543 Edmondson Pike STE 228

Nashville, TN 37211-5808

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5543 Edmondson Pike STE 228 

    Nashville, TN 37211-5808

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Premier Roofing of Middle Tennessee, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home - Roofing Contractors

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.